Dublin V Mayo

Replying To Mayonman:  "As a neutral I thought it was a red. He was out of control and hit him in the face. It may have been accidental (we don't know) but it was certainly reckless. If he didn't do much damage that was just good luck. Agree it was lower end of red card.

Remember Kerry Mayo in 2018 Evan Regan had his jaw broken by a swinging arm. Same player had his collar bone broken (against Kerry as well!) when he jumped to catch a ball and someone took his legs (a red card in rugby). Certain types of tackles have a potential for serious damage and need consistent red cards.

Accidental seems to be a get of jail card for years in the GAA. The responsibility should be on the player to be in enough control of his body for these things not to happen. I get that there are situations when a player turns into a tackle at the last second and the shoulder hits the face etc but when u go to nail someone be it rugby, soccer, gaa u know that if u mistime it u are in serious bother.

This shouldn't take away from the heavy hits that we all love, just the cheap mean ones."
That's all very fine and well, but neither of the tackles on Evan Regan that you cited received a red card.

Enforce the rules by all means, but be consistent.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 05/02/2020 13:51:26    2265361

Brolly has been the biggest cheerleader for Dublin in the last 10 years so anyone angry at him would need to get off the stage!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 05/02/2020 14:27:24    2265376

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Brolly has been the biggest cheerleader for Dublin in the last 10 years so anyone angry at him would need to get off the stage!"
Why should the two issues be related?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/02/2020 16:05:15    2265410

Replying To Joxer:  "Why should the two issues be related?"
I am assuming you and other posters were equally outraged at his comments against other counties and players when playing against Dublin?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 05/02/2020 16:24:28    2265419

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I am assuming you and other posters were equally outraged at his comments against other counties and players when playing against Dublin?"
No Dub on here has said they are out raged by what Brolly said about Small, was a Mayo guy - saying "Dubs" we're outraged, yet no Dub seems to be, or even brought up here, I'm sure one somewhere is, but "Dubs" is a broad collective term and certainly the first I heard of it was on here.

In my post I said I lost an awful lot of respect for Brolly for his comments about Mayo in the last three years.

So to answer your question, no "Dubs" aren't outraged about his comment on Small and yes his comments on Mayo, particularly personal comments on some of the players were very inappropriate, in fact I thought they were disgusting (even when they played Dublin.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/02/2020 18:08:12    2265452

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I am assuming you and other posters were equally outraged at his comments against other counties and players when playing against Dublin?"
If you read my question Flaker you'll notice that you haven't answered it. IMO Brolly's comments about Small were out of order on Sat. What that statement has to do with Brolly having previously praised the Dublin team and their style of football I don't know.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/02/2020 18:19:08    2265457

Replying To TheUsername:  "No Dub on here has said they are out raged by what Brolly said about Small, was a Mayo guy - saying "Dubs" we're outraged, yet no Dub seems to be, or even brought up here, I'm sure one somewhere is, but "Dubs" is a broad collective term and certainly the first I heard of it was on here.

In my post I said I lost an awful lot of respect for Brolly for his comments about Mayo in the last three years.

So to answer your question, no "Dubs" aren't outraged about his comment on Small and yes his comments on Mayo, particularly personal comments on some of the players were very inappropriate, in fact I thought they were disgusting (even when they played Dublin."
Eh I wasn't confining it to Hogan Stand chief, chill the beans. Twitter and other forums etc. As I have said many times before, anyone who takes Brolly seriously needs to cop on!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 05/02/2020 18:38:04    2265468

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Eh I wasn't confining it to Hogan Stand chief, chill the beans. Twitter and other forums etc. As I have said many times before, anyone who takes Brolly seriously needs to cop on!"
What?

Now hang on you posted a fairly accusatory post to Joxer and other Dubs about being outraged on here over the Small comments and not having sympathy for other counties Brolly has lashed in the past, both are untrue

Really you are talking about stuff you saw on Twitter and decided to peddle a controversy here, "them Dubs don't like it when it's their turn", it's a wired vent, difference is we couldn't less arsed, it's funny.

You can see the irony in your "chill the beans" comment.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/02/2020 19:57:53    2265489

Replying To TheUsername:  "What?

Now hang on you posted a fairly accusatory post to Joxer and other Dubs about being outraged on here over the Small comments and not having sympathy for other counties Brolly has lashed in the past, both are untrue

Really you are talking about stuff you saw on Twitter and decided to peddle a controversy here, "them Dubs don't like it when it's their turn", it's a wired vent, difference is we couldn't less arsed, it's funny.

You can see the irony in your "chill the beans" comment."
Not trying to peddle controversy. My comment on Brolly was directed at Joxer who said the comments from Brolly were a disgrace . You then responded and said no Dub on here was annoyed. I had responded to Joxer who was annoyed or maybe you missed that post. So yeah, some people are arsed. Hope that clears it up .

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 06/02/2020 02:23:35    2265572

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Not trying to peddle controversy. My comment on Brolly was directed at Joxer who said the comments from Brolly were a disgrace . You then responded and said no Dub on here was annoyed. I had responded to Joxer who was annoyed or maybe you missed that post. So yeah, some people are arsed. Hope that clears it up ."
Usernaname likes to think of him/herself as the unellected unofficial leader of the dubs on hoganstand, peddling propaganda that the dubs don't really care about anything.

It's there way as he/she would say them selves.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/02/2020 09:42:57    2265596

I actually was. He is always at Aidan O'Shea and Hennelly. Mayo in general he seems to pick on pointing out their flaws He is way too loose lipped about players and referees characters when he hasnt got a clue about their characters. He fawns over Dublin constantly to which he is entitled. The two are not mutually exclusive. He shouldn't have said what he said about Small anymore than what he said about Gough or Hennelly or Cavanagh all those years ago.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/02/2020 10:30:09    2265612

Replying To Jackeen:  "I actually was. He is always at Aidan O'Shea and Hennelly. Mayo in general he seems to pick on pointing out their flaws He is way too loose lipped about players and referees characters when he hasnt got a clue about their characters. He fawns over Dublin constantly to which he is entitled. The two are not mutually exclusive. He shouldn't have said what he said about Small anymore than what he said about Gough or Hennelly or Cavanagh all those years ago."
For sure and I think the same. I was responding to people who were not happy from your own county who have been fairly silent on his nonsense in the past.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 06/02/2020 11:04:48    2265627

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Usernaname likes to think of him/herself as the unellected unofficial leader of the dubs on hoganstand, peddling propaganda that the dubs don't really care about anything.

It's there way as he/she would say them selves."
'It's there way as he/she would say them selves"

What?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/02/2020 12:11:09    2265648

Replying To TheFlaker:  "For sure and I think the same. I was responding to people who were not happy from your own county who have been fairly silent on his nonsense in the past."
Not even silent...some Dublin "fan" pages have lapped it up. When the shoe is on the other foot they don't like it.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/02/2020 12:44:01    2265656

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "'It's there way as he/she would say them selves"

What?"
I think he meant "their", translation Is tricky mind.

It's their way! ;)

Advancedmark (Mayo) - Posts: 18 - 06/02/2020 14:48:50    2265692

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "'It's there way as he/she would say them selves"

What?"
Go back to sleep.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/02/2020 14:51:25    2265694

The way I'm reading it it's Joe Brolly: 2-16; HS Posters 0-02. Stop doing what he wants ye to do!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 06/02/2020 18:55:40    2265753

What are you children arguing about now? Dublin V Mayo?? Dublin will always win, Mayo are not capable of winning anything significant, must be obvious to all by now surely, how many finals is it they have lost? 10 12? haven't won Sam in 80 odd years!! jes change the record folks.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 06/02/2020 19:02:24    2265757

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "What are you children arguing about now? Dublin V Mayo?? Dublin will always win, Mayo are not capable of winning anything significant, must be obvious to all by now surely, how many finals is it they have lost? 10 12? haven't won Sam in 80 odd years!! jes change the record folks."
Won the league so thats something significant, will have to do for now..all we can do is keep trying and hopefully we get the luck on our side some year like Donegal did

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 07/02/2020 12:32:35    2265930

Replying To tommy132:  "Won the league so thats something significant, will have to do for now..all we can do is keep trying and hopefully we get the luck on our side some year like Donegal did"
Plus a very significant unbeaten run against Donegal.

It must eat him up terribly.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 07/02/2020 16:18:06    2265979