NFL Division 1

Well done to Monaghan....well worth their win. We are in trouble but also in transition. The young lads will need time and division 1 is an u forgiving place.

Add in the injuries and we are very vulnerable. Hope we can make it to a final day shootout with Tyrone to stay up because can't see us getting anything from the Kerry or Galway game as things stand.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 24/02/2020 09:40:47    2269595

Replying To Joxer:  "If your starting point is "if this was Tyrone blah blah" then you are on a loser straight away. I was at the match so will have to watch it back but looked like a clash of heads to me if this is the incident being referred to. Looked like McHugh who went don't also holding his head, presumably because he banged it against Small's head. Any comment on McHugh's early dive off the ball on Fenton when he threw himself to the ground or does that not count? I did have a clear view of that one. If you're going to question Small and doing this all the time then you must answered the question did he dive v Mayo or was he taken out?"
I thought Ryan went down easily that time to be fair. I also thought Davy Byrne done the same trying to get Murphy sent off at the start of the game. Both were fouls all the same but only Murphy deserved a yellow card IMO. Byrne dipped his head before Murphy got to him and got a slight graze to the side of the head, waited a second and threw himself on the ground. Murphy was lucky because if he had of made proper contact it would of been a red. I felt both teams and it's the same with all teams now are trying their best to get players carded and making a bigger meal out of any sort of contact that they should. Then the frustrating thing is pulling and dragging of marquee players off the ball isn't properly looked at.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 24/02/2020 09:55:20    2269601

Replying To Joxer:  "Was there any mention of Murphy's elbow on Davey Byrne. It was the most dangerous tackle of the game and looked like a straight red. Oisin and Sean probably unlikely to highlight it though."
They said he should have got red

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 24/02/2020 10:07:23    2269606

Replying To Joxer:  "Was there any mention of Murphy's elbow on Davey Byrne. It was the most dangerous tackle of the game and looked like a straight red. Oisin and Sean probably unlikely to highlight it though."
I've heard more about this Murphy tackle than any other incident in the game. It was a poor challenge and although Byrne dips his head into it I still think it was a red. In saying that he didn't take a gun out and shoot him. Seems to be if you mention any other instances in the game all you get back is "did you see what Murphy did after a few minutes the lad was lucky to come away with his life!!!!!!" Sounds more like deflection than discussion.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 24/02/2020 10:24:46    2269615

Hard luck on Tyrone, the injury to Mc Shane was tough, hope he has a speedy recovery. Scoreline just reflected the sending offs for sure. See ye in the Summer.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 24/02/2020 10:33:57    2269617

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "I've heard more about this Murphy tackle than any other incident in the game. It was a poor challenge and although Byrne dips his head into it I still think it was a red. In saying that he didn't take a gun out and shoot him. Seems to be if you mention any other instances in the game all you get back is "did you see what Murphy did after a few minutes the lad was lucky to come away with his life!!!!!!" Sounds more like deflection than discussion."
It's the type of tackle that puts players out for a few months. I'm sure he didn't dip his head on purpose, Murphy stuck the elbow out so he only had one thing on his mind. Still all's well that ends well. No harm done.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/02/2020 10:47:00    2269622

Mayo look like they are on the verge of a drop but Tyrone may well be the other candidate in the same boat.
A year in division 2 might not be a disaster though considering what all the years in division one has achieved.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/02/2020 11:14:43    2269639

Replying To TomReilly:  "Good win for Galway, but not AI contenders by a long way yet , in my opinion, Tyrone very poor, threw the towel in.
Galway are a division 1 team, but nothing more."
It's a long way to the end of August alright, Dublin and Kerry being the only two counties who can waltz out of their provinces.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 24/02/2020 11:21:02    2269644

Replying To TomReilly:  "Good win for Galway, but not AI contenders by a long way yet , in my opinion, Tyrone very poor, threw the towel in.
Galway are a division 1 team, but nothing more."
This is wonderful analysis. And true! and can even be applied to every county in Div 1. Take your pick. Thanks for your input again
" INSERT COUNTY NAME HERE - are a division 1 team, but nothing more."

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 24/02/2020 11:21:04    2269645

Murphys challenge was nearly identical to Hogans in hurling final.
Murphy went in to hit him with a shoulder, realised he was going to miss so then the elbow came out to try and make some sort of contact and I dont think Murphy had it in his mind to hit with the elbow.
it should have been a red just for reckless but not intentional i dont think.

McGeary was a red card also but again i think he was unlucky, if Brannigan had turned and protected himself it would have been a shoulder to shoulder hit, not blaming Brannigan tho.

Jordan Flynns second yellow was a joke of a decision, dont know what that was about. Ref had funny decisions all game, think he gave 5 hop balls altogether for keepers taking too long with kick-outs..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 24/02/2020 11:41:19    2269653

Btw if I ever hear a Kerry supporter spouting off about refs and David gaugh again, I'll just remind them of yesterday. Talk about going native. The standard of refs is appalling

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2020 11:51:40    2269657

Replying To Joxer:  "It's the type of tackle that puts players out for a few months. I'm sure he didn't dip his head on purpose, Murphy stuck the elbow out so he only had one thing on his mind. Still all's well that ends well. No harm done."
It was borderline no question but he barely made contact and because Byrne dipped his head there were enough mitigating factors to only give a yellow. Also when I watched it back it looks as if contact was made with Murphy's upper arm and his elbow came out afterwards which made it look worse than it was. If Murphy wanted to hurt him there he could have but thankfully he managed not to make too much contact and as you said no harm done. I'd say players will have to consider not shouldering players in the future because if they get it wrong they risk being sent off nowadays. This was a good example of that because Murphy had lined up a shoulder on Byrne thinking he was going to run down the line but Byrne dipped down and cut back inside (good awareness from him) and Murphy had already committed to the shoulder and it's hard for a big man to stop his momentum. Definitely see why some think it should of been a red but I think that would of been harsh call.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 24/02/2020 11:56:52    2269661

Small's bodycheck on McHugh (shoulder into chest) was off the ball and deliberate. Black card all day long. As he was on yellow at that stage should have resulted in red.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 500 - 24/02/2020 11:57:19    2269662

Lately every time someone gets clattered "they have made a meal out of it". God forbid the player with the frontal charge, head high tackle or swinging elbow actually meant it!

I didn't see full Dub V Donegal game but Murphy should have got red, he tried to nail him and got him. They are jaw breaking hits. Actually felt sorry for the Tyrone lad v Galway as Brannigan turned into him. Definitely accidental but it was reckless so still think it was a red. The onus must be on the tackler to be in control.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 24/02/2020 12:09:46    2269671

Replying To Mayonman:  "Lately every time someone gets clattered "they have made a meal out of it". God forbid the player with the frontal charge, head high tackle or swinging elbow actually meant it!

I didn't see full Dub V Donegal game but Murphy should have got red, he tried to nail him and got him. They are jaw breaking hits. Actually felt sorry for the Tyrone lad v Galway as Brannigan turned into him. Definitely accidental but it was reckless so still think it was a red. The onus must be on the tackler to be in control."
If as you say it was a jaw breaking hit and Murphy tried to nail him and did, how come he was fine and continued playing? Your logic doesn't follow.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 24/02/2020 12:39:07    2269685

Replying To tommy132:  "Murphys challenge was nearly identical to Hogans in hurling final.
Murphy went in to hit him with a shoulder, realised he was going to miss so then the elbow came out to try and make some sort of contact and I dont think Murphy had it in his mind to hit with the elbow.
it should have been a red just for reckless but not intentional i dont think.

McGeary was a red card also but again i think he was unlucky, if Brannigan had turned and protected himself it would have been a shoulder to shoulder hit, not blaming Brannigan tho.

Jordan Flynns second yellow was a joke of a decision, dont know what that was about. Ref had funny decisions all game, think he gave 5 hop balls altogether for keepers taking too long with kick-outs.."
It was clear from watching the game that Mayo we're going to have at least one player sent off. They had a number of yellow cards and still were engaging in reckless tackles.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 24/02/2020 12:43:01    2269688

Replying To greatpoint:  "It was clear from watching the game that Mayo we're going to have at least one player sent off. They had a number of yellow cards and still were engaging in reckless tackles."
Poor game management from Horan. Ref had bottled a clear 2nd yellow for Diarmuid O'Connor prior to Flynn's dismissal, so Mayo should have been awake to the probability of the next niggly one being punished. If the timing of the incidents had occurred the other way around, it would probably have been O'Connor on the line. The strange internal logic of referees...
O'Shea could have had a straight red late on too.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 24/02/2020 13:23:56    2269708

Replying To opa01:  "Small's bodycheck on McHugh (shoulder into chest) was off the ball and deliberate. Black card all day long. As he was on yellow at that stage should have resulted in red."
Bang on the money .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 24/02/2020 13:29:17    2269713

Replying To Mobot:  "It was borderline no question but he barely made contact and because Byrne dipped his head there were enough mitigating factors to only give a yellow. Also when I watched it back it looks as if contact was made with Murphy's upper arm and his elbow came out afterwards which made it look worse than it was. If Murphy wanted to hurt him there he could have but thankfully he managed not to make too much contact and as you said no harm done. I'd say players will have to consider not shouldering players in the future because if they get it wrong they risk being sent off nowadays. This was a good example of that because Murphy had lined up a shoulder on Byrne thinking he was going to run down the line but Byrne dipped down and cut back inside (good awareness from him) and Murphy had already committed to the shoulder and it's hard for a big man to stop his momentum. Definitely see why some think it should of been a red but I think that would of been harsh call."
Same Michael Murphy that gave Fenton a closed fist shot to the jaw, all-ireland q/f 2016, when Dublin were out the gate, mis-timed shoulder???

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 676 - 24/02/2020 13:52:19    2269732

Replying To sligo joe:  "Same Michael Murphy that gave Fenton a closed fist shot to the jaw, all-ireland q/f 2016, when Dublin were out the gate, mis-timed shoulder???"
You keep saying Dublin were out the gate, what do you mean by this? That incident happened in the 11th minute of the 1st half, the score was 2 points to 1.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 24/02/2020 14:10:23    2269738