David Gough To Referee The Final

Replying To supermon:  "No."
Correct he is not a delegate on Dublin cb. He is heavily involved in Slane club.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/08/2019 16:49:58    2225705

Replying To royaldunne:  "Excellent post"
Here here

Great post indeed

But anyway.. Hopefully this feeds into the Dubs setup

Be nice for them to have a laugh about it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 14/08/2019 16:54:59    2225708

David Gough's treatment here is unsettling to see but considering the online hate campaign over several years aimed at Joe McQuillan by posters on this site and prevalent former Kerry players via Twitter only recently.. it's not that surprising in its venom. It's far from unprecedented coming from Kerry GAA

But this is of a greater magnitude

I'm delighted to see good GAA folk on here coming out against it

I can only imagine how he must feel having to listen to this stuff.

The fella has worked hard for this opportunity only for his efforts to be absolutely ridiculed in such a personal manner.

Sorry but those involved in Kerry GAA that have come out with this unfounded and deeply insulting mud slinging should apologize to the man.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 14/08/2019 17:11:41    2225711

Well deserved.

A lot of nonsense being posted about David Gough living and working in Dublin which shows nothing but peoples ignorance to Meaths geographical location to Dublin.

In fact more people from Co. Meath work in Dublin than in Meath itself.

Shock horror that a committed Gael previously working as a primary school teacher in would be involved in local Gaa in a city of 1.5 million people. Not to mention that all his club refereeing is still in Meath.

And anyway, I haven't seen anyone mention that the referee is from Dublins biggest rivals.

Park it and move on. David is a fantastic referee and great ambassador for Gaelic games

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 14/08/2019 17:24:04    2225715

what music are the Dubs going to have when they come back on to the pitch for the second half in the final.
Spot of Bowie again is it. None for the opposition i assume as was the case in the semi

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 14/08/2019 17:31:28    2225719

Replying To jimbodub:  "David Gough's treatment here is unsettling to see but considering the online hate campaign over several years aimed at Joe McQuillan by posters on this site and prevalent former Kerry players via Twitter only recently.. it's not that surprising in its venom. It's far from unprecedented coming from Kerry GAA

The fella has worked hard for this opportunity only for his efforts to be absolutely ridiculed in such a personal manner.

Sorry but those involved in Kerry GAA that have come out with this unfounded and deeply insulting mud slinging should apologize to the man."
Here here. It's disgraceful behavior.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/08/2019 17:40:03    2225727

Replying To jimbodub:  "David Gough's treatment here is unsettling to see but considering the online hate campaign over several years aimed at Joe McQuillan by posters on this site and prevalent former Kerry players via Twitter only recently.. it's not that surprising in its venom. It's far from unprecedented coming from Kerry GAA

Sorry but those involved in Kerry GAA that have come out with this unfounded and deeply insulting mud slinging should apologize to the man."
I wonder is all this ire about unfairness over the ref a bit of a Trojan Horse argument.

Lets put it this way, If i was a set of supporters who threw projectiles missiles at a referee and shouted obscenities at him as Kerry did to David Gough after the semi in 2016 and i was there Id be feeling very nervous about him taking control of and All Ireland final.

I was there and saw it first hand and couldn't believe what i was seeing in 2016, ive honestly seen nothing like it before or since.

Now what more likely to prejudice you, bumping in to Peggy Dignham in the local spar down Templeouge, or being threatened and insulted by 1000's of Kerry supporters after fulfilling a voluntary obligation on behalf of Gaelic games.

Somehow Kerry are the victim in all this though, par for the course really.

The Samaritans must be on speed dial down there.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/08/2019 17:41:30    2225729

https://www.joe.ie/sport/referee-david-gough-has-objects-thrown-at-him-as-he-leaves-croke-park-pitch-reports-558245

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/08/2019 17:44:30    2225731

Lost a lot of respect for Fitzmaurice over this. It is a low thing to do. It also disrespects Leinster counties outside of Dublin or any person from another county who is living and working in Dublin. Just cos you live or work in Dublin or live near Dublin doesn't suddenly mean you lose your identity. If you work in Dublin you'll likely be working with people from all over Ireland and from all over the world. Same goes for living there.

If you were living and working in Navan or Ratoath you'd probably be surrounded by more Dubs all day than in Dublin. It's absolute nonsense.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 14/08/2019 17:54:56    2225735

Utterly rediculous all this talk is..I've been to so many games where kerry got the rub of the green from refs that it's just come to be expected and part of the experience at this stage..granted yes I'll bitch and moan about decisions but to question the integrity of any referee appointed (and make no bones about this one this is exactly what is being done here) is just pathetic behaviour from fans of a team much less a former intercounty manager..

David gough will show up and ref to what he sees and how he interprets foulplay whether it's Dublin v kerry or leitrim v Wicklow..

Best of luck and congratulations to him as this is a big honour and it's being ruined by complete fools suggesting he has a bias..I sincerely hope he's the type of person to stray away from papers and social media as at this moment his big day is being shit on left right and centre by folks discussing his appointment

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 14/08/2019 18:01:19    2225737

Replying To supermon:  "1.Essentially a member? He's not a member. He's a member of his club in Slane. He's heavily involved in that club in Slane, on the club committee if I am not mistaken. So your comparison is way off.

2. I am telling you that on a subconscious level it wouldn't impact. I can tell you that as a Monaghan man who has worked in teaching in Dublin. I have been involved with Cuman na mBunscol teams in Dublin, and that had indirect links to a local club in Dublin as the children I taught came mostly from that club. I can safely say that it would have left me with no inclination to be pro Dublin or anything else. In fact as a Monaghan man I would enjoy the banter with the children I taught if the mighty Dubs were beaten. Especially by Monaghan.

3. We don't live in the 1930's anymore.

4. Premier league does not have the same ethos of community that the GAA has. Volunteerism from David Gough with the children he taught should be commended. I have seen first hand the work he does as Chair of Cuman na mBunscol. This Volunteerism should not be compared to a premier league referee attending a game as a supporter.

5. If you want to make a soccer comparison, Dublin referees regularly referee Dublin clubs against not Dublin clubs in League if Ireland. THEY ARE JUDGED ON THEIR PERFORMANCES NOT ON WHERE THEY LIVE.

6. David Gough has proved himself as a very good referee. His time has come and I wish his all the best.

I really feel that kerry supporters and former managers/players commenting on this have really let themselves down. Blackening a referees reputation and impartiality is lousy by bringing their profession into play.

Seriously lads. Get a life. I wouldnt have said this last week, but i will now after all this. UP THE DUBS!"
Great post.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 14/08/2019 18:22:19    2225741

Replying To pidge:  "Utterly rediculous all this talk is..I've been to so many games where kerry got the rub of the green from refs that it's just come to be expected and part of the experience at this stage..granted yes I'll bitch and moan about decisions but to question the integrity of any referee appointed (and make no bones about this one this is exactly what is being done here) is just pathetic behaviour from fans of a team much less a former intercounty manager..

David gough will show up and ref to what he sees and how he interprets foulplay whether it's Dublin v kerry or leitrim v Wicklow..

Best of luck and congratulations to him as this is a big honour and it's being ruined by complete fools suggesting he has a bias..I sincerely hope he's the type of person to stray away from papers and social media as at this moment his big day is being shit on left right and centre by folks discussing his appointment"
I think you're absolutely right

A day of celebration for him, his family and his club being absolutely tarnished. The worst part being that it's being done in such a highly publicized and open manner.

Unfortunately I've no doubt that he's fully aware of this absolute character assassination.

Let's not dress this up. That is exactly what is going on here.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 14/08/2019 18:27:22    2225744

Fitzmaurice has a problem with gough from AISF v Dublin. They didn't get a free that was but I seem to remember a similar challenge by a Kerry man a bit earlier that was let go. Kerry were haded 2-2 before halftime and were 4 up late on so he may look closer to home. In any event I would think Kerry will be happy enough Dublin will get nothing handy in final.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 14/08/2019 18:30:22    2225746

Replying To centerfield:  "what music are the Dubs going to have when they come back on to the pitch for the second half in the final.
Spot of Bowie again is it. None for the opposition i assume as was the case in the semi"
Is that it? This is another advantage presumably. I didn't even notice it at the time to be honest.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 14/08/2019 18:41:56    2225753

Replying To TheUsername:  "https://www.joe.ie/sport/referee-david-gough-has-objects-thrown-at-him-as-he-leaves-croke-park-pitch-reports-558245"
Wow. What's this Paidi called their fans again?

Protest being organised for Fitzgerald Stadium apparently courtesy of the media frenzy created by Eamo and Aido. I really pity Gough here. Who would have thought that a Meath man would be accused by a Kerry man of favoring a group Dublin men. Amateur man just trying to do a voluntary job and his integrity is called into question without any basis for the charge.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 14/08/2019 18:47:03    2225756

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Wrong decision again, the GAA very consistent with those. Hurling ref. Owens is from the Kilkenny metro area and shops and socialises there surely and refused to use hawkeye in 2015 final, GAA don't care. Refs must be from neutral area, nothing against Gough he is a good ref. I agree with Eamon Fitz on this one. Obviously, Dublin are the better side, but that is not important."
What in the name of jaysus is the "Kilkenny metro area"?

Anyway, I wouldn't have the first clue where James Owens "shops and socialises" but I don't know if we'll ever reach the point where every GAA fan, player, manager and pundit gets it into their thick skulls that the ref does not have the power to arbitrarily invoke or ignore Hawkeye at their whim. If an umpire waves a point wide, or white flags a wide, Hawkeye will inform the ref.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 14/08/2019 19:01:59    2225764

Replying To centerfield:  "what music are the Dubs going to have when they come back on to the pitch for the second half in the final.
Spot of Bowie again is it. None for the opposition i assume as was the case in the semi"
Yeah it was the music that beat you.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 14/08/2019 19:07:22    2225766

The Coronation is almost complete, Croke Park have the jigsaw nearly finished. Hard to believe that after what happened in 2016 & his admission that he got it wrong that they appointed him for this game. He has been given lots of finals at all levels & if Kerry were not involved, there would have been no concerns, but 2016 made that impossible. Kerry are entitled to feel aggrieved & entitled to voice their opinion. Any error by Gough that leads to a Dublin win will just alienate people further. The GAA is now Dublin dominated & none of the rest have the balls to stand up & say so or to change things. The complete failure by other counties to prevent Dublin having two home games at Croke Park is a classic example of this. Sean Hurson should have been appointed this game.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 14/08/2019 19:13:47    2225771

Replying To Joxer:  "Wow. What's this Paidi called their fans again?

Protest being organised for Fitzgerald Stadium apparently courtesy of the media frenzy created by Eamo and Aido. I really pity Gough here. Who would have thought that a Meath man would be accused by a Kerry man of favoring a group Dublin men. Amateur man just trying to do a voluntary job and his integrity is called into question without any basis for the charge."
Ha ha love that Joxer, a Meath man accused by Kerry men of favoring Dublin, we really have got in everyone's head haven't we!

A terrible beauty! :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/08/2019 19:30:28    2225778

Replying To moc.dna:  "The Coronation is almost complete, Croke Park have the jigsaw nearly finished. Hard to believe that after what happened in 2016 & his admission that he got it wrong that they appointed him for this game. He has been given lots of finals at all levels & if Kerry were not involved, there would have been no concerns, but 2016 made that impossible. Kerry are entitled to feel aggrieved & entitled to voice their opinion. Any error by Gough that leads to a Dublin win will just alienate people further. The GAA is now Dublin dominated & none of the rest have the balls to stand up & say so or to change things. The complete failure by other counties to prevent Dublin having two home games at Croke Park is a classic example of this. Sean Hurson should have been appointed this game."
Entitled. Apt word to use for Kerry.

They are entitled to question some of his decisions in the past. No referee is a perfect referee and it is a testament to the stature if the man when he owns up to things he missed.

They are not entitled to question his integrity, his profession, his volunteerism and his impartiality.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 14/08/2019 19:44:57    2225781