Counties Missed Opportunities....

Replying To TheHermit:  "I'm always amazed at this place:
Step 1: A Troll (invariably from Dublin though often trying to disguise that fact by using a bogus account) is let post whatever crap they want to try and stir the pot.

Step 2: Someone like myself posts a reply telling them to get back in the box

Step 3: The replier is the one who gets attacked and jumped on!!

Maybe I shouldn't be surprised, this forum is overrun with the we hate Kerry brigade.
So my friend it is no surprise to me that you and others on here have "no time for us lot". Its par for the course.

And if highlighting the GAA's blatant favoritism of Dublin every now and then is "boring as F", as you so eloquently put it, then jog on.
I often think there's a serious element of Stockholm syndrome combined with the climate change denier disease going on with fellas like you.

For the record, I couldn't care less what Meath have or have not won what relevance has that to anything?"
Awwwwwwweeeee some one is a bit delicate cos they can't handle the current state of football.

Just to respond to you, the point of the thread is about missed opportunities. In the last 9 years Kerry haven't been close to Dublin to have had missed opportunities.

On your own points
1) Who's trolling and stirring the pot. Kerry posters have a penchant of turning every thread into a how Kerry have been mistreated and Dublin get everything. Do you forget that there's huge money going into Kerry football by Kerry Group every year!!! Compared to any other county in the land you've the biggest sponsorship deals outside of Dublin and Glanbia (Kilkenny in Hurling) Its your own fault you can't capitalise on that huge pot of gold you have.

2) You're replies are monotenous and always the same poor mouth, us Kerry folks are not getting enough blah blah. What right have you to tell anyone to get back in their box other than the usual Kerry thing of looking down their nose at everyone.

3) You got jumped on cos you deserve it. Your points are always the same boring BS.

Don't address me as your friend. If i'd friends like you i wouldn't need enemies.

You highlight the GAA's blatant favouritism of the Dubs every day and your vinyl record is scratched to the back of beyonds. Change your tune.

Why should i jog on? If any counties have a right to cry foul about the Dubs its the 10 other football playing counties in Leinster but we're made of tougher stuff up here and just get on with things. We deal with our own house first rather than complaining about the emperor's new clothes.

Stockholm syndrome ;) yep that made me LOL.

And the deafult kerry response from you and other posters is to slag off other counties and say what have you won. I beat you to the punch it by saying we've nothing to be talking about.

Anything else you'd like to whinge and moan about??? I'm here all day.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/07/2020 16:17:52    2284647

Replying To brian:  "Awwwwwwweeeee some one is a bit delicate cos they can't handle the current state of football.

Just to respond to you, the point of the thread is about missed opportunities. In the last 9 years Kerry haven't been close to Dublin to have had missed opportunities.

On your own points
1) Who's trolling and stirring the pot. Kerry posters have a penchant of turning every thread into a how Kerry have been mistreated and Dublin get everything. Do you forget that there's huge money going into Kerry football by Kerry Group every year!!! Compared to any other county in the land you've the biggest sponsorship deals outside of Dublin and Glanbia (Kilkenny in Hurling) Its your own fault you can't capitalise on that huge pot of gold you have.

2) You're replies are monotenous and always the same poor mouth, us Kerry folks are not getting enough blah blah. What right have you to tell anyone to get back in their box other than the usual Kerry thing of looking down their nose at everyone.

3) You got jumped on cos you deserve it. Your points are always the same boring BS.

Don't address me as your friend. If i'd friends like you i wouldn't need enemies.

You highlight the GAA's blatant favouritism of the Dubs every day and your vinyl record is scratched to the back of beyonds. Change your tune.

Why should i jog on? If any counties have a right to cry foul about the Dubs its the 10 other football playing counties in Leinster but we're made of tougher stuff up here and just get on with things. We deal with our own house first rather than complaining about the emperor's new clothes.

And the deafult kerry response from you and other posters is to slag off other counties and say what have you won. I beat you to the punch it by saying we've nothing to be talking about.

Anything else you'd like to whinge and moan about??? I'm here all day."
Class post. Spot on

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 20/07/2020 20:14:37    2284673

Replying To blackspot91:  "Limerick footballers in 2005 were right up there as all ireland contenders. Hammered Cork in Munster semi final, had great chances to beat Kerry in final and final replay but just couldn't get over the line. They then were forced to go up to derry less than a week later and lost narrowly. I remember John Galvin saying their legs were dead in that match. Kerry went on to win the AI fairly easily. I think Limerick were at least number 2 in the country that year."
2003 was when limerick hammered cork

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 20/07/2020 21:10:05    2284681

Replying To brian:  "Awwwwwwweeeee some one is a bit delicate cos they can't handle the current state of football.

On your own points

He wasn't wrong though. There is a cabal of posters on here who contribute nothing except thinly veiled digs and often outright trolling of Kerry. Look back at the pathetic post he was responding to when you quoted him. Not sure why admin allow it but if that was cut out there wouldn't be half the nonsense and bickering on the board. The Kerry posters get all the blame for everything, yet its nearly always started by the other side.

BTW I honestly have never read any Kerry poster saying that they don't get enough or that they are somehow destitute as a county, nor do I read them slagging off other counties lack of success. You'll get loads of green thumbs for your heroic post, but it's a load of made up BS quite frankly, unless I'm reading a different board to you, which I doubt.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 20/07/2020 23:16:06    2284694

On your own points

A tad aggressive aren't we?

1) I suspect you couldn't care less about Dublin posters stirring it seeing as the target is Kerry, you seem to most definitely be a member of the hate Kerry brigade so you'll see what you want

The huge disparity in funding between Dublin and the everyone else is well documented, a ratio of 20:1 to the next county. Dublin is funded like a province now, but if you think Kerry Group somehow funds us similarly please supply the evidence or maybe admit you haven't a clue what your talking about.

2/3) You don't have to read anything I post, it obviously upsets you a great deal.

I'm particularly hurt you don't consider me a potential friend, it seemed like we had so much in common and you do strike me as such a reasonable, level-headed sort of chap.

Good luck now with 'just getting on with things' and competing with Dublin. I wonder how many more years they have to dominate before people like you wake up.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/07/2020 00:26:13    2284695

Jesus the Kerry lads are rattled....and the championship hasn't even started....

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 21/07/2020 09:54:27    2284711

Replying To witnof:  "Jesus the Kerry lads are rattled....and the championship hasn't even started...."
Are we rattled?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/07/2020 10:19:19    2284715

All i can hear is wah wah wah.

Grow up Kerry lads. Never your fault for anything is it? Its always Dublin, the GAA or someone else. Can't look inside your own tent at the problems. I.E. Your team is currently not good enough to compete.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/07/2020 10:45:36    2284720

Replying To brian:  "All i can hear is wah wah wah.

Grow up Kerry lads. Never your fault for anything is it? Its always Dublin, the GAA or someone else. Can't look inside your own tent at the problems. I.E. Your team is currently not good enough to compete."
Double down on your bizarre rant all you like. There was only one poster trolling on this thread and they weren't from Kerry.

Did your wife run off with a Kerryman or something Brian?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 21/07/2020 10:55:33    2284722

Replying To witnof:  "Jesus the Kerry lads are rattled....and the championship hasn't even started...."
#meltdown

You couldn't make it up, the Dubs clearly on the wind up (all they did was state a result of a game) and in the next breath one of them makes a comment about a posters wife, that tells you what you are dealing it, real GAA men alright.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/07/2020 11:04:28    2284723

What do the last posts have to do with this subject? Thought all this BS ended when jimbo disapeared?

As has been said this started when someone posted that Kerry haven't competed with Dublin and that's not the case.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 21/07/2020 11:04:31    2284724

Replying To TheHermit:  "A tad aggressive aren't we?

1) I suspect you couldn't care less about Dublin posters stirring it seeing as the target is Kerry, you seem to most definitely be a member of the hate Kerry brigade so you'll see what you want

The huge disparity in funding between Dublin and the everyone else is well documented, a ratio of 20:1 to the next county. Dublin is funded like a province now, but if you think Kerry Group somehow funds us similarly please supply the evidence or maybe admit you haven't a clue what your talking about.

2/3) You don't have to read anything I post, it obviously upsets you a great deal.

I'm particularly hurt you don't consider me a potential friend, it seemed like we had so much in common and you do strike me as such a reasonable, level-headed sort of chap.

Good luck now with 'just getting on with things' and competing with Dublin. I wonder how many more years they have to dominate before people like you wake up."
A tad agressive. No just assertive like most Meath men, we don't start arguments and discussions we can't finish.

1) Hating something takes effort and i don't waste my time on Kerry. In fact their a great source of laughter to me.

So only the dubs stir the pot??? It takes two to tango and Kerry boys are no shrinking violets. Their well able to dish it out but when the meet their match they look for help. Kerry are the equivalent of the class bully who gets a bloody nose and then wants help forgetting they've ****** on everyone elses chips and people are only to happy to stand back and watch them get their comeuppance.

Funding is for games development. Dublin has a population ten times the size of Kerry so their fully entitled to their full share. They use it better than any other county out there and fair dues to them. I wish my own county was as smart with their allocation. And lets not forget the multiples of other sports supported in Dublin. Soccer, Rugby etc. What other sport is competitive in Kerry.

On team spending here's an article on the 2017 spend.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/revealed-here-is-how-much-your-county-spent-on-its-teams-in-2017-with-dublin-only-the-second-biggest-spenders-36576369.html

Dublin were only second highest whilst supporting a successful hurling and football team. Kerry had the seventh highest spend despite barely acknowledging hurling exists. Dublin generated most of their income through great commercial deals (and again credit to them) whilst Kerry Group gave Kerry most of their's.

2/3 You're right i don't but when you and others constantly drag every thread the same way there's only so long before you feel obliged to say something. It doesn't upset me what you say it bores me.

Poor attempt at sarcasm, even Stevie wonder could see a response like that being forthcoming from someone so easily outmatched.

I've long since woken up to the fact my own county didn't put systems in place 20 odd years ago to develop the game, they didn't invest in underage football, they didn't put coaches and games development officers in every club to improve standards of players. They didn't build multiple development squads and have strength, conditioning and nutrition at the fore front of players minds until it was too late. My county doesn't have its own house in order and until it does we're nowhere near to being back.

I won't bi*ch and moan about the Dubs without casting a critical eye over why they've gotten so much better than everyone else. They've worked damn hard, put structures in place, have a plan and pipeline of players and managers who know the players. Heck we all knew Dessie Farrell was coming in almost as soon as Gavin was appointed and so did the players. It was only a matter of how long Gavin stayed for. The players involved are familiar with farrell and not having to adapt to a whole new system because they have that from long ago.

Anything else you'd like to moan about or have a sufficiently answered you.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/07/2020 11:10:47    2284725

Replying To brian:  "All i can hear is wah wah wah.

Grow up Kerry lads. Never your fault for anything is it? Its always Dublin, the GAA or someone else. Can't look inside your own tent at the problems. I.E. Your team is currently not good enough to compete."
I think Kerry have competed ok given the circumstances. Its been a difficult decade, 4 All Ireland appearances, only 1 All Ireland Senior title and 1 National League.

The entire landscape of senior inter-county football has been changed utterly by what the GAA created with Dublin.
Yes Kerry are in the fortunate position of having a lot of resources and good sponsorship and we will always have decent players coming through given our footballing tradition and the huge popularity of/obsession with Gaelic football down here in the Kingdom.

The point lads like yourself seem to still miss, is that what's been created in Dublin means even a county like Kerry is no longer able to compete.

Because in case you are too naive to understand, massive amounts of money and funding (to say nothing about preferential treatment in the All-Ireland series itself) is a huge help in establishing success and keeping success going.

Dublin have had a once in a lifetime group of players this decade and would have won plenty. But without the totally unbalanced system in senior football that's been created to favour them would they have dominated to this extent, my belief is they wouldn't have.

Elite sport, we are always told is a game of inches. Now if I was to bore you again with listing all the facts and statistics around what Dublin GAA has been given/benefited from you'd find it constitutes more of a mile than a few inches!!

I'm still hopeful Kerry will nick a title here and there in the decade to come.

But someday soon the penny will drop for the last doubting Thomas's like yourself Brian.

Maybe when we get to 2030, and Dublin have won 18 of the last 20 All Irelands!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/07/2020 11:13:36    2284726

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Double down on your bizarre rant all you like. There was only one poster trolling on this thread and they weren't from Kerry.

Did your wife run off with a Kerryman or something Brian?"
There's that Kerry whit and no sensical humour. Can't deal with the truth and try and get personal.

As my wife says why would she need to have hamburgers when she has steak at home ;)

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/07/2020 11:18:49    2284727

Replying To brian:  "There's that Kerry whit and no sensical humour. Can't deal with the truth and try and get personal.

As my wife says why would she need to have hamburgers when she has steak at home ;)"
What truth? You just spewed out a big rant with nothing to back it up Brian. Find a single post on here where I'm complaining about Dublin or not being able to compete if you can. You won't

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 21/07/2020 11:35:39    2284729

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "What truth? You just spewed out a big rant with nothing to back it up Brian. Find a single post on here where I'm complaining about Dublin or not being able to compete if you can. You won't"
Apologise first for bringing my wife into it and i might deem you worthy of further response.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/07/2020 11:52:26    2284735

Replying To TheUsername:  "#meltdown

You couldn't make it up, the Dubs clearly on the wind up (all they did was state a result of a game) and in the next breath one of them makes a comment about a posters wife, that tells you what you are dealing it, real GAA men alright."
Ah the chief pot stirrer himself, a man who laughs at hospitalised players and then wants to take the moral high ground. Lol. You truly are the greatest spoofer I've ever come across.

You've tripped yourself up so many times on here that you have the credibility of a turnip when it comes to football matters my good man.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 21/07/2020 12:01:06    2284737

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Ah the chief pot stirrer himself, a man who laughs at hospitalised players and then wants to take the moral high ground. Lol. You truly are the greatest spoofer I've ever come across.

You've tripped yourself up so many times on here that you have the credibility of a turnip when it comes to football matters my good man."
More personal insults.

Not a good look for someone calling themselves a genius.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/07/2020 12:08:01    2284738

Replying To brian:  "Apologise first for bringing my wife into it and i might deem you worthy of further response."
It was a figure of speech rather than a literal remark Brian, but I apologise wholeheartedly for any offence caused.

You say you are not bothered by Kerry and you find them a source of amusement but your posts on here do not point in that direction. Will leave it there. I have nothing personal against you or your county, nor Dublin for that matter.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 21/07/2020 12:09:36    2284739

The biggest missed opportunity?

I guess it's all relative and circumstances dictate the level of disappointment of a specific missed opportunity.

Some results you just never really get over and they become as famous as your wins. They carry an awful lot of baggage.

It's hard to argue with the following in terms of historic missed opportunity significance

- Dublin had all the pressure and weight of history
on their shoulders and had been made overwhelming favorites to win the 5 in a row. A very dangerous place to be.. an awful bang of 1982 off it.

- Dublin's prized forwards had a stinker.

- Brian Fenton played while being sick.

- Dublin got a man sent off. Forced to play with 14 men for approx 75% of the most important game in Dublin GAA history.

- Kerry missed a penalty.

- Kerry hit the cross bar.

- Kerry can't get out of their own half to secure the winning point against 14 men.

- Kerry when only needing to hold the ball get turned over, again and again, coughing up prized possession when only seconds away from stopping Dublin winning the Holy Grail of prizes.

- Kerry just needed the ball down at the other end away from their posts. Even a wide would have probably done it.

- A wide to win.. and stop Dublin winning something that had haunted Kerry GAA for the best part of 40 years.

When all is considered, again it's all relative and there's plenty of variables at play but it would be the same for me if the shoe was on the other foot, thanks be to Jaysus that's not the case.. shudder!%

But that missed opportunity must live rent free between Kerry supporters ears and probably always will do.

Again it's about relevance but of all the teams to really miss such a glaring and monumentally significant opportunity to change the course of GAA History and claim the bragging rights forever and ever.. Kerry letting that win slip away has to be right up there.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2020 12:33:06    2284743