David Gough To Referee The Final

The faux concern of certain Dublin posters for David Gough is hillarious.

I've never seen such a rush to defend any other referee.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 17/08/2019 18:28:28    2226804

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Good post, they should have got an Ulster or Connacht ref, bit of a no brainer."
Who would you have instead from ulster?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/08/2019 18:40:45    2226808

Replying To greysoil:  "Grown ups admit when they make a mistake. The fact that you describe that as foolish is a poor reflection on you."
Fair enough.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/08/2019 19:27:26    2226812

Replying To TheHermit:  "Exactly.
You see if during the winter someone posted up a topic - should official X be in charge of a game if Y county is participating, given official X has connections with county Y - most posters would be able to debate it, they would say well maybe that's not a great idea, it would put him under pressure, you could see why there might be a question around impartiality ect ect.
However you add Kerry to the mix and now its nothing but hysterical outrage on here about some dirty orchestrated campaign by the Kerry GAA to blacken a poor man's name!
It seems rationality goes out the door if something has the potential to impact on Kerry, the usual mud-slingers will be out in force as the last few pages of content demonstrates."
Your right, this has never been a topic before because it is something that should never happen full stop, nothing against the man himself but he is living working and socialising in Dublin, how can he disconnect himself enough to be impartial? I'm not perfect either and I know if it was me I'd most probably be pulling a little bit for my adopted county knowing how much winning 5 in a row would mean to them and to beat Kerry who mean diddly squat to him.

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 17/08/2019 19:28:12    2226814

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I think that had a lot to do with not a lot of people down here being aware of coldrick living in Dublin till the documentary came out that Christmas ."
Ok well that is fair enough I suppose.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/08/2019 19:29:05    2226815

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Gas how there was never an issue with the referees when we weren't winning or was it that the referee were just better back then. Yeah, that must it, silly me."
Already been shown Dublin had issues with refs in 2007

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/08/2019 19:49:26    2226821

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "The faux concern of certain Dublin posters for David Gough is hillarious.

I've never seen such a rush to defend any other referee."
His personnal life should be left out of it by the kerry media

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 17/08/2019 19:53:46    2226823

Think its extremely poor form questioning Gough.

Eamon Fitz probably wants the same ref as in 2014 when Aidan O Mahoneys disgraceful behaviour went 'unnoticed'

The legend Fitzmaurice barely spoke for 5 years.

Very disingenuous behaviour in an amateur game.

Everyone will be living in Dublin in 10 years.

I don't it matters one bit.

Poor form

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 17/08/2019 20:02:29    2226826

Replying To Donegalman:  "Swings and roundabouts.

I think that there isn't a single county out there that leaves a ground at least once a season, if not every other game, complaining about a big refereeing decision or a ref who was consistently biased against their team.

No team are exceptions to this rule.

David Gough is the best ref we have. He is fair, and doesn't try and balance the books with strange decisions.

The only game that he was scrutinised for recently was the Donegal mayo match in castlebar, when the weather conditions were absolutely impossible.

Good luck to him, best wishes to him, fair play to him for being a great servant to the GAA.

Eamon Fitzmaurice was the beneficiary of some favourable refereeing decisions over the 2010's no question about this."
That's an understatement.

Kerry v Mayo in limerick. It was a parody. Donaghy reffed that one.

The final was a farce and yes i am bitter. I actually watched the ref as he stared at Murphy getting pulled entire 70 mins. It was a cop out.

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 17/08/2019 20:07:40    2226827

Replying To catch22:  "Who would you have instead from ulster?"
Joe McQuillan (ha). I thought Cassidy or Hurson was getting the call up. I didn't think Lane would get linesman as he is a Munsterman but here we are.

Regarding Gough and 2016, I don't understand the uproar over the hit on Crowley and subsequent me a culpa by Gough. I accept that he claims he didn't see it, I thought the linesman was at fault here based on positioning. I'm more intrigued as to why he overruled his own family (umpire) giving a wide ball to give a 45 on the word of a player. Did he discuss this when he apologised over missing the Crowley incident?

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 17/08/2019 20:25:19    2226829

Lot of Kerry GAA people showing their true colors this past couple of weeks over this referee issue. Very poor form and reflects very badly on the county.

I think I'm not alone now in hoping Dublin hammer them out the gate.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 17/08/2019 20:27:59    2226830

Replying To oneoff:  "Already been shown Dublin had issues with refs in 2007"
Don't think we'd won one at that stage for a while so the opposition were quiet happy with whoever the ref was.
Why is it different now ?

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/08/2019 20:52:06    2226835

To all here posting about the terrible slight it is to David Gough's character to question his appointment to ref the all ireland, i've one reply.

If you don't want to be a hypocrite never criticise a referee again. Because when you say Maurice Deegan 'gave' the semi final to Kerry you're questioning his integrity. He has a large extended family and some may read the comments here. Is it ok to question certain referees integrity but not others?

So the next time you question another refs performance/integrity ask yourself did you jump on the 'I'm offended for David Gough bandwagon for your own personal reasons.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 17/08/2019 20:52:11    2226836

Replying To Crinigan:  "Lot of Kerry GAA people showing their true colors this past couple of weeks over this referee issue. Very poor form and reflects very badly on the county.

I think I'm not alone now in hoping Dublin hammer them out the gate."
Would you be as concerned if he wasn't a ref from your own county? Pure parochialism on display from Meath posters.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 17/08/2019 20:58:22    2226839

Replying To Crinigan:  "Lot of Kerry GAA people showing their true colors this past couple of weeks over this referee issue. Very poor form and reflects very badly on the county.

I think I'm not alone now in hoping Dublin hammer them out the gate."
Ever hear of Stockholm syndrome friend ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/08/2019 21:07:49    2226842

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Don't think we'd won one at that stage for a while so the opposition were quiet happy with whoever the ref was.
Why is it different now ?"
Dublin were the ones who had the issue. So what arre you talking about ?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/08/2019 21:19:19    2226846

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Would you be as concerned if he wasn't a ref from your own county? Pure parochialism on display from Meath posters."
The main issue here is optics, anyone saying David Gough is intentionally going out on September 1st to ensure Dublin win the All Ireland is a disgrace. The main problem is the optics and how some will latch onto his decisions as a bias. Indeed someone who lived and worked in another county for almost half his life may have an unconscious bias (it doesn't mean that he is intentionally biased for or against anyone). Sure 'I loves me county' John Mullane was born in Clare and I doubt Clare would be okay if he was officiating Clare v Waterford.

If a referee's integrity should not be questioned, then Meath posters would have no issue with Sean Hurson officiating their league match next year v Tyrone.

Sure it doesn't matter where the referee is from.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 17/08/2019 21:31:28    2226848

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "To all here posting about the terrible slight it is to David Gough's character to question his appointment to ref the all ireland, i've one reply.

If you don't want to be a hypocrite never criticise a referee again. Because when you say Maurice Deegan 'gave' the semi final to Kerry you're questioning his integrity. He has a large extended family and some may read the comments here. Is it ok to question certain referees integrity but not others?

So the next time you question another refs performance/integrity ask yourself did you jump on the 'I'm offended for David Gough bandwagon for your own personal reasons."
There's a big difference here.

Deegan has been slated after a shocking display in favour of Kerry in a semi-final v Tyrone for the 2nd time in 4 years. While everyone in Tyrone feared what he would do to us after 2015, we didn't cry in advance about it like Kerry have. In other words, the complaints about Deegan have largely come after the event.

The disgraceful crying about Gough has come before the event. Totally different, and total gamesmanship on behalf of Kerry. It's funny, they actually seem to be putting themselves under more pressure for the 5-in-a-row than the Dubs.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 17/08/2019 21:32:37    2226849

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ever hear of Stockholm syndrome friend ;D"
Is that where kerry object to a referee because he visited Sweden ?

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 17/08/2019 21:36:40    2226851

... and all the while

Dubs quietly getting on with things.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2019 22:03:59    2226861