Louth V Meath Leinster Final

Watched the Sunday game last night and they revisited that 2010 LFF that infamous goal by Sheridan that he handled into net he admitted last night that it should not have stood he diden't say that at the time. He was in square and handled ball in.

Louth a tiny County waiting 50 years to be robbed like that a referee that woulden't even ask the umpire if you did that to Tyrone in their pomp your would not be safe.

Meath were so unsporting them a huge County claimed that there would have to be changes to by laws ect dident the GAA order a replay after Coooney's mistake in 1998 and wee had to put up with it.

Louth manager still hurting i wasent too impressed with Sheridan's smirking and postering on that day either.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 15/06/2020 11:49:45    2280887

Replying To clooney:  "Watched the Sunday game last night and they revisited that 2010 LFF that infamous goal by Sheridan that he handled into net he admitted last night that it should not have stood he diden't say that at the time. He was in square and handled ball in.

Louth a tiny County waiting 50 years to be robbed like that a referee that woulden't even ask the umpire if you did that to Tyrone in their pomp your would not be safe.

Meath were so unsporting them a huge County claimed that there would have to be changes to by laws ect dident the GAA order a replay after Coooney's mistake in 1998 and wee had to put up with it.

Louth manager still hurting i wasent too impressed with Sheridan's smirking and postering on that day either."
Hi clooney,

Google translate is not returning anything on this. Could you clarify what language you are writing in?

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 15/06/2020 11:57:04    2280890

You know only too well what message meant

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 15/06/2020 12:40:10    2280899

It was hands down the worst decision I ever seen in the GAA, It was shameful performance by the referee. Umpires in such a good decision and it was as blatant as hell. That leinster title would have done untold good for football in Louth.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 15/06/2020 13:18:30    2280904

Replying To Bon:  "It was hands down the worst decision I ever seen in the GAA, It was shameful performance by the referee. Umpires in such a good decision and it was as blatant as hell. That leinster title would have done untold good for football in Louth."
Fully agree. The referee may have been too far away from the incident to make a call but to this day, I cannot understand why he didn't talk to his umpire who was clearly reluctant to put up the green flag. All referees make genuine mistakes but the failure to consult his umpires is very difficult to understand.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 15/06/2020 14:02:19    2280909

In the lead up to the goal..after the initial shot by Kenny the ball spins in the air and two Louth players get in each other's way to grab possession and the ball falls into the hands of Sheridan..now firstly did the ref miss a penalty here to Meath as it appeared to me that Keenan at no3 dragged Sheridan back causing him to tumble and yes throw the ball into the net. So it could be argued that Meath deserved a penalty anyway and this could have been scored or missed..we'll never know. As well the ref couldn't see any of this as he was too far back and had a load of Louth defenders blocking his view. The umpires to me were the ones that were best placed to advise the ref that it was either a penalty or a disallowed goal. Very unfortunate incident all round.
Imo.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 15/06/2020 15:14:16    2280918

Throw ball was the only decision that would have caused least bother/controversy
But sure look its Meath, those boys would try anything.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 15/06/2020 16:11:16    2280923

Throw ball was the only decision that would have caused least bother/controversy
But sure look its Meath, those boys would try anything.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 15/06/2020 16:11:16    2280924

Replying To moros:  "In the lead up to the goal..after the initial shot by Kenny the ball spins in the air and two Louth players get in each other's way to grab possession and the ball falls into the hands of Sheridan..now firstly did the ref miss a penalty here to Meath as it appeared to me that Keenan at no3 dragged Sheridan back causing him to tumble and yes throw the ball into the net. So it could be argued that Meath deserved a penalty anyway and this could have been scored or missed..we'll never know. As well the ref couldn't see any of this as he was too far back and had a load of Louth defenders blocking his view. The umpires to me were the ones that were best placed to advise the ref that it was either a penalty or a disallowed goal. Very unfortunate incident all round.
Imo."
It was definitely no penalty. I remember Colm O'Rourke going through that on the Sunday Game that night and saying it wasn't one.
If you look back at it, Sheridan is bottled up and launches himself towards the goal, rolls on his back, throws it up in the air to try to kick it while on his back, but misses it and it falls over the line.
As has been mentioned, the biggest issue is that the ref didn't take time to actually consult with his umpires. As you said, they had the best view, but he rushed in and essentially told them to raise the green flag. A moment like that needs a cool head from a ref. I can't understand why he didn't take his time and discuss it properly with them.
A terrible outcome for Louth in the end. One can only hope they get another shot some day, but it's hard to see that possibility at this time.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 15/06/2020 17:22:45    2280935

Replying To clooney:  "Watched the Sunday game last night and they revisited that 2010 LFF that infamous goal by Sheridan that he handled into net he admitted last night that it should not have stood he diden't say that at the time. He was in square and handled ball in.

Louth manager still hurting i wasent too impressed with Sheridan's smirking and postering on that day either."
Worst decision of all time by referee no question. But louth supporters made a show of themselves referee was attacked meath supporters where abused after game. Sean boylan was physically attacked in the stand. This reason joe and the team decided not to replay and cover up for a shocking ref. While GAA get away scot free.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 15/06/2020 17:28:40    2280938

It was the Wee County's first Leinster final appearance in fifty years. Living on the Meath border, them two weeks leading up to the Leinster final was unreal and indeed the weeks after it. Up until that incident it was a great game of football that had everything in it. With Louth not taking their chances I could sense Meath would snatch it in the end. I was in the Cusack Lower and it was only when I was outside the Stadium that I found out what had happened at the end. It's hard to believe that it was ten years ago. Louth v Meath matches are the real Battle of the Boyne.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 15/06/2020 18:11:04    2280950

Trevor Giles summed it up well, he was for offering a rematch and said are we that desperate for a Leinster title that we need to win this way..

A strange karma since in how Meath have declined.

25 years ago on the 18th June back in 1995, Laois offered Carlow a rematch when they won a game through a Mick Turley point that went wide. Fair play to them.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 15/06/2020 18:13:54    2280951

Replying To midlands:  "Fully agree. The referee may have been too far away from the incident to make a call but to this day, I cannot understand why he didn't talk to his umpire who was clearly reluctant to put up the green flag. All referees make genuine mistakes but the failure to consult his umpires is very difficult to understand."
You'd imagine the referee could have at least consulted with the umpires or the umpires call the referees attention to it. It must have looked dodgy from where the referee was never mind what the umpire saw. How he didn't go in to check is beyond me.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 15/06/2020 18:38:50    2280956

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Worst decision of all time by referee no question. But louth supporters made a show of themselves referee was attacked meath supporters where abused after game. Sean boylan was physically attacked in the stand. This reason joe and the team decided not to replay and cover up for a shocking ref. While GAA get away scot free."
I wouldn't say worst decision of all time. There have been other bad ones like ref blowing up 5 minutes early in 1998 hurling semi final. Think to be fair to Joe who was on his back on the ground he tried to throw it to his foot and swung his foot at it but missed and the ball went straight over the line. If umpires were unsure a hop ball on 21 should have been called. The ref was not up with the play the umpires seemed very unsure what happened.

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 15/06/2020 19:08:56    2280957

A dark day for all involved and for the GAA as a whole. Louth had umpteen chances to win that game by 5/6 points. They missed two very clear-cut goal chances in the first half. Meath were atrocious on the day. As a team, they were lethargic, slow, second to everything. Louth should have won on that particular day and this Meath supporter has no problem saying so. The longer the game lingered the more phrenetic it became. The last few minutes devolved into a total shambles from Louth as they very clearly realised they were on the cusp of victory but Meath were only 1/2 behind, and they lost the plot. It was like a pressure cooker. The fact it was Meath they were about to beat meant more as well as they havent beaten Meath in the championship since the mid-70s. When the ball ended up in the net and the goal was given the game had already unravelled into a mess. I concur at the time that Sheridan played his part but his role was simply that of a person on a team hunting down a Leinster medal. He or his team-mates must not be blamed or scapegoated for the whole mess. The referee had a very poor game. He had no control from the 65th minute onward and in injury time when Meath were continually hoofing garryowens into the box, he bottled blowing the full-time whistle. When the ball was stumbled into the net, he subconsciously sided with the bigger or more successful team. The poor man panicked. His umpires panicked. The rest is history.

I fully believe Meath should have offered an olive branch to the GAA in the form of a replay. People talked about the county board meeting and how it was totally up to Meath, and if they offered a re-match, it likely would have been played with the all-too-happy backing of the GAA. I dont think the excuses hold water. In the event of such a move I think Meath would likely have won the replay well and that would have been that. Maybe Im wrong in assuming that. Instead they went down a very dark path and hence we had to look at that spectacle on the sunday game. A disaster for all involved and as a Meath person who lived in Louth for a spell since, the bitterness and pain is very real. I got the distinct feeling that GAA in Louth was massively impacted negatively after 2010 and it should have been the exact opposite. Likewise, although many dont admit it, Meath has struggled to move past this episode and successive teams have hugely struggled to move the county on from the spotlight of this particular fixture.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 15/06/2020 19:40:54    2280959

While thr call was wrong there was more to it. Lets not forget that Louth kicked that game away and should have been out of sight at that stage of the game.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 15/06/2020 19:44:38    2280961

Replying To oneoff:  "While thr call was wrong there was more to it. Lets not forget that Louth kicked that game away and should have been out of sight at that stage of the game."
Ya better side lost for sure

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 15/06/2020 20:51:03    2280966

Replying To Young_gael:  "A dark day for all involved and for the GAA as a whole. Louth had umpteen chances to win that game by 5/6 points. They missed two very clear-cut goal chances in the first half. Meath were atrocious on the day. As a team, they were lethargic, slow, second to everything. Louth should have won on that particular day and this Meath supporter has no problem saying so. The longer the game lingered the more phrenetic it became. The last few minutes devolved into a total shambles from Louth as they very clearly realised they were on the cusp of victory but Meath were only 1/2 behind, and they lost the plot. It was like a pressure cooker. The fact it was Meath they were about to beat meant more as well as they havent beaten Meath in the championship since the mid-70s. When the ball ended up in the net and the goal was given the game had already unravelled into a mess. I concur at the time that Sheridan played his part but his role was simply that of a person on a team hunting down a Leinster medal. He or his team-mates must not be blamed or scapegoated for the whole mess. The referee had a very poor game. He had no control from the 65th minute onward and in injury time when Meath were continually hoofing garryowens into the box, he bottled blowing the full-time whistle. When the ball was stumbled into the net, he subconsciously sided with the bigger or more successful team. The poor man panicked. His umpires panicked. The rest is history.

I fully believe Meath should have offered an olive branch to the GAA in the form of a replay. People talked about the county board meeting and how it was totally up to Meath, and if they offered a re-match, it likely would have been played with the all-too-happy backing of the GAA. I dont think the excuses hold water. In the event of such a move I think Meath would likely have won the replay well and that would have been that. Maybe Im wrong in assuming that. Instead they went down a very dark path and hence we had to look at that spectacle on the sunday game. A disaster for all involved and as a Meath person who lived in Louth for a spell since, the bitterness and pain is very real. I got the distinct feeling that GAA in Louth was massively impacted negatively after 2010 and it should have been the exact opposite. Likewise, although many dont admit it, Meath has struggled to move past this episode and successive teams have hugely struggled to move the county on from the spotlight of this particular fixture."
I think its such an easy way out to expect a team/county board to offer replays which I feel teams should not. This was a massive officiating error made on one of the biggest stages possible. The officials should have been held responsible for this. But the GAA brass chose to look the other way as always.
If only we could learn from this......

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 15/06/2020 21:13:43    2280971

Replying To Young_gael:  "A dark day for all involved and for the GAA as a whole. Louth had umpteen chances to win that game by 5/6 points. They missed two very clear-cut goal chances in the first half. Meath were atrocious on the day. As a team, they were lethargic, slow, second to everything. Louth should have won on that particular day and this Meath supporter has no problem saying so. The longer the game lingered the more phrenetic it became. The last few minutes devolved into a total shambles from Louth as they very clearly realised they were on the cusp of victory but Meath were only 1/2 behind, and they lost the plot. It was like a pressure cooker. The fact it was Meath they were about to beat meant more as well as they havent beaten Meath in the championship since the mid-70s. When the ball ended up in the net and the goal was given the game had already unravelled into a mess. I concur at the time that Sheridan played his part but his role was simply that of a person on a team hunting down a Leinster medal. He or his team-mates must not be blamed or scapegoated for the whole mess. The referee had a very poor game. He had no control from the 65th minute onward and in injury time when Meath were continually hoofing garryowens into the box, he bottled blowing the full-time whistle. When the ball was stumbled into the net, he subconsciously sided with the bigger or more successful team. The poor man panicked. His umpires panicked. The rest is history.

I fully believe Meath should have offered an olive branch to the GAA in the form of a replay. People talked about the county board meeting and how it was totally up to Meath, and if they offered a re-match, it likely would have been played with the all-too-happy backing of the GAA. I dont think the excuses hold water. In the event of such a move I think Meath would likely have won the replay well and that would have been that. Maybe Im wrong in assuming that. Instead they went down a very dark path and hence we had to look at that spectacle on the sunday game. A disaster for all involved and as a Meath person who lived in Louth for a spell since, the bitterness and pain is very real. I got the distinct feeling that GAA in Louth was massively impacted negatively after 2010 and it should have been the exact opposite. Likewise, although many dont admit it, Meath has struggled to move past this episode and successive teams have hugely struggled to move the county on from the spotlight of this particular fixture."
A very honest and sporting post. Fair play to you. Yes , of course Meath should have done what all who seen what unravelled hoped they would and I think in hindsight most true Meath supporters would secretly acknowledge that.
As you say the whole thing was badly handled by the GAA and Meath County board and I do think Meath have never really recovered along with Louth. Ref got completely bamboozled too of course and hasn't been seen or heard of since. I think ''twas one of if not the worst cases of bad calls ever in the GAA and I think Meath lost a bit of its reputation that day. Football in Leinster needs a stronger Meath and I'm sure there's a lot of good work going on to try to ensure they return to the top table and it's strange how they have struggled ever since.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/06/2020 21:26:59    2280973

Replying To moros:  "In the lead up to the goal..after the initial shot by Kenny the ball spins in the air and two Louth players get in each other's way to grab possession and the ball falls into the hands of Sheridan..now firstly did the ref miss a penalty here to Meath as it appeared to me that Keenan at no3 dragged Sheridan back causing him to tumble and yes throw the ball into the net. So it could be argued that Meath deserved a penalty anyway and this could have been scored or missed..we'll never know. As well the ref couldn't see any of this as he was too far back and had a load of Louth defenders blocking his view. The umpires to me were the ones that were best placed to advise the ref that it was either a penalty or a disallowed goal. Very unfortunate incident all round.
Imo."
Indeed. The correct call was a penalty. But that is not mentioned. Btw the square ball argument is never gonna win cause the ball was in the square when joe went In.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/06/2020 08:53:55    2280995