Counties Missed Opportunities....

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I remember that final, we were all shouting on limerick at home, nothing against offaly but we'd just always shout for the Munster team in any allireland final, it was devestating for limerick but intriguing watching offaly hitting score after score, I could see my father and uncles getting the old Vietnam flashbacks from the 82 football final."
"I could see my father and uncles getting the old Vietnam flashbacks from the 82 football final."

Def quote of the day for me

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 11/07/2020 09:57:09    2283745

One that's often forgot about is the Kildare hurlers during the 70's.

In the late 60's early 70's the GAA tried to prompte hurling in ''weaker'' counties like Kerry, Offaly, Kildare etc. It was Offaly won benfited most from it comes the 80's but it could very well have been Kildare.

They beat the likes of Waterford, Dublin and got the league Quater-finals a few times. Even pushed Galway close in an All-Ireland quater final and got to a Leinster semi-final that they lost by 4 points to Wexford.

Interesting to see had they got over the line in either the league or Leinster what would have happened

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 11/07/2020 13:54:51    2283764

Replying To oneoff:  "One that's often forgot about is the Kildare hurlers during the 70's.

In the late 60's early 70's the GAA tried to prompte hurling in ''weaker'' counties like Kerry, Offaly, Kildare etc. It was Offaly won benfited most from it comes the 80's but it could very well have been Kildare.

They beat the likes of Waterford, Dublin and got the league Quater-finals a few times. Even pushed Galway close in an All-Ireland quater final and got to a Leinster semi-final that they lost by 4 points to Wexford.

Interesting to see had they got over the line in either the league or Leinster what would have happened"
Over the years I've been trying to find articles about that initiative but can't find anything. It was an interesting time and the work paid off for Offaly big time

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 11/07/2020 15:09:56    2283775

Replying To Breezy:  "God I wish it was against anyone else but us. The rest of the country loves the Offaly story and rightly so it's great to see such an amazing comeback from a small county and I would give anything to be able to celebrate it but it still hurts"
Watched that match the other evening. Has to be one of the worst losses in the history of the GAA when you consider the wait for an All Ireland for Limerick. There was a point where the camera when to the supporters there was a young lad with his father from Limerick and the young lad was delighted cheering and smiling. I thought about him after the game the poor child must have cried the whole way home. Just like we all did at some point supporting our teams. Sports can be great but more often cruel.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 12/07/2020 11:51:04    2283844

Replying To republicofcloone:  "They have little to be singing about.

The biggest missed opportunity in our history was the 1995 Connacht Championship. Handed the semi final to Galway in Carrick and lost by a point, Galway kick Mayo off the field in the final who we had beaten in the final the year before. Then Galway lost to Tyrone by a goal in the AI semi, a team we had beaten in the league that year if i remember correctly. We most likely would have lost the AI final had we got to it against Dublin, but who knows."
You beat me to it, gentleman of Cloone, and a fine place it is too, I understand.

Fermanagh, 2008 Ulster final against Armagh. Fermanagh should have won their first Ulster championship that day notwithstanding their big comeback. They lost the replay by 6 points.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 12/07/2020 15:53:12    2283870

Replying To gatha:  "Watched that match the other evening. Has to be one of the worst losses in the history of the GAA when you consider the wait for an All Ireland for Limerick. There was a point where the camera when to the supporters there was a young lad with his father from Limerick and the young lad was delighted cheering and smiling. I thought about him after the game the poor child must have cried the whole way home. Just like we all did at some point supporting our teams. Sports can be great but more often cruel."
I know a guy who was playing for Limerick that day.
Took him years to get over it. Considering how hard it is for counties like ours to get to finals 1994 was an absolute catastrophe.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 12/07/2020 19:05:32    2283877

As a Carlow man 2018 Leinster semi final was a major missed opportunity for us played some of the best football I've seen ever from a Carlow team against Louth and kildare and then met our old foes Leix in the semi final.

Never thought id see the day we'd have a genuine chance at making a Leinster final but it was that day match was pretty poor quality nothing clicked missed some poor chances a couple of goal chances and before you know it it was all over Leix made the final we where out.

I know Leix took a beating from Dublin in the final but I can't help but imagine what carlow would have been like in the lead up to the first final since 44.

ITSCHOLAR (Carlow) - Posts: 291 - 13/07/2020 11:24:24    2283916

For my own county:

HURLING
1991 AI SF v Kilkenny, lost by two points, really should have beaten them and reached a second AI final in 3 years
2003 AI QF v Wexford, the worst one for me because I was there, missed loads of easy goal chances to go 5-6 points clear and they came back with a dodgy late penalty to win by 3. Wexford went on to draw with Cork in the SF

FOOTBALL
2000 Ulster SF v Derry, came back from 6 points down late on and had a free to win it. Anthony Tohill somehow grabbed the ball from a foot above the bar to save the winning point, lost the replay
2009 Qualifiers R4 v Kerry - we would have beaten any other team in this round except the Kingdom. And yet we still nearly beat them. Again a dodgy penalty was needed to save the favourites. Victory would have seen us in the AI QF for the first time. Kerry somehow went on to win it

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 461 - 13/07/2020 16:06:45    2283948

Replying To skillet:  "I know a guy who was playing for Limerick that day.
Took him years to get over it. Considering how hard it is for counties like ours to get to finals 1994 was an absolute catastrophe."
Yeah I think of all Counties Limerick in the 90s {94 & 96}must have been horrific I know a few good judges of hurling { nor Limerick men and they always claim Eamonn Cregan would have won titles with Limerick if he had been manager }
In my own County I always feel that we let slip AI in 98.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 880 - 13/07/2020 16:15:49    2283950

Replying To M Lyster:  "For my own county:

HURLING
1991 AI SF v Kilkenny, lost by two points, really should have beaten them and reached a second AI final in 3 years
2003 AI QF v Wexford, the worst one for me because I was there, missed loads of easy goal chances to go 5-6 points clear and they came back with a dodgy late penalty to win by 3. Wexford went on to draw with Cork in the SF

FOOTBALL
2000 Ulster SF v Derry, came back from 6 points down late on and had a free to win it. Anthony Tohill somehow grabbed the ball from a foot above the bar to save the winning point, lost the replay
2009 Qualifiers R4 v Kerry - we would have beaten any other team in this round except the Kingdom. And yet we still nearly beat them. Again a dodgy penalty was needed to save the favourites. Victory would have seen us in the AI QF for the first time. Kerry somehow went on to win it"
I was at that 09 game in tullamore , there was a bit of trouble in the camp that time over Tadhg Kennelly, and both Tomás and Gooch were caught out on the lash and had been dropped for the game ye had us in trouble and we had to call on the lads to come in and steady the ship and win the game for us, we nearly lost to Sligo the week before,

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/07/2020 16:29:19    2283956

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I was at that 09 game in tullamore , there was a bit of trouble in the camp that time over Tadhg Kennelly, and both Tomás and Gooch were caught out on the lash and had been dropped for the game ye had us in trouble and we had to call on the lads to come in and steady the ship and win the game for us, we nearly lost to Sligo the week before,"
Yous certainly got it right after the Antrim game though! That Kerry performance v Dublin in the 2009 QF was something else and came out of nowhere.

That wasn't exactly a bad Kerry team, far from it, but for whatever reason yous started off the 2009 championship with a dismal defeat to Cork and then struggled and scrapped your way through the qualifiers only to unleash hell on Dublin in the AI QF. Then went on to win the lot, it was a remarkable turnaround in fortune.

We actually had a good team that year and fought our way to the AI semi's but after the way yous devoured Dublin we stood little chance. I think it was only 4 points in the end but from what I remember Kerry never really looked like losing.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/07/2020 18:27:08    2283971

Replying To Htaem:  "Yous certainly got it right after the Antrim game though! That Kerry performance v Dublin in the 2009 QF was something else and came out of nowhere.

That wasn't exactly a bad Kerry team, far from it, but for whatever reason yous started off the 2009 championship with a dismal defeat to Cork and then struggled and scrapped your way through the qualifiers only to unleash hell on Dublin in the AI QF. Then went on to win the lot, it was a remarkable turnaround in fortune.

We actually had a good team that year and fought our way to the AI semi's but after the way yous devoured Dublin we stood little chance. I think it was only 4 points in the end but from what I remember Kerry never really looked like losing."
Ya it was the strangest of years Htaem, the qualifiers were unbelievable tough for us and a lot of it had to do with 1 bad egg from the stories going around at the time.

A 4 point win against Longford in round 2 of the qualifiers which was a right tough game, then the Sligo game in tralee and the place absolutely heaving and it comes down to an injury time penalty that would have put us out in our own back yard but thankfully big Murph in goals saved the day, then struggled against Antrim, never saw that dublin result coming at all, we had yer selves in the semifinal which was a sticky game and then Cork in the final was our toughest game, it was 1 ground out game after the other and then that was the end of that great Kerry team, Tommy and Kennelly went to Oz Darragh retired Murph retired a few more went the year after.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/07/2020 19:42:43    2283983

Laois from 2003 to 2007 should really have won at least one more Leinster title. In fact could easily have won three in a row from 2003-05. Could/should have won a league tilte during that time as well

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 14/07/2020 09:56:09    2284002

When you consider their perpetual easy route to the final, every year Kerry don't win Sam is a poor show and one they've left behind

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 15/07/2020 09:49:48    2284107

Replying To Breffni39:  "When you consider their perpetual easy route to the final, every year Kerry don't win Sam is a poor show and one they've left behind"
Can some1 get breff a bigger fishing rod?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/07/2020 10:13:42    2284113

Replying To clooney:  "Yeah I think of all Counties Limerick in the 90s {94 & 96}must have been horrific I know a few good judges of hurling { nor Limerick men and they always claim Eamonn Cregan would have won titles with Limerick if he had been manager }
In my own County I always feel that we let slip AI in 98."
I agree to a point re Creagan and without the slightest doubt he the best Limerick and most versatile Hurler in my lifetime and had a very lengthy career. However by not playing Joe Quaid in 2001 he cost us. I feel of all the years between between 73 and 18 that was the one we should and could have taken. Afterwards he got little cooperation from the Board and the chance was gone. If he was there from '04 to 07 I think he could have worked the oracle too. There were six panelists off the hurling- playing football- in 2004 and we still put the eventual All Ireland Champions Cork to the pin of their collar.

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 15/07/2020 10:23:19    2284115

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Can some1 get breff a bigger fishing rod?"
He doesn't need one. His adopted county's posters will be along with the green thumbs any minute now.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 15/07/2020 10:35:07    2284117

Replying To cavanman47:  "He doesn't need one. His adopted county's posters will be along with the green thumbs any minute now."
That's true :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/07/2020 10:56:44    2284124

Replying To ITSCHOLAR:  "As a Carlow man 2018 Leinster semi final was a major missed opportunity for us played some of the best football I've seen ever from a Carlow team against Louth and kildare and then met our old foes Leix in the semi final.

Never thought id see the day we'd have a genuine chance at making a Leinster final but it was that day match was pretty poor quality nothing clicked missed some poor chances a couple of goal chances and before you know it it was all over Leix made the final we where out.

I know Leix took a beating from Dublin in the final but I can't help but imagine what carlow would have been like in the lead up to the first final since 44."
That wasn't a first cousin of a near miss. Laois were a lot better than Carlow. They took an 11 point beating from Dublin in the final. Not the worst when you consider they generally gave provincial rivals a 20pt beating.

For us the loss to Cork in 1999 was hard to take. Just didn't put them away.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 15/07/2020 12:01:57    2284128

Replying To cavanman47:  "He doesn't need one. His adopted county's posters will be along with the green thumbs any minute now."
Jaysus, wasn't expecting to catch such a big fish with my wee rod!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 15/07/2020 15:53:57    2284149