NFL Division 1

Replying To Joxer:  "It is a joke but it has been that way for years. If two players tangle then regardless of who the instigator is both get yellow. It's a nonsense and always has been. It's the default setting for every referee."
John Small didn't lose us that game. Fact is we are a young inexperienced team that is nowhere near savvy enough to see games out against teams like Dublin.
Take Murph out of the Donegal team & it's hard to see where wins come from.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/02/2020 21:57:50    2269119

John Small really has to be stuck in everything. Hit a man and stand up to the fight but don't lie down in a heap in hope that the referee sees it as 'accidental'. Would he go one on one with the likes of Neil McGee? No he waits to do someone falsely. He done similar against Kerry. Several late challenges and all ignored. He lets down a good Dublin team IMO. The remaining of the team are cynical but no dirt in them. They are a joy to watch.
As someone stated above Tyrone got slated a few weeks back for 'targeting Clifford'. Big siege made out of it but what will be made of tonight's antics? Nothing.
Another talking point has to be the time. Dublin V Monaghan near 4 mins on top of added time was played due to 'time wasting' nd substitutes. I agree to an extent but why doesn't this happen in every game?? 7 mins added on tonight and 8 was played. 1 minute extra for several stoppages, 2 yellows (reds) and a brawl. Referees need to cop on and apply the same rules to every team. If Dublin were losing by a point tonight (like in Monaghan game) would the ref of blown it up?? I don't think so. He would of gave them another chance.

GAA is corrupt at this stage. Two referees needed, external source for timing the game, and glasses for linesmen and umpires.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 273 - 22/02/2020 21:58:02    2269120

Replying To Joxer:  "You drunk bud?"
Fully sober I'd say and exactly right. Just as bad was Howard running in on Murphy when he was on the ground. Brave man.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 22/02/2020 21:59:37    2269123

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "So John Small drags Murphy to the ground (again) and both men get sent off? Same Craic as Clifford a few weeks ago. A joke."
Ref's the problem it won't happen if target man stays on.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 22/02/2020 22:06:30    2269125

Replying To The_Fridge:  "So does Mayo players, Keegan been worst for it. Got Sean C sent off a few years ago.

People in glass houses lad."
Look at my past posts my friend...I've stated we are well versed in the dark arts in mayo....what gets me is Dublin fans thinking their golden generation are whiter than white.

If that was a Tyrone man or Cillain O C that got Murphy sent off the internet would explode.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 22/02/2020 22:16:19    2269133

Replying To MesAmis:  "Small does what he does, Murphy roasted him generally though but then that's what Murphy does. A joy to watch.

Donegal missed 3 excellent goal chances tonight and Dublin jammed a goal. That was the difference in the end.

Hard luck on Donegal but they could've been out of sight."
Spot on no qualms with Small successful teams need players like that. Unfortunately the standard of officiating is poor all over that players like Small know what would happen.

Anyways we botched another golden goal chance which is now a characteristic of this team plus a moment of poor concentration from Patton and Dublin win. Still had chance to get a deserved draw at the end but O'Baoil makes a poor decision playing a poor hand pass to Neil McGee of all people who done excellent making the decoy run.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 22/02/2020 22:16:43    2269134

How is John Small being singled out for that melee?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/02/2020 22:16:55    2269135

Replying To Joxer:  "Yes the way he went down against Mayo having been clothes lined was a disgrace."
Debate the game at hand....I've seen this tactic before to belittle our opinions and bring up a past incident in another game.

If you can't debate it then you know your man was wrong.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 22/02/2020 22:18:05    2269136

Replying To countymonaghan:  "John Small really has to be stuck in everything. Hit a man and stand up to the fight but don't lie down in a heap in hope that the referee sees it as 'accidental'. Would he go one on one with the likes of Neil McGee? No he waits to do someone falsely. He done similar against Kerry. Several late challenges and all ignored. He lets down a good Dublin team IMO. The remaining of the team are cynical but no dirt in them. They are a joy to watch.
As someone stated above Tyrone got slated a few weeks back for 'targeting Clifford'. Big siege made out of it but what will be made of tonight's antics? Nothing.
Another talking point has to be the time. Dublin V Monaghan near 4 mins on top of added time was played due to 'time wasting' nd substitutes. I agree to an extent but why doesn't this happen in every game?? 7 mins added on tonight and 8 was played. 1 minute extra for several stoppages, 2 yellows (reds) and a brawl. Referees need to cop on and apply the same rules to every team. If Dublin were losing by a point tonight (like in Monaghan game) would the ref of blown it up?? I don't think so. He would of gave them another chance.

GAA is corrupt at this stage. Two referees needed, external source for timing the game, and glasses for linesmen and umpires."
But only for Dublin games I presume? Since they are the only team at county level at any of this right? Just go back through this thread time keeping is an issue. But to accuse the GAA of corruption and bent ref's! The only thing wrong with the GAA are some of the people watching it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 22/02/2020 22:24:41    2269139

Replying To Pericles:  "Mayo's record in terms of rebuilds in modern times to get back to AI final level tends to be 6 or 7 years. The '89 team was nearly totally gone by the time of our next final appearances in '96/97 and the team had largely been replaced again by the time of the appearances in '04 and '06. 2012 again saw a rebuilt side getting to contest Sam and so, based on that pattern and the fact 2017 saw James Horan's first team's last final, if we find ourselves contending again before 2023 Horan and the panel will have over-achieved our previous rebuilds."
Would settle for that to be honest. The 1989 final featured several from the U21 teams that reached finals in 83 and 84. 2012 and beyond featured at least seven of the 2006 All Ireland winning U21 team. There are a good number of the U21 winners from 2016 on the panel at the minute plus a few from the U20 runners up in 2017. Diarmuid, Carr, Boland, Plunkett, Kenny, Reape, Irwin, Ruane, Loftus, Coen, Flynn, Mullin and the two O Donoghues are all still involved and will be coming into their prime in the next couple of years. We just need to unearth another few like Boyler, Aido, Leroy or Andy and we might challenge again. Not expecting too much this year though.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 22/02/2020 22:55:40    2269150

Replying To panamasam:  "Spot on no qualms with Small successful teams need players like that. Unfortunately the standard of officiating is poor all over that players like Small know what would happen.

Anyways we botched another golden goal chance which is now a characteristic of this team plus a moment of poor concentration from Patton and Dublin win. Still had chance to get a deserved draw at the end but O'Baoil makes a poor decision playing a poor hand pass to Neil McGee of all people who done excellent making the decoy run."
I don't think it right what small did but if he was wearing galway jersey I'd be glad he did it.

The issue is with the officiating

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 22/02/2020 23:14:24    2269156

Enjoyable game and another frustrating outing for Donegal...that's a draw and two one point losses from winning positions mid way through the second half. Most of their supporters are not making excuses, blaming referring decisions, extra time allocated or behavior of opposing players. They are probably drawing consolation in good performances, experienced gained and players returning despite the disappointing results. Difficult to pinpoint where they are going wrong, seems to be a series of small things instead of anything glaringly obvious . Some players seem to fade or lack mental toughness when the pressure comes on, concession of easy frees and scores while not taking easy chances at the other end, an over reliance on a few key players to see them home. Overall they can look forward with hope especially if they can sustain the intensity for 70+ mins and keep some players taking wrong options to a minimum especially when when it results in cheaply losing hard earned possession.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 22/02/2020 23:14:26    2269157

Replying To yew_tree:  "Look at my past posts my friend...I've stated we are well versed in the dark arts in mayo....what gets me is Dublin fans thinking their golden generation are whiter than white.

If that was a Tyrone man or Cillain O C that got Murphy sent off the internet would explode."
I've just been on Twitter and Small is trending and I hope he isnt looking at the comments tonight. He gets vilified more than most in fairness. Donaghey is spot on with what he says re GAA forums etc.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/02/2020 23:22:18    2269158

Replying To Jackeen:  "How is John Small being singled out for that melee?"
Ah now. Watch it again.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 22/02/2020 23:31:33    2269163

Replying To Jackeen:  "How is John Small being singled out for that melee?"
Come on Jackeen, no 1, biggest Dub fan in the world, you can disagree with the Twitter army.

So John Small has never ever partook in the dark arts??

Where's the Tyrone outrage from lad week?

Ger Brennan on the Wooly show critiquing the D.Clifford incident involving Tyron.....don't make me laugh.

Wonder if he will come out and critique Small?? Highly unlikely

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 22/02/2020 23:44:33    2269166

This is a game mayo cannot afford to lose

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 22/02/2020 23:51:43    2269168

Replying To countymonaghan:  "John Small really has to be stuck in everything. Hit a man and stand up to the fight but don't lie down in a heap in hope that the referee sees it as 'accidental'. Would he go one on one with the likes of Neil McGee? No he waits to do someone falsely. He done similar against Kerry. Several late challenges and all ignored. He lets down a good Dublin team IMO. The remaining of the team are cynical but no dirt in them. They are a joy to watch.

GAA is corrupt at this stage. Two referees needed, external source for timing the game, and glasses for linesmen and umpires."
Your time keeping argument is going well until you remember the end of the Kerry game didn't go in Dublin's favour.

What happened to the conspiracy that night?

Or when you realise its affecting every county in every game nearly.

Time keeping is all over the shop in football at the moment, it benefits your county one day and goes against them another day. Take off your tin foil hata and grow up.

Monaghan not seeing out a 10 point lead in the 2nd half the last day can't be pinned on the ref I'm afraid.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 23/02/2020 00:12:02    2269170

If you were living under a rock since September and just happened to look at Dublin's results so far in this league campaign (Draw v Kerry, Win v Mayo, Draw v Monaghan and a win tonight against Donegal) and didn't see the performances, while simultaneously looking at the league table you'd be well within your rights in saying it is a typical Dublin under Jim Gavin league campaign, but if you've watched Dublin them so far you'd know that Dublin have been absolutely blessed that they've as many points on the board as they do.

You can look at it in a few ways. You can say Dublin's mentality to fight back especially in their last 2 outings from big deficits is a huge positive so far and with players missing its a major positive to be fighting back and getting these results especially without a few key leaders like Cluxton, Cooper, McMahon, MDMcA, Connolly if you could class him a leader, McCaffrey and one or two others, while introducing some fresh blood is a good sign. And you can also say that by Dublin standards, performances especially in the transition have been average at best and the starts we've been making have been poor giving us a huge amount of work in the second half of games to get the result.

Ultimately im a bit between the 2. Positives and negatives. I think we've rode our luck a lot so far and the table probably flatters us a small bit. I felt our last two games in particular we've shown spells where it looks like you could put 15 random fellas from the Hill on the pitch and there would be more cohesion between them, than the actual lads out on the field and at other times we've been superb. I suppose its winter football. Maybe that little bit of experience from winning so often and the never say die attitude comes from that.

Monaghan and Donegal in particular looked streets ahead of Dublin and they're two very good sides. But its a results business and weve gotten the results and so youd have to be happy with that from our view, but if you're monaghan or Donegal you're probably sound with what you've seen too.

Good games of ball. The attacking mark is a load of me flute though, don't like it. Time-keeping is a major issue that incredibly still needs sorting.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/02/2020 00:32:32    2269174

Well done to Dublin showing great grit. Donegal had enough chances to win the game well but not to be. It's a cliche but they will learn from this game. 3/4 goal chances created to Dublin's 1. But Dublin's press in the second half and silly turnovers by us cost us.

Dublin have Cluxton, Mc Caffrey, Mc Carthy, Con, Connoly to come back into 15. (cooper and philly also to panel if not 15)
Donegal have Mc Grath, Menamin, Jason Mc Gee and Oisin Gallan. (it's a pit we wont see S. Mc Brearty, Odhran MC Neilis, Ciaran Gillespie this year as I feel both panels are well matched)

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 23/02/2020 02:04:53    2269183

Yes, Johnny Small is stuck in everything. Why wouldn't he be? He is young, fit, determined and wants his team to win.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 23/02/2020 02:48:20    2269187