MONEY

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "You Dubs love to bang the per capita drum when it comes to justifying funding but strangely enough ignore it when it comes to the best supported county."
Wouldn't disagree with you to be honest, 39k registered players out of a population of 1.4 mill is poor. But equally the only two sell out games in football in Corker this year were Dublins last three fixtures, the market is there if the quality and entertainment is there.

Id like to see attendances improve myself, its good for everyone. I was at every Dublin game last year and each i enjoyed immensely, Leinster championship was awful stuff and a real labor of love, i wouldnt blame anyone who didnt have an incentive or had responsibilities to be there for swerving it. I think given the playing to population ratio's and falling attendances in lower level games in Dublin games needs to be looked at, its an absolute gold mine for the association if they can boost them.

Couple of things and my own opinion is sometimes the spectacle is dire, it was the worst Leinster Championship in my memory, really awful stuff. I welcomed Jarlaith Burns comments, on looking to increase schemes like the season ticket. I think if you put 40k Dublin season tickets up for sale this morning they would be gone at 3:00 O Clock. There is no incentive for current non season ticket holders to attend games particularly in Leinster in my opinion its zero competitive entertainment, its why i would back a two tier championship.

Even as it is we are the best supported county, but it could be massively improved on admittedly and i like you would like to see it and see it cultivated. Just look at the home coming, 15 k tickets sold out in a couple of hours, with many more wanting to attend, the market is there, if the right product both in terms of schemes and entertainment.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/09/2019 10:24:06    2239308

It is being reported Mayo GAA are in a spot of bother with funding. A wealthy UK based donor is not giving 250,000 e to them.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 26/09/2019 11:00:24    2239324

Sorry lads, I'm not getting it
Can someone explain the money thing again just one more time?

Ps How's the strike going?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 26/09/2019 11:03:20    2239326

Replying To TheUsername:  "Wouldn't disagree with you to be honest, 39k registered players out of a population of 1.4 mill is poor. But equally the only two sell out games in football in Corker this year were Dublins last three fixtures, the market is there if the quality and entertainment is there.

Id like to see attendances improve myself, its good for everyone. I was at every Dublin game last year and each i enjoyed immensely, Leinster championship was awful stuff and a real labor of love, i wouldnt blame anyone who didnt have an incentive or had responsibilities to be there for swerving it. I think given the playing to population ratio's and falling attendances in lower level games in Dublin games needs to be looked at, its an absolute gold mine for the association if they can boost them.

Couple of things and my own opinion is sometimes the spectacle is dire, it was the worst Leinster Championship in my memory, really awful stuff. I welcomed Jarlaith Burns comments, on looking to increase schemes like the season ticket. I think if you put 40k Dublin season tickets up for sale this morning they would be gone at 3:00 O Clock. There is no incentive for current non season ticket holders to attend games particularly in Leinster in my opinion its zero competitive entertainment, its why i would back a two tier championship.

Even as it is we are the best supported county, but it could be massively improved on admittedly and i like you would like to see it and see it cultivated. Just look at the home coming, 15 k tickets sold out in a couple of hours, with many more wanting to attend, the market is there, if the right product both in terms of schemes and entertainment."
How can you sell 40k season tickets when your home ground fits less than 20k.

doeshelovemeiwannaknow (Leitrim) - Posts: 5 - 26/09/2019 11:21:31    2239334

Replying To doeshelovemeiwannaknow:  "How can you sell 40k season tickets when your home ground fits less than 20k."
Simple answer is you cant. There are is a limit on the number of season tickets sold as a result. But the market in Dublin for example would be huge if available.

This is the dilemma for the association a sell out in Croke Park and for the GAA and counties in general. The GAA have the market and the opportunity to glean huge revenue from that market if they were to facilitate a decent number. That revenue is good for the game holistically.

Difficulty is if you try and cultivate and reap the benefit of the market, realistically its very difficult to facilitate Dublin in many grounds around the country. Both in league and away championship games, of which there is about two year a year at the moment admittedly.

So in all honesty if you chase the crowd and associated revenue through the season ticket route by increasing it you are looking at keeping Dublin in Croke Park or away games being in the bigger stadiums like PUC etc and that really isnt fair on other counties competitively admittedly. But then Dublin are playing only two championship away games at the moment anyway (likely 3 next year).

So the choices are really stay the same and give the crowd/market the opportunity to pick and choose games, increase season tickets, boost attendances and raise revenue and play Dublin in Croke Park or other bigger stadiums, but put other counties at a competitive disadvantage.

I think that is a tricky choice in terms of what benefits the association financially and as a result grass roots etc and competitive equality in the championship in terms of home and away. Many would say i wouldn't necessarily disagree, its all ready unfair with the GAA wanting Dublin in Croke Park (and other S8 games) as much as possible.

Long term the GAA needs to invest in a big way in infrastructure of ground in strategic provincial areas for ground that can hold 4-50k as a business model in my opinion as a long term financial goal for the association. by infrastructure im talking modern grounds with the bells and whistles that bring in corporate revenue, its the future.

Unlikely anything will change to year to be honest.

Personally speaking i would have liked the replay for the Final this year played in PUC and i definitely think we should be playing the Munster champions in PUC next year in the S8's even if its Cork.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/09/2019 11:42:45    2239342

Replying To TheUsername:  "Simple answer is you cant. There are is a limit on the number of season tickets sold as a result. But the market in Dublin for example would be huge if available.

This is the dilemma for the association a sell out in Croke Park and for the GAA and counties in general. The GAA have the market and the opportunity to glean huge revenue from that market if they were to facilitate a decent number. That revenue is good for the game holistically.

Difficulty is if you try and cultivate and reap the benefit of the market, realistically its very difficult to facilitate Dublin in many grounds around the country. Both in league and away championship games, of which there is about two year a year at the moment admittedly.

So in all honesty if you chase the crowd and associated revenue through the season ticket route by increasing it you are looking at keeping Dublin in Croke Park or away games being in the bigger stadiums like PUC etc and that really isnt fair on other counties competitively admittedly. But then Dublin are playing only two championship away games at the moment anyway (likely 3 next year).

So the choices are really stay the same and give the crowd/market the opportunity to pick and choose games, increase season tickets, boost attendances and raise revenue and play Dublin in Croke Park or other bigger stadiums, but put other counties at a competitive disadvantage.

I think that is a tricky choice in terms of what benefits the association financially and as a result grass roots etc and competitive equality in the championship in terms of home and away. Many would say i wouldn't necessarily disagree, its all ready unfair with the GAA wanting Dublin in Croke Park (and other S8 games) as much as possible.

Long term the GAA needs to invest in a big way in infrastructure of ground in strategic provincial areas for ground that can hold 4-50k as a business model in my opinion as a long term financial goal for the association. by infrastructure im talking modern grounds with the bells and whistles that bring in corporate revenue, its the future.

Personally speaking i would have liked the replay for the Final this year played in PUC and i definitely think we should be playing the Munster champions in PUC next year in the S8's even if its Cork."
It's funny hearing a dub speaking of equality :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/09/2019 13:07:45    2239363

Replying To TheUsername:  "Simple answer is you cant. There are is a limit on the number of season tickets sold as a result. But the market in Dublin for example would be huge if available.

Personally speaking i would have liked the replay for the Final this year played in PUC and i definitely think we should be playing the Munster champions in PUC next year in the S8's even if its Cork."
Ye will play either ourselves or cork in Trurles , ye won't be going to PUC .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/09/2019 14:30:35    2239395

Replying To traleegerry:  "All the dubs got my drift"
Really?

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 26/09/2019 16:43:24    2239422

Nah PUC will suit us grand as a neutral venue, direct rail links, City, make a weekend out of it, festival atmosphere. Though if its Kerry who dont usually bring a big crowd it could be Nowlen, but i hope not.

Its our responsibility as All Ireland Champions and the Greatest Football Team ever to represent football in all the provinces.

Its been Ulster the past couple of years, i think Munster deserve us this year they have been without top tier football, it would be really fitting for PUC and what they are trying to there, to bring the Dubs there, it would really show case a top tier stadium with a top tier team.

Its time to bring Football to Munster.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/09/2019 17:46:33    2239432

Replying To TheUsername:  "Nah PUC will suit us grand as a neutral venue, direct rail links, City, make a weekend out of it, festival atmosphere. Though if its Kerry who dont usually bring a big crowd it could be Nowlen, but i hope not.

Its our responsibility as All Ireland Champions and the Greatest Football Team ever to represent football in all the provinces.

Its been Ulster the past couple of years, i think Munster deserve us this year they have been without top tier football, it would be really fitting for PUC and what they are trying to there, to bring the Dubs there, it would really show case a top tier stadium with a top tier team.

Its time to bring Football to Munster."
Thurles is also in Munster Incase you didn't know ;-) also Thurles has a bigger capacity which the GAA will need for all traveling Kerry fans, I remember the massive Kerry support we had in Thurles for the 2 games in 2001 and the dubs getting lost :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/09/2019 18:14:18    2239436

I fancy Cork to beat the Kerry blanket if I'm honest! :)

Looking forward to it already not really arsed where it is to be honest and depends on the concept of neutral, is neutral outside a home province or just a county.

Would love a spin to PUC good memerios of Semple too. Clones, Breffni, Mchale and for a bit craic Breffni or Ballyboufey be class.

But PUC the most logical! Though I can see the GAA playing provical champs off in Croker when the rejigger, wouldn't put it past us having a game in Parnell either, which would be class too!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/09/2019 18:42:53    2239443

Replying To TheUsername:  "I fancy Cork to beat the Kerry blanket if I'm honest! :)

Looking forward to it already not really arsed where it is to be honest and depends on the concept of neutral, is neutral outside a home province or just a county.

Would love a spin to PUC good memerios of Semple too. Clones, Breffni, Mchale and for a bit craic Breffni or Ballyboufey be class.

But PUC the most logical! Though I can see the GAA playing provical champs off in Croker when the rejigger, wouldn't put it past us having a game in Parnell either, which would be class too!"
I can see how the concept of a neutral venue might confuse you really.

I'd also be interested to hear what good memories you had in Thurles? It must have been with yer hurlers coz it wasn't with yer footballers :-0

Also Cork may well beat us as they're at home again and we will undoubtedly be bringing in more young players.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/09/2019 20:49:48    2239470

Sorry to hit the reset button here but anybody who argues that receiving 18m in coaching funding when Fermanagh receives 600k is completely deluded. I refuse to believe that so many people are that stupid to believe the current system is just.

The tragedy is that there is a great bunch of players whos achievements mean absolutely nothing to anybody who wasn't throwing chairs at eachother in the Clonliffe a few weeks back.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 26/09/2019 20:59:08    2239473

Replying To Daith:  "Sorry to hit the reset button here but anybody who argues that receiving 18m in coaching funding when Fermanagh receives 600k is completely deluded. I refuse to believe that so many people are that stupid to believe the current system is just.

The tragedy is that there is a great bunch of players whos achievements mean absolutely nothing to anybody who wasn't throwing chairs at eachother in the Clonliffe a few weeks back."
From reading posts on this site from people outside Dublin it would appear that Dublin is the only county in Ireland that has problems with umemployment/drugs/violence etc therefore surely it makes sense for the GAA to continue their investment sure is it not keeping the kids off the streets and out of trouble & keeping all the personnel involved with the Dublkn team in employment sure otherwise they would be like everyone else and drawing the dole. Hope you are enjoying the view from your moral highground.

Liffeylad (Dublin) - Posts: 74 - 26/09/2019 21:36:04    2239488

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I can see how the concept of a neutral venue might confuse you really.

I'd also be interested to hear what good memories you had in Thurles? It must have been with yer hurlers coz it wasn't with yer footballers :-0

Also Cork may well beat us as they're at home again and we will undoubtedly be bringing in more young players."
Ha ha I was thinking from my above posts to beginning to speaking to you the intellectual narrative dropped.

I decided in the spirit of the five in a row to give you a chance, but like you be prince time and again you just want to throw barbs and troll.

Troll patrol has decided that you go back on, no oxygen with no credibility!

Please remember not to look in the men's faces when they talk about football.

That leaves G.Gerry and 37 as genuine Kerry lads.

Unlucky, but it's always the hope that kills you. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/09/2019 21:59:01    2239495

David Clifford is a teenager in Kerry. David gets up at 5:00 O clock every morning to walk the five miles every morning to get water, picking up fire wood along the way. David carefully balances the water on his head and fire wood on his knees to bring home so Mammy can have a nice cup of tea and a bit of toast (no avocado). After Mammy has had her toast, )without avocado). David goes out to the fields, David runs for miles to catch mountain goats for milk for his whole family, David likes how they sometimes put the crown on the goat. Winters are harsh in Kerry, and David often has to have his hood up on on his holey jacket. While he is growing into Daddy's wellies nicely. David often wishes that Mammy liked cornflakes instead of tea and toast (without avocado ) for her breakfast.

David then goes to school, David is very tired by now, but the hole in the roof often keeps him awake and the rain helps him keep a perfect quiff, because the wet look is in around Killarney. David walks the 20 miles home from school every day, often having to be careful of the Paddywhacker buses that pass him by. David is sometimes splashed by these buses as they drive by and looks up to see Dublin people drinking Champagne and designer coddle int their heated seats. David would like to taste coddle just once. David sometimes wishes he was from Dublin too. David used to walk home from school with his favorite friends, Mark and Steffen, they arent there anymore and he sometimes sees them at the Christmas nativity play and Goat crown day in the summer, they have big red faces and look bigger and stronger, David thinks they may have moved from Toast (no avocado) to cornflakes for their breakfasts. Davids favorite colors are green and yellow, he remembers seeing a big shining milking jug one time when he was very small. David though of how much milk he put into that if he could catch a goat.

When David has his homework done, David climbs three mountains and 100 miles to play football with his friends. The manager told him if he plays very well he can get the big shiny goat milk jug. David likes this and will play very very hard. David is beginning to grow into Daddys boots. Davids favorite part of football is the oranges they get after training, it helps David on the return journey up and down mountains.

David curls up at night in a corner of the room, sometimes there is an ember from the coal in the fire, he can keep warm for a little bit. David will be up again in three hours, to get the water and firewood for Mammys team and toast again (no avocado). David often dreams of Bernard Brogan, David wishes he can play football like Bernard. David believes that Bernard does not have to play football with a beach ball and has boots that fit him.

If you would like to help to help David grow into his boots, please send a minimum of 1 mill euro to Kerry GAA, in donation, 7 mill if dealing in tax payers money. You can also but a chicken dinner from 2000 euro a plate. Please contact The Plaza New York for more details. Please help us provide cornflakes or avocado for David and his toast. This has been an appeal from Kerry GAA. * Played to Eva Cassidys fields of gold.

#Kerrytoo

;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/09/2019 22:13:25    2239499

Replying To TheUsername:  "Wouldn't disagree with you to be honest, 39k registered players out of a population of 1.4 mill is poor. But equally the only two sell out games in football in Corker this year were Dublins last three fixtures, the market is there if the quality and entertainment is there.

Even as it is we are the best supported county, but it could be massively improved on admittedly and i like you would like to see it and see it cultivated. Just look at the home coming, 15 k tickets sold out in a couple of hours, with many more wanting to attend, the market is there, if the right product both in terms of schemes and entertainment."
Two tier championship? Kildare, Laois, Meath, and Westmeath would all be in Tier 1. Dublin would hammer all of them. It's not fair on the Div 3 and 4 teams either. Wicklow lost to Kildare by 2 points. Offaly lost to Meath by 3 points. Take Dublin out of the equation and Leinster is very competitive.

Hawkeye9212 (Donegal) - Posts: 266 - 27/09/2019 00:50:21    2239535

Replying To Hawkeye9212:  "Two tier championship? Kildare, Laois, Meath, and Westmeath would all be in Tier 1. Dublin would hammer all of them. It's not fair on the Div 3 and 4 teams either. Wicklow lost to Kildare by 2 points. Offaly lost to Meath by 3 points. Take Dublin out of the equation and Leinster is very competitive."
There is the problem really, the chasm between the top counties and groups behind is big. Dublin and Kerry have been lording their provinces for generations not just now.

The football crowds in both Leinster and Munster are becoming year on year very poor, i think their just isnt a market for Leinster or Munster football at this stage.

I would be a fan of a two tier championship, for all the reasons i mention above both from a spectacle point of view and a business perspective to fund the association.

I would however be open minded, i like the idea of a two tier super province with Leinster and Munster amalgamated.

Dublin Kerry, Meath, Kildare, Cork, Tipperary in one group and two other spots with two place for promotion and relegation. Knock out.

The rest of the Leinster and Minster teams playing in a tier two provincial. Knock out

Give both tiers two Super 8 places.

I cant see any idea being considered to be honest, Leinster last night voted not to give Dublin a bye into the Leinster semi next year, so some poor unfortunate county will get put to the slaughter and have an early year. All so Leinster can get a Dublin pay day, doesn't bother us of course it gives you a sense of the mindset and motivation of revenue vs competitiveness that i talk about.

Anyway for me the provincials are dead in Leinster and Munster and an absolute waste of time and money, ill be there of course, but im beginning to look at it as pres season and watching young lads rather then taking the games seriously, its sad to say that but that how im beginning to look at it, . At least Munster has the hurling though.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/09/2019 10:06:51    2239574

Mayo's bit of a problem showing how they account for money could be a sign of what is in store for all GAA units county ,Provincial,and national. The trend with funders and donors is that they want to see what is done with money and expect good quality control and Governance.

A lot of Dublin players resent the way the funding imbalance between Counties seems to take some gloss off their massive achievements. They are right in that their involvement is on the field and they are not responsible for accounting.

The disparity between Dublin schools coach funding and the rest of the Country should be highlighted as what it is. i.e a ridiculous example of how no control is exercised over how very large amounts are dispersed.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 27/09/2019 10:32:08    2239581

Replying To TheUsername:  "David Clifford is a teenager in Kerry. David gets up at 5:00 O clock every morning to walk the five miles every morning to get water, picking up fire wood along the way. David carefully balances the water on his head and fire wood on his knees to bring home so Mammy can have a nice cup of tea and a bit of toast (no avocado). After Mammy has had her toast, )without avocado). David goes out to the fields, David runs for miles to catch mountain goats for milk for his whole family, David likes how they sometimes put the crown on the goat. Winters are harsh in Kerry, and David often has to have his hood up on on his holey jacket. While he is growing into Daddy's wellies nicely. David often wishes that Mammy liked cornflakes instead of tea and toast (without avocado ) for her breakfast.

David then goes to school, David is very tired by now, but the hole in the roof often keeps him awake and the rain helps him keep a perfect quiff, because the wet look is in around Killarney. David walks the 20 miles home from school every day, often having to be careful of the Paddywhacker buses that pass him by. David is sometimes splashed by these buses as they drive by and looks up to see Dublin people drinking Champagne and designer coddle int their heated seats. David would like to taste coddle just once. David sometimes wishes he was from Dublin too. David used to walk home from school with his favorite friends, Mark and Steffen, they arent there anymore and he sometimes sees them at the Christmas nativity play and Goat crown day in the summer, they have big red faces and look bigger and stronger, David thinks they may have moved from Toast (no avocado) to cornflakes for their breakfasts. Davids favorite colors are green and yellow, he remembers seeing a big shining milking jug one time when he was very small. David though of how much milk he put into that if he could catch a goat.

When David has his homework done, David climbs three mountains and 100 miles to play football with his friends. The manager told him if he plays very well he can get the big shiny goat milk jug. David likes this and will play very very hard. David is beginning to grow into Daddys boots. Davids favorite part of football is the oranges they get after training, it helps David on the return journey up and down mountains.

David curls up at night in a corner of the room, sometimes there is an ember from the coal in the fire, he can keep warm for a little bit. David will be up again in three hours, to get the water and firewood for Mammys team and toast again (no avocado). David often dreams of Bernard Brogan, David wishes he can play football like Bernard. David believes that Bernard does not have to play football with a beach ball and has boots that fit him.

If you would like to help to help David grow into his boots, please send a minimum of 1 mill euro to Kerry GAA, in donation, 7 mill if dealing in tax payers money. You can also but a chicken dinner from 2000 euro a plate. Please contact The Plaza New York for more details. Please help us provide cornflakes or avocado for David and his toast. This has been an appeal from Kerry GAA. * Played to Eva Cassidys fields of gold.

#Kerrytoo

;)"
Enjoyed that.:-D.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 27/09/2019 10:46:51    2239585