David Gough To Referee The Final

All the very best to David Gough

Just like in 2016

Dublin will get some calls against them and some calls for them

Like in every match ever played.

Every. Ever.

This beyond simple logic is beyond some... to an extraordinary extent.

Best of luck again to you David Gough and congratulations.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/08/2019 10:31:17    2225931

Why could the GAA not do the simple thing and appoint a referee from either Ulster or Connaught and therfore avoid all the hassle....have they no brains at all..? This puts undue pressure on David Gough and it's all the fault of the GAA and nobody else... It is gone to the stage of asking can these clowns who make these calls in the GAA get anything right..?

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 15/08/2019 10:32:21    2225932

Replying To Curlew66:  "David Gough is a very good referee and I have every confidence in him doing a fine job in the final. I am sympathetic to him as this controversy has taken from the great honor of being appointed to take charge of his first AI.
I've always regarded Kerry folk as being fair and sporting and indeed this row does not involve the Kerry management or players at all despite the conspiracy theories. It's about an ex manager with a bone of contention from the 2016 semi final supported by a few ex players and a small number of supporters.
The situations begs a statement from the Kerry County Board in the next few days accepting and welcoming Gough's appointment . It would be the classy thing to do and the Kingdom have always had an abundance of that. Time to draw a line , move on and focus on what I expect to be a well contested final."
Good point, Curlew, but I'm afraid the Kerry county board have already allowed this to drag on for too long. Gough was appointed on Monday last and they could have nipped all the controversial rubbish in the bud by making an early statement in support of the appointment - unless. of course, they are quite happy to let the controversy rumble on.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 15/08/2019 10:39:26    2225935

Replying To Sean.66:  "Why could the GAA not do the simple thing and appoint a referee from either Ulster or Connaught and therfore avoid all the hassle....have they no brains at all..? This puts undue pressure on David Gough and it's all the fault of the GAA and nobody else... It is gone to the stage of asking can these clowns who make these calls in the GAA get anything right..?"
exactly correct, why are the GAA making the final about the performance of a ref. who is perfectly fine but the focus should be on the players. It's just a ridiculous political agenda to show how cool the GAA is.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 15/08/2019 10:39:41    2225937

Replying To Aibrean:  "From hoganstand.com 4th July 2007
Kearns' club-mate to referee Leinster final
July 04, 2007
Surprise has been expressed at the appointment of Kerry referee Aidan Mangan to take charge of Sunday week's Leinster SFC final between Dublin and Laois. Mangan hails from the Austin Stacks club in Tralee, the same club that Laois manager Liam Kearns played for, and this has prompted some Dublin supporters to question his appointment. One of the most experienced referees in the game at the minute, Mangan previously took charge of Dublin's drawn All-Ireland quarter-final with Tyrone two years ago, and was also the 'man in the middle' when Laois - then managed by Mick O'Dwyer - beat the Metropolitans in the 2003 Leinster semi-final."
Forgot to say that, of course, Mangan was stood down as ref. He was replaced by Michael Hughes of Tyrone.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 15/08/2019 10:50:12    2225941

Replying To Joxer:  "I think now that Kerry's plan has succeeded and they have sowed the seeds of doubt, if anything Gough may be inclined to give Kerry the soft ones to almost prove that he has no bias towards Dublin. We may yet witness a Kerry Cormac display from the Meath man, which is exactly what Eamo and Aido want, but Gough is a top class referee and I do think he is above all of that. It's just a shame that Kerry men, who should know better, saw fit to question his integrity in such a public manner. Surely the KCB, if they had concerns, could have expressed these to the powers that be outside of the public spotlight. The guy is a teacher for God's sake."
You must be quite shocked to read the story about Kerry referee Aidan Mangan being replaced at Dublin's request in 2007?

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 15/08/2019 10:53:16    2225943

All this chat about the ref is deflecting attention from the GAA charging 90 euro for final tickets. They'll be delighted with that.

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 15/08/2019 10:53:28    2225944

Replying To jimbodub:  "No one is questioning his honesty and integrity??

Are you for real?

That's exactly what the comments from prominent Kerry GAA members are doing.. you boys want it every way.

It's an absolute character assassination job before a ball is kicked.

To try and deny that is even more grubby yet again.

This is the sort of guff directed at Gough on this site alone, you'll see a very different response from thehermit earlier in this thread compared to his true feelings below.

Thehermit tells a different story on the Kerry forum.

"Yep me might as well pack up the tent already, what's the point.
The GAA will do everything to ensure Dublin do their 5.
And watch this space, the O'Brien thing will drag on for the next 3 weeks just to try and distract Kerry more from their preparations.
D-GAA is alive and well :("

Absolute drivel of the highest order and demonstrates perfectly the sort of bile at the center of the comments being directed at David Gough.

So please save us the self serving back tracking

More concerned about O'Briens appeal going wrong than anything else

Kerry CB should come out and denounce the comments made in the media by their members. I'd honestly salute them if they did that because it's the right thing to do.

As for the likes of thehermit well hopefully it rains a storm when he's protesting about Gough's appointment in Fitzgerald stadium"
Funny in all your spying on the Kerry forum you didn't post up what I said about the supposed protest on Saturday.
Ah Jimbo have you no work to do this morning with all these posts your typing out as fast as you can think ;)

Anyway Gough is there, what can we do. I'd love to see the reaction of the Dubs if the situation was reversed.
As many others have pointed out, they've a long history of Dublin casting aspersions on referee's when it suited them, and maybe people would want to look back on Jim Gavin's comments on the man in the middle in the League final in 2017 after they lost to Kerry. But of course that's all quietly forgotten.

Another point that seems to be lost, Fitzmaurice was asked about and was reacting to a piece done in the weekend papers championing why Gough should get the gig in the first place. He didn't start the conversion on this, that was done by a journalist at the weekend. But again another inconvenient truth for the hysterical Kerry bashing that passes for discussion on this forum.

Fitzmaurice is entitled to feel sore about Gough, his decisions swung a tight game in Dublin's favour. Add in the questions about his close links with the Dublin GAA and I think it was fair to air reasons why he might not be seen as the best choice. Ultimately the GAA are responsible for this mess.

Kerry have suffered at the hands of three referee's with links to Dublin in major games against them this decade, 2011, 2015, 2016. If the reverse was true for Dublin they would be kicking up a stink.
Indeed I recall on this forum after out last title in 2014 the amount of belly aching by Dublin fans because we had taken Sam. Even though we didn't play them they were still giving out yards all winter.

One last point, a certain poster has been allowed to insinuate that Kerry fans would try and track down Gough's home or that 'thousands of us were throwing 'projectiles' at him after the 2016 semi. No look its up to the people who own this site to run it as they see fit but that's pretty low and nasty stuff to be allowed to post. Then again this is the same lad that was laughing on here about Sean O'Se being hospitalised by his Dublin heroes.

Anyway the accepted narrative, policed by the usual crew of Dublin posters and they're hangers on, is that the dirty Kerry boys are capable of anything while Dublin are as white as the winter snow.
Seems to be the same anytime we play each other and goodness if this forum is anything to go by Ireland and the GAA can't wait for Dublin to do the 5 in a row.
So ye'll all have plenty to celebrate now over the winter...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/08/2019 10:58:53    2225947

Replying To Aibrean:  "From hoganstand.com 4th July 2007
Kearns' club-mate to referee Leinster final
July 04, 2007
Surprise has been expressed at the appointment of Kerry referee Aidan Mangan to take charge of Sunday week's Leinster SFC final between Dublin and Laois. Mangan hails from the Austin Stacks club in Tralee, the same club that Laois manager Liam Kearns played for, and this has prompted some Dublin supporters to question his appointment. One of the most experienced referees in the game at the minute, Mangan previously took charge of Dublin's drawn All-Ireland quarter-final with Tyrone two years ago, and was also the 'man in the middle' when Laois - then managed by Mick O'Dwyer - beat the Metropolitans in the 2003 Leinster semi-final."
That's interesting , so the dubs have been at this craic since the 70s and we're only copping on to it now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2019 11:10:14    2225951

Replying To Joxer:  "I think now that Kerry's plan has succeeded and they have sowed the seeds of doubt, if anything Gough may be inclined to give Kerry the soft ones to almost prove that he has no bias towards Dublin. We may yet witness a Kerry Cormac display from the Meath man, which is exactly what Eamo and Aido want, but Gough is a top class referee and I do think he is above all of that. It's just a shame that Kerry men, who should know better, saw fit to question his integrity in such a public manner. Surely the KCB, if they had concerns, could have expressed these to the powers that be outside of the public spotlight. The guy is a teacher for God's sake."
Be interesting to see how the GAA respond to this with the O Brien situation. They may give Kerry one on the issue and with all the protests in Kilarney, they will bend the rules for O' Brien and let him play. Or they could take there bat and ball home and not give any good will to Kerry over the of the filed dark adds bit and their attempts to try and get the tail to wag the dog. Should be interesting.

You feel though this has been approached in the wrong way, i think certainly if it was Dublin who had concerns they would have approached the GAA through more subtle and internal channels. To be fair to Kerry county board, it seems more an issue with supporters then their official line but its getting to the point now where their silence is assuming complicity.

Either way, im happy enough Kerry have all the controversy and media inches they want in the build up to this, between water bottles, referees and bans being over turned. The hype and drama seems ripe down the south west.

We quietly go about our preparations, its our way.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/08/2019 11:10:27    2225952

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Didn't know that about 2007, I wonder are the high horse brigade equally as outraged over that?

I've no difficulty with Gough doing this match personally. He is a good ref and I know he will do a good job. At the same time he lives and works in one of the participating counties and has admitted publicly to making critical errors that benefitted that county the last time they played. We have probably all seen the images of him posing with Dublin players and the Sam Maguire from years ago too, perfectly innocent I am sure, but not a good look for a high profile referee at the same time.

I simply cannot believe the selection committee did not see this coming, and that nobody on it didn't have the foresight, and frankly the cop on to ensure he sat this one out. It was easily avoidable. It's understandable that everyone's ire is directed at Eamon Fitzmaurice and others but surely the GAA and their committee need to take some of the blame, at the very least they need firmer policies on this sort of thing. There is absolutely no excuse for referees to be officiating games of this importance involving counties where they live and work.

I agree with the poster above who said that Kerry CB should issue a statement welcoming his appointment at this stage and we should just get on with it now. They will be lucky if the GAA don't now uphold Steven O'Briens suspension to stick it to Kerry after this."
You say you have no problem with him doing the game and he'll do a good job . So why are you asking questions about the mans integrity and where he works. Are referees not human and allowed to participate in day to day life like everyone else or should every referee run a mile if he encounters a county player if he is out and about socialising lest someone snaps a photo and calls his impartiallity into question should he get a high profile job in a few years time.
The selection comittee are there to pick the best person for the job not to use someone who might be more suitable to a certain group who might have a past gripe and frankly you and these individuals would have an issue no matter who they chose because you always have an issue when things aren't going the way ye want.
Now, it's a case of Stephen O'Brien becoming a victim if his appeal isn't successful. There is no doubt that he will get off . Will that be considered as some sort of smoke screen so that the GAA can then screw ye over in the final . You see you seem to have an amazing capacity for blaming anyone and everyone else. Get over this petty nonsense let ye and stop with the conspiracy theories. All that is really wrong is that ye are scarred stiff that ye might lose. That's an insight into the current state of mind in Kerry.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/08/2019 11:19:27    2225953

Replying To lilylanger:  "How is that worrying about Dublin? I've made no secret about how I feel about Kerry. Youre the one talking about Dublin constantly. You're fooling nobody!"
Well there's a topic about the new Kildare manager and you haven't made a single comment on it, yet you've been on any topic about Dublin recently. Just find it a bit a odd....

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 15/08/2019 11:38:08    2225960

As for the likes of thehermit well hopefully it rains a storm when he's protesting about Gough's appointment in Fitzgerald stadium

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 19499 - 15/08/2019 09:45:34

Jimbodub, I have the height of respect for you and your knowledge of the game however I have to point out the following. If anybody of ye would take ten minutes to read the Kerry Forum you will find that the regular posters, Hermit, K'boy, the two Gerry's, As-Ky and I have have already distanced ourselves and cringe at the very thought of a protest. Saturday is aimed at family and in particular kids that would attend games but unfortunately are priced out of a final attendance - the sight of such an episode at the stadium is crass and embarrassing.

All genuine supporters want is fairness, us Kerry supporters included, admittedly everyone is human and mistakes can be made but with seven officials at a game surely with consultation the correct call can be made.

We have been the victims of bad calls and being honest have also benefited from other bad calls - it is swings and roundabouts.

Like the said on our main page, one cannot blame the ref or where he is from if he catches you fouling.

All we want is fairness and I have already quoted a few pages back that I actually rate Gough and think he 8s a good ref.

Don't change your spots and become a wum or stirrer..

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 15/08/2019 11:42:20    2225961

Replying To TheHermit:  "Funny in all your spying on the Kerry forum you didn't post up what I said about the supposed protest on Saturday.
Ah Jimbo have you no work to do this morning with all these posts your typing out as fast as you can think ;)

Anyway Gough is there, what can we do. I'd love to see the reaction of the Dubs if the situation was reversed.
As many others have pointed out, they've a long history of Dublin casting aspersions on referee's when it suited them, and maybe people would want to look back on Jim Gavin's comments on the man in the middle in the League final in 2017 after they lost to Kerry. But of course that's all quietly forgotten.

Another point that seems to be lost, Fitzmaurice was asked about and was reacting to a piece done in the weekend papers championing why Gough should get the gig in the first place. He didn't start the conversion on this, that was done by a journalist at the weekend. But again another inconvenient truth for the hysterical Kerry bashing that passes for discussion on this forum.

Fitzmaurice is entitled to feel sore about Gough, his decisions swung a tight game in Dublin's favour. Add in the questions about his close links with the Dublin GAA and I think it was fair to air reasons why he might not be seen as the best choice. Ultimately the GAA are responsible for this mess.

Kerry have suffered at the hands of three referee's with links to Dublin in major games against them this decade, 2011, 2015, 2016. If the reverse was true for Dublin they would be kicking up a stink.
Indeed I recall on this forum after out last title in 2014 the amount of belly aching by Dublin fans because we had taken Sam. Even though we didn't play them they were still giving out yards all winter.

One last point, a certain poster has been allowed to insinuate that Kerry fans would try and track down Gough's home or that 'thousands of us were throwing 'projectiles' at him after the 2016 semi. No look its up to the people who own this site to run it as they see fit but that's pretty low and nasty stuff to be allowed to post. Then again this is the same lad that was laughing on here about Sean O'Se being hospitalised by his Dublin heroes.

Anyway the accepted narrative, policed by the usual crew of Dublin posters and they're hangers on, is that the dirty Kerry boys are capable of anything while Dublin are as white as the winter snow.
Seems to be the same anytime we play each other and goodness if this forum is anything to go by Ireland and the GAA can't wait for Dublin to do the 5 in a row.
So ye'll all have plenty to celebrate now over the winter..."
ok :)

Whatever you say fella lol

All the personal attacks you want can't detract from your disingenuous BS while talking out both sides of your mouth.

Always the victim chief aye.. what about all the calls you got? Haha.. such a biased load of drivel

You can make up all the silly and childish nonsense you want about me man.. it's funny

I merely copied your own words.

See the difference

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/08/2019 11:54:05    2225965

Ah that was only a laugh to finish off the post and bug thehermit

I see it worked lol

What a rant that was haha.. bless him

Thank you for the compliments, you are a very good poster.

All the best, just like most games some calls go against and some go for you..

To leave behind such simple logic and turn it into a national media character assassination before a game is shameful

Like in 2016 or any other game ever played in the history of the game

I'm sure Dublin will get a few calls for and against them

Unfortunately this thinking is beyond some.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/08/2019 12:03:30    2225970

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well done GeniusGerry

Another attack on Gough's credibility worded a little more pretty aye.

The GAA scheduling committee should take the blame for what?

Kerry's paranoias?

For appointing the best referee in the game right now?

Gough missed a few things in 2016 but you boys got a few nice calls yourself that day... some right beauts and to not acknowledge this speaks volumes

So Gough has never posed for photos with anyone outside of Dublin players ever?

Do you honestly believe that?

Finishing it very well with more concern about O'Brien not getting off.. there's the crux of it, more worried about Kerry CB coming out to save face and not complicate O'Brien's appeal... rather than apologizing for their members character assassination of an acting match official for an upcoming All Ireland final

Clap, clap, great contribution there.

Listen good luck in your preparations but I'm delighted to see plenty of posters from all around the country having a go at you boys over this, if Dublin came out with similar the site couldn't cope with the condemnation!

You're getting off easy... that's the last I'll say on it.

Again though if Kerry CB come out and apologies on behalf of its members and detached themselves from the comments I'd applaud them for doing it.

I'd also like to see O'Brien be able to play"
Do you think anything you, I or anybody else writes in here has any bearing on decisions made by the GAA or their various committees. Get a grip Jim !!

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/08/2019 12:10:38    2225971

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "You say you have no problem with him doing the game and he'll do a good job . So why are you asking questions about the mans integrity and where he works. Are referees not human and allowed to participate in day to day life like everyone else or should every referee run a mile if he encounters a county player if he is out and about socialising lest someone snaps a photo and calls his impartiallity into question should he get a high profile job in a few years time.
The selection comittee are there to pick the best person for the job not to use someone who might be more suitable to a certain group who might have a past gripe and frankly you and these individuals would have an issue no matter who they chose because you always have an issue when things aren't going the way ye want.
Now, it's a case of Stephen O'Brien becoming a victim if his appeal isn't successful. There is no doubt that he will get off . Will that be considered as some sort of smoke screen so that the GAA can then screw ye over in the final . You see you seem to have an amazing capacity for blaming anyone and everyone else. Get over this petty nonsense let ye and stop with the conspiracy theories. All that is really wrong is that ye are scarred stiff that ye might lose. That's an insight into the current state of mind in Kerry."
I didn't question his integrity, quite the opposite. I see you are continuing your theme from the other thread of just making stuff up to suit your narrative.

I questioned the selection committee that should have seen this coming. There are plenty of other suitable referees that could have done it and I think there should be a general rule that if you are living somewhere you shouldn't referee inter county games involving that county. That's a completely reasonable position in any sport imo.

Do you have an opinion on the multiple times Dublin had refs changed as referenced on this thread?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/08/2019 12:18:29    2225973

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Do you think anything you, I or anybody else writes in here has any bearing on decisions made by the GAA or their various committees. Get a grip Jim !!"
Just as well because you're talking a load of nonsense

I merely brought you up on it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/08/2019 12:23:06    2225975

Replying To jimbodub:  "Just as well because you're talking a load of nonsense

I merely brought you up on it"
You're getting completely carried away Jim. It's a discussion board on here not a GAA sub committee. Pot, kettle, black on the nonsense comment btw. You've done some ranting and raving today by the looks of itself, I really can't be bothered going through it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/08/2019 12:35:14    2225979

Replying To Sean.66:  "Why could the GAA not do the simple thing and appoint a referee from either Ulster or Connaught and therfore avoid all the hassle....have they no brains at all..? This puts undue pressure on David Gough and it's all the fault of the GAA and nobody else... It is gone to the stage of asking can these clowns who make these calls in the GAA get anything right..?"
This is a great post and thank you, it more or less mirrors my thoughts but when it comes from a kerryman it's portrayed as a character assassination by the ABK's

There is simply no need for all this controversy and it's the height of stupidity from the GAA.
He is the appointed ref now and we get on with it but perhaps this storm in a teacup may bring about a bit of common sense in the future.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/08/2019 12:54:31    2225985