Keeping The Gaa Amateur And Sensible Commitment Levels

Blues will you be sensible. This is not going to go away until the gaa dublin County board or even the ministry of sport admits who bought this flawed 5 in a row some body will let the cat out of bag one day and like in politics in Ireland not so long ago the truth will come out ask the haugheys ask the ahearns and many more

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 28/12/2019 00:06:41    2256285

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Kieran did not openly talk about it except to quash it as nonsense. He was changing jobs and people put two and two together for themselves, he had no significant time off.

Darren did take time out to try to get his career going after a ridiculous run of injuries."
That's not true Gerry and I've posted about this before. If he can afford to do it then fair play to him but he did take time out to concentrate on football as did O'Sullivan and Lacey.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/kerry-captain-kieran-donaghy-packs-in-job-to-concentrate-on-football-31217940.html

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/12/2019 09:47:05    2256291

Replying To GreenAndGold74:  "For a Limerick man you have a mighty interest in Kerry lol. I think we all know WHO really are Sunshine. It's comical how many accounts you have. Dublin/Kildare and now Limerick. Happy new yr Jimbo"
You're right it's old jimbo beelzedub for sure :-)

15 kerry players working in supervalu in killorglin :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/12/2019 10:36:52    2256294

The Dubs have a lot of advantages re population size and limited travel ..but kerry including the gooch seemed to have a relationship with a few of the banks where some of their players had very handy bank jobs that allowed them to be home for training.

Will be hard to have a perfectly fair system but row back on commitment and give each county team same support level.

eamonnmac (Cavan) - Posts: 59 - 28/12/2019 11:57:08    2256299

Replying To traleegerry:  "Blues will you be sensible. This is not going to go away until the gaa dublin County board or even the ministry of sport admits who bought this flawed 5 in a row some body will let the cat out of bag one day and like in politics in Ireland not so long ago the truth will come out ask the haugheys ask the ahearns and many more"
How come Kerry complain about this in 09?

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 28/12/2019 12:10:10    2256302

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Kieran did not openly talk about it except to quash it as nonsense. He was changing jobs and people put two and two together for themselves, he had no significant time off.

Darren did take time out to try to get his career going after a ridiculous run of injuries."
Yerra

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 28/12/2019 12:11:59    2256303

Replying To Jackeen:  "That's not true Gerry and I've posted about this before. If he can afford to do it then fair play to him but he did take time out to concentrate on football as did O'Sullivan and Lacey.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/kerry-captain-kieran-donaghy-packs-in-job-to-concentrate-on-football-31217940.html"
I wouldn't bother J, the lad is content throwing mud, strangely i think as a fan base and a team for neutrals to warm to, is the type of thing that has made Kerry very unlikable nationally. All you can do is keep your dignity and dont do a Kerry.

The posts are in very bad taste, as im sure the country saw recently both Dean Rock And Michael Dara on the Late Late Show and the excellent work they do why anyone would want to undermine that is really sad stuff.

Anyone who hasnt:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-VZLclPYIG4

https://www.hse.ie/eng/staff/staff-engagement/your-stories/dublin-s-dean-rock-talks-staff-engagement-and-how-to-be-a-team-player!.html

Nice work Kerry, a county to be admired surely. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/12/2019 12:19:49    2256305

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're right it's old jimbo beelzedub for sure :-)

15 kerry players working in supervalu in killorglin :-)"
The idea of 15 Kerry players working in a SuperValu in Killorglin is ridiculous.

Nearly as ridiculous as your claim on another thread that the Dublin footballers all quit their jobs at the start of the championship and are then rehired at the end.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 28/12/2019 13:35:24    2256314

Replying To Jackeen:  "That's not true Gerry and I've posted about this before. If he can afford to do it then fair play to him but he did take time out to concentrate on football as did O'Sullivan and Lacey.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/kerry-captain-kieran-donaghy-packs-in-job-to-concentrate-on-football-31217940.html"
Yeah like I said, that's a journalist putting two and two together and getting five. Donaghy refuted it on his Twitter account shortly afterwards, it's still up there if you care to scroll back and look. He had a new job as a sales manager very quickly thereafter, where he still works afaik. You won't find a direct quote from Donaghy saying he was going full time at football because the whole story was made up.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 28/12/2019 13:51:24    2256316

Replying To hamsterdean:  "He has 4 supermarkets"
And a partridge in a pear tree :-)?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/12/2019 15:39:11    2256325

Really ? This is not about Dublin and Kerry. It is about the direction there GAA is going and needs to go. Put down the selfish agendas and aim at keeping the games going with parity for all. Reading Liam Griffin's article it is obvious that the stats show people are been driven from the game in large numbers. I have said it umpteen times the GAA has achieved nothing in 150 years in closing g the gap between the elites and the weaker teams. Second tiers, secondary competition and so on just window dressing. Tucking Tommy Murphy, McDonagh Cup, Christy Ring etc. where no one sees them, Instead on running them with the Sam Maguire and the McCarty cups. Getting the people in by giving supporters incentives to come in early. 2nd tier football a joke. Already in Waterford five of the best have stepped away. Two of those I believe would get their place on any team in the country.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 28/12/2019 17:58:10    2256333

While lazy rumours and poor journalism is understandably more convenient to some, on the off chance anybody is actually interested in the truth the two articles below are from the horses mouth and clear up the 'professional' aspect for both Kieran Donaghy and Darren O'Sullivan. Neither were full time footballers at any stage and it is not their fault that the media misreported it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 28/12/2019 20:37:31    2256347

Replying To Canuck:  "Really ? This is not about Dublin and Kerry. It is about the direction there GAA is going and needs to go. Put down the selfish agendas and aim at keeping the games going with parity for all. Reading Liam Griffin's article it is obvious that the stats show people are been driven from the game in large numbers. I have said it umpteen times the GAA has achieved nothing in 150 years in closing g the gap between the elites and the weaker teams. Second tiers, secondary competition and so on just window dressing. Tucking Tommy Murphy, McDonagh Cup, Christy Ring etc. where no one sees them, Instead on running them with the Sam Maguire and the McCarty cups. Getting the people in by giving supporters incentives to come in early. 2nd tier football a joke. Already in Waterford five of the best have stepped away. Two of those I believe would get their place on any team in the country."
He made a very good point about having a set structure like soccer and rugby in England.

Football:

The League should be the primary competition. Keep the current 4 divisions or reduce it to three divisions. Home and away fixtures for every team. The current All-Ireland Championship structure should be used for a preseason competition. The Division 1 champions receive the Sam Maguire Cup. It would certainly be a lot harder for a team to do 4 or 5 in a row under this format. Let's assume we have 4 divisions of 8. That would be 16 games for every county. 14 in the League and 2 in the Championship. A Leinster team who starts at the preliminary round stage and makes it to the Championship final will play an extra 7 games. They will play a total of 21 games across the season. The entire season can be run between the start of Feb to mid July or early August. The preseason competition will primarily be used to blood new players. I would be happy to stick with the League but I can see the value in having a competition which allows the weakest teams to have a crack at the top teams.

Hurling:

League:

Keep the current league structure with the exception of Division 1. Scrap the changes due to be brought in this year.

Senior Championship:

Scrap the Provincial Championships and divide the teams among two groups of six. The top two teams in each group go into the knockout stage. The bottom two counties go into a relegation play-off.

Pool A

Cork, Dublin, Kilkenny, Limerick, and Waterford.

Pool B

Clare, Galway, Laois, Tipperary, and Wexford.

Joe McDonagh Cup (Senior B Championship):

Two groups of 4.

Pool A

Antrim, Carlow, Kerry, and Meath.

Pool B

Derry, Down, Roscommon, and Westmeath.

Tiers 3 and 4:

Tier 3

Armagh, Donegal, Kildare, London, Offaly, Sligo, Tyrone, and Wicklow.

Tier 4

Cavan, Fermanagh, Lancashire, Leitrim, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Monaghan, and Warwickshire.

Hold the Tier 3 and 4 finals before the semi-finals of the Senior Championship. The Liam McCarthy and Joe McDonagh finals are held on the same day or weekend.

Hawkeye9212 (Donegal) - Posts: 266 - 29/12/2019 01:02:27    2256370

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "While lazy rumours and poor journalism is understandably more convenient to some, on the off chance anybody is actually interested in the truth the two articles below are from the horses mouth and clear up the 'professional' aspect for both Kieran Donaghy and Darren O'Sullivan. Neither were full time footballers at any stage and it is not their fault that the media misreported it.

link"
In fairness Gerry, I think people bringing up Donaghy and O'Sullivan's situations is more to do with a couple of Kerry posters claims that none of the Dublin team work and that they are being paid to play football.

Kingdomboy actually said on another thread that the Dublin players all quit their jobs at the start of the Championship and then get rehired once the championship is over!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 29/12/2019 13:48:48    2256406

Replying To Canuck:  "Really ? This is not about Dublin and Kerry. It is about the direction there GAA is going and needs to go. Put down the selfish agendas and aim at keeping the games going with parity for all. Reading Liam Griffin's article it is obvious that the stats show people are been driven from the game in large numbers. I have said it umpteen times the GAA has achieved nothing in 150 years in closing g the gap between the elites and the weaker teams. Second tiers, secondary competition and so on just window dressing. Tucking Tommy Murphy, McDonagh Cup, Christy Ring etc. where no one sees them, Instead on running them with the Sam Maguire and the McCarty cups. Getting the people in by giving supporters incentives to come in early. 2nd tier football a joke. Already in Waterford five of the best have stepped away. Two of those I believe would get their place on any team in the country."
I was very disappointed with the fixtures review committee that they didn't come away with better proposals.

Really what would help the game is better scheduling and I don't really think the solutions they came up with are actually thoughtful enough.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4221 - 29/12/2019 15:29:50    2256414

Replying To TheUsername:  "I wouldn't bother J, the lad is content throwing mud, strangely i think as a fan base and a team for neutrals to warm to, is the type of thing that has made Kerry very unlikable nationally. All you can do is keep your dignity and dont do a Kerry.

The posts are in very bad taste, as im sure the country saw recently both Dean Rock And Michael Dara on the Late Late Show and the excellent work they do why anyone would want to undermine that is really sad stuff.

Anyone who hasnt:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-VZLclPYIG4

https://www.hse.ie/eng/staff/staff-engagement/your-stories/dublin-s-dean-rock-talks-staff-engagement-and-how-to-be-a-team-player!.html

Nice work Kerry, a county to be admired surely. ;)"
I remember dublin posters starting threads on here giving out mad when we won the allireland in 2014 but that's yer way.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/12/2019 15:46:00    2256418

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To GeniusGerry:  "While lazy rumours and poor journalism is understandably more convenient to some, on the off chance anybody is actually interested in the truth the two articles below are from the horses mouth and clear up the 'professional' aspect for both Kieran Donaghy and Darren O'Sullivan. Neither were full time footballers at any stage and it is not their fault that the media misreported it.

link"
In fairness Gerry, I think people bringing up Donaghy and O'Sullivan's situations is more to do with a couple of Kerry posters claims that none of the Dublin team work and that they are being paid to play football.

Kingdomboy actually said on another thread that the Dublin players all quit their jobs at the start of the Championship and then get rehired once the championship is over!"
Yeah fair enough thanks. I just thought it was worth setting that straight as it is continually brought up and simply isn't true, any more than the Dubs being professionals.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 29/12/2019 15:57:58    2256420

link"
Thats fair enough from the lad and having a severance package to fall back on financially may have given him more time to choose his next job than he normally would have taken which is great. I wonder why the journalist came to the conclusion that he did. He should have been made retract his article and I'm surprised the lads didnt insist on it. But of course journalists can write what they like these days as we in Dublin know.

Darran O'Sullivan was amongst a dozen GAA stars to be "Athlete Mentors" with Sky. Paul Geaney, Noel McGrath, Bernard Brogan, Karl Lacey, Cora Staunton, Carla Rowe amongst them. I will take an educated guess and say they didnt leave their studies/jobs for Sky as it's not a full time job. But again, if he can do it financially why wouldnt he. Its nobody's business.

A particular poster from Kerry throws baseless accusations around about the Dublin team surrounding professionalism and seems to be believed and there hasnt been any articles written to bolster his wild theory. I haven't been on Twitter for years so missed any tweets from the boys but doesnt it go to show how people will lap up anything they are told (me included btw) if its written down and if it suits their agenda. I stand corrected.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/12/2019 20:20:40    2256454

Replying To Jackeen:  "

link"
Thats fair enough from the lad and having a severance package to fall back on financially may have given him more time to choose his next job than he normally would have taken which is great. I wonder why the journalist came to the conclusion that he did. He should have been made retract his article and I'm surprised the lads didnt insist on it. But of course journalists can write what they like these days as we in Dublin know.

Darran O'Sullivan was amongst a dozen GAA stars to be "Athlete Mentors" with Sky. Paul Geaney, Noel McGrath, Bernard Brogan, Karl Lacey, Cora Staunton, Carla Rowe amongst them. I will take an educated guess and say they didnt leave their studies/jobs for Sky as it's not a full time job. But again, if he can do it financially why wouldnt he. Its nobody's business.

A particular poster from Kerry throws baseless accusations around about the Dublin team surrounding professionalism and seems to be believed and there hasnt been any articles written to bolster his wild theory. I haven't been on Twitter for years so missed any tweets from the boys but doesnt it go to show how people will lap up anything they are told (me included btw) if its written down and if it suits their agenda. I stand corrected."
No worries at all Jackeen, it's a common mistake because of the way it was initially reported.

I know that all the Dublin lads have jobs and careers or are studying. There is no such thing as a professional GAA player. Lads from the top counties can however leverage their profiles to open certain career doors, and I say good luck to them whatever benefits they can get from playing. I know some Kerry lads have part sponsored cars as well, I'm sure it's the same with Dublin, Tipp hurlers etc.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 29/12/2019 20:46:00    2256457

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I remember dublin posters starting threads on here giving out mad when we won the allireland in 2014 but that's yer way."
Do you? What posters? What threads? Was this when you were a lurker or after your wife set up your account for you? Do tell!:)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/12/2019 08:32:41    2256482