Jim Gavin Steps Down

Replying To GreenAndGold74:  "Best of luck to Jim Gavin in whatever lies ahead for him. Created history and will go down in history as one of the greatest managers ever. Here's a tricky question for folks to have a think about. Will Jim Gavin or Stephen Cluxton be a bigger loss to the team? I personally think Cluxton is irraplaceable."
I'm going to say gavin but it's a hard one. But as the manager he had to keep all those lads egos in check as they became celebrities basically. He also had to keep the fire in the bellies. Cluxton and gavin are the two most important cogs in the dublin set up.

Gavin always conducted himself with class

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 30/11/2019 17:25:37    2252310

Replying To Yondu:  "Good manager with a great panel players with a county that didn't have to go around with cap in hand to keep the show on the road.

Not taking away from what he's achieved with Dublin, it won't be matched but I do wonder how he'd do if he was managing some of the other Leinster teams."
He obviously wouldn't do as well because the talent and yes money isnt there . But if he was given one of the weaker teams I have no doubt he would improve them.

John o mahony won 2 AI with galway and couldnt do it with Mayo why ? Because galway had the better players to work with but they needed a great manager to lead them

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 30/11/2019 17:33:14    2252313

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Dublin under Gavin were a very decent team. Well organised, fit and enthusiastic. Dublin will always have strength in numbers, the finance, structures, facilities and media backing. However it doesn't really who the Dublin manager is. He can't ever lose."
A decent team!! The G O.A.T.

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 30/11/2019 17:37:10    2252317

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Dublin under Gavin were a very decent team. Well organised, fit and enthusiastic. Dublin will always have strength in numbers, the finance, structures, facilities and media backing. However it doesn't really who the Dublin manager is. He can't ever lose."
1995 - 2011?

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 30/11/2019 17:57:16    2252322

Replying To galwayfball:  "He obviously wouldn't do as well because the talent and yes money isnt there . But if he was given one of the weaker teams I have no doubt he would improve them.

John o mahony won 2 AI with galway and couldnt do it with Mayo why ? Because galway had the better players to work with but they needed a great manager to lead them"
John did alright the first time he managed Mayo. Led them to their AI final since 1951 and he won U21 AI for Mayo. He went on to lead Leitrim to a Connacht title which is like AI for them.

His return with Mayo didn't work out because he was engrossed with politics and sport and politics rarely mix well.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 30/11/2019 18:47:21    2252335

All the best to Jim, he's been a great manager, sure he had great players but he made the absolute most out of them and achieved the 5 in a row, nobody else can lay claim to that. What more does he need to prove.

I wonder are the waters a bit safer now, hopefully :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/11/2019 19:04:51    2252342

Replying To Yondu:  "John did alright the first time he managed Mayo. Led them to their AI final since 1951 and he won U21 AI for Mayo. He went on to lead Leitrim to a Connacht title which is like AI for them.

His return with Mayo didn't work out because he was engrossed with politics and sport and politics rarely mix well."
Politics lost ye an all ireland now......

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 30/11/2019 19:11:41    2252345

So you've used the thread to have a jab at Dublin but not a word about the man himself. Stay classy bud.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/11/2019 19:55:59    2252351

The biggest compliment I can give Gavin is that I am glad he is gone. While Dublin will remain a massive force those marginal percentage gains you get from having Gavin on the line could give the rest more of a chance. From a pure management stand point no doubt he is one of the greatest along with Mick O and Cody. I imagine Farrell will come in now. Tough act to follow of course and imperative Dublin make the correct decision. Look at Donegal for example, while Gallagher seemed a good choice at the time it was anything but.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 30/11/2019 20:05:53    2252352

Not surprised by Jim's decision to step down but the timing seems odd. Perhaps he wanted the lads to enjoy the limelight of the 5, perhaps he was seeking some assurances from DCB that didn't come, perhaps some senior players have indicated their intention to go and he thought a clean slate would be best. Who knows. With the league just around the corner his successor will certainly now have to get up to speed double-quick. We've been truly blessed with a great group of players and a fantastic leader in Jim. Thanks for all of the memories Jim and your service. Go Raibh Míle Maith Agat.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/11/2019 20:08:16    2252353

"Well organised, fit and enthusiastic" is what I'd use to describe the better junior club teams in Galway, not 5-in-a-row senior intercounty All-Ireland champions. Dublin are the best footballing team in the country and have been for quite a while now. Gavin deserves immense credit for what he has achieved and how he has developed so many players.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 30/11/2019 20:08:51    2252354

Replying To Joxer:  "So you've used the thread to have a jab at Dublin but not a word about the man himself. Stay classy bud."
Where's the jab at Dublin? I call it as I see it. Jim Gavin was good for Dublin and the fans. Outside of that no one within the GAA really knew him. He wasn't very open or engaging let's be honest.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 30/11/2019 20:25:19    2252357

I would imagine that in a set up as well organised as Dublin that those who needed to know were well aware of gavins intentions and the process of succession has been well and truly decided upon.

Mickhiggins (Galway) - Posts: 52 - 30/11/2019 20:36:23    2252363

Replying To Concerned_Supp:  "One O' Byrne Cup in 7 years is simply not good enough."
hahaha!!!!!

PatdeVerse (Dublin) - Posts: 107 - 30/11/2019 20:45:15    2252365

Eternally grateful for what Jim Gavin has done for Dublin GAA and all Dub fans also.
Probably never see his like again.
His record was unbelievable, 6 All Irelands in 7 years, 1 loss in 44 Championship games and a 37 unbeaten run. Also won All Ireland U21 title as manager. Of the 21 Senior major titles open to him, Jim won 18 Including 5 league titles. And to complete a 5 in a Row - astounding.
Dublin Legend - gutted he is gone but delighted to have witnessed it all first hand.
What a journey the past 7yrs have been.

Go raibh míle maith agat a chairde.

#JimGavinGAALegend

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 30/11/2019 20:54:48    2252370

Replying To Mickhiggins:  "I would imagine that in a set up as well organised as Dublin that those who needed to know were well aware of gavins intentions and the process of succession has been well and truly decided upon."
Yes, I would think so. While it came as a shock to me and many others, I reckon Dublin CB were made aware of it a few weeks back and have been working behind the scenes on the next management team.

Think Clucko and a couple more players will call it a day also.

If Clucko does hang up his boots, I wouldn't be at all surprised to see him as part of the next managerial setup.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 30/11/2019 20:58:44    2252371

Replying To Concerned_Supp:  "One O' Byrne Cup in 7 years is simply not good enough."
You must try harder...,!
1 championship defeat in 7 years (the Donegal ambush) and 5 league titles also. Yep, he was simply not good enough alright. ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 30/11/2019 21:10:06    2252375

Replying To catch22:  "Akin to Ferguson going at Utd.
I think this all but guarantees Kerry next years AI.
They are the champions in waiting really and while Gavin and Cluxton were there they were always second best. It's there's to loose now imo."
Think you are not far wrong with that prediction.
Next year it is kerry's to lose now...

Reading all the comments from ex Kerry players and manager saying this is like Xmas has come early in Kerry, says it all.
They will be full sure it is in the bag now, however they try to disguise it, and the bookies have already cut their odds.

If I was a betting man - the safe money would be on kerry for the All ireland next year.

Hopefully not though....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 30/11/2019 21:22:00    2252380

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Where's the jab at Dublin? I call it as I see it. Jim Gavin was good for Dublin and the fans. Outside of that no one within the GAA really knew him. He wasn't very open or engaging let's be honest."
From rte website:-
And another RTÉ football analyst, Kevin McStay, described Gavin's team as "saviors" of the game. "At a time when football was under pressure from the defensive approach of many teams, Dublin in many respects were the saviour," he said. "They took it on in their own terms and they figured a way around it (defensive blanket) mostly through really good footballers, athleticism and, above all else, the one thing that Jim stood for was teamwork, hard work, honesty of effort."

Says it all really....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 30/11/2019 21:24:08    2252381

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Who are the gowls who are red thumbing the comments into Oblivion?"
The usual suspects. Pathetic.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/11/2019 22:17:25    2252393