Dublin Fans Behaviour

Read reports that Longford fans were attacked on the terraces at the weekend and that referee needed Garda escort when leaving field while being verbally abused by Dublin supporters.

I know Dublin fans don't like to have to put up with away matches and the GAA does their utmost so as not to inconvenience them but you would think they could at least behave on the odd occasion they do have to travel.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 421 - 13/01/2020 13:48:00    2259396

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "Read reports that Longford fans were attacked on the terraces at the weekend and that referee needed Garda escort when leaving field while being verbally abused by Dublin supporters.

I know Dublin fans don't like to have to put up with away matches and the GAA does their utmost so as not to inconvenience them but you would think they could at least behave on the odd occasion they do have to travel."
The so call scuffle was a bit of banter on the terrace. Both sets of supporters had a laugh about it at the end.

From reports that I heard while there were verbals thrown at ref there was no question of a Garda escort.

While it maybe only a O Byrne Cup match in January, it was heartning to see that the dubs travelled in numbers as usual.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 13/01/2020 14:10:14    2259404

Much ado about nothing.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 13/01/2020 14:12:30    2259405

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "Read reports that Longford fans were attacked on the terraces at the weekend and that referee needed Garda escort when leaving field while being verbally abused by Dublin supporters.

I know Dublin fans don't like to have to put up with away matches and the GAA does their utmost so as not to inconvenience them but you would think they could at least behave on the odd occasion they do have to travel."
What reports did you read?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/01/2020 14:28:41    2259413

What paper reported trouble on the terraces between fans?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/01/2020 16:15:38    2259451

I persume he read Kieran Cunninghams tweets where he witnessed

"An elderly Dublin supporter has got involved with a couple of Longford fans. Pushing and shoving them and ranting about Brits and RIC. Not making this up"

The he tweeted

"Guards with him now".

The video of the Dublin fans abusing the ref is easily seen on any social media platform

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 13/01/2020 16:36:06    2259456

Replying To sourmilk93:  "I persume he read Kieran Cunninghams tweets where he witnessed

"An elderly Dublin supporter has got involved with a couple of Longford fans. Pushing and shoving them and ranting about Brits and RIC. Not making this up"

The he tweeted

"Guards with him now".

The video of the Dublin fans abusing the ref is easily seen on any social media platform"
Thanks for that. Not on social media, but just googled it there. Had been looking for a newspaper article which is why I couldn't find it. Awful gick altogether. What goes through people's minds to abuse a ref like that especially in a pre season tournament. Madness!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/01/2020 16:52:11    2259460

Thank God for social media where yet another mole hill can entertain delusions of grandeur.

Happened before, will happen again, no county is immune, let it be dealt with on the day, and let us all get on with our lives.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 13/01/2020 17:46:19    2259469

Replying To Jackeen:  "Thanks for that. Not on social media, but just googled it there. Had been looking for a newspaper article which is why I couldn't find it. Awful gick altogether. What goes through people's minds to abuse a ref like that especially in a pre season tournament. Madness!"
Absolutely. Probably heavily gargled. Doesn't matter how bad the ref was, he's an amateur and it was the OBC. No need for it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/01/2020 17:47:51    2259470

Havnt seen what happened in Longford and I dont condone threats to refs and they are serious sometimes but the Garda escort thing can be way over the top most of the time.I mean how does a bunch of Gardai crowding around him protect him from shouting

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 13/01/2020 18:03:32    2259473

Replying To festinog:  "Thank God for social media where yet another mole hill can entertain delusions of grandeur.

Happened before, will happen again, no county is immune, let it be dealt with on the day, and let us all get on with our lives."
Absolutely. The OP came out of hibernation to post that. Quite telling.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/01/2020 18:49:23    2259487

Saw the video...mostly handbags...embarrassing really seeing grown men acting like that but I've seen far worse at club games. Yer man shouting and pointing at the Stewart dying "he pushed me" would want to grow a pair....big baby

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 13/01/2020 19:00:04    2259490

Replying To Jackeen:  "Absolutely. The OP came out of hibernation to post that. Quite telling."
Almost as telling as how you tried to find a way of deniaing it happened straight away

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 13/01/2020 19:29:14    2259503

Idiots being idiots.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 13/01/2020 19:35:44    2259507

Replying To oneoff:  "Almost as telling as how you tried to find a way of deniaing it happened straight away"
*Denying and more lies from you. Shock!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/01/2020 19:37:16    2259508

Replying To Jackeen:  "*Denying and more lies from you. Shock!"
Not really. Your first comment was to try and dismiss it.

On the subject of lies not so long ago you were making claims about players and their work etc Remember that? I'm sure you'll deny that as well

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 13/01/2020 20:06:10    2259515

shower o'bowzies

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 13/01/2020 20:12:58    2259519

Replying To Joxer:  "What paper reported trouble on the terraces between fans?"
Irish Independent:
Even in the stand below us a minor scuffle broke out between rival supporters well into middle age, who really ought to have more sense. And as the referee Alan Coyne, of Westmeath, made his way off to a safe house at the back of one of the goals, some Dublin supporters surged in his direction and made their displeasure known.

Irish Times:
Not that Saturday's result seemed to bother the former Dublin minor and U-21 manager too much, with their travelling supporters far more agitated.

One of them, standing on the terrace beneath the main press area, almost came to blows with a Longford supporter while later on, after Darren Gallagher kicked the winning point for Longford after winning a debatable free himself, Dublin supporters verbally abuse referee Alan Coyne as he exited the pitch.

In the end, it required the intervention of two gardaí and a couple of stewards to bring calm to an unseasonably combustible situation for the second weekend of January.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2445 - 13/01/2020 21:06:18    2259536

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Irish Independent:
Even in the stand below us a minor scuffle broke out between rival supporters well into middle age, who really ought to have more sense. And as the referee Alan Coyne, of Westmeath, made his way off to a safe house at the back of one of the goals, some Dublin supporters surged in his direction and made their displeasure known.

Irish Times:
Not that Saturday's result seemed to bother the former Dublin minor and U-21 manager too much, with their travelling supporters far more agitated.

One of them, standing on the terrace beneath the main press area, almost came to blows with a Longford supporter while later on, after Darren Gallagher kicked the winning point for Longford after winning a debatable free himself, Dublin supporters verbally abuse referee Alan Coyne as he exited the pitch.

In the end, it required the intervention of two gardaí and a couple of stewards to bring calm to an unseasonably combustible situation for the second weekend of January."
Ah ok. I saw the phrase "Dublin fans attacked Longford fans" used by Benji and assumed that there had been a riot. Silly stuff from those who travelled. It was only a OBC game and no matter how terrible the referee was, he's an amateur at the end of the day and doesn't deserve that volley of verbals at close range.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/01/2020 21:24:27    2259547

Ffs people it's the obc. Really was that abuse at the ref warranted??? I don't think so.
Anyway every county has them, it's dubs turn this week to show off their numptys, could be Meath, Kerry or whoever next week. Best thing to do is tell them to shut up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/01/2020 21:40:34    2259560