Jim Gavin Steps Down

Replying To MesAmis:  "Still waiting for your reply on the other thread. No smoke without fire and all that."
Still waiting for your reply on the other thread. No smoke without fire and all that.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 03/12/2019 15:17:21    2252950

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah sure I did kid

Whatever you say

Generally speaking more often than not complete unfounded rubbish"
We know you do but you keep writing posting anyway on your many accounts.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/12/2019 16:08:02    2252963

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We know you do but you keep writing posting anyway on your many accounts."
Thanks

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 03/12/2019 16:19:00    2252964

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We know you do but you keep writing posting anyway on your many accounts."
Yeah whatever you say man..

It amuses me to think that I don't even need to be logged into HS to be bothering you..

More silly unfounded conspiracy nonsense

About all you're capable of contributing

You're being called out and this is all you have to say... dear oh dear

Whatever you say ya daft brush.. lol

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/12/2019 16:24:07    2252968

Yeah whatever you say man..

It amuses me to think that I don't even need to be logged into HS to be bothering you..

Whatever you say ya daft brush.. lol

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 03/12/2019 17:41:14    2252985

Replying To Fionn:  "Even Tomas O Shea has finally admitted the same:-

"By winning playing on the front foot, Dublin under Gavin did more than anyone to lead the game away from defensive football.""
Quote from Pat Spillane on RTE:-

"His teams played football the way it should be played. I admired the way he was so tactically flexible, particularly during a game where he could adjust things at half-time. After the 2014 defeat (to Donegal), he just tore up the script and started again.

"I loved the way he empowered the players. Too often, managers have a Plan A and when they move to Plan B the players don't have a clue. Gavin's players were always empowered.

"There was no ego, it was all about the players, community and clubs. I liked his man-management. I don't think that can be underestimated.

"The biggest difficulty Micko [Mick O'Dwyer] had with five-in-a-row and three and four, was to keep us hungry. With an amateur sport, how do you keep them hungry? Medals become accumulated. Micko kept us hungry through dangling carrots with various holidays and that.

"But what Jim has done is keep those Dublin players grounded over the last five years, to keep them motivated and as hungry for an All-Ireland last year as they were five years ago. He surrounded himself with brilliant managerial talent and utilised it."

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 03/12/2019 18:34:18    2252995

Has reinvented football management in this country. He encouraged the Dubs to 'burn their trophies' at the start of every season. 'Stay humble' he would say

Judgejules1 (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 03/12/2019 18:43:56    2253000

Replying To Fionn:  "Yeah whatever you say man..

Whatever you say ya daft brush.. lol"
Haha... I like that Fionn. Took me a moment to get it though...

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 03/12/2019 19:02:20    2253002

Replying To Fionn:  "Quote from Pat Spillane on RTE:-

"His teams played football the way it should be played. I admired the way he was so tactically flexible, particularly during a game where he could adjust things at half-time. After the 2014 defeat (to Donegal), he just tore up the script and started again.

"I loved the way he empowered the players. Too often, managers have a Plan A and when they move to Plan B the players don't have a clue. Gavin's players were always empowered.

"There was no ego, it was all about the players, community and clubs. I liked his man-management. I don't think that can be underestimated.

"The biggest difficulty Micko [Mick O'Dwyer
had with five-in-a-row and three and four, was to keep us hungry. With an amateur sport, how do you keep them hungry? Medals become accumulated. Micko kept us hungry through dangling carrots with various holidays and that.

"But what Jim has done is keep those Dublin players grounded over the last five years, to keep them motivated and as hungry for an All-Ireland last year as they were five years ago. He surrounded himself with brilliant managerial talent and utilised it.""]The analysis is reductive but that's par for the course with most GAA coverage I suppose. If Gavin had stuck to his guns in terms of not employing a defensive system (as he suggested in 2014) I could agree with Tomás Ó Sé, but given that after the defeat to Donegal Gavin clearly went about implementing a more defensive setup for 2015 and onwards O'Sé's take doesn't wash. The Dublin 'system' became a hybrid; they absolutely took on board aspects of defensive play. That obviously doesn't mean that they weren't the best attacking team in the country.

Spillane's quote is amusing: he praises Gavin for his ability to make tactical changes at half-time and then references the 2014 loss to Donegal, a game where Dublin were crying out for a change at half-time but it never came.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 03/12/2019 19:53:46    2253006

Replying To greatpoint:  "

had with five-in-a-row and three and four, was to keep us hungry. With an amateur sport, how do you keep them hungry? Medals become accumulated. Micko kept us hungry through dangling carrots with various holidays and that.

"But what Jim has done is keep those Dublin players grounded over the last five years, to keep them motivated and as hungry for an All-Ireland last year as they were five years ago. He surrounded himself with brilliant managerial talent and utilised it.""
The analysis is reductive but that's par for the course with most GAA coverage I suppose. If Gavin had stuck to his guns in terms of not employing a defensive system (as he suggested in 2014) I could agree with Tomás Ó Sé, but given that after the defeat to Donegal Gavin clearly went about implementing a more defensive setup for 2015 and onwards O'Sé's take doesn't wash. The Dublin 'system' became a hybrid; they absolutely took on board aspects of defensive play. That obviously doesn't mean that they weren't the best attacking team in the country.

Spillane's quote is amusing: he praises Gavin for his ability to make tactical changes at half-time and then references the 2014 loss to Donegal, a game where Dublin were crying out for a change at half-time but it never came."]What I found amusing is Micko kept them hungry in the 70's and 80's (when Kerry seemingly had no money) by dangling carrots with various holidays and that (in an era of no sponsorship or major funding etc in Kerry - or so they would have us believe...)
Mmmm...!!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 03/12/2019 20:23:27    2253010

Replying To greatpoint:  "

"But what Jim has done is keep those Dublin players grounded over the last five years, to keep them motivated and as hungry for an All-Ireland last year as they were five years ago. He surrounded himself with brilliant managerial talent and utilised it.""
The analysis is reductive but that's par for the course with most GAA coverage I suppose. If Gavin had stuck to his guns in terms of not employing a defensive system (as he suggested in 2014) I could agree with Tomás Ó Sé, but given that after the defeat to Donegal Gavin clearly went about implementing a more defensive setup for 2015 and onwards O'Sé's take doesn't wash. The Dublin 'system' became a hybrid; they absolutely took on board aspects of defensive play. That obviously doesn't mean that they weren't the best attacking team in the country.

Spillane's quote is amusing: he praises Gavin for his ability to make tactical changes at half-time and then references the 2014 loss to Donegal, a game where Dublin were crying out for a change at half-time but it never came."]What I found amusing is Micko kept them hungry in the 70's and 80's (when Kerry seemingly had no money) by dangling carrots with various holidays and that (in an era of no sponsorship or major funding etc in Kerry - or so they would have us believe...)
Mmmm...!!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 03/12/2019 20:28:14    2253012

Replying To Fionn:  "Yeah whatever you say man..

Whatever you say ya daft brush.. lol"
Ha ha very good Spartacus! :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/12/2019 20:56:49    2253026

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ha ha very good Spartacus! :D"
When in Rome, and all that, Spartacus..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 03/12/2019 21:14:22    2253035

Odds for Dublin new manager

4/9 Dessie Farrell

2/1 Paul Clarke

7/1 Jason Sherlock

10/1 Pat Gilroy

10/1 Mick Bohan

10/1 Declan Darcy

20/1 Jim McGuinness

20/1 Tom Gray

20/1 Paul Curran

20/1 Tommy Conroy

33/1 Malachy O'Rourke

33/1 Stephen Cluxton

33/1 Mick Deegan

Judgejules1 (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 03/12/2019 21:38:47    2253048

Replying To witnof:  "No more (even less) than the Mayo's, Kerry's etc of the world. The figures our out there that is why no-one talks about it"
I would hope it's less given they have much smaller travel and accommodation costs. They are among the biggest items on the P & L for the likes of Kerry and Mayo who do so many overnights in Dublin. That's not a dig btw, merely an explanation of why some counties spend more than others. Kerry spent 1.4m across teams this year, up nearly 40% on 2018 because they got to three finals if you include the replay. A team that exits the championship early would spend a fraction of this.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 04/12/2019 11:11:04    2253130

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I would hope it's less given they have much smaller travel and accommodation costs. They are among the biggest items on the P & L for the likes of Kerry and Mayo who do so many overnights in Dublin. That's not a dig btw, merely an explanation of why some counties spend more than others. Kerry spent 1.4m across teams this year, up nearly 40% on 2018 because they got to three finals if you include the replay. A team that exits the championship early would spend a fraction of this."
Your correct. Traveling expenses are HUGE....sending teams to Dublin multiple times in the height of summer is astronomical money and a huge saving for Dublin GAA (not their fault) but it's a fact of life for everyone else outside of Dublin and surrounding counties.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 04/12/2019 19:15:03    2253237

Replying To yew_tree:  "Your correct. Traveling expenses are HUGE....sending teams to Dublin multiple times in the height of summer is astronomical money and a huge saving for Dublin GAA (not their fault) but it's a fact of life for everyone else outside of Dublin and surrounding counties."
Read joe brollys article on jim gavin in the independent
it was a really good read
it paints a good picture of the kind of great man jim is
the amount of stuff he has done for people off the field
and not wanting any mention of it
the way he has kept those players grounded through all this success
cant have been an easy thing
they have done work too charity and other things that are kept low key
I believe theres a lot more to this Dublin era than money and population

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 04/12/2019 19:43:53    2253242

Replying To rhudson:  "Read joe brollys article on jim gavin in the independent
I believe theres a lot more to this Dublin era than money and population"
Don't all county players do that rhudson? STAR Donaghy donated his wages from sky to a sick young girl in the children's hospital this year and said nothing about it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/12/2019 20:50:17    2253256

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Don't all county players do that rhudson? STAR Donaghy donated his wages from sky to a sick young girl in the children's hospital this year and said nothing about it."
Fair play to him but he had plenty to say about it contrary to your statement. In fact the article expressly says the following:

Kieran also announced that he would be donating his own Sky Sports TV appearance fee for the replay weekend directly to Chloe's Journey.

http://traleetoday.ie/family-of-little-girl-battling-cancer-thank-kieran-donaghy-for-kindness/

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/12/2019 21:10:57    2253258

Replying To rhudson:  "Read joe brollys article on jim gavin in the independent
I believe theres a lot more to this Dublin era than money and population"
There is no doubt about Jim Gavins greatness as both a manager and a man and I think he was a huge driver of their success. It will be very interesting to see if there is a drop off now he is gone. They will still have the best panel in the country but can they maintain the intensity of effort and organisation without him.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 04/12/2019 21:12:11    2253259