Dublin V Kerry

10 days and counting. What sort of team will Dessie line out. Mixture of youth and experience?

Will McHugh get more of an opportunity? Think we will see alot more of POCB, Basquel's, Mc Gowan, Gavin.

Will Rory O'Carroll be more up to the pace of things with a years training under his belt?

Would like to see Connolly play the whole league.

1) Comerford
2) D Byrne
3) Mick Fitz
4) E Lowndes
5) Jack Mc
6) McCarthy
7) Small
8) Fenton
9) D Gavin
10) Howard
11) Kilkenny
12) Connolly
13) C Basquel
14) PCOB
15) ROCK

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 15/01/2020 15:35:35    2260021

would like to see howard at MF

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 15/01/2020 16:34:38    2260029

Replying To waynoI:  "would like to see howard at MF"
Welcome back Wayno, Often wondered where you went. You must a happy chappy with the Dubs 5 in a row and ur fav Reds sitting pretty at the top of premiership.

GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 15/01/2020 17:12:45    2260041

Personally wouldn't go as strong Jack, id manage loads phasing in and out the staring 15, game by game, but the real value of these games is developing.

We had a gambit of lads involved in Sigerson at the week end we could well have a good look at not all but a good few off.

UCD: Liam Flatman (Kilmacud Crokes), Peadar ó Cofaigh Byrne (Cuala), Niall O'Leary (Kilmacud Crokes), Evan Caulfield (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Seán Egan (St Brigid's), Kieran Kennedy (Ballyboden St Enda's) and Cillian O'Shea (Kilmacud Crokes); Maynooth University: Daire Newcombe (Lucan Sarsfields) and Darragh Warnock (Castleknock); DCU Dochas Eireann: Declan Monaghan (Clontarf), (Ballymun Kickhams), Paul Tolan (Nh Barróg), Seán Bugler (St Oliver Plunkett/Eoghan Ruadh), Stephen Smith (Skerries Harps), Tom Fox (Kilmacud Crokes), Shane Carthy (Nh Mearnóg), Seán McMahon (Raheny), Paddy Small (Ballymun Kickhams), Neil Matthews (Erin's Isle), Karl Lynch Bissett (Nh Mearnóg) and Conor Hickey (St Margaret's); TU Dublin (DIT), Oisín Lynch (Fingallians), Callum Pearson (Kilmacud Crokes), Andy McGowan (Kilmacud Crokes), Tom Keane (Nh Olaf) and Seán Walsh (St Pat's, Donabate); Garda College: Kieran Doherty (St Jude's)

Comerford, Con and Howard were involved (Con injured) as well, but id count them as established at this point.

Really id be hoping we would be looking at a good few of these lads and giving opportunities, on top of some of the lads who put their hands up on Saturday.

National league wont teach our starting 15 anything in my opinion.

But it will be up Dessie about what his goal is with it.

To be honest i think we are beyond putting down markers etc at this stage so i hope he takes it easy and look at it as development exercise and just about stay up and have a bit of craic along the way.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/01/2020 17:27:37    2260046

A bit of a lottery of a game to be honest. Dubs only off the plane, I think Kerry were away as well?

It'll be nice to stroll up the road and meet a few heads but there won't be much learned from the game I'd say.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 15/01/2020 19:34:20    2260070

fat dubs v hungry hungry kerry? kingdom to win

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 15/01/2020 19:37:31    2260071

Replying To jacktheDub:  "10 days and counting. What sort of team will Dessie line out. Mixture of youth and experience?

Will McHugh get more of an opportunity? Think we will see alot more of POCB, Basquel's, Mc Gowan, Gavin.

Will Rory O'Carroll be more up to the pace of things with a years training under his belt?

1) Comerford
2) D Byrne
3) Mick Fitz
4) E Lowndes
5) Jack Mc
6) McCarthy
7) Small
8) Fenton
9) D Gavin
10) Howard
11) Kilkenny
12) Connolly
13) C Basquel
14) PCOB
15) ROCK"
I'd be surprised if Dessie names a team that strong to be honest but who knows. POCB at full forward would be interesting all right. A nice advanced mark option. Dessie may want to blood some youngfellas at Croker. I'm not a Croker fan for league matches, give me the Neller any day, but let's hope there's a bit of atmosphere and some decent football on show.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/01/2020 20:12:28    2260081

Replying To Joxer:  "I'd be surprised if Dessie names a team that strong to be honest but who knows. POCB at full forward would be interesting all right. A nice advanced mark option. Dessie may want to blood some youngfellas at Croker. I'm not a Croker fan for league matches, give me the Neller any day, but let's hope there's a bit of atmosphere and some decent football on show."
Think most advanced marks will be won getting out in front and into the chest if I'm honest.

Actually think it might suit speedier forwards then bigger lads, punch down in defending fielding will be the vogue thing.

Jack McCaffery in the half forward line! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/01/2020 21:58:23    2260094

Hard to see past Dublin in this game the manager might have changed but the team remains the same, Farrell will want a win to keep his foot on the throat of the Kerrymen.

Johnnyprophet (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 15/01/2020 22:58:06    2260109

Replying To jacktheDub:  "10 days and counting. What sort of team will Dessie line out. Mixture of youth and experience?

1) Comerford
2) D Byrne
3) Mick Fitz
4) E Lowndes
5) Jack Mc
6) McCarthy
7) Small
8) Fenton
9) D Gavin
10) Howard
11) Kilkenny
12) Connolly
13) C Basquel
14) PCOB
15) ROCK"
Would love to see Cormac Howley get more game time. At the minute he's being reduced to O'Byrne Cup matches where everyone plays for themselves. He's the real deal. Fitzsimons did brilliantly on Clifford in All Ireland matches, Howley destroyed him in last years Championship semi final. Tall, fast, both feet, great attitude.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 16/01/2020 07:57:50    2260127

This will be Kerry's best chance to beat Dublin this year.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 16/01/2020 09:55:21    2260139

Replying To FootblockREF:  "Would love to see Cormac Howley get more game time. At the minute he's being reduced to O'Byrne Cup matches where everyone plays for themselves. He's the real deal. Fitzsimons did brilliantly on Clifford in All Ireland matches, Howley destroyed him in last years Championship semi final. Tall, fast, both feet, great attitude."
Hes a terrific emerging player in my opinion and ive given him a big shout out on the Dublin forum and would like to see involved, has many of the natural attributes and skills you want to see in an inter county player and for the Dublin way of playing. Had a great year at club with RTL.

The competition is fierce mind.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/01/2020 10:31:43    2260147

Replying To TheUsername:  "Hes a terrific emerging player in my opinion and ive given him a big shout out on the Dublin forum and would like to see involved, has many of the natural attributes and skills you want to see in an inter county player and for the Dublin way of playing. Had a great year at club with RTL.

The competition is fierce mind."
where is howley from

2020Vision (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 16/01/2020 11:56:37    2260157

Think Dessie will blood a few young guys in this match, it is the right time and place to do it.

Cannot see us winning it.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 16/01/2020 12:40:23    2260177

Replying To 2020Vision:  "where is howley from"
Club-wise, Round Towers Lusk.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/01/2020 12:54:58    2260184

Replying To Johnnyprophet:  "Hard to see past Dublin in this game the manager might have changed but the team remains the same, Farrell will want a win to keep his foot on the throat of the Kerrymen."
I agree with you, I think new Jim will go all out to win this game as he'll get plenty of opertunity to blood young lads in the other games.

New Jim will want to stick to the script setout by old Jim and getting off to a good start by beating our young lads in his first big game in Croker.

Dublin by 7 with boot being kept firmly on our necks.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/01/2020 13:01:45    2260186

Replying To 2020Vision:  "where is howley from"
He's Round Towers Lusk. They just got into Div One for the first time in their 114 year history.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 16/01/2020 13:15:38    2260190

Replying To Johnnyprophet:  "Hard to see past Dublin in this game the manager might have changed but the team remains the same, Farrell will want a win to keep his foot on the throat of the Kerrymen."
Nah Dessie wont be to bothered , main priority is avoid relegation and blood new players
Kerry will be up for this , and will want to win the league to build confidence , Kerry by 5

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 16/01/2020 15:14:20    2260226

Dublin came back from holiday late last season and came a cropper in Clones. I think they will treat this years league with the same seriousness that they treated last years; ie none. Kerry have the hunger, the team and the motivation.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 16/01/2020 16:43:09    2260261

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I agree with you, I think new Jim will go all out to win this game as he'll get plenty of opertunity to blood young lads in the other games.

New Jim will want to stick to the script setout by old Jim and getting off to a good start by beating our young lads in his first big game in Croker.

Dublin by 7 with boot being kept firmly on our necks."
I think you must be taking the p there Tom.
Opportunity knocks for Kerry.
Ye should win at a canter.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/01/2020 18:15:45    2260278