Dublin Vs Kerry Replay

Thanks to Dublin and Kerry for restoring my faith in football.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/09/2019 04:49:31    2236448

Replying To mayo_123:  "they were young lads they didn't throw first punch"
No they chose to spit and insult instead, they deserved what they got and it would have been worse only for the cops were on the scene.
We have s**m too and I would love to see them all eradicated.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 17/09/2019 16:21:26    2236691

Replying To Miami305:  "some pacey run by eoin murchan on the goal

however he was lucky not to be blown twice for over-carrying, when he first collects the ball from the sheenhan knock down he takes 8 steps, and after his last hop until shooting he takes another 8 or so. Not that id like to see it being called for, especially when sheehan has a little tug at him, but he was certainly fortunate on the first carry as nobody laid a paw on him."
Murchan got the ball in his own half, ran all the way to the goal and played the ball THREE times...not possible going by the rules

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 19/09/2019 22:51:27    2237715

Been off the grid the last week. Congrats Dublin, historic achievement. Commiserations Kerry, hopefully ye can keep improving but honestly, looking at the age profile of some of the Dubs best players, it's frightening! 8 in a row is a distinct possibility.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 20/09/2019 07:51:17    2237744

Replying To ballydalane:  "Been off the grid the last week. Congrats Dublin, historic achievement. Commiserations Kerry, hopefully ye can keep improving but honestly, looking at the age profile of some of the Dubs best players, it's frightening! 8 in a row is a distinct possibility."
A lot of strong teams will be coming at us next year and beyond, not just kerry, so it will be interesting....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 20/09/2019 12:39:46    2237814

Replying To Fionn:  "A lot of strong teams will be coming at us next year and beyond, not just kerry, so it will be interesting...."
Definitely, everyone keeps banging on about Dublin this and Dublin next year and the year after etc etc. There will be plenty of fierce competition in the coming years.. the others will come good for sure... Kerry, Cork, Donegal, Armagh will get better along with plenty of others with huge potential. It will be very interesting

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 20/09/2019 12:49:24    2237817

Replying To boman11:  "Definitely, everyone keeps banging on about Dublin this and Dublin next year and the year after etc etc. There will be plenty of fierce competition in the coming years.. the others will come good for sure... Kerry, Cork, Donegal, Armagh will get better along with plenty of others with huge potential. It will be very interesting"
And with that, hopefully there will be more competitive Leinster and Munster football championships - Meath and Kildare to improve, but only Cork in Munster look like doing it down south.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 20/09/2019 13:16:33    2237821

Replying To boman11:  "Definitely, everyone keeps banging on about Dublin this and Dublin next year and the year after etc etc. There will be plenty of fierce competition in the coming years.. the others will come good for sure... Kerry, Cork, Donegal, Armagh will get better along with plenty of others with huge potential. It will be very interesting"
I just read Sean cavanagh Article And he reckons that due to Dublin's dominance there will even more players will look to playing soccer rugby and Aussie rule.

Surely that can't be good for the GAA.

Something has to be done with the blue juggernaut before it's too late.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/09/2019 14:33:01    2237834

Replying To Fionn:  "And with that, hopefully there will be more competitive Leinster and Munster football championships - Meath and Kildare to improve, but only Cork in Munster look like doing it down south."
I Actually think Meath and Kildare are 2 quite underrated teams, if they had not been playing in Dubs shadow in Lienster for so long then they would have kicked on by now.. But as you said he's definitely agree with both teams improving and hopefully being able to challenge for Lienster titles again soon. Munster could do with a bit of a kick aswell I suppose, Ulster definitely looks the most competitive... wouldn't fancy my chances picking the winner.

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 20/09/2019 14:56:25    2237842

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I just read Sean cavanagh Article And he reckons that due to Dublin's dominance there will even more players will look to playing soccer rugby and Aussie rule.

Something has to be done with the blue juggernaut before it's too late."
Be careful there lad,

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 20/09/2019 14:58:56    2237845

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I just read Sean cavanagh Article And he reckons that due to Dublin's dominance there will even more players will look to playing soccer rugby and Aussie rule.

I doubt that's true. You have to be an extremely good talent/athlete a la Brian Stynes to make a good living in the AFL. Who would sacrifice an IC career with all of the job opportunities that that brings for a long shot at a living in the AFL? Some will go there but almost all will come back. Similar situation with soccer. Some who are on the fringes of IC may defect to soccer to play in the Premier or Div 1 leagues in Ireland but that's only because they are not getting IC game time. Those, from IC, who go to UK and make a real living out of soccer then that should have been their career path in the first place. I can't imagine many are changing direction as a result of Dublin winning 5 sams.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2019 15:15:38    2237848

Whatever happened to the green machine? Did the wheels come off?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2019 15:22:18    2237849

Replying To Joxer:  "I doubt that's true. You have to be an extremely good talent/athlete a la Brian Stynes to make a good living in the AFL. Who would sacrifice an IC career with all of the job opportunities that that brings for a long shot at a living in the AFL? Some will go there but almost all will come back. Similar situation with soccer. Some who are on the fringes of IC may defect to soccer to play in the Premier or Div 1 leagues in Ireland but that's only because they are not getting IC game time. Those, from IC, who go to UK and make a real living out of soccer then that should have been their career path in the first place. I can't imagine many are changing direction as a result of Dublin winning 5 sams."
That's what Sean cavanagh wrote jock, he said if it were him and he was looking at Dublins dominance now he'd be gone,

As a dub you don't understand that In rural counties we can't afford to lose one brilliant player if we want to compete with ye.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/09/2019 15:26:21    2237851

Oh just because Sean Cavanaugh reckons? What if I told you I reckon the exact opposite, saying something like that is just plain stupidity unless he believes because he said it then it will happen lol. How in the world could that man know if that is what is going to happen, haven't read it myself but now I know not to even bother.. cheers i suppose

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 20/09/2019 15:33:45    2237855

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's what Sean cavanagh wrote jock, he said if it were him and he was looking at Dublins dominance now he'd be gone,

As a dub you don't understand that In rural counties we can't afford to lose one brilliant player if we want to compete with ye."
Gone where? On his holidays to Bondi Beach? If you're good enough you're good enough. You've got to get out of the super 8s before you should be concerned about Dublin and there's a provincial title on the line too. Dublin can't afford to lose top class players either, no county can, and nowhere is the competition greater with other sports than in Dublin. But it's the job of the governing body to address that. You can't slate a county's success because Paddy Walsh in Westmeath is a great prospect and has run away to Australia to try to play a pro sport for fear of facing Dublin. Does this not happen in other sports, assuming it happens at all for the reasons stated.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2019 16:14:31    2237862

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's what Sean cavanagh wrote jock, he said if it were him and he was looking at Dublins dominance now he'd be gone,

As a dub you don't understand that In rural counties we can't afford to lose one brilliant player if we want to compete with ye."
To be fair if hes saying that he'd be gone then let him go or whoever may decide to make that choice. When the going gets tough...

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 20/09/2019 16:38:24    2237865

Ya something has to be done with the blue Juggernaut , so that Kerry can get back its total domination 81 Munsters , 37 All Ireland's , sure that has to be good for the GAA.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/09/2019 17:49:58    2237880

Ye should have a word with your own Tadhg Kennelly so. Ye Kerry lads are yer own worst enemies and ye"d do anything for a few quid.
Encouraging lads to leave the GAA and you boys as usual looking to blame anyone else you can.
Blarney as usual is all your at.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/09/2019 19:06:08    2237899

Replying To Joxer:  "Gone where? On his holidays to Bondi Beach? If you're good enough you're good enough. You've got to get out of the super 8s before you should be concerned about Dublin and there's a provincial title on the line too. Dublin can't afford to lose top class players either, no county can, and nowhere is the competition greater with other sports than in Dublin. But it's the job of the governing body to address that. You can't slate a county's success because Paddy Walsh in Westmeath is a great prospect and has run away to Australia to try to play a pro sport for fear of facing Dublin. Does this not happen in other sports, assuming it happens at all for the reasons stated."
Jock ye did perfectly well without Connolly o'carroll mccaffery Kilkenny when they were all out for travel and injuries reasons, so ye are well able to absorb losses to yer team.

On the other hand we and all rural teams can't , that's a fact.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/09/2019 19:57:44    2237909

Replying To catch22:  "Ye should have a word with your own Tadhg Kennelly so. Ye Kerry lads are yer own worst enemies and ye"d do anything for a few quid.
Encouraging lads to leave the GAA and you boys as usual looking to blame anyone else you can.
Blarney as usual is all your at."
Very good point. Fair play to you. lol

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 20/09/2019 20:11:02    2237912