Tyrone V Meath Nfl Rd 1.

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "Furlong clearly has a great love and passion for GAA and its history. He got details wrong in a post, big deal.
Ive always found his posts interesting and informative never arrogant or know it all.
I honestly cant understand how people can get so worked about about GAA posts, its not life or death.

The westmeath buck taking umbrage at Furlong admitting he was wrong. Seriously get over yourself, if you dont want to find his posts credible thats up to you. youre not some guardian of the truth on here, everyone can make up their own minds.

And lambofgod if you are letting long winded posts get to you then i doubt you should be on a GAA forum. People post as short or long as they wish, again its up to you to read or ignore. Free will and all that.
And Meath posters back slapping eachother making you feel sick is very strange. To be so bitter and negative is a sad way to be, as i said above its a GAA forum here were not solving the worlds problems. deep breaths kid."
I don't claim to be a guardian of truth but the way he put it was that we were twice in last 20 years in div 1 and "that's it" as if it was gospel. He has on many occasions barked at lads that's it is not his opinions he posts but facts!

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 29/01/2020 12:39:41    2263473

Replying To The_Fonz:  "I don't claim to be a guardian of truth but the way he put it was that we were twice in last 20 years in div 1 and "that's it" as if it was gospel. He has on many occasions barked at lads that's it is not his opinions he posts but facts!"
Firstly I dont go around barking at people on the forum. I think that firstly unfair to say. Regards what you are referring to about facts. I have written over 900 posts on this forum. I have written on this Meath v Tyrone thread numerous of times. You have took one paragraph out of those over 900 posts I have written. I was having a long debate with someone on the forum. At the end I used a couple of facts to back up what I said in one paragraph and I emphasised this. In the next paragraph I said here here is my opinion. This was unsual. If examine my 900 posts, I am not going around saying all this is a fact , are eveyrhing I write saying this is fact, everything I say is true , or this is gospel acording to me. I dont say that. That is very unfair and not a proper and correct representation of my posts on the board. Thats very unfair and gives a very false impression of what I am doing. Sometime I write facts , sometime I write opinions, sometimes I write my viewpoint, sometimes what I write is correct, other times its wrong. I have never gone around saying I know everything. I know a little about the history and thats it. Nothing more , nothing less.

Regards the Westmeath and the league references. I write in a long winded , freestyle off the top of my head. And the posts can end up anywhere on any different topic and usually do. This particular post it was very very long one and covered many areas. Instead of writing about leinster problem with league foothall at the end I should have took time and put it in a different post. I rushed it at the end and off the top of the head I tried to go through 20 years of league divisions and I made mistakes. Its a very messy paragraph at the end. I didnt mean to forget the two years Westmeath were up , I made a mess of the end of that post. I should have took my time and think about who was in 20 years of div 1. Which is tricky. Div are changing from div 1 to 1 A Remebering a match or a player is easier. I made a few mistakes it was not intentional , I was not trying to be disrespectful to Westmeath or any other county ,in any sort of way , I just I was tried and I wanted to end a post quickly and rushed the end instead I should have done it separately and took my time.

I have posted over 900 post. And I do reference allot of games and playetrs and stats and off the top off the my head . So I am going ro get a few wrong. And To be fair I have just quickly looked at my posts on this thread Meath v Tyrone . And have propaly had made over at least 350 plus refernces to games, playeres, dates ,matchs, stats, facts on this thread and vast majority of them right. Getting a couple wrong is decent enough going. I got a few wrong at the end of one long post. Thats not really a crime.

I am not right all the time, I make mistakes. I am just a bogman from the backwoods of Meath football who is passionate about the gaa. I didnt mean to sound like I was being disrespectful to Westmeath. But my general knowledge of every team in div 1 in every year in thr last 20 years is patchy . I am decent on game and players and bit of general histoy. The way I write off the top of my head , long winded there is the odd mistake as jump from one different topic to another in one post. I am rushing jumping from one topic to another and it meanders and jumps back and forward in each post and in many cases I am skinming over things and flying through thinngs when really I should concentrate on one thing and do that detail. But thats the way I write. But some of the stuff is decent. Naming kildare players from 1919 All Ireland winning team.was a decent post on this thread. But I dont know everything and never pretended I did or pretended be a Mr no it all. What I say is not gospel. Never was never will be.

I am surprised at times of the reaction on the forum I receive in the forum. I get allot of prajse which I am really blown away by and I do appreciate it. I get criticism as well which surprises me in that most of what I write is bland enough. I do enjoy the conversation and have a lot of time and great respect for people on the forum. I enjoy writing about the gaa but there is a reality behind all this. It is a sort of escapism for me. I am basically writing for myself. The reality is I have two very elderly parent who are living with me . I misseed the Meath match on sunday as I had to bring a parent to hospital. And I also have a serious illness myself which is a bit of a scary one to say the least. .And coming on the forum to write a long winded post I enjoy but also it takes my mind away from health issues. And how I deal with stuff is be postive and try not to think about things to much , and try and keep my mind occupied . So writing on the gaa forum is a way of doing this , taking my mind off things. And writing about something I am paasionate about I enjoy writig away a long post which could end going in any direction on any topic . So I am not writing for anyone , I am writing for myself in away. Thats the reality of the situation So I will leave it there.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 29/01/2020 18:12:21    2263570

Replying To The_Fonz:  "I don't claim to be a guardian of truth but the way he put it was that we were twice in last 20 years in div 1 and "that's it" as if it was gospel. He has on many occasions barked at lads that's it is not his opinions he posts but facts!"
Firstly I dont go around barking at people on the forum. I think that firstly unfair to say. Regards what you are referring to about facts. I have written over 900 posts on this forum. I have written on this Meath v Tyrone thread numerous of times. You have took one paragraph out of those over 900 posts I have written. I was having a long debate with someone on the forum. At the end I used a couple of facts to back up what I said in one paragraph and I emphasised this. In the next paragraph I said here here is my opinion. This was unsual. If examine my 900 posts, I am not going around saying all this is a fact , are eveyrhing I write saying this is fact, everything I say is true , or this is gospel acording to me. I dont say that. That is very unfair and not a proper and correct representation of my posts on the board. Thats very unfair and gives a very false impression of what I am doing. Sometime I write facts , sometime I write opinions, sometimes I write my viewpoint, sometimes what I write is correct, other times its wrong. I have never gone around saying I know everything. I know a little about the history and thats it. Nothing more , nothing less.

Regards the Westmeath and the league references. I write in a long winded , freestyle off the top of my head. And the posts can end up anywhere on any different topic and usually do. This particular post it was very very long one and covered many areas. Instead of writing about leinster problem with league foothall at the end I should have took time and put it in a different post. I rushed it at the end and off the top of the head I tried to go through 20 years of league divisions and I made mistakes. Its a very messy paragraph at the end. I didnt mean to forget the two years Westmeath were up , I made a mess of the end of that post. I should have took my time and think about who was in 20 years of div 1. Which is tricky. Div are changing from div 1 to 1 A Remebering a match or a player is easier. I made a few mistakes it was not intentional , I was not trying to be disrespectful to Westmeath or any other county ,in any sort of way , I just I was tried and I wanted to end a post quickly and rushed the end instead I should have done it separately and took my time.

I have posted over 900 post. And I do reference allot of games and playetrs and stats and off the top off the my head . So I am going ro get a few wrong. And To be fair I have just quickly looked at my posts on this thread Meath v Tyrone . And have propaly had made over at least 350 plus refernces to games, playeres, dates ,matchs, stats, facts on this thread and vast majority of them right. Getting a couple wrong is decent enough going. I got a few wrong at the end of one long post. Thats not really a crime.

I am not right all the time, I make mistakes. I am just a bogman from the backwoods of Meath football who is passionate about the gaa. I didnt mean to sound like I was being disrespectful to Westmeath. But my general knowledge of every team in div 1 in every year in thr last 20 years is patchy . I am decent on game and players and bit of general histoy. The way I write off the top of my head , long winded there is the odd mistake as jump from one different topic to another in one post. I am rushing jumping from one topic to another and it meanders and jumps back and forward in each post and in many cases I am skinming over things and flying through thinngs when really I should concentrate on one thing and do that detail. But thats the way I write. But some of the stuff is decent. Naming kildare players from 1919 All Ireland winning team.was a decent post on this thread. But I dont know everything and never pretended I did or pretended be a Mr no it all. What I say is not gospel. Never was never will be.

I am surprised at times of the reaction on the forum I receive in the forum. I get allot of prajse which I am really blown away by and I do appreciate it. I get criticism as well which surprises me in that most of what I write is bland enough. I do enjoy the conversation and have a lot of time and great respect for people on the forum. I enjoy writing about the gaa but there is a reality behind all this. It is a sort of escapism for me. I am basically writing for myself. The reality is I have two very elderly sick sick parent who are living with me . I misseed the Meath match on sunday as I had to bring a parent to hospital. And I also have a serious illness myself which is a bit of a scary one to say the least. .And coming on the forum to write a long winded post I enjoy but also it takes my mind away from health issues. And how I deal with stuff is be postive and try not to think about things to much , and try and keep my mind occupied . So writing on the gaa forum is a way of doing this , taking my mind off things. And writing about something I am paasionate about I enjoy writig away a long post which could end going in any direction on any topic . So I am not writing for anyone , I am writing for myself in away. Thats the reality of the situation So I will leave it there.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 29/01/2020 18:16:21    2263572

I meant to say two very sick elderly parents, my parents are sick. I didnt explain that right. I just wanter to state that. To explain fullj why I probaly write completely different to eveyrone on the forum.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 29/01/2020 18:20:24    2263573

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "Furlong clearly has a great love and passion for GAA and its history. He got details wrong in a post, big deal.
Ive always found his posts interesting and informative never arrogant or know it all.
I honestly cant understand how people can get so worked about about GAA posts, its not life or death.

The westmeath buck taking umbrage at Furlong admitting he was wrong. Seriously get over yourself, if you dont want to find his posts credible thats up to you. youre not some guardian of the truth on here, everyone can make up their own minds.

And lambofgod if you are letting long winded posts get to you then i doubt you should be on a GAA forum. People post as short or long as they wish, again its up to you to read or ignore. Free will and all that.
And Meath posters back slapping eachother making you feel sick is very strange. To be so bitter and negative is a sad way to be, as i said above its a GAA forum here were not solving the worlds problems. deep breaths kid."
Thanks for your comments Meathmaverick I do appreciate it.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 29/01/2020 18:21:30    2263574

Replying To lambofgod:  "Na I wouldn't hold your breath either.

Meath people tend not to be be too good at admitting they are wrong.

His long winded essays were really getting to me too. And the back patting from other Meath posters was starting to make me sick."
Long winded and in the main repetitive they certainly are, we had a bit of a spat on here last week, however his posts and replies are just too tedious and characterized by repetition to be bothered with. We have been informed by one prominent Meath poster that he is in fact a genius and should write a book. Of the opinion much of the back-patting is just a wind up and not necessarily from Meath posters. Have been around this forum for a while and its a rarity to see posters from any county admitting been wrong.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 29/01/2020 19:02:24    2263589

Replying To seadog54:  "Long winded and in the main repetitive they certainly are, we had a bit of a spat on here last week, however his posts and replies are just too tedious and characterized by repetition to be bothered with. We have been informed by one prominent Meath poster that he is in fact a genius and should write a book. Of the opinion much of the back-patting is just a wind up and not necessarily from Meath posters. Have been around this forum for a while and its a rarity to see posters from any county admitting been wrong."
I think being longwinded and repetitive and being wrong a few times are not the worst things in the world to be accused off. I will take that.

We had good debate last week. You gave your opinion and I gave mine. And we agreed to disagree. There was no insults , it wasnt an arguement , it was good robust debate. Just the final point I did acknwlegde I was wrong with a few of league stats. I dont know everything , for the older U get the less I know and the less I really understand .

As I said I do get allot of comments which always surprise me. I am very grateful when people compliment me. You think its a wind up , but I really appreciate it and take allot from the encourangement. And I do also get criticism. This is happened before on 3 other forums I have I pretty much got the same identical reaction anf reception. Some were critical some were full of praise; which is lovely. The others would be music forums and I would be a massive music fan .

GAA and music are my two great passions. playing and listening to music and engaging on this forum are great reliefs from having Cancer. I was diagnosed last year with Cancer. So when I write every word here its a relief from reality. Thats why the posts get longer. I am really not writing to respond to people or argue people I am writing fof myself, I really just get a buzz from writijng and writing on and on about GAA and playing my guitar. And along with GAA music is my great relief and great passion. For all the issues on the forum its still a great place for great gaels to engage in grear debate. . For me ite daily interactuon I look forward to where I sometimes participate both most days watch from the sidelines. I look forward to whatse been said on the Meath forum and also whats been said by people on the main forum. Theres allot leople here that I respect and always look forward to listening to. Thats it. I dont if i should have shared that but I feel better for saying that and I dont know why. Thats all I can say.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 29/01/2020 21:19:19    2263628

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I think being longwinded and repetitive and being wrong a few times are not the worst things in the world to be accused off. I will take that.

We had good debate last week. You gave your opinion and I gave mine. And we agreed to disagree. There was no insults , it wasnt an arguement , it was good robust debate. Just the final point I did acknwlegde I was wrong with a few of league stats. I dont know everything , for the older U get the less I know and the less I really understand .

As I said I do get allot of comments which always surprise me. I am very grateful when people compliment me. You think its a wind up , but I really appreciate it and take allot from the encourangement. And I do also get criticism. This is happened before on 3 other forums I have I pretty much got the same identical reaction anf reception. Some were critical some were full of praise; which is lovely. The others would be music forums and I would be a massive music fan .

GAA and music are my two great passions. playing and listening to music and engaging on this forum are great reliefs from having Cancer. I was diagnosed last year with Cancer. So when I write every word here its a relief from reality. Thats why the posts get longer. I am really not writing to respond to people or argue people I am writing fof myself, I really just get a buzz from writijng and writing on and on about GAA and playing my guitar. And along with GAA music is my great relief and great passion. For all the issues on the forum its still a great place for great gaels to engage in grear debate. . For me ite daily interactuon I look forward to where I sometimes participate both most days watch from the sidelines. I look forward to whatse been said on the Meath forum and also whats been said by people on the main forum. Theres allot leople here that I respect and always look forward to listening to. Thats it. I dont if i should have shared that but I feel better for saying that and I dont know why. Thats all I can say."
Firstly apologies, I overacted to your posts. Way too quick to judge, just shows you never know the life another person leads. Easy to sit behind the keyboard and fire off replies. Hope my replies did not add to your woes and I will not be so quick to bite back in future. Hopefully you are on road to recovery and enjoy seeing Meath go from strength to strength in the future. Once again my sincere apologies for my mean spirited comments.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 29/01/2020 22:07:28    2263644

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I think being longwinded and repetitive and being wrong a few times are not the worst things in the world to be accused off. I will take that.

GAA and music are my two great passions. playing and listening to music and engaging on this forum are great reliefs from having Cancer. I was diagnosed last year with Cancer. So when I write every word here its a relief from reality. Thats why the posts get longer. I am really not writing to respond to people or argue people I am writing fof myself, I really just get a buzz from writijng and writing on and on about GAA and playing my guitar. And along with GAA music is my great relief and great passion. For all the issues on the forum its still a great place for great gaels to engage in grear debate. . For me ite daily interactuon I look forward to where I sometimes participate both most days watch from the sidelines. I look forward to whatse been said on the Meath forum and also whats been said by people on the main forum. Theres allot leople here that I respect and always look forward to listening to. Thats it. I dont if i should have shared that but I feel better for saying that and I dont know why. Thats all I can say."
I allways enjoy your posts furlong your a keeper of the flame and a wealth of information for all of us.

I'm also a music lover and I was at the 3 arena 2 weeks ago to see slipknot.

Anyway I wish you well with your treatment and hope you make a full recovery and keep up the great work.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/01/2020 22:50:57    2263650

Replying To seadog54:  "Firstly apologies, I overacted to your posts. Way too quick to judge, just shows you never know the life another person leads. Easy to sit behind the keyboard and fire off replies. Hope my replies did not add to your woes and I will not be so quick to bite back in future. Hopefully you are on road to recovery and enjoy seeing Meath go from strength to strength in the future. Once again my sincere apologies for my mean spirited comments."
Thanks Seadog54. You werent mean spirit. It was good debate by two passionate Meath man who love their gaa. Its grand man. We are cool. We both want to see a sucessful Meath and hopefully that happens. Thanks for your comments Seadog54, I appreciate them.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 29/01/2020 23:03:02    2263654

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Let me explain what I know.

Yes I have heard this over the years, but I have not read it anywhere, and I have my doubts if it is true , Id say it is unlikely , but I am not 100% sure about all the 4 All Ireland winning teams. I do know for a fact of the kildare team that won the All Ireland in 1919 , that was made up with players from Kildare , Kildare men born and bred with the odd exception I will mention below, which will surprise people.

Clane is central to success of early Kildare football. The success is built around Clane football. You cannot underestimate the role Clane had. In terms of outside influence. There was allot of country people working in the bogs of Kildare. As someone mentioned above there was allot of Tippearery people working in the bogs and they brought love of hurling. Also there was allot of Galway people working in the bogs of kildare also and they brought also a love of hurling and football. As I said there is a massive Galway community in kildare , and massive Mayo community in Meath.

The Curragh does have role in the early gaa in kildare. In that early times festivals were held in the Curragh and in the 1600s and 1700s and there is reports of hurling match in the Curragh around 1600. And there is also a report of a gaelic football match between Meath and Kildare in the Curragh in the 1690s which I think Edward Fitzferald of Maynooth attended. What the Curragh was important for early kildare footballl was providing facilties and supplying jerseys and boots to players all over the county. Up to the 1950s and 1960s many Kildare players still would have got their boots from the Curragh Barracks. In terms of players theres a member of the army called Sammon who was famous player in early Kildare football and he high up in the ranks of the army. He was born in kildare. In terms players this is a list below of the players of the team that won the Allreland for Kildare in 1919 , as you can see their all Kildare men with the odd exception.

The kildare All Ireland Winning Team 1919 Players 1 - 15 and Subs

1 Larry Cribbin Goals, was born in Clane Co. kildare.
2 Jimmy Conlon right full, back born in Newbridge Co. Kildare.
3 James Moran Full Back , Born in Trim Co, Meath.
4 Tom Goulding left full back, Born in Ballysax Curragh Co. kildare.
5 Mick Buckley right half Back, Born in Sallins Co. Kildare.
6 Joe Connor centre back, born in Clane co. Kildare.
7 Tom Lawlor Left half back , Born in Carragh Naas Co. kildare
8 Mick Sammon Midfield, Born in Clane County Kildare.
9 Larry Stanley Midfield, Born in Carragh Naas Co.kildare.
10 Frank Conlon Left wing forward , Born in Newbridge Co. kildare.
11 Chrstopher Flynn right half forward, Born in kilcock Co. kildare.
12 James O Connor Centre forward, Born in Naas County kildare.
13 George Mangan left full forward , Born in Kingsfort Co. Meath
14 James Stanley Full forward, Born in Carragh Naas Co. Kildare.
15 Bernie McGlade left full forward, Born in Co. Derry.

Subs John Carney, Born in Newbirdge Co.kildare.
Peter Garret, Born in Pollardstown Co.kildare.
Albert O Neill Born in Dublin City centre
John Carey, Born in NewbridgE Co.kildare
Paul Doyle, Born in Athgarvan Co.kildare.

Trainer was Joe McDonald , born in Naas Co.kildare.

So of the 15 players who won the All Irelanf for Kildare in 1919 , 12 of the players were born in Kildare, one was born in Derry and 2 yes 2 were born in Meath. Darren Fay was not the first man to win All Ireland at full back from Trim , the first was James Moran in 1919. There was 5 subs, 4 of them were born in Kildare and one from Dublin. The players from outside county had no connection with the Curragh. Bernie McGlade was from Derry but he was teacher in Newbridge College. George Mangan was born in Meath and was member of the Gardai and James Moran also from Meath had cycle repair shop in Edenderry and moved to kilcock.

So no that team didn't have players from down the country . from outside kildare , who were in the army in the curragh playing football for Kildare. I doubt the 1912 team had eitheir which had 8 clane players I don't know for certain about 1927 28 team. But my gut feeling is like 1919 it was mostly kidlare men with the maybe odd Meath man. I have heard that in all kildares All Ireland winnig team there was at l least one Meath man . Again that could be wrong as I have never read it just being over the years. But there was 2 Meath men on 1919 team.

That's all I know , I hope that helps, the Kildare lads on the forum might have more information."
Cheers, I will get a bit of crack and milage out of Meath born players playing for Kildare All Ireland winning teams. As per your later post I really wish you a full recovery.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1335 - 30/01/2020 08:21:33    2263681

Best of luck with your recovery Furlong1949. Wish we had a poster from Tyrone who wrote with as much zeal and passion.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 30/01/2020 10:09:48    2263698

Replying To OGarmaile:  "Best of luck with your recovery Furlong1949. Wish we had a poster from Tyrone who wrote with as much zeal and passion."
I write with as much zeal and passion.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 30/01/2020 10:43:23    2263706

Replying To seadog54:  "Firstly apologies, I overacted to your posts. Way too quick to judge, just shows you never know the life another person leads. Easy to sit behind the keyboard and fire off replies. Hope my replies did not add to your woes and I will not be so quick to bite back in future. Hopefully you are on road to recovery and enjoy seeing Meath go from strength to strength in the future. Once again my sincere apologies for my mean spirited comments."
Fair play!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/01/2020 11:01:09    2263711

Replying To Wally:  "I write with as much zeal and passion."
I'll make sure to keep an eye out Wally.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 30/01/2020 11:05:03    2263712

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Cheers, I will get a bit of crack and milage out of Meath born players playing for Kildare All Ireland winning teams. As per your later post I really wish you a full recovery."
You will get a bit of crack and milage out of that alright.
Thanks for the comments Bdbuddah. I appreciate them. Thanks again.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 30/01/2020 11:46:46    2263723

Replying To OGarmaile:  "Best of luck with your recovery Furlong1949. Wish we had a poster from Tyrone who wrote with as much zeal and passion."
Thanks for the comments OGarmaile. I appreciate it. Thanks again.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 30/01/2020 11:49:09    2263725

Keep her lit Furlong. You never have a meathman beat as they say.
Great to see how the forum can be used in such a positive way. Also goes to show that we shouldnt get too bogged down over the GAA or the forum.

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 30/01/2020 11:53:06    2263729

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "Keep her lit Furlong. You never have a meathman beat as they say.
Great to see how the forum can be used in such a positive way. Also goes to show that we shouldnt get too bogged down over the GAA or the forum."
Thanks Meathmaverick for the Comments. I appreciate them. Your a gentleman.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 30/01/2020 12:11:10    2263735

Youre a true gael furlong, stay well and all the best.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 30/01/2020 15:14:23    2263797