NFL Division 1

Replying To TomReilly:  "Good win for Galway, but not AI contenders by a long way yet , in my opinion, Tyrone very poor, threw the towel in.
Galway are a division 1 team, but nothing more."
So if Galway are a long way off top 4 who in your opinion are ahead of them?

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 395 - 23/02/2020 20:35:10    2269444

Replying To essmac:  "Does today's runaway win by Galway send out a warning to the rest - or would be reading too much into a Feb game?"
I think it is far too early to be judging any team. No doubt that Galway have huge potential though and have some terrific forwards. If these two teams mèet in the championship later in the year, say in the Supers 8, probably would only be a kick of a ball between them. Dublin are still the team to beat with Kerry getting close. Galway, Tyrone, Mayo, Monaghan and Donegal are all good sides but need to go up a level to win an All-Ireland.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 23/02/2020 20:41:23    2269447

Replying To waynoI:  "Monaghan arent in the chasing pack."
Explain.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 23/02/2020 20:51:05    2269455

Replying To Gator:  "They are as much a contender as any team can be outside of the incumbent champions."
Exactly. Dublin still the team to beat irrespective of league form.

I never bought into top 4 rubbish. Outside of Dublin next 6 teams can beat each other on any given day. Bad and all as mayo are playing I guarantee it will be a battle when they come to Salthill.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1828 - 23/02/2020 20:53:32    2269459

Replying To Gator:  "We are in the chasing pack...it could be debated how far we are off the chase perhaps.

Division 1 for a number of years and going well so far this year after a disappointing 2019."
Ignore. We are happy enough where we are.
Am sure the soccer lads will be returning to their natural homes in the next year or so.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 23/02/2020 20:55:20    2269460

Good first half in Clones, nip and tuck until the Jordan Flynn second yellow for such an innocuous foul. Fair play to Monaghan who took some lovely scores and they would have won even without the sending off. Too many soft variety yellow cards being dished out in all games and players afraid to make tackles. That's the way the game has gone but my real gripe with the referee was the throwing up of the ball for any hesitation in keeper kick outs. Fair enough if keeper is wasting time but he penalised Monaghan twice in the first half when they were behind and Mayo 3times in the second half when chasing the game. Obviously neither keeper was playing for time and all his fussiness achieved was slowing down and delaying time. Finally I'd like to say the Monaghan fans we met were first class.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 23/02/2020 21:07:23    2269465

Replying To TomReilly:  "Good win for Galway, but not AI contenders by a long way yet , in my opinion, Tyrone very poor, threw the towel in.
Galway are a division 1 team, but nothing more."
Threw the towel in I dont think so they brought it back to 3 points before 2nd sending off. I hope donegal hammer moanaghan next week.

Smiler21 (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 23/02/2020 21:08:38    2269466

Replying To galwayford:  "Tá tú ag cáint ráiméis. Gaillimh abú"
Not nice or like you to just rubbish someone else's opinion Galwayford and our Monaghan friend specifically stated that that's what he was sharing with us.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 23/02/2020 21:09:08    2269468

Replying To ponga:  "Good first half in Clones, nip and tuck until the Jordan Flynn second yellow for such an innocuous foul. Fair play to Monaghan who took some lovely scores and they would have won even without the sending off. Too many soft variety yellow cards being dished out in all games and players afraid to make tackles. That's the way the game has gone but my real gripe with the referee was the throwing up of the ball for any hesitation in keeper kick outs. Fair enough if keeper is wasting time but he penalised Monaghan twice in the first half when they were behind and Mayo 3times in the second half when chasing the game. Obviously neither keeper was playing for time and all his fussiness achieved was slowing down and delaying time. Finally I'd like to say the Monaghan fans we met were first class."
Thanks Ponga. Agree the referee took away from the game. As always an amicable encounter with the Mayo support. Impressive numbers traveled yet again - would say it was 50:50 in terms of supporters.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 23/02/2020 21:26:03    2269484

Mayo fans are always top class I have to say, never had a bad experience with them and they always travel in numbers

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 23/02/2020 21:47:49    2269494

Replying To Smiler21:  "Threw the towel in I dont think so they brought it back to 3 points before 2nd sending off. I hope donegal hammer moanaghan next week."
Doesn't make a lot of odds but I think there was seven or eight points in it when the second sending off occured. Game was well over.

Injury to McShane takes a lot away from the win. To lose an exceptional forward to such a nasty looking injury is a cruel blow. Made even harsher by the fact the lad could be on a beach down under sunning himself. Shows how fickle sport can be. I wish him well in whatever recovery is ahead of him and hope the injury isn't as bad as first seems.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 23/02/2020 22:19:03    2269517

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Monaghan are happy where they are, no matter where your good self would grade us"
Monaghan have improved and are on an upward curve which is good for football,the more teams pushing each other will help close the gap at the top

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/02/2020 22:29:11    2269519

The only difference between mcgeary's and Murphys hit was one was intentional and the other wasn't. All the eulogising about Murphy doesn't take away from the fact he should have been on the side line after 3mins on Sat night. Could have easily broken D Byrnes jaw

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 23/02/2020 22:42:35    2269525

Lovely win today from the lads. The second yellow was soft, has to be said, but I think you reap what you sow, and after all the talk over the Clifford incident I reckon this ref was not going to think twice about pulling out the book for any Tyrone misdemeanor, real or imagined. Whether ye like it or not Tyrone are developing a reputation and I think they'll be seeing more of this as a result of the Kerry game.

As to where this puts Galway and it only February, I'd say two things; first, this is the latest in a string of great performances from this team, so you can't write off this result just because of the month it was played in and anyone who does has their own county blinkers on. As they saying goes 'Once is an Accident, Twice is a Coincidence, Three Times is a Pattern'. The lads are showing form, which brings me to the second thing I would say.

It's the league and early in the year. Can Galway maintain this level of intensity and bring it to the Championship? Now THERE'S the real question and only time will tell.

One thing's for sure, Joycey has the lads firing on all cylinders and Shane Walsh is playing like a man with a new lease on life. Lovely to watch.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 23/02/2020 22:43:16    2269526

Well recognised Hipster. Monaghan are a serious outfit and in the process of reintroducing more quality. Definitely a team to be watched. Tough, uncompromising and skilful. Number 1 dark horses this year.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 23/02/2020 22:54:31    2269534

RTE have an analyst not afraid to call it, at last

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 23/02/2020 22:59:27    2269537

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I think it is far too early to be judging any team. No doubt that Galway have huge potential though and have some terrific forwards. If these two teams mèet in the championship later in the year, say in the Supers 8, probably would only be a kick of a ball between them. Dublin are still the team to beat with Kerry getting close. Galway, Tyrone, Mayo, Monaghan and Donegal are all good sides but need to go up a level to win an All-Ireland."
Agree fully with you. Dublin still thee team with Kerry ĺgetting back to their old selves. The other five need to up the pace and stay that way!

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 24/02/2020 01:41:46    2269553

Replying To patk:  "Mayo fans are always top class I have to say, never had a bad experience with them and they always travel in numbers"
Fully agreed.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 24/02/2020 06:56:03    2269559

O McConville saying Murphy 2nd yellow very like Clifford second yellow. Latter made national headlines; former largely ignored. Well what a surprise eh

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 24/02/2020 07:57:08    2269565

Replying To essmac:  "O McConville saying Murphy 2nd yellow very like Clifford second yellow. Latter made national headlines; former largely ignored. Well what a surprise eh"
Was there any mention of Murphy's elbow on Davey Byrne. It was the most dangerous tackle of the game and looked like a straight red. Oisin and Sean probably unlikely to highlight it though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/02/2020 09:04:20    2269578