Are The Rumours True?

all the rumours going arond about certain co teams training [for months] but are they true, i know [from a player] of one county who were, but stopped after a warning from croke park

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 05/07/2020 15:28:05    2283120

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "all the rumours going arond about certain co teams training [for months
but are they true, i know [from a player] of one county who were, but stopped after a warning from croke park"]How much training would they have been doing if not playing until October? Doesn't need to be months of training, but some counties just won't give in

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/07/2020 16:03:55    2283122

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "all the rumours going arond about certain co teams training [for months
but are they true, i know [from a player] of one county who were, but stopped after a warning from croke park"]I'd say plenty of counties were in some shape or form

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 05/07/2020 16:09:10    2283123

but are they true, i know [from a player] of one county who were, but stopped after a warning from croke park"]It's not happening down here as I'd have heard it from 1 of our lads.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/07/2020 16:09:54    2283124

Heard Dublin were. But then again that is probably just more mud to sling at them. I sincerely hope it's not true.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/07/2020 17:26:35    2283129

The naivety, the last training ban should be enough of a clue as to what is going on.
Second clue is, why is the GPA seeking immediate insurance cover even though training is not sanctioned till later in the Summer ?
Third clue is, the two most senior officials in the GAA saying they won't be taking any action against any county not adhering to the guidelines.
Training in small pods on non affiliated grounds going on in one particular county, GAA hoping that that fear of being individually targeted or club being targeted will stop people from reporting abuse of the guidelines, eventually though the truth (or phone footage) always comes out.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 05/07/2020 17:40:00    2283133

The team who are training all along must be some useless lot if they need to ignore a public health epidemic and train without insurance in the hope to win a provincial or All-Ireland championship.
Imagine being so desperate?
But why does everything in the GAA, and Irish society have to be so underhand? Training ban, nod nod wink wink. Managers not being paid, nod nod wink wink nothing to see here Revenue.

The GAA as an organisation really need to grow up. Turning a blind eye to things has not served Irish society well in the past and it really needs to stop.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 05/07/2020 20:04:28    2283147

if it is true players are unnecessarily rolling the dice with their families lives.

They are bigger eejits to be at it. Sometimes personal responsibility should be taken. If they put the foot down and said no en bloc what is a county manager to do.

whatarewewatching (Roscommon) - Posts: 36 - 05/07/2020 20:25:38    2283153

It would appear to be fruitless anyway as I doubt if there will be any championship after watching the footage on Twitter of the carryon in Dublin last night (and I am sure replicated across the country).
Bloody idiotic & so disrespectful to those who passed & to those who work in hospitals & emergency services, absolutely disgusting.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 05/07/2020 21:48:16    2283163

Replying To greysoil:  "It would appear to be fruitless anyway as I doubt if there will be any championship after watching the footage on Twitter of the carryon in Dublin last night (and I am sure replicated across the country).
Bloody idiotic & so disrespectful to those who passed & to those who work in hospitals & emergency services, absolutely disgusting."
Agree 100 %.

61123 (Wicklow) - Posts: 172 - 05/07/2020 23:15:39    2283173

Replying To StoreysTash:  "The team who are training all along must be some useless lot if they need to ignore a public health epidemic and train without insurance in the hope to win a provincial or All-Ireland championship.
Imagine being so desperate?
But why does everything in the GAA, and Irish society have to be so underhand? Training ban, nod nod wink wink. Managers not being paid, nod nod wink wink nothing to see here Revenue.

The GAA as an organisation really need to grow up. Turning a blind eye to things has not served Irish society well in the past and it really needs to stop."
Well said, there are similarities with what happened in other organisations both sporting & non sporting in this country over the last few years. People were demonised & bullied into silence by the large group think & complicit media & everything was swept under the carpet in those organisations, but the truth always outs. It will happen in the GAA also some day as there have been many cover ups, some day Revenue will find rich pickings in the underhand payment of cash to club & county managers that has never been declared. Some of the sums involved are vast & some have being doing this for many many years, often moving around to whoever is desperate for them. In my opinion it hasn't being exposed as there has been pressure exerted on certain quarters to avoid it as there are some very high profile names that would be exposed including some at the highest echelon of Irish administration. But some day it will come out & those who dismissed it will be exposed for what they are. A previous DG famously said they searched high & low & couldn't find any evidence of it, the biggest pile of BS, when it was everywhere, just didn't want to find it or expose it, nod nod, wink, wink.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 05/07/2020 23:49:08    2283175

Replying To greysoil:  "It would appear to be fruitless anyway as I doubt if there will be any championship after watching the footage on Twitter of the carryon in Dublin last night (and I am sure replicated across the country).
Bloody idiotic & so disrespectful to those who passed & to those who work in hospitals & emergency services, absolutely disgusting."
True. In years to come our grandchildren will say it was stupidity and ignorance that really killed so many, and not so much the pandemic. I hope to God I'm wrong but I have a nagging feeling the GAA's best laid plans might be in vain.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 06/07/2020 08:47:10    2283185

Replying To whatarewewatching:  "if it is true players are unnecessarily rolling the dice with their families lives.

They are bigger eejits to be at it. Sometimes personal responsibility should be taken. If they put the foot down and said no en bloc what is a county manager to do."
What you mean rolling the dice with their families sure arent they training with their clubs sure isnt that the same thing.

i think the most recent warning from the GAA will stop all

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 06/07/2020 09:17:17    2283187

We all love chatting, rumours and the craic......and that's fair enough ....we are fans....that's what we do!

But if county teams are acting the maggot why have they not been named, where are the pictures, the video clips on Whatsapp etc. Why are the GAA journalists not investigating and laying it all out on the table? We all saw the clips from a team holiday in New York....it is impossible to keep this stuff secret anymore.

Either the GAA journalists are to cosy with the team mgt's or it is not happening.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 06/07/2020 09:34:36    2283190

Replying To royaldunne:  "Heard Dublin were. But then again that is probably just more mud to sling at them. I sincerely hope it's not true."
It isnt true, clubs would be very unhappy with clandestine training sessions. The potential for cross team infection when county players turn up with club teams is huge. If no county teams train it is a level playing field of sorts. But GAA and GPA have let everyone down with their initial stances.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 06/07/2020 09:52:04    2283195

Hopefully every county gets to complete their own club championships. Right now I don't believe we will have an inter county championship...2nd wave incoming

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/07/2020 22:24:11    2283271

Replying To yew_tree:  "Hopefully every county gets to complete their own club championships. Right now I don't believe we will have an inter county championship...2nd wave incoming"
If things was right now with low cases and 0.2% positivity rate we would have a inter County championships but none of us knows how things will be by October however how the government handles international travel will play a big part in any possible 2nd wave.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 07/07/2020 02:26:51    2283283

Replying To yew_tree:  "Hopefully every county gets to complete their own club championships. Right now I don't believe we will have an inter county championship...2nd wave incoming"
100 %, kerry is crawling with tourists from all over including USA, as I'm sure is Mayo and Cork and other costal counties.

Give it 3-4 weeks and we'll all be locked down again.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/07/2020 07:47:54    2283287

I'd imagine the football team with all the advantages are also using a pandenic to their advantage

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 07/07/2020 07:56:48    2283288

Replying To gahfan:  "I'd imagine the football team with all the advantages are also using a pandenic to their advantage"
Oh stop posting rubbish

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/07/2020 10:34:35    2283295