The Next MAJOR Change In The GAA Will Be...

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Not sure which is worse, someone suggesting GAA in the Olympics or people replying to that suggestion."
Yet here you are. Read the original post and try to understand it then read your post. You're welcome.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 03/05/2020 18:21:39    2277379

Replying To KillingFields:  "So we all have to abide by what you say is right.....

It's ridiculous to say you cant have this discussion."
God forbid you start a topic without his permission.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 03/05/2020 18:23:35    2277380

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Curling is an international sport and was first played at the Olympics in 1924 . To suggest Hurling could be part of the Olympics is ridiculous."
Fair enough. There was a time when a man on the moon was rediculous or a Virus shutting down the whole planet yet here we are. What do you see as the next MAJOR change if not that? And by the way I agree with you it's highly unlikely.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 03/05/2020 18:26:41    2277382

Replying To catch22:  "Hurling in the Olympics ?
This puts some perspective on the views that can be expressed on this site. Jaysus above , is there no end the daftness."
It's not a view at all just an example of a MAJOR change IF it were to happen.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 03/05/2020 18:28:25    2277383

Replying To Trump2020:  "It's not a view at all just an example of a MAJOR change IF it were to happen."
Ah sure look , I suppose it's harmless enough and the aul confinement could be starting to take its toll on us all but that's a fair wild one.
I'd say Galway will win the double before that happens. ;-)

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/05/2020 19:00:16    2277387

Replying To Trump2020:  "Yet here you are. Read the original post and try to understand it then read your post. You're welcome."
So I can't point out a stupid thing in your original post. Then you doubled down and started rambling about same sex marriage and other things that didn't happen years ago.

Nonsensical stuff. I like good threads that make sense. Not much of that on here anymore.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 03/05/2020 19:46:56    2277391

Baseball is an Olympic event, has it's origins in Rounders, a GAA sport. Sure if people can stay awake long enough for baseball they'd be enthralled by Olympic hurling!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 03/05/2020 20:02:51    2277392

Replying To TheFlaker:  "So I can't point out a stupid thing in your original post. Then you doubled down and started rambling about same sex marriage and other things that didn't happen years ago.

Nonsensical stuff. I like good threads that make sense. Not much of that on here anymore."
Just learn to read correctly and then you'll have no more bother. Best of luck to you I wish you all the best in your journey. And there's nothing stupid in the original post as it's just asking what the next MAJOR change will be. Read the title of the thread FFS.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 03/05/2020 20:39:45    2277396

Replying To catch22:  "Ah sure look , I suppose it's harmless enough and the aul confinement could be starting to take its toll on us all but that's a fair wild one.
I'd say Galway will win the double before that happens. ;-)"
I hear you but the the whole point of the thread is improbable things. And yes a Galway Double is improbable.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 03/05/2020 20:41:40    2277397

Replying To Trump2020:  "Imagine Hill 16 with everyone masked."
I think you may have everyone masked - the lads selling hats scarfs and headbands will have another one to add to their list, won't sound the same though - hats, scarfs, headbands or facemasks doesn't really have a great ring to it but I am sure they will come up with something to make it all rhyme.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 04/05/2020 03:00:21    2277412

Replying To Trump2020:  "Matches in empty stadiums? Women in Men's sports such as a goalie in Hurling or Football? Paying the players? GAA sports in the Olympics? Instant replay? Female Managers over Men's football or hurling teams? Pay per view finals? Any of the above or come up with your own."
There is your original post. With a daft statement about GAA in the Olympics which I pointed out. Not sure why you asked me to go back and read properly? There it is. You then started rambling about same sex marriage etc and the man on the moon to try and argue the point.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 04/05/2020 03:26:20    2277413

Replying To TheFlaker:  "There is your original post. With a daft statement about GAA in the Olympics which I pointed out. Not sure why you asked me to go back and read properly? There it is. You then started rambling about same sex marriage etc and the man on the moon to try and argue the point."
There is a possibility Hurling or Gaelic Football could at some stage be in the Olympics - it may interest you to know that Gaelic Football was an unofficial event in the Olympics at one point in time. The point about the man walking on the moon was that if when someone suggested it in 1950 they would have got the same reception you have shown to the question of hurling in the Olympics. Rather than being negative and believing that things will never change the challenge was to suggest things that could change.
On the other hand as you seem so certain that it would never be in the olympics, could you elaborate some more on how you came to that conclusion?

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 04/05/2020 09:19:11    2277416

Replying To zinny:  "I think you may have everyone masked - the lads selling hats scarfs and headbands will have another one to add to their list, won't sound the same though - hats, scarfs, headbands or facemasks doesn't really have a great ring to it but I am sure they will come up with something to make it all rhyme."
You're on a winner there Zinny with county coloured facemasks!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 04/05/2020 09:25:29    2277417

Replying To zinny:  "There is a possibility Hurling or Gaelic Football could at some stage be in the Olympics - it may interest you to know that Gaelic Football was an unofficial event in the Olympics at one point in time. The point about the man walking on the moon was that if when someone suggested it in 1950 they would have got the same reception you have shown to the question of hurling in the Olympics. Rather than being negative and believing that things will never change the challenge was to suggest things that could change.
On the other hand as you seem so certain that it would never be in the olympics, could you elaborate some more on how you came to that conclusion?"
Who said things will never change? I picked out one stupid idea, I can't actually believe the moon thing is being used as a comparison. Can we stick to relevant sporting comparisons thanks. Unofficial event at the Olympics, so it was a token on the programme.

I don't have a crystal ball but let me put it this way, Gaelic Football or Hurling won't be in the Olympics in this century.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 04/05/2020 10:26:45    2277420

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Who said things will never change? I picked out one stupid idea, I can't actually believe the moon thing is being used as a comparison. Can we stick to relevant sporting comparisons thanks. Unofficial event at the Olympics, so it was a token on the programme.

I don't have a crystal ball but let me put it this way, Gaelic Football or Hurling won't be in the Olympics in this century."
You need rubber stamped rules to enter the Olympics in any century. Too many grey areas in GAA rules to even consider it.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 04/05/2020 10:40:19    2277421

There's no COVID19 on the moon. Could try hurling and football championships there but games would lack atmosphere.....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 04/05/2020 11:10:45    2277425

Replying To zinny:  "There is a possibility Hurling or Gaelic Football could at some stage be in the Olympics - it may interest you to know that Gaelic Football was an unofficial event in the Olympics at one point in time. The point about the man walking on the moon was that if when someone suggested it in 1950 they would have got the same reception you have shown to the question of hurling in the Olympics. Rather than being negative and believing that things will never change the challenge was to suggest things that could change.
On the other hand as you seem so certain that it would never be in the olympics, could you elaborate some more on how you came to that conclusion?"
And by the way seeing as you brought it up, the space race began properly in the early 50's with satellite exploration. It was known then that both the U.S and the Soviets were confident of putting someone on the moon in the near future. By 1960 both countries had publically declared they would have a man on the moon sooner rather than later. So unless GAA is coming to the Olympics soon your timeline reference to the moon is way off.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 04/05/2020 11:21:02    2277428

http://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/310266

Good man Zinny !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 04/05/2020 11:22:24    2277429

Replying To TheFlaker:  "There is your original post. With a daft statement about GAA in the Olympics which I pointed out. Not sure why you asked me to go back and read properly? There it is. You then started rambling about same sex marriage etc and the man on the moon to try and argue the point."
They are ALL daft! That's the point of the thread. If it was straightforward it would probably already be done. Hawkeye is an example too. Now it's mainstream and normal but if you suggested it in the 60s or 70s you'd be laughed at and lads would say you already have refs and lineman, etc.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 04/05/2020 11:40:10    2277430

Replying To Trump2020:  "I hear you but the the whole point of the thread is improbable things. And yes a Galway Double is improbable."
I will add though that at the minute Galway have the best chance of any county of doing the double. Not that far fetched.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 04/05/2020 11:43:32    2277432