Forum reopened due to demand

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I see the mods are still a barrel of laughs on here, God forbid ye might lighten up and let a few fun posts through."
Mods, can we put some more social distancing between us Dubs and Kingdomboy? Give him his own thread or something and he might self isolate there. :). No offence pal.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/03/2020 23:54:39    2274070

Replying To KillingFields:  "Yeah what a childish response. It's one of the only forums I know of that pre moderates posts to this extent as well as used to have an actual closing time every day. You can moderate using far better methods than here while also using better software to host the web forum."
I'm not taking the p**s when I ask Wo uld you not get yourself a good book or maybe two or three good books ? Hilary Mantel's latest book The Mirror and The Light has just been published . It's the concluding book in a trilogy that started with Wolf Hall and continued with Bring up The Bodies . I'd recommend them highly . Books can take you away to other places and distance you for a while from reality . They're a far better distraction than Internet forums .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 19/03/2020 00:22:48    2274071

Replying To Joxer:  "Mods, can we put some more social distancing between us Dubs and Kingdomboy? Give him his own thread or something and he might self isolate there. :). No offence pal."
None taken jock, ah sure I haven't given any ye dubs a hard time in ages.

This year will probably be the easiest the mods will have had it on here in a long time.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/03/2020 07:51:25    2274072

Replying To Greengrass:  "I'm not taking the p**s when I ask Wo uld you not get yourself a good book or maybe two or three good books ? Hilary Mantel's latest book The Mirror and The Light has just been published . It's the concluding book in a trilogy that started with Wolf Hall and continued with Bring up The Bodies . I'd recommend them highly . Books can take you away to other places and distance you for a while from reality . They're a far better distraction than Internet forums ."
In not trying to be rude but get over yourself greengrass
I dont see what's wrong with asking for the forum being far better than it Is right now. As right now its extremely limited and outdated. The interface is poor. It's so slow and doesnt encourage decent debate which is the point of rule discussion forum
I've read bring up the bodies already. It was alright but wouldnt read others. Didnt think that much of it tbh.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 19/03/2020 09:24:16    2274076

Replying To Greengrass:  "I'm not taking the p**s when I ask Wo uld you not get yourself a good book or maybe two or three good books ? Hilary Mantel's latest book The Mirror and The Light has just been published . It's the concluding book in a trilogy that started with Wolf Hall and continued with Bring up The Bodies . I'd recommend them highly . Books can take you away to other places and distance you for a while from reality . They're a far better distraction than Internet forums ."
books don't take offence........no fun.....

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 19/03/2020 10:11:50    2274081

Replying To KillingFields:  "In not trying to be rude but get over yourself greengrass
I dont see what's wrong with asking for the forum being far better than it Is right now. As right now its extremely limited and outdated. The interface is poor. It's so slow and doesnt encourage decent debate which is the point of rule discussion forum
I've read bring up the bodies already. It was alright but wouldnt read others. Didnt think that much of it tbh."
Maybe you should have tried to read the first book Wolf Hall before you read the second one . In the general scheme of things Internet forums should come way down people's lists of priorities .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 19/03/2020 11:54:40    2274083

Replying To Greengrass:  "Maybe you should have tried to read the first book Wolf Hall before you read the second one . In the general scheme of things Internet forums should come way down people's lists of priorities ."
Sorry had read the first as well now I actually think about it. Got them through artist friends of mine but still not best of books IMO

Think any forum of any kind in this time with the issues can be a release from the pressures and shouldnt be discouraged

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 19/03/2020 13:34:26    2274090

Replying To Joxer:  "Mods, can we put some more social distancing between us Dubs and Kingdomboy? Give him his own thread or something and he might self isolate there. :). No offence pal."
Funny. I think I have a solution. If there is no All-Ireland this year may be Kerry could be awarded an honorary one. I'm worried of a melt down if they don't get one soon.
Just poking you Kerry lads.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 19/03/2020 13:51:14    2274092

Not entirely sure what they thought closing the forum would achieve but I'm glad it's reopened.

CavanAgain (Cavan) - Posts: 186 - 19/03/2020 14:37:12    2274094

"Forum reopened due to demand" and then this becomes the most commented on thread with no new threads at all and hardly any comments on other threads. It would make you wonder where the demand was after all!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 19/03/2020 14:54:22    2274096

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  ""Forum reopened due to demand" and then this becomes the most commented on thread with no new threads at all and hardly any comments on other threads. It would make you wonder where the demand was after all!"
I will put a new one. Not totally new because it has had different variations.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 19/03/2020 16:02:48    2274099

Can't believe they shut down the GAA the year that Joycey was going to bring Sam home. Dublin conspiracy obviously.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 19/03/2020 16:13:50    2274101

Replying To Greengrass:  "Maybe you should have tried to read the first book Wolf Hall before you read the second one . In the general scheme of things Internet forums should come way down people's lists of priorities ."
Probably read it and emailed the author with his criticism and suggested possible improvements

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 19/03/2020 16:55:33    2274105

Replying To Breffni39:  "Probably read it and emailed the author with his criticism and suggested possible improvements"
And people have the gall to say I personally abuse them but nothing said about this.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 19/03/2020 18:48:56    2274108

Replying To Breffni39:  "Probably read it and emailed the author with his criticism and suggested possible improvements"
I'm smiling at your post Breffni. He had to think again before he remembered that he had read the first book in the trilogy after telling me had read the second one .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 19/03/2020 19:49:42    2274110

I heard it was the Dublin footballers with all their money got the forum shut down

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 19/03/2020 20:54:15    2274116

Replying To festinog:  "Can't believe they shut down the GAA the year that Joycey was going to bring Sam home. Dublin conspiracy obviously."
As I said to Trump 'twas a double conspiracy against Western teams, who win a fair amount but are not ''big ones'- ourselves in hurling and ye Tribesmen in football..

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 19/03/2020 20:59:11    2274117

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "None taken jock, ah sure I haven't given any ye dubs a hard time in ages.

This year will probably be the easiest the mods will have had it on here in a long time."
Hopefully we'll all come out the other side of this one bud and then the gloves will really be off as the Jacks dive into the mix for six.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/03/2020 21:10:33    2274119

Replying To Canuck:  "Funny. I think I have a solution. If there is no All-Ireland this year may be Kerry could be awarded an honorary one. I'm worried of a melt down if they don't get one soon.
Just poking you Kerry lads."
In fairness it would be worth more than some of the Sams they won in the past. :-)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/03/2020 21:23:53    2274122

Replying To Joxer:  "Hopefully we'll all come out the other side of this one bud and then the gloves will really be off as the Jacks dive into the mix for six."
I'm already planning my next attack dude :-)

I just read Sean Kelly's article where he reckons 32 counties all in and an open draw first team drawn out gets home advantage with the first 16 defeated teams into the new tier 2 competition could you imagine Kerry v dublin in the first round in killarney, now that would be something to look forward to, dublin in tier 2 that is :-0

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/03/2020 21:30:21    2274124