David Gough To Referee The Final

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Do you think anything you, I or anybody else writes in here has any bearing on decisions made by the GAA or their various committees. Get a grip Jim !!"
Jimbo obviously thinks Mr Gough is reading our comments. :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2019 12:54:48    2225986

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I didn't question his integrity, quite the opposite. I see you are continuing your theme from the other thread of just making stuff up to suit your narrative.

I questioned the selection committee that should have seen this coming. There are plenty of other suitable referees that could have done it and I think there should be a general rule that if you are living somewhere you shouldn't referee inter county games involving that county. That's a completely reasonable position in any sport imo.

Do you have an opinion on the multiple times Dublin had refs changed as referenced on this thread?"
You effectively are by suggesting there is something wrong with his appointment.
Now, it's just a storm in a teacup I see so maybe you are starting to see sense. Pity you didn't see this earlier.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/08/2019 13:21:36    2225997

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "You effectively are by suggesting there is something wrong with his appointment.
Now, it's just a storm in a teacup I see so maybe you are starting to see sense. Pity you didn't see this earlier."
Why don't you or one of the other Dubs answer the question about Dublin having got refs changed?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 15/08/2019 14:23:20    2226012

Replying To oneoff:  "Why don't you or one of the other Dubs answer the question about Dublin having got refs changed?"
They can't coz it doesn't suit they're agenda.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2019 14:25:47    2226013

Replying To oneoff:  "Well there's a topic about the new Kildare manager and you haven't made a single comment on it, yet you've been on any topic about Dublin recently. Just find it a bit a odd...."
Maybe it's a Dub trapped in a Kildare body, trying to get out...........

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 15/08/2019 14:45:48    2226019

Replying To lilylanger:  "How is that worrying about Dublin? I've made no secret about how I feel about Kerry. Youre the one talking about Dublin constantly. You're fooling nobody!"
The only one your fooling is yourself !

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 15/08/2019 14:57:55    2226023

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "You effectively are by suggesting there is something wrong with his appointment.
Now, it's just a storm in a teacup I see so maybe you are starting to see sense. Pity you didn't see this earlier."
As usual you cannot answer a simple and direct question put to you.

I think I have made it clear btw that I think referees living in a particular county should not be reffing games involving that county. I can't believe anybody would deem that to be unreasonable but it seems there are quite a few that do, although I do wonder about their motives and whether it would be such a big deal if it was anybody bar an ex Kerry manager commenting on it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/08/2019 15:08:22    2226025

God be with the days when the ref came from a non-participating province. Seems the GAA has scored a fairly avoidable own-goal on this. Regardless as to the abilities of the man himself, which by all account seem as good as they get, the GAA would have done well to remember the old idiom that Caesar's wife must be above suspicion.

It is what it is, and truth be told I suspect the score line will be such that any quibbles with the man's performance on the day will be an afterthought. But Lord help us all on the off-chance it's a one score game.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 15/08/2019 15:14:46    2226029

Dublin has about half the country's population. So it stands to reason that most of the ref's will come from the capital.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 15/08/2019 15:26:09    2226035

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "exactly correct, why are the GAA making the final about the performance of a ref. who is perfectly fine but the focus should be on the players. It's just a ridiculous political agenda to show how cool the GAA is."
Could you explain how his appintment is an attempt to show how cool the GAA is? I don't get that.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 15/08/2019 15:33:22    2226037

Replying To oneoff:  "Why don't you or one of the other Dubs answer the question about Dublin having got refs changed?"
I'm sure username is goggling like mad trying to find the answer to that question and we'll have an essay from him soon :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2019 15:39:39    2226041

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm sure username is goggling like mad trying to find the answer to that question and we'll have an essay from him soon :-)"
Would say Username & the Dublin/GAA management delighted with this deflection from the history making 5 in a row.
The championship is an absolute farce.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 15/08/2019 15:48:00    2226047

Replying To greysoil:  "Would say Username & the Dublin/GAA management delighted with this deflection from the history making 5 in a row.
The championship is an absolute farce."
100% , this is ideal for jim and his team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2019 16:09:43    2226057

This conversation is over now.
Dublin are loving this distraction.
Back to the 5 in a row T-shirts lads.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 15/08/2019 16:10:35    2226058

Ridiculous that such an uproar was made about this in the first place. However now that there has been so much controversy i have a feeling this could end up having a negative affect on Dublin. The ref may now be concentrating so hard on not giving a bad decision against Kerry that he may subconsciously award a crucial decision unfairly against Dublin to show he is not bias.

CarlowRising44 (Carlow) - Posts: 16 - 15/08/2019 16:23:22    2226063

All this bluster is gas. Where was the uproar over Coldrick reffing Dubs v Kerry in 2015? A Meath man living in Dublin I believe.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/08/2019 16:26:32    2226067

Disgraceful disrespect being shown to Gough, the same people I bet whinging about Dublins richest, the fact they are impoverished and just general spiteful nasty male contents. Not a shred of evidence to show he is unworthy to officiate All Ireland, if they where questioning his ability or lack of it would be understandable, but the man's character and integrity, is slanderous and a disgrace.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 15/08/2019 16:38:15    2226072

Because there is no evidence, no proof other than your suspicious mind that Dublin do this. Every county moans about a ref appointment but nothing comes of it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 15/08/2019 16:44:47    2226080

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "As usual you cannot answer a simple and direct question put to you.

I think I have made it clear btw that I think referees living in a particular county should not be reffing games involving that county. I can't believe anybody would deem that to be unreasonable but it seems there are quite a few that do, although I do wonder about their motives and whether it would be such a big deal if it was anybody bar an ex Kerry manager commenting on it."
And you of course pretend to be not be saying something that you obviously are. As I said, once you questioned his appointment, you questioned his integrity.
You can try to deflect from that all you like but that's what you are doing and make no mistake about it.
If you had any common decency you would condemn these idiots looking to arrange a protest and distance yourself from what is absolutely ridiculous buffoonery.
It's all about the injustice and the drama with these clowns and you'd think they would know better.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/08/2019 17:17:57    2226099

Replying To Aibrean:  "You must be quite shocked to read the story about Kerry referee Aidan Mangan being replaced at Dublin's request in 2007?"
Was there a protest in Parnell Park and a public character assassination on social media at the time?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/08/2019 17:20:01    2226101