No Red Thumbs

Not before time. It's another form of bullying. Anyway Admin can you tell me which poster got the most red thumbs? My money is on my good friend from across the Boyne Royaldunne.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 02/07/2020 19:30:50    2282767

It's the way society is going, some snowflake might get offended by a red thumb, it takes away from the forum in my opinion,bring back the red thumb!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2745 - 02/07/2020 19:40:48    2282772

Replying To Whammo86:  "I'm not a fan of either but I think the red thumbs were particularly bad and stifled debate."
I don't understand, in what way did they stifle debate?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2454 - 02/07/2020 19:50:20    2282774

Replying To Ollie2:  "Not before time. It's another form of bullying. Anyway Admin can you tell me which poster got the most red thumbs? My money is on my good friend from across the Boyne Royaldunne."
Bullying? Seriously? I thought it was just a way for people to express whether they liked or disliked a post.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 02/07/2020 20:18:31    2282776

Why have the Red Thumbs been removed? Where is the admin's explanation for doing it?

With both green and and red thumbs you tend get a general view of the point expressed, pro and con. A comment could get 4 greens and 5 reds. Now, only the 4 approvals (green) will show.

You can't get rid of one and leave the other. By getting rid of the red thumbs, and leaving the green; you are only allowing approval, and censoring disapproval. Either leave both, or get rid of both.

I speak as someone who has had far more red thumbs than green.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2454 - 02/07/2020 20:20:52    2282777

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "It's the way society is going, some snowflake might get offended by a red thumb, it takes away from the forum in my opinion,bring back the red thumb!!"
What age are you? 12 maybe?
People hid behind red thumbs. Couldnt or wouldnt post a reply to a persons post so just red thumbed the post.
How does it take from the forum?
If you were to keep the red thumbs you should have to post in a pop up form why you dislike the post and that reason should be available to the original poster and moderators. But if not that then keep them off the site

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 02/07/2020 20:31:45    2282780

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Why have the Red Thumbs been removed? Where is the admin's explanation for doing it?

With both green and and red thumbs you tend get a general view of the point expressed, pro and con. A comment could get 4 greens and 5 reds. Now, only the 4 approvals (green) will show.

You can't get rid of one and leave the other. By getting rid of the red thumbs, and leaving the green; you are only allowing approval, and censoring disapproval. Either leave both, or get rid of both.

I speak as someone who has had far more red thumbs than green."
We all got on grand before the thumbs but I think you're correct and they should get rid of both green and red thumbs, make a clean sweep and can anyone remember when they first started using them? Am I right in saying 3 years or more?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/07/2020 20:55:26    2282785

Replying To KillingFields:  "What age are you? 12 maybe?
People hid behind red thumbs. Couldnt or wouldnt post a reply to a persons post so just red thumbed the post.
How does it take from the forum?
If you were to keep the red thumbs you should have to post in a pop up form why you dislike the post and that reason should be available to the original poster and moderators. But if not that then keep them off the site"
And the green thumbs? People also ' hid behind' them. Someone could post an antagonistic post and get green thumbs. Going by your reasoning; why shouldn't they "have to post in a pop up form why you [like] the post and that reason should be available to the original poster and moderators. "?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2454 - 02/07/2020 21:05:03    2282789

Leave red thumbs, they are an easy and quick way to interact.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1343 - 02/07/2020 21:13:09    2282794

Replying To Ollie2:  "Not before time. It's another form of bullying. Anyway Admin can you tell me which poster got the most red thumbs? My money is on my good friend from across the Boyne Royaldunne."
Ahh Ollie me auld friend. It was the pinnacle of my day or week to see how many red thumbs I got on a post. Tbh half the time I was posting stuff just to get them. Funny thing though I found out that it was mostly one Or two posters but the joy of knowing they had to log in and out multiple times to red thumb was very satisfactory lol . I think I would have topped the board on red thumbs. The only time it ever annoyed me was when I posted about a former Meath all ire winning minor and u21 player who passed away too young from Enfield, leaving behind a partner and children, I knew Jason very well , we had lost contact (as you do ) over the years. But caught back up with him before he passed. That got to me as it was petty and down right disrespectful to the mourning family just to score a cheep shot at me.
Anyway they are gone.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/07/2020 21:15:31    2282795

Green thumbs can also be a form bullying. Often on here someone will reply to a comment, ridiculing and denigrating the the person who posted it; and this is reply receives plenty of green thumbs.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2454 - 02/07/2020 22:14:30    2282803

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well that's the we hate Kerry brigade scuppered!

How now will they be able to show their anger as they stalk the Kerry forum ;D

Maybe it will force some of them to actually have the balls to identify themselves by posting something - instead of hiding behind a pathetic little red button.

Get rid of the green thumbs while you're at it, esp given the fact certain posters (hello username) have various alter-egos to give themselves green pats on the back!!

People are strange, I suppose :D"
"Get rid of the green thumbs while you're at it, esp given the fact certain posters (hello username) have various alter-egos to give themselves green pats on the back!!

I'm very strange Hermit. I have several alter-egos that always give me red thumbs. I get a sort of thrill from it, oh dear, I think I've said enough...

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2454 - 02/07/2020 23:26:08    2282817

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well that's the we hate Kerry brigade scuppered!

How now will they be able to show their anger as they stalk the Kerry forum ;D

Maybe it will force some of them to actually have the balls to identify themselves by posting something - instead of hiding behind a pathetic little red button.

Get rid of the green thumbs while you're at it, esp given the fact certain posters (hello username) have various alter-egos to give themselves green pats on the back!!

Look who's talking where did you and your little friend get all the likes I mean ye are the most unpopular feckers on here, what a joke.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 03/07/2020 05:47:20    2282824

The only thing that the forum is missing is most of the decent posters, even jumbo has fecked off, now that says it all.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 03/07/2020 05:51:48    2282825

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Leave red thumbs, they are an easy and quick way to interact."
They stop debate which is what a forum is about.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 03/07/2020 10:30:38    2282842

Replying To lilypad:  "The only thing that the forum is missing is most of the decent posters, even jumbo has fecked off, now that says it all."
Sure you are jimbo, you thought we didn't notice didn't you? sure you have more accounts than a politican.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/07/2020 11:09:52    2282850

Replying To lilypad:  "The only thing that the forum is missing is most of the decent posters, even jumbo has fecked off, now that says it all."
Missing a lot more than that. Compare the site to many other forums and its completely out of date.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 03/07/2020 11:11:25    2282851

Replying To lilypad:  "Look who's talking where did you and your little friend get all the likes I mean ye are the most unpopular feckers on here, what a joke."
Am I?

I'll have to take your word on that one.

Anyway don't worry kid you'll shoot up that popularity board someday, just keep pilling on the anti-Kerry bile, good man.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/07/2020 15:06:52    2282913

Get rid of green thumbs too. Forum was much better when we had neither and posters voiced their opinions. What purpose do the red and green thumbs have in an online forum? If someone's offended by a load of red thumbs after their comments or not enough green thumbs they should realise that online forums aren't for them.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 03/07/2020 15:59:15    2282929

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Get rid of green thumbs too. Forum was much better when we had neither and posters voiced their opinions. What purpose do the red and green thumbs have in an online forum? If someone's offended by a load of red thumbs after their comments or not enough green thumbs they should realise that online forums aren't for them."
I think having the green thumbs/like button is good as its basic appreciation for a good post/something you agree with without needing to post anything.
Red thumbs just stifle debate

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 03/07/2020 16:50:19    2282936