Championship Open Draw

Replying To Htaem:  "We should be doing better yew_tree, I'd say a series of terrible county board decisions, particularly around the period 2002-2012 left us well behind the pack and we still haven't recovered.

However just on the population of Meath (and Kildare I'd imagine), don't let the figures fool you. If you take a spin around Meath, you're more likely to Dublin jerseys and tops than Meath ones, significantly more around Ashbourne, Dunboyne, Dunshaughlin and Ratoath, all large towns near the Dublin border.

I'm not up Navan way as often, but you'll see a lot of Dublin jerseys around there as well, particularly around Johnstown.

We're absolutely polluted with smelly Dubs, they had to invade to stop us winning Sam :-)"
Can the Dublin native kids not help Meath into the future? They are Meath after all, will play club football, schools etc in Meath.

I know plenty of Mayo natives living in Galway who brought their kids to Mayo games etc down the years, decked out in gear but eventually those kids play for Galway...Larry Finnertys son for example, a county player with Galway now...and why wouldn't he.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 20/06/2020 14:07:39    2281360

Replying To yew_tree:  "Can the Dublin native kids not help Meath into the future? They are Meath after all, will play club football, schools etc in Meath.

I know plenty of Mayo natives living in Galway who brought their kids to Mayo games etc down the years, decked out in gear but eventually those kids play for Galway...Larry Finnertys son for example, a county player with Galway now...and why wouldn't he."
Youre very correct, however the point is that these kids deep down do not care about Meath. Same as thwir parents. The mentality and winner's spirit and "us vs. them" mentality regarding Dublin just doesent exist anymore. The same sentiment can be found on every street corner in Meath, it just isnt the same as it was. The building blocks that made this county special are gone. And please take this is a good way because I mean it in good spirit but I genuinely dont think a Mayo person could understand this.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 20/06/2020 14:14:49    2281361

Replying To Breffnisbest:  "With the limited amount of time to run the Gaelic Football Championship this would be a great opportunity to have an open draw the numbers (32) (I presume that Galway will not be going to New York) it is perfect instead of provinces 11, 9, 6 and 6.
But the G.A.A would hardly be that radical or could they be?"
With the travel quarantine in place nobody will be going to LN either.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 20/06/2020 14:18:20    2281362

Replying To Young_gael:  "Very true, we should run the county board through the mill over a series of bad decisions and appointments over a sustained period. That and too many coaches, too many players coming and going, and the effective cutting out of many experienced players in the early 10s, along with a declining sense of identity and interest in the towns around the county. Meath is as likely to re-emerge and win all-Irelands as it is to stay largely irrelevant in the division 2 area, occasionally drifting into division 1 or 3 depending on the times. You really would have to be from the county to understand the point we're trying to make. Its a different place then it was 25 years ago, a great place to live; busy, suburban, good roads, etc, but the spirit of the past is gone, at least for now."
It is gone unfortunately but we've hit dry spells before (this being one of the worst granted) and re-emerged so it is possible.

I think falling behind at underage level and making a complete mess of our county championship really done damage to us. Also many if the issues you listed aswell contributed to a lack of stability.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/06/2020 14:31:02    2281363

Replying To yew_tree:  "Can the Dublin native kids not help Meath into the future? They are Meath after all, will play club football, schools etc in Meath.

I know plenty of Mayo natives living in Galway who brought their kids to Mayo games etc down the years, decked out in gear but eventually those kids play for Galway...Larry Finnertys son for example, a county player with Galway now...and why wouldn't he."
Most of their kids seem to support Dublin as well.

We honestly haven't really benefited from the massive influx at all, I know very few kids of Dubs who support Meath and I would have grown up with plenty of them. Now there are the odd few who support Meath of course but the majority don't seem to.

You may not believe me but I know a few people who's grandparents were from Dublin (parents raised in Meath) and they still support Dublin!

Again, I would say we should be doing better and a lot of our problems stem from poor country board issues over a prolonged period of time. But don't let the population figure fool you, it's not as beneficial as it looks on paper, far from it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/06/2020 14:39:55    2281365

Replying To Htaem:  "Most of their kids seem to support Dublin as well.

We honestly haven't really benefited from the massive influx at all, I know very few kids of Dubs who support Meath and I would have grown up with plenty of them. Now there are the odd few who support Meath of course but the majority don't seem to.

You may not believe me but I know a few people who's grandparents were from Dublin (parents raised in Meath) and they still support Dublin!

Again, I would say we should be doing better and a lot of our problems stem from poor country board issues over a prolonged period of time. But don't let the population figure fool you, it's not as beneficial as it looks on paper, far from it."
A real difference from the west of Ireland people who moved to Meath during the land commission times so...they fully engrained themselves into Meath...different times I know and circumstances.

I still think though over time the population increase will benefit ye...it's interesting to note prior to the 1996 final, Mayo had a bigger population than Meath...now Meath have approx 60k more people than mayo.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 20/06/2020 16:20:52    2281371

Replying To yew_tree:  "A real difference from the west of Ireland people who moved to Meath during the land commission times so...they fully engrained themselves into Meath...different times I know and circumstances.

I still think though over time the population increase will benefit ye...it's interesting to note prior to the 1996 final, Mayo had a bigger population than Meath...now Meath have approx 60k more people than mayo."
The west of Ireland folk integrated very well over time, I know plenty of people around my area who orginally came up from the west through the land commission. Some of my best mates throughout school were grandchildren of the people who moved over.

Now I've heard though my parents and grandparents that there was some tension at time, but that's long gone.

Hopefully over time the influx of Dubs will benefit us but it's going to take a while yet I'd imagine.

Didn't know the population of Mayo was bigger than Meath in 96, that's an interesting fact. I suppose with the celtic tiger and all that the likes of Meath and Kildare were always going to explode population wise.

Hopefully the west does maintain a steady, vibrant population, it's a shame to see more rural counties being hit by emigration.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/06/2020 17:43:10    2281381

Replying To Htaem:  "The west of Ireland folk integrated very well over time, I know plenty of people around my area who orginally came up from the west through the land commission. Some of my best mates throughout school were grandchildren of the people who moved over.

Now I've heard though my parents and grandparents that there was some tension at time, but that's long gone.

Hopefully over time the influx of Dubs will benefit us but it's going to take a while yet I'd imagine.

Didn't know the population of Mayo was bigger than Meath in 96, that's an interesting fact. I suppose with the celtic tiger and all that the likes of Meath and Kildare were always going to explode population wise.

Hopefully the west does maintain a steady, vibrant population, it's a shame to see more rural counties being hit by emigration."
Yes I've heard stories those who moved east weren't welcomed by locals for a long time....land is a delicate matter in Ireland so its understandable especially back in those times.

I believe Robbie O Malley and Tommy Dowd are of Mayo stock.

Anyway I think it would be great to see Meath back challenging...the game needs great rivalries....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 20/06/2020 18:13:03    2281383

Replying To yew_tree:  "Yes I've heard stories those who moved east weren't welcomed by locals for a long time....land is a delicate matter in Ireland so its understandable especially back in those times.

I believe Robbie O Malley and Tommy Dowd are of Mayo stock.

Anyway I think it would be great to see Meath back challenging...the game needs great rivalries...."
Ye land can still be a touchy issue in Ireland, but a lot more so back then.

I have to say my memory is poor at the best of times but you could be right about O'Malley and Dowd. Also I think Lyons and Harnan had Mayo connections and O'Rourke was from Leitrim.

Thanks yew_tree, sure look we just have to keep putting the work in and hope the tide turns for us.

Hopefully Mayo will get over the line soon as well and Sam, genuinely would love to see yous put all the past demons to bed. This has been one of the strangest years I ever remember so you wouldn't know what could happen!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/06/2020 18:50:13    2281386

Replying To Htaem:  "Ye land can still be a touchy issue in Ireland, but a lot more so back then.

I have to say my memory is poor at the best of times but you could be right about O'Malley and Dowd. Also I think Lyons and Harnan had Mayo connections and O'Rourke was from Leitrim.

Thanks yew_tree, sure look we just have to keep putting the work in and hope the tide turns for us.

Hopefully Mayo will get over the line soon as well and Sam, genuinely would love to see yous put all the past demons to bed. This has been one of the strangest years I ever remember so you wouldn't know what could happen!"
I think sadly we have missed the boat and are in rebuilding mode. Although a friend reckons in a mad year like this some daft team will come and win it and he reckons its us...wouldn't be bad heading up to Dublin to do the Xmas shopping and brining Sam back home with us.....one can hope

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 20/06/2020 19:22:26    2281390

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think sadly we have missed the boat and are in rebuilding mode. Although a friend reckons in a mad year like this some daft team will come and win it and he reckons its us...wouldn't be bad heading up to Dublin to do the Xmas shopping and brining Sam back home with us.....one can hope"
Haha good man yew_tree, you never know your luck, be one hell of a christmas down in Mayo if you's did!! Be worth the trip west just for the craic.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/06/2020 20:14:36    2281396

Replying To Htaem:  "Haha good man yew_tree, you never know your luck, be one hell of a christmas down in Mayo if you's did!! Be worth the trip west just for the craic."
Given how sad a year it's been a little feel good story like Sam going to Mayo would be welcome

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 20/06/2020 21:27:21    2281400

Replying To Htaem:  "We should be doing better yew_tree, I'd say a series of terrible county board decisions, particularly around the period 2002-2012 left us well behind the pack and we still haven't recovered.

However just on the population of Meath (and Kildare I'd imagine), don't let the figures fool you. If you take a spin around Meath, you're more likely to Dublin jerseys and tops than Meath ones, significantly more around Ashbourne, Dunboyne, Dunshaughlin and Ratoath, all large towns near the Dublin border.

I'm not up Navan way as often, but you'll see a lot of Dublin jerseys around there as well, particularly around Johnstown.

We're absolutely polluted with smelly Dubs, they had to invade to stop us winning Sam :-)"
Nutshell.
The one thing I'll add is that if anyone is wondering why the population thing hasn't helped Meath , a major club in county organised a bus (that was packed) to a Dublin championship game. On the same day Meath were playing.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2020 21:38:01    2281404

I had already stated this. A senior club in Meath had a coach hired to attend a Dublin game on same day as Meath were playing. And if you talking about the kids, then fair enough that might happen in the future, but at the moment they won't, so we really can't do anything about it in the here and now

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2020 21:40:34    2281405

Replying To Htaem:  "Ye land can still be a touchy issue in Ireland, but a lot more so back then.

Hopefully Mayo will get over the line soon as well and Sam, genuinely would love to see yous put all the past demons to bed. This has been one of the strangest years I ever remember so you wouldn't know what could happen!"
Htaem how is this allowed by the gaa? I know there is a parish rule but doesn't it extend to county?

If your living and playing club football in a county then you should play for that county although I was happy for Conor Cox to go to Roscommon.

Can ye imagine if we had the kerry contingent of the O'Sheas from Mayo and Fenton and cian Ó'Sullivan over the last few years when we were deep in transision, it would have eased things for us big time and allowed us time to ease the likes of David and Seánie into the team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/06/2020 23:21:38    2281413

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nutshell.
The one thing I'll add is that if anyone is wondering why the population thing hasn't helped Meath , a major club in county organised a bus (that was packed) to a Dublin championship game. On the same day Meath were playing."
I bet there was plenty taking buses the other way too to see the Meath game.Dublin is full of people who are not Dubs too and many kids im sure that will go on to play for their parents county

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 21/06/2020 00:06:46    2281416

Replying To yew_tree:  "Counties like Meath and Kildare should be doing so much better instead of maiming Dublin win everything...I'm
Not having a go but especially Meath always stood up...what has happened?

Ye are a wealthy county with a big population...then you look at small counties population wise like Monaghan and Roscommon who are getting the most out of the resources available to them...Meath and Kildare should be doing so much better"
Do you mean the Kildare seniors that knocked Mayo out of the championship recently? Or is it the Kildare u21's who beat Mayo in an all Ireland final recently? Or are you referring to our lack of provincial titles that means beating Dublin to succeed, a team Mayo have little or no success against either..?

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 21/06/2020 00:55:19    2281417

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nutshell.
The one thing I'll add is that if anyone is wondering why the population thing hasn't helped Meath , a major club in county organised a bus (that was packed) to a Dublin championship game. On the same day Meath were playing."
Ye I remember that, the local credit union was celebrating the Dubs winning 5 in a row as well, gas stuff.

I suppose with Dean Rock being a Meath man it's nice to support our own ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/06/2020 08:14:58    2281420

Not a chance Galway will be heading over to NY this year so will they get a bye into the final? Connacht will have to be redrawn. The London game may not go ahead either.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 21/06/2020 09:30:47    2281421

Replying To Breezy:  "I bet there was plenty taking buses the other way too to see the Meath game.Dublin is full of people who are not Dubs too and many kids im sure that will go on to play for their parents county"
No you misunderstood.
I was saying about a senior County club In Meath organised a bus from the clubhouse to Dublin match on SAME DAY, as Meath had a championship match. In which that club had players on the Meath team. That does not and as far as I know hasn't happens in any other major county club. Perhaps I'm wrong but I don't think so. Also I think Bryan menton had it right last year on the credit union thing, welcoming HOME Dublin win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/06/2020 10:30:08    2281430