Team Of The Decade ( Eir Sport ) Style

Replying To TheHermit:  "No Kerryman on the team, ffs is it Dublin posters picking it??? :)
Give me a Star or Gooch any day over them "buys" in blue ;D"
Ya, jays above , can you believe it.
And Donaghy on the panel. Well I suppose that says it all really.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/12/2019 23:09:56    2256282

Replying To Aibrean:  "it is difficult to argue with a detailed, intelligent, fact based and especially well written argument like that."
Ill angle it this way so, who would you pick for your team oshea or Connolly

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 28/12/2019 00:11:08    2256287

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I'd doubt it, unless he transfers to Galway. The 'Tribe for 5' starts in 2020."
Best of luck to ye, I could see ye win a couple in the roaring 20s if the blue behemoth weren't around, unfortunately though we might have to share 1or 2 between us if we're lucky.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/12/2019 12:13:30    2256304

Replying To lilypad:  "all stars dont mean shit o'shea is all size, poor mans vinny or michael murphy"
Apart from the ones Dublin players win of course....

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 28/12/2019 12:41:22    2256312

Replying To TheHermit:  "No Kerryman on the team, ffs is it Dublin posters picking it??? :)
Give me a Star or Gooch any day over them "buys" in blue ;D"
Hahaha.
Nothing clo5e5 the New Year 5o nicely a5 reading the perennial whingin' from 5ome Kerry folk.

It's "team of the decade" we're talking here : what has Gooch done? He was outscored by his marker in 2015. He didn't feature in the 2014 All-Ireland which the Donegal keeper gifted ye when he struck the ball right into the arms of your full time footballer, "Star". Ye Kerry lads are so lucky with all the professional footballers ye have had. Kennelly, Tommy Walsh etc. And didn't Darran O Sullivan give up the soul job in the bank to go Full time. "buys" indeed.

Tell me Hermit, how long do you think it'll be before your deluxe, multi-million centre of excellence will produce your next All_ireland?? :-D

Have a miserable whinge fest of a New Year, Hermit.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 28/12/2019 13:43:26    2256315

Replying To avonali:  "Hahaha.
Nothing clo5e5 the New Year 5o nicely a5 reading the perennial whingin' from 5ome Kerry folk.

It's "team of the decade" we're talking here : what has Gooch done? He was outscored by his marker in 2015. He didn't feature in the 2014 All-Ireland which the Donegal keeper gifted ye when he struck the ball right into the arms of your full time footballer, "Star". Ye Kerry lads are so lucky with all the professional footballers ye have had. Kennelly, Tommy Walsh etc. And didn't Darran O Sullivan give up the soul job in the bank to go Full time. "buys" indeed.

Tell me Hermit, how long do you think it'll be before your deluxe, multi-million centre of excellence will produce your next All_ireland?? :-D

Have a miserable whinge fest of a New Year, Hermit."
This!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 28/12/2019 20:11:16    2256343

Replying To lilypad:  "Ill angle it this way so, who would you pick for your team oshea or Connolly"
O'Shea is much better as a midfielder, Connolly much better as a wing forward. Pretty straightforward really.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 28/12/2019 20:34:40    2256346

Replying To oneoff:  "Apart from the ones Dublin players win of course...."
And why is that?

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 28/12/2019 21:56:57    2256359

Replying To avonali:  "Hahaha.

Have a miserable whinge fest of a New Year, Hermit."
Ouch! Well happy New Year to you too, you seem to be someone that needs strangers compliments, poor crater...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/12/2019 22:51:39    2256363

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Best of luck to ye, I could see ye win a couple in the roaring 20s if the blue behemoth weren't around, unfortunately though we might have to share 1or 2 between us if we're lucky."
Ah god love yous with your 81 Munster Titles and 37 All Ireland Titles -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 29/12/2019 11:14:45    2256388

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ouch! Well happy New Year to you too, you seem to be someone that needs strangers compliments, poor crater..."
Happy New Year Hermit. It's only a bit of banter lad.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 29/12/2019 11:25:08    2256391

Replying To lilypad:  "Ill angle it this way so, who would you pick for your team oshea or Connolly"
O'Shea was in at midfield? definitely a superior midfielder then Connolly but not as good all round I would agree.

he gets so much stick but probably a fair shout to have him in there at midfield.

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 30/12/2019 10:10:14    2256492

Some big names unlucky not to be in there.
Sean Cavanagh
Cian O Sullivan
Dean Rock
David Moran
Cillian O Connor

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 30/12/2019 11:53:12    2256501

Replying To boman11:  "O'Shea was in at midfield? definitely a superior midfielder then Connolly but not as good all round I would agree.

he gets so much stick but probably a fair shout to have him in there at midfield."
fair enough about position connolly far superior footballer/player

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 30/12/2019 18:51:02    2256554

Replying To catch22:  "Some big names unlucky not to be in there.
Sean Cavanagh
Cian O Sullivan
Dean Rock
David Moran
Cillian O Connor"
Cillian o Connor...I don't think so unless 20 meter frees play a big part in the selection

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 30/12/2019 21:38:23    2256578

Replying To lilypad:  "fair enough about position connolly far superior footballer/player"
for sure, there aren't many possess the talent that Diarmud does. He is a joy to watch and I have actually missed watching him recently but hopefully that is no more. I have the feeling that he could be just as good as he was a few years back or possibly even better? he is a serious athlete and has kept in peak shape for years now.

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 31/12/2019 09:49:25    2256607

Replying To boman11:  "for sure, there aren't many possess the talent that Diarmud does. He is a joy to watch and I have actually missed watching him recently but hopefully that is no more. I have the feeling that he could be just as good as he was a few years back or possibly even better? he is a serious athlete and has kept in peak shape for years now."
Put €20 on him winning the player of the year 2020 bowman.

It's all setup for the big Disney finish, the bad boy comes good and leads his team to 6 a row against all the odds.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/12/2019 11:09:08    2256615

Replying To superdub:  "Cillian o Connor...I don't think so unless 20 meter frees play a big part in the selection"
A bit unfair there superdub... Cillian is the top championship scorer of all time and has scored 4 more goals (25) than Bernard Brogan (21) in less years (by 5) and less games (by 4). Considering he played a lot of those games at CHF, so not always in the FF line unlike Bernard, that's not bad going. But I do think Bernard was class (he broke our hearts!) and totally deserves his place in the TOTD. Personally I think Andy Moran was unluckier being left out than Cillian (and maybe even Aidan who got in), and I'd still have had the Gooch in somewhere, but who to drop from the selection would be tough.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 31/12/2019 11:35:45    2256618

Replying To superdub:  "Cillian o Connor...I don't think so unless 20 meter frees play a big part in the selection"
No difference between what O'Connor does than Rock. Both over rated in my opinion.

GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 31/12/2019 12:28:12    2256625

Replying To GreenAndGold74:  "No difference between what O'Connor does than Rock. Both over rated in my opinion."
Agreed

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 31/12/2019 13:10:41    2256631