MONEY

Dear Dubs................sit back, relax and just enjoy the pain of our fellow countrymen.

Just as we had to take abuse in the '70s, '80s, '90s and '00s for all the failures after the hype and the jokes went around.

Let them wallow and enjoy the moment, they never last

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 25/09/2019 09:11:49    2238974

Money is what will rip & is ripping the GAA apart, the inter county scene has massive financial input with lots of people making big money from it & yes players are doing well behind the scenes as well despite what people say. Many land in jobs they wouldn't get otherwise, sponsorship deals, appearance fees, sponsored cars, mileage etc. Others are making large salaries out of it also. The biggest joke is the underhand payment to many Inter County managers, never declared, how Revenue haven't tackled this is shocking. The media is now a multi million industry in GAA so the media companies want more elitism, TV rights & the GAA are mad to grab it all. They are even facilitating it, Super 8's & now Tier 2, they just want the elite. How many times do you hear senior figures saying no to the Inter County juggernaut, or that they want all the money & resources & fixtures set for clubs, Never. There is an orchestrated campaign by the GAA towards this & they use the complicit GAA media to peddle their spin. The GAA media are a joke as they follow the diktat & they also are only out to make money, so clubs or club voices or dissenting voices are axed.
They say greed is the source of all evil & never was it more present than in the current GAA set up.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 25/09/2019 09:15:39    2238975

Replying To traleegerry:  "Well lads it has been a most entertaining day chatting with you all. One day the truth will be known. It always comes out in the finish history tells us that fact. Be it life or sport"
It was very entertaining Gerry. You gave me a good laugh.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 25/09/2019 09:36:40    2238980

Replying To traleegerry:  "Well lads it has been a most entertaining day chatting with you all. One day the truth will be known. It always comes out in the finish history tells us that fact. Be it life or sport"
Thanks Gerry it certainly was a most entertaining day , have to say I enjoyed it immensely , havnt smiled as much since Sat 14th Sept ,The ALL Ireland Final Replay -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 25/09/2019 12:36:21    2239042

Replying To moc.dna:  "Money is what will rip & is ripping the GAA apart, the inter county scene has massive financial input with lots of people making big money from it & yes players are doing well behind the scenes as well despite what people say. Many land in jobs they wouldn't get otherwise, sponsorship deals, appearance fees, sponsored cars, mileage etc. Others are making large salaries out of it also. The biggest joke is the underhand payment to many Inter County managers, never declared, how Revenue haven't tackled this is shocking. The media is now a multi million industry in GAA so the media companies want more elitism, TV rights & the GAA are mad to grab it all. They are even facilitating it, Super 8's & now Tier 2, they just want the elite. How many times do you hear senior figures saying no to the Inter County juggernaut, or that they want all the money & resources & fixtures set for clubs, Never. There is an orchestrated campaign by the GAA towards this & they use the complicit GAA media to peddle their spin. The GAA media are a joke as they follow the diktat & they also are only out to make money, so clubs or club voices or dissenting voices are axed.
They say greed is the source of all evil & never was it more present than in the current GAA set up."
Some great points. But tell me. Say Davy Fitz makes the move to Galway. Let's say, for the sake of argument, he received an offer of 'an underhand payment' that he couldn't refuse. Galway go on to have great success and bring the Liam McCarthy back over The Shannon. Most Galway people would consider this a worthwhile investment. Would you celebrate with them? this is the problem. Perhaps you right. The huge emphasis on IC success is corrupting our organization , not just one county, as some would have you believe.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 25/09/2019 13:09:02    2239057

Do we have a whistleblower describing the county team's preparations in two words? :-)

Witnof wrote:

Dear Dubs ....

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 25/09/2019 13:19:16    2239062

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I'm just wondering why this money hasn't translated into hurling All Ireland success.
That's the hole in this argument you see but it's not something that these begrudges like to acknowledge.
Keep on about transition and professionalism if that makes you feel better."
Ok Dubh_linn I'll try and explain this one to ye, when this whole funding farce began in the early naughties the standard of dublin hurling at the time would be on par with the likes of westmeath laois and the Kerry's of this world, they were no where near the standards of Galway Kilkenny Tipp and had no chance of contesting leinster finals, well thanks to all them cash gifts from the irish government and Croke park they have closed that gap considerably and are starting to compete and beat the top level teams dispite never having any tradition as a hurling countie, think about it did ye ever hear a dublin born child talk about hurling or did ye ever see one with a hurl and slioter back in the nineties, could ye imagine westmeath kerry or laois making the improvements dublin have In only the space of 15 years, the thing is it was always going to take longer to get the hurlers up to the top class standard considering how low of a base they were coming from, but things are changing fast thanks to Croke parks funding and the next decade will be the breakthrough decade for the hurlers and once it starts there's no stopping it, it be like history repeating itself all over again, the problem then of course is will dublin have a stage big enough to fit everyone players and backroom staff from all them victorious homecomings.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 25/09/2019 14:17:09    2239092

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Ok Dubh_linn I'll try and explain this one to ye, when this whole funding farce began in the early naughties the standard of dublin hurling at the time would be on par with the likes of westmeath laois and the Kerry's of this world, they were no where near the standards of Galway Kilkenny Tipp and had no chance of contesting leinster finals, well thanks to all them cash gifts from the irish government and Croke park they have closed that gap considerably and are starting to compete and beat the top level teams dispite never having any tradition as a hurling countie, think about it did ye ever hear a dublin born child talk about hurling or did ye ever see one with a hurl and slioter back in the nineties, could ye imagine westmeath kerry or laois making the improvements dublin have In only the space of 15 years, the thing is it was always going to take longer to get the hurlers up to the top class standard considering how low of a base they were coming from, but things are changing fast thanks to Croke parks funding and the next decade will be the breakthrough decade for the hurlers and once it starts there's no stopping it, it be like history repeating itself all over again, the problem then of course is will dublin have a stage big enough to fit everyone players and backroom staff from all them victorious homecomings."
This is nonsense of course. Dublin got to 2 Leinster finals in the 90s, when Offaly, Wexford and Kilkenny all had decent teams. They got to 2 Leinster finals in the noughties also and 3 in the 10s. They have regressed in recent years, presumably at a time when this funding should really have borne fruit. I just don't see this funding initiated step change that you are referring to. Arguably the Dublin team of the 90s was better, or at least on a par with, the current Dublin team, no?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/09/2019 15:43:10    2239124

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Ok Dubh_linn I'll try and explain this one to ye, when this whole funding farce began in the early naughties the standard of dublin hurling at the time would be on par with the likes of westmeath laois and the Kerry's of this world, they were no where near the standards of Galway Kilkenny Tipp and had no chance of contesting leinster finals, well thanks to all them cash gifts from the irish government and Croke park they have closed that gap considerably and are starting to compete and beat the top level teams dispite never having any tradition as a hurling countie, think about it did ye ever hear a dublin born child talk about hurling or did ye ever see one with a hurl and slioter back in the nineties, could ye imagine westmeath kerry or laois making the improvements dublin have In only the space of 15 years, the thing is it was always going to take longer to get the hurlers up to the top class standard considering how low of a base they were coming from, but things are changing fast thanks to Croke parks funding and the next decade will be the breakthrough decade for the hurlers and once it starts there's no stopping it, it be like history repeating itself all over again, the problem then of course is will dublin have a stage big enough to fit everyone players and backroom staff from all them victorious homecomings."
Thanks for your effort with that . It does however demonstrate more of the same ignorance and lack of acceptance that this current crop of players are mostly players who have been successful at underage and club level and we are just fortunate to have them converge at the same time to play together.
There has always been really good hurlers in Dublin and if it was purely a case of spending money and hey presto, we can produce 30 supermen with hurleys then you would have seen it by now.
Yes, the standard has improved and we have had some success but we will struggle with the big names still because we do not have the same strength in depth involved in hurling and limited resources money or no money.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/09/2019 16:00:57    2239127

Replying To slayer:  "Do we have a whistleblower describing the county team's preparations in two words? :-)

Witnof wrote:

Dear Dubs ...."
Ah jayus no :)..................worth every penny...........great value for money..................the cheap and nasty is the stuff you get outside the Pale :)

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 25/09/2019 16:03:30    2239128

It would have been nice to be on a par with Laois this year.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 25/09/2019 16:29:05    2239134

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Thanks for your effort with that . It does however demonstrate more of the same ignorance and lack of acceptance that this current crop of players are mostly players who have been successful at underage and club level and we are just fortunate to have them converge at the same time to play together.
There has always been really good hurlers in Dublin and if it was purely a case of spending money and hey presto, we can produce 30 supermen with hurleys then you would have seen it by now.
Yes, the standard has improved and we have had some success but we will struggle with the big names still because we do not have the same strength in depth involved in hurling and limited resources money or no money."
I hope your right and this is a once off but we in meath have been waiting for this blue bubble to burst for a while now, but instead of bursting the blue bubble is just getting bigger and bigger stuffed full of euros.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 25/09/2019 19:08:32    2239196

Replying To Joxer:  "This is nonsense of course. Dublin got to 2 Leinster finals in the 90s, when Offaly, Wexford and Kilkenny all had decent teams. They got to 2 Leinster finals in the noughties also and 3 in the 10s. They have regressed in recent years, presumably at a time when this funding should really have borne fruit. I just don't see this funding initiated step change that you are referring to. Arguably the Dublin team of the 90s was better, or at least on a par with, the current Dublin team, no?"
Fair enough Joxer I had to Google it and dublin did get to two leinster finals in the nineties 90 and 91, but they were rubbish for the rest of the decade. The dublin team of today are light years ahead of any dublin team of the nineties, remember the hurling team today are minus con o Callaghan Ciaran Kilkenny diarmod Connolly and I'm sure a few others if they were involved I'm sure dublin wouldn't be far off the Liam McCarthy.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 25/09/2019 19:20:29    2239198

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "I hope your right and this is a once off but we in meath have been waiting for this blue bubble to burst for a while now, but instead of bursting the blue bubble is just getting bigger and bigger stuffed full of euros."
All the top level hurling and football teams need to do is have the underage teams provide one or two to the panel each year to remain competitive. Dublin can remain competitive in football for sure but the hurlers are still going to take time for underage success to change the levels of success for the county. It's not guaranteed but it's far more likely that a county will win AI's if the underage structures in that county are right and they are usually the counties that win titles.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/09/2019 20:05:51    2239208

Replying To Joxer:  "This is nonsense of course. Dublin got to 2 Leinster finals in the 90s, when Offaly, Wexford and Kilkenny all had decent teams. They got to 2 Leinster finals in the noughties also and 3 in the 10s. They have regressed in recent years, presumably at a time when this funding should really have borne fruit. I just don't see this funding initiated step change that you are referring to. Arguably the Dublin team of the 90s was better, or at least on a par with, the current Dublin team, no?"
Dublin were also in an All Ireland Hurling Final every decade up to the 70s.

In many way the rise of Dublin in football, undermined Hurling. The decline of being able to duely in both codes hasn't helped Dublin hurling.

Even today some of the best Hurlers in the country play football for Dublin, many are better Hurlers then footballers.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/09/2019 20:31:18    2239216

This forum has gone to the dogs. No craic anymore. Fake accounts always bitter about success of other counties. In the 00s it was all about kerrys handy routes thru Munster to all Ireland finals. This decade it is all about money. People forget that despite advantages, teams still are great as other teams with similar advantages (hurling and football) don't do the business. Certain Kerry and meath supporters have shown pure begrudgery. They should remember what it was like to win and be criticised. Time to suck it up.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/09/2019 20:37:10    2239217

Replying To TheUsername:  "Dublin were also in an All Ireland Hurling Final every decade up to the 70s.

In many way the rise of Dublin in football, undermined Hurling. The decline of being able to duely in both codes hasn't helped Dublin hurling.

Even today some of the best Hurlers in the country play football for Dublin, many are better Hurlers then footballers."
The Dublin hurling teams before 1970 were made of almost all country lads so I dont know how you could say it has declined since then. Surely its a case of more participation in both codes with a greater trend in football?
As for all yer great hurlers playing football, we will never know just how good they are at inter county level. Even King Con might struggle at intercounty hurling.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 25/09/2019 21:23:15    2239224

Replying To ZUL10:  "The Dublin hurling teams before 1970 were made of almost all country lads so I dont know how you could say it has declined since then. Surely its a case of more participation in both codes with a greater trend in football?
As for all yer great hurlers playing football, we will never know just how good they are at inter county level. Even King Con might struggle at intercounty hurling."
I think your wrong, but I'll tell you what, I'll concede if you can tell me how many where from Dublin and how many from the country?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/09/2019 21:33:18    2239226

Replying To ZUL10:  "The Dublin hurling teams before 1970 were made of almost all country lads so I dont know how you could say it has declined since then. Surely its a case of more participation in both codes with a greater trend in football?
As for all yer great hurlers playing football, we will never know just how good they are at inter county level. Even King Con might struggle at intercounty hurling."
As was there football teams zul10 ( full of country lads) and you're 100% correct about con o'callaghan and the others as hurlers , since they haven't played nor are likely to play intercounty hurling we have to assume that they are average at best.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/09/2019 21:34:55    2239227

Replying To TheUsername:  "Dont want the sniping to stop to be honest.

I like the narrative, it gets into the opposition heads, creates an aura, infuriates opposition fans and you see teams afraid of their lives of us. Just recently we saw Kerry lumping in long balls instead of progressive play, playing blanket defenses, while we knock the ball around in front of them, its one of the most confidence draining things for an opposition team ever and they all must leave Croke Park feeling inferior and confidence drained. Why would we want that to stop.

Im all for perpetuating the narrative to be honest, it works to our advantage. I was whipping up the debate myself most of the year to distract from the pressure of five in a row.

I couldn't give less of a flyer what someone the far side of Lucan thinks or believes about Dublin, its irrelevant to us ultimately as it doesnt impact on the came in Dublin, either club or county.

We equally dont seek or want acknowledgement or validation, we do our thing and we are the most well supported county in the country that will never change, we dont need anything else really."
You Dubs love to bang the per capita drum when it comes to justifying funding but strangely enough ignore it when it comes to the best supported county.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 26/09/2019 00:24:28    2239258