No Red Thumbs

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah it was in the Meath home page. The are some very weird people out there.
Look personally I'll take whatever is thrown at me. I can give as good as I get. And many times I have posted something that in hindsight I shouldn't have. And if I get flack for it that's my own fault. But I do try to make amends.
However none of my family are on here or need to be brought into anything. That's where the line was very much crossed. But as you say. Some very odd people out there."
100% RD , I never knew that was going on but fair play to you, you kept calm by the sounds of it under difficult circumstances and did the right thing by contacting the guards..

I'd be like you and I'd have gotten more red thumbs then green and like you it didn't bother me 1 bit and look every1 knows my views on here and they're my views alone, I don't speak for my County my Club or my family.

My views aren't popular on certain topics but I can't be a sheep and turn a blind eye to glaring favouritism to a particular county by our association .

Anyway thanks for sharing your story RD and hopefully it's done and dusted with now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/07/2020 14:58:15    2283116

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'd say you'd be of the school of thought that children nowadays all get stars or awards for any sort of competition they are involved in,so there are no losers,we are all winners type of mentality, that's all ok until they go out in the real world and have to deal with real life were the harsh realities of human existence have to be confronted, that's when the snowflakes melt(down)
Anyway bring back the red thumbs I say, if only for the poor Mayo folk who cling to a bit of hope whenever they see a bit of green and red, could be our year ya know, Christmas is coming,,,, elves are green and red too LOL.
ah the curse, the curse..."
I dobt think there should be competitions in field sports for under 12s.
Above that of course you have to.
The red thumbs stop debate. If you cant post any words against a post then why are you even on the forum. Highlighting posts you agree with or like is a very different matter.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 05/07/2020 14:58:50    2283117

I'd be another who'd happily back the getting rid of the green thumbs as well... the red thumbs being gone is a good thing, over on the Meath page there is at least two sock accounts set up just to leave bait messages and red thumb genuine Meath posters. What bothers me is that still plenty of Meath posters fall for this and give these people the rise they want, and the threads go to pot. Im sure this happens on other county pages too, the red thumb being gone limits theit ability to troll genuine commenters.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 05/07/2020 15:34:47    2283121

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "100% RD , I never knew that was going on but fair play to you, you kept calm by the sounds of it under difficult circumstances and did the right thing by contacting the guards..

I'd be like you and I'd have gotten more red thumbs then green and like you it didn't bother me 1 bit and look every1 knows my views on here and they're my views alone, I don't speak for my County my Club or my family.

My views aren't popular on certain topics but I can't be a sheep and turn a blind eye to glaring favouritism to a particular county by our association .

Anyway thanks for sharing your story RD and hopefully it's done and dusted with now."
Fair play. Look as you said it's our views. There not anyone else's. And at the end of the day. It's only sport. Not life or death (of course unless we playing dubs, then it's more important) lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/07/2020 17:29:57    2283131

Replying To Young_gael:  "I'd be another who'd happily back the getting rid of the green thumbs as well... the red thumbs being gone is a good thing, over on the Meath page there is at least two sock accounts set up just to leave bait messages and red thumb genuine Meath posters. What bothers me is that still plenty of Meath posters fall for this and give these people the rise they want, and the threads go to pot. Im sure this happens on other county pages too, the red thumb being gone limits theit ability to troll genuine commenters."
See we can agree on something's :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/07/2020 17:31:07    2283132

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'd say you'd be of the school of thought that children nowadays all get stars or awards for any sort of competition they are involved in,so there are no losers,we are all winners type of mentality, that's all ok until they go out in the real world and have to deal with real life were the harsh realities of human existence have to be confronted, that's when the snowflakes melt(down)
Anyway bring back the red thumbs I say, if only for the poor Mayo folk who cling to a bit of hope whenever they see a bit of green and red, could be our year ya know, Christmas is coming,,,, elves are green and red too LOL.
It would be interesting to hear from you what research you could point to that shows that not have winners for U12s sports leads people to being less capable to deal with life later on. Also what are the harsh realities of life that when some people are confronted with and melt(down) that you would stand up and be a man about? like there is a lot of bad stuff that goes on in the world every day to everyone, just wondering what ones you would consider worthy of a melt(down) - I am not even sure what melt(down) means in terms of a human reaction to an event, perhaps you could also define it for us.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 05/07/2020 17:41:16    2283134

Replying To royaldunne:  "Fair play. Look as you said it's our views. There not anyone else's. And at the end of the day. It's only sport. Not life or death (of course unless we playing dubs, then it's more important) lol"
Haha now you said it RD. That's all any1 can do on 1 of these forums is give their own honest views and deal with the consequences there after.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/07/2020 18:20:20    2283140

"I'd say you'd be of the school of thought that children nowadays all get stars or awards for any sort of competition they are involved in,so there are no losers"

Name me all the competitions that children nowadays all get stars or awards for, and there are no losers in?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 05/07/2020 18:20:21    2283141

Replying To KillingFields:  "Says a lot about the attitudes and childish attitudes of far too many regular posters on the forum
Red thumbs/down rating posts isnt a good thing. If you need to criticise a post do it openly or not at all.
Promotion of positive posts is something completely different and should be kept"
I think if you are bothered by red thumbs, you shouldn't be on here or any other public medium.
I have never ever looked at how many thumbs my posts get, red or green I barely even noticed them.
If you have an opinion and can defend it, then don't worry about green/red thumbs!

Anybody worrying about red thumbs is probably taking things a bit too seriously......to me this place is a bit of craic and debate!

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 05/07/2020 20:00:13    2283146

Replying To zinny:  "It would be interesting to hear from you what research you could point to that shows that not have winners for U12s sports leads people to being less capable to deal with life later on. Also what are the harsh realities of life that when some people are confronted with and melt(down) that you would stand up and be a man about? like there is a lot of bad stuff that goes on in the world every day to everyone, just wondering what ones you would consider worthy of a melt(down) - I am not even sure what melt(down) means in terms of a human reaction to an event, perhaps you could also define it for us."
Research?? give me a break for the love of God, my point to our friend from Limerick is his attitude reminds me of the culture nowadays of there being no losers in childrens competitions etc, hardly a good preperation for the real world is it? research LOL,
if you can't take a bit of criticism your in for a rough time, the red thumb was a quick way to disagree with a post, hardly worth getting your panties in a twist over is it?? bring back the red thumbs I say.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 05/07/2020 20:36:38    2283155

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I think if you are bothered by red thumbs, you shouldn't be on here or any other public medium.
I have never ever looked at how many thumbs my posts get, red or green I barely even noticed them.
If you have an opinion and can defend it, then don't worry about green/red thumbs!

Anybody worrying about red thumbs is probably taking things a bit too seriously......to me this place is a bit of craic and debate!"
You should be delighted with all the green thumbs this post got ;)

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 05/07/2020 21:02:21    2283158

Replying To TheUsername:  ""I don't care what people think of me, I just have strong feelings about red thumbs."

Never change. ......:D"
A fella with proven multiple accounts trying to take the p out of someone else, I'd be embarrassed for you!!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/07/2020 23:10:10    2283171

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Research?? give me a break for the love of God, my point to our friend from Limerick is his attitude reminds me of the culture nowadays of there being no losers in childrens competitions etc, hardly a good preperation for the real world is it? research LOL,
if you can't take a bit of criticism your in for a rough time, the red thumb was a quick way to disagree with a post, hardly worth getting your panties in a twist over is it?? bring back the red thumbs I say."
Oh lord, and what if don't wears the panties. Is there somewhere I should go. Maybe I'm a wee bit dodgy am I ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 05/07/2020 23:14:43    2283172

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Research?? give me a break for the love of God, my point to our friend from Limerick is his attitude reminds me of the culture nowadays of there being no losers in childrens competitions etc, hardly a good preperation for the real world is it? research LOL,
if you can't take a bit of criticism your in for a rough time, the red thumb was a quick way to disagree with a post, hardly worth getting your panties in a twist over is it?? bring back the red thumbs I say."
Some people, rather than engage in real debate, hide behind the red thumbs or resort to the use of one liners (with perhaps derogatory terms) because they neither have the knowledge or ability to refute or rebut the points being made by the poster. I am amazed that you would not want them gone.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 06/07/2020 03:39:55    2283178

#redthumbsmatter

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 06/07/2020 08:28:28    2283183

THUMBS DOWN

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1678 - 06/07/2020 09:33:30    2283189

Ban LOL from Hoganstand! In fairness our 4 and 10 year old daughters even think that's old school. I agree with a lot of what TírConaill says. It's hard to imagine how kids can cope later in life if a few red and green thumbs bother them when they're young. But everyone's different, some of us are as prone to anxiety and depression as others are to arthritis or diabetes, we're all different. Parents and schools have a part to play. 8 year old being given i-Phones then Mammy and Daddy wanting to change their settings to restrict what they can view and whinging because the kid has a tantrum because he won't put down the phone for dinner time. Maybe don't give them a phone so young? Between them and the schools don't ban everything, let them know the benefits and pitfalls of the Internet rather than leaving them at a cyber and life disadvantage because they were told they can't do this that or the other.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 06/07/2020 10:14:19    2283198

Replying To wexico15:  "You should be delighted with all the green thumbs this post got ;)"
My day has been made.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 06/07/2020 12:36:14    2283208

You are acting very childish. You are getting triggered by this?
Why?
If you cant counter a post and say why you disagree with a post then why are you a member of a discussion forum
A red thumb isnt criticism. Yeah research. Can you back up these rather big claims you've made

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 06/07/2020 15:02:34    2283223

Replying To StoreysTash:  "My day has been made."
You have a fantastic username

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 06/07/2020 15:21:52    2283229