Counties Missed Opportunities....

Replying To brian:  "A tad agressive. No just assertive like most Meath men, we don't start arguments and discussions we can't finish.

1) Hating something takes effort and i don't waste my time on Kerry. In fact their a great source of laughter to me.

So only the dubs stir the pot??? It takes two to tango and Kerry boys are no shrinking violets. Their well able to dish it out but when the meet their match they look for help. Kerry are the equivalent of the class bully who gets a bloody nose and then wants help forgetting they've ****** on everyone elses chips and people are only to happy to stand back and watch them get their comeuppance.

Funding is for games development. Dublin has a population ten times the size of Kerry so their fully entitled to their full share. They use it better than any other county out there and fair dues to them. I wish my own county was as smart with their allocation. And lets not forget the multiples of other sports supported in Dublin. Soccer, Rugby etc. What other sport is competitive in Kerry.

On team spending here's an article on the 2017 spend.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/revealed-here-is-how-much-your-county-spent-on-its-teams-in-2017-with-dublin-only-the-second-biggest-spenders-36576369.html

Dublin were only second highest whilst supporting a successful hurling and football team. Kerry had the seventh highest spend despite barely acknowledging hurling exists. Dublin generated most of their income through great commercial deals (and again credit to them) whilst Kerry Group gave Kerry most of their's.

2/3 You're right i don't but when you and others constantly drag every thread the same way there's only so long before you feel obliged to say something. It doesn't upset me what you say it bores me.

Poor attempt at sarcasm, even Stevie wonder could see a response like that being forthcoming from someone so easily outmatched.

I've long since woken up to the fact my own county didn't put systems in place 20 odd years ago to develop the game, they didn't invest in underage football, they didn't put coaches and games development officers in every club to improve standards of players. They didn't build multiple development squads and have strength, conditioning and nutrition at the fore front of players minds until it was too late. My county doesn't have its own house in order and until it does we're nowhere near to being back.

I won't bi*ch and moan about the Dubs without casting a critical eye over why they've gotten so much better than everyone else. They've worked damn hard, put structures in place, have a plan and pipeline of players and managers who know the players. Heck we all knew Dessie Farrell was coming in almost as soon as Gavin was appointed and so did the players. It was only a matter of how long Gavin stayed for. The players involved are familiar with farrell and not having to adapt to a whole new system because they have that from long ago.

Anything else you'd like to moan about or have a sufficiently answered you."
Yes there is one last thing, you obviously know nothing about Kerry GAA as evidenced by your ignorant comments on Kerry hurling. But then again your ignorance is hardly surprising given the nature of your ranting.

There's defo a massive Kerry shaped object stuck up a certain part of your anatomy.

This is one "easily outmatched" poster signing off...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/07/2020 12:44:03    2284746

Replying To jimbodub:  "The biggest missed opportunity?

I guess it's all relative and circumstances dictate the level of disappointment of a specific missed opportunity.

Some results you just never really get over and they become as famous as your wins. They carry an awful lot of baggage.

It's hard to argue with the following in terms of historic missed opportunity significance

- Dublin had all the pressure and weight of history
on their shoulders and had been made overwhelming favorites to win the 5 in a row. A very dangerous place to be.. an awful bang of 1982 off it.

- Dublin's prized forwards had a stinker.

- Brian Fenton played while being sick.

- Dublin got a man sent off. Forced to play with 14 men for approx 75% of the most important game in Dublin GAA history.

- Kerry missed a penalty.

- Kerry hit the cross bar.

- Kerry can't get out of their own half to secure the winning point against 14 men.

- Kerry when only needing to hold the ball get turned over, again and again, coughing up prized possession when only seconds away from stopping Dublin winning the Holy Grail of prizes.

- Kerry just needed the ball down at the other end away from their posts. Even a wide would have probably done it.

- A wide to win.. and stop Dublin winning something that had haunted Kerry GAA for the best part of 40 years.

When all is considered, again it's all relative and there's plenty of variables at play but it would be the same for me if the shoe was on the other foot, thanks be to Jaysus that's not the case.. shudder!%

But that missed opportunity must live rent free between Kerry supporters ears and probably always will do.

Again it's about relevance but of all the teams to really miss such a glaring and monumentally significant opportunity to change the course of GAA History and claim the bragging rights forever and ever.. Kerry letting that win slip away has to be right up there."
Welcome back jimbo we have missed you around here

Interesting that Dublin supporters only want to talk about Kerry's missed opportunities rather than their own, of which there have been plenty over the years.

From my POV the better and more seasoned team won the all Ireland last year and there is no resentment or feeling that it was left behind. Kerry certainly could have won the first game but that's how it goes.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 21/07/2020 13:08:43    2284750

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes there is one last thing, you obviously know nothing about Kerry GAA as evidenced by your ignorant comments on Kerry hurling. But then again your ignorance is hardly surprising given the nature of your ranting.

There's defo a massive Kerry shaped object stuck up a certain part of your anatomy.

This is one "easily outmatched" poster signing off..."
Another insult. Guess when you Kerry fella's are so easily defeated its all you can resort too.

You'd no answer to any of the points I raised where I knocked back everyone of your points so resort to the gutter. Fair play to you.

There's nothing stuck in my anatomy never mind something Kerry shaped, ut if it gives you comfort thinking that then more power to you.

And its good of you to admit you're outmatched.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/07/2020 14:00:06    2284757

Replying To brian:  "Another insult. Guess when you Kerry fella's are so easily defeated its all you can resort too.

You'd no answer to any of the points I raised where I knocked back everyone of your points so resort to the gutter. Fair play to you.

There's nothing stuck in my anatomy never mind something Kerry shaped, ut if it gives you comfort thinking that then more power to you.

And its good of you to admit you're outmatched."
Oh alright, you've now irked me enough that I'll actually bother to intellectually debate your "points".

This should only take a second mind, I think it needs to be spelt out to you who would be the "outmatched" person here if I took you seriously.

To quote your good self: "Dublin generated most of their income through great commercial deals (and again credit to them) whilst Kerry Group gave Kerry most of their's"

So what are you trying to argue here: Dublin have a brilliant GAA setup as evidence by their ability to attract sponsorship, whereas Kerry don't have a great GAA set-up because, somehow, Kerry Group aren't a sponsor they are just a charity that exist to give money to the Kerry GAA? Money that, according to your argument is similar to what Dublin get but its just that the Kerry GAA don't know how to use effectively????

Right, shall we go on?

In fact lets not. It's far too nice an afternoon to be stuck on a laptop arguing with some randomer. The working day is almost done, thank goodness.

P.S. - considering the foul language that appears liberally in your posts, I wouldn't be talking about the gutter.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/07/2020 15:22:29    2284762

Replying To TheHermit:  "Oh alright, you've now irked me enough that I'll actually bother to intellectually debate your "points".

This should only take a second mind, I think it needs to be spelt out to you who would be the "outmatched" person here if I took you seriously.

To quote your good self: "Dublin generated most of their income through great commercial deals (and again credit to them) whilst Kerry Group gave Kerry most of their's"

So what are you trying to argue here: Dublin have a brilliant GAA setup as evidence by their ability to attract sponsorship, whereas Kerry don't have a great GAA set-up because, somehow, Kerry Group aren't a sponsor they are just a charity that exist to give money to the Kerry GAA? Money that, according to your argument is similar to what Dublin get but its just that the Kerry GAA don't know how to use effectively????

Right, shall we go on?

In fact lets not. It's far too nice an afternoon to be stuck on a laptop arguing with some randomer. The working day is almost done, thank goodness.

P.S. - considering the foul language that appears liberally in your posts, I wouldn't be talking about the gutter."
Great to see you totally misread my post to suit your own agenda.

But I'll conclude and say what care wolves for the opinion of sheep ;)

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/07/2020 15:48:12    2284765

Replying To jimbodub:  "The biggest missed opportunity?

I guess it's all relative and circumstances dictate the level of disappointment of a specific missed opportunity.

Some results you just never really get over and they become as famous as your wins. They carry an awful lot of baggage.

It's hard to argue with the following in terms of historic missed opportunity significance

- Dublin had all the pressure and weight of history
on their shoulders and had been made overwhelming favorites to win the 5 in a row. A very dangerous place to be.. an awful bang of 1982 off it.

- Dublin's prized forwards had a stinker.

- Brian Fenton played while being sick.

- Dublin got a man sent off. Forced to play with 14 men for approx 75% of the most important game in Dublin GAA history.

- Kerry missed a penalty.

- Kerry hit the cross bar.

- Kerry can't get out of their own half to secure the winning point against 14 men.

- Kerry when only needing to hold the ball get turned over, again and again, coughing up prized possession when only seconds away from stopping Dublin winning the Holy Grail of prizes.

- Kerry just needed the ball down at the other end away from their posts. Even a wide would have probably done it.

- A wide to win.. and stop Dublin winning something that had haunted Kerry GAA for the best part of 40 years.

When all is considered, again it's all relative and there's plenty of variables at play but it would be the same for me if the shoe was on the other foot, thanks be to Jaysus that's not the case.. shudder!%

But that missed opportunity must live rent free between Kerry supporters ears and probably always will do.

Again it's about relevance but of all the teams to really miss such a glaring and monumentally significant opportunity to change the course of GAA History and claim the bragging rights forever and ever.. Kerry letting that win slip away has to be right up there."
Kerry have been on the slide for over a decade now, it's hard to imagine any Kerry team of the past failing to beat Dublin 6 times over the course of 11 years. Only one All-Ireland since 2009 as well. The idea of playing second fiddle to Mayo must hurt.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 21/07/2020 16:00:17    2284766

Replying To Lockjaw:  "It's a funny one. In the spring of 2012 Kerry absolutely walloped us down there. McGuinness refers to it specifically in his book as a wake up call. He even went so far as to say that he was actually glad we didn't beat Dublin in the semi final. That the team was not quite far enough along in its development to take on and beat Kerry in an All Ireland final. If we had met Kerry in the 2011 final and were beaten well who knows how it would have affected Donegal."
Would Jack O'Connor have switched to a more defensive setup to take on Donegal in 2011? I'm not so sure. He refused to in 2012, even sticking to his guns (rather ungraciously) in defeat. Hasn't been seen since.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 21/07/2020 16:02:33    2284767

Replying To greatpoint:  "Would Jack O'Connor have switched to a more defensive setup to take on Donegal in 2011? I'm not so sure. He refused to in 2012, even sticking to his guns (rather ungraciously) in defeat. Hasn't been seen since."
He is manager of Kildare I seen him when we played them in the league

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1143 - 21/07/2020 16:24:46    2284769

Replying To sourmilk93:  "He is manager of Kildare I seen him when we played them in the league"
Sorry, I meant that in relation to the Kerry job.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 21/07/2020 16:56:44    2284772

Replying To greatpoint:  "Kerry have been on the slide for over a decade now, it's hard to imagine any Kerry team of the past failing to beat Dublin 6 times over the course of 11 years. Only one All-Ireland since 2009 as well. The idea of playing second fiddle to Mayo must hurt."
Mayo: 0 all Ireland's last decade
Kerry: 1 All-Ireland last decade (knocking mayo out along the way)

Mayo beat Kerry just once in the championship in that time, in 2017 after a replay.

If you are going to troll at least do some basic fact checking.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 21/07/2020 17:20:38    2284775

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Mayo: 0 all Ireland's last decade

Mayo beat Kerry just once in the championship in that time, in 2017 after a replay.

If you are going to troll at least do some basic fact checking."
Mayo have actually beaten Dublin in the past decade and also have a better record against them overall than Kerry, no trolling pet.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 21/07/2020 18:29:11    2284779

I think it's a bit silly, arguing over who was second best to Dublin over the last ten years. I've never seen it among hurling fans regarding Kilkenny in the noughties.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 21/07/2020 18:50:28    2284780

As always it's the "what have your county won" post.

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 21/07/2020 19:04:08    2284783

2014 All Ireland final, we should have won it I thought, played rubbish on the day and still could have nicked it at the end,credit to Kerry though,
1993 Ulster final also is one we left behind.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 21/07/2020 19:42:15    2284788

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I think it's a bit silly, arguing over who was second best to Dublin over the last ten years. I've never seen it among hurling fans regarding Kilkenny in the noughties."
Was responding to somebody saying Kerry were second fiddle to Mayo, I did not mention Dublin at all?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 21/07/2020 19:46:41    2284789

Replying To greatpoint:  "Mayo have actually beaten Dublin in the past decade and also have a better record against them overall than Kerry, no trolling pet."
Has nothing to do with Dublin and even if it did I doubt mayo are proud of their record there, but nice try at trolling.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 21/07/2020 19:49:08    2284791

Replying To Breezy:  "As always it's the "what have your county won" post."
As always zero meaningful contribution except pointless digs at Kerry and Kerry posters

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 21/07/2020 19:52:52    2284792

Replying To greatpoint:  "Would Jack O'Connor have switched to a more defensive setup to take on Donegal in 2011? I'm not so sure. He refused to in 2012, even sticking to his guns (rather ungraciously) in defeat. Hasn't been seen since."
Jack won 2 minor allirelands in 2014 and 2015 and he's managing kildare now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/07/2020 20:02:19    2284793

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I think it's a bit silly, arguing over who was second best to Dublin over the last ten years. I've never seen it among hurling fans regarding Kilkenny in the noughties."
Not like for like though...kilkenny were one of the traditional powerhouses of the game, kicking off with a phenomenal team from 05-15 wasn't unusual.. It was a perfect storm for other counties esp when Leinster was weaker than it had been in years, with Offaly and wexford not able to challenge.
It was fairly accepted by hurling people that Tipp were the second best team out there esp from 09 onwards, another of the big 3. They probably would have won 2 or 3 more all Ireland's along the way if it wasn't for Kilkenny.

Might be a bit unfair but the perception seems to be that Kerry can't handle the fact that Dublin have blown them out of the water over the last decade.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 21/07/2020 20:06:01    2284794

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "As always zero meaningful contribution except pointless digs at Kerry and Kerry posters"
What in god's name you talking about I comment on many thread that have nothing to do with Kerry.i only talk about Kerry once ye have ruined another thread with your anti Dub stuff

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 21/07/2020 20:13:10    2284797