David Gough To Referee The Final

Replying To westkerry:  "Dublin will win this game in all likelihood regardless of the Ref but I hope he watches his 2016 performance and learns from it."
I was surprised at EF coming out with that sort of stuff . Droning on as usual and cannot seem to accept who the GAA decide on appointing. It's a terrible reflection on the attitude of a fair few in the Kerry camp. Probably trying to put undue pressure on the man to give them anything that's going as is so often the case.Never happy some of these lads.How many more referees can they complain about. He seems like a good referee and sure it's not like he has any agenda.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 14/08/2019 13:37:31    2225559

Replying To Thelonesomegoose:  "How is it different? Lots of people from one county live in a neighbouring one. You may be sure a Mayo ref living in Galway wouldn't get to ref a Galway in a final."
Mayo ref would sink Galway. Mayo are the nations favourites and Galway are the villians with their negative tactics, lol.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 14/08/2019 13:39:50    2225561

Replying To TheHermit:  "I'm just going to say the below one last time and then leave it there because there's no point talking anymore now that the decision has been made. Kerry will just have to grin and bare it and move one.

However as a general principle:

How would Dublin react if the man in the middle was some fella from Cork or Limerick who lived in Tralee, was essentially a member of Strand Road having thought in the school connected and right next to that GAA club, had been previously photographed after an All-Ireland win with players of the team and the Cup and finally had been allegedly invited into Kerry training sessions that very summer to take charge of practice matches.

I mean if people can't see a conflict of interest there (unintentional as it might be on the part of the official) than you'd have to wonder! How can someone so heavily involved at club level in a competing county and working and living there be expected to be seen as impartial. For the next 3 weeks he will be in Dublin during the buildup and will face the consequences of his actions every day for months after in the capital. And you are telling me that, even at a subconscious level, that can't and won't have an impact?

In the run in to the 2015/16 Premiership title race a ref appointed to one of Leicester's games was stood down because he had, in a private capacity, attended one of their games as a spectator earlier on that season. That was the only link he had with the club and yet the Premier League felt the need to stand him down, he had absolutely no issues with it and neither had Leicester or any of the media. And yet in the GAA we have the above.
How far we have regressed in 90 years. In the early 1930s Cavan objected to playing Kerry because a Munster ref was appointed and the official was duly changed. That was a common enough back then and it was understood that ref's often needed to be changed depending on teams drawn to ensure impartiality.

Like I said, I'll say no more now on it as there's no point.
It's just another pothole placed in front of Kerry on the road to trying to stop an inevitable 5 in a Row."
Take it up with the Gaa! Not Dublins decision to appoint him and by the way I'd love a Cork man to referee the all Ireland between Dublin and Kerry knowing the rivalry between those two counties!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 14/08/2019 13:40:45    2225562

Replying To blacknamber:  "Could work in our favour in a perverse way - given the conflict of interest and noise its going to generate he's naturally going to be slow to give anything soft to the dubs.
In all likelihood if the dubs win at a canter as expected they'll be no talk about it after but if its tight the GAA really will have created a problem for the individual ref and the association."
On what basis?

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 14/08/2019 13:41:59    2225565

Replying To blacknamber:  "Could work in our favour in a perverse way - given the conflict of interest and noise its going to generate he's naturally going to be slow to give anything soft to the dubs.
In all likelihood if the dubs win at a canter as expected they'll be no talk about it after but if its tight the GAA really will have created a problem for the individual ref and the association."
On what basis?

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 14/08/2019 13:42:25    2225566

The over analysis of refs is hilarious. Supporters always look to the ref and point to one incident, then ignore all the soft frees their team got . Tiresome stuff. Let the man get on with it.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 14/08/2019 13:44:41    2225568

Replying To MesAmis:  "Exactly, we don't want anyone getting away with late hits like O'Mahony for away with that day....."
You mean the one on Philly? Yeah, that was a worse challenge than Kevin Mcs.
There is a good balanced discussion of his performance on Kerry GAA forum. Many posters there thought AOM was lucky to stay on. Several posters there also reckoned Gough missed out on 3 black cards offences by Kerry players.
I think Gough is entitled to the job .
If anything I'd be worried he'd over -compensate to make sure any perceptions of him being impartial were unfounded.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 14/08/2019 13:45:51    2225569

Replying To TheUsername:  "Find the whole thing a bit disturbing to be honest, i think its a poor reflection on people finding out where someone works, lives and then puts them under scrutiny in the national media, i mean this man has family and a right to privacy etc. How easy would it be for a disgruntled supporter to find out where he or his family lives given the public information thats been put out there and been whipped up by some in the media. beyond a game of football for me. Its just wrong. This is an ammeter guy after is all.

I will say this, though, Kerry have gathered a reputation for cynical stuff given their poor defense and their disciplinary record isnt one to be admired, i think if any county needs a strong ref and objective ref its Dublin.

Additionally the perceived pressure, many of the Kerry lads work, study and live in Dublin will they not be subject to the same pressure not to try their best in their chosen filed for fear of having to live in the county going forward, of course not.

The mans from Meath, not a county well know for their deep affection of the Dubs, i can imagine the reaction on here if a Kerry rival was adversary was given the job, it would be victim this victim that.

Anyway as per my first paragraph its a debate that doesn't deserve oxygen, i find the whole thing particularity sad and pitiful to be honest.

Some should be ashamed of themselves.

Best of luck on the big day Mr Gough, i genuinely hope you remain safe, both after the game from projectiles programmes given the protagonists and after."
The point your making actually backs up the argument from Kerry. I'm sure there a huge number of Dublin fans who already know where the man lives/works etc. and he's going to feel the pressure (at least) subconsciously not to make decisions which make like tough for him after. Say he makes one really bad decision in error against the Dubs and Kerry win then he could have more than flying programmes to worry about after. The GAA should not be putting him in this position - it's a hard enough game to ref without having that extra pressure.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 14/08/2019 13:47:45    2225572

Replying To TheUsername:  "Find the whole thing a bit disturbing to be honest, i think its a poor reflection on people finding out where someone works, lives and then puts them under scrutiny in the national media, i mean this man has family and a right to privacy etc. How easy would it be for a disgruntled supporter to find out where he or his family lives given the public information thats been put out there and been whipped up by some in the media. beyond a game of football for me. Its just wrong. This is an ammeter guy after is all.

I will say this, though, Kerry have gathered a reputation for cynical stuff given their poor defense and their disciplinary record isnt one to be admired, i think if any county needs a strong ref and objective ref its Dublin.

Additionally the perceived pressure, many of the Kerry lads work, study and live in Dublin will they not be subject to the same pressure not to try their best in their chosen filed for fear of having to live in the county going forward, of course not.

The mans from Meath, not a county well know for their deep affection of the Dubs, i can imagine the reaction on here if a Kerry rival was adversary was given the job, it would be victim this victim that.

Anyway as per my first paragraph its a debate that doesn't deserve oxygen, i find the whole thing particularity sad and pitiful to be honest.

Some should be ashamed of themselves.

Best of luck on the big day Mr Gough, i genuinely hope you remain safe, both after the game from projectiles programmes given the protagonists and after."
I actually gave this a thumbs down by mistake, heartily agree with your post username!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 14/08/2019 13:49:07    2225574

No clash of interest as far as I can see. In 2016 he made one mistake in the game. I would forgive him for that.

But in fairness, look at refs across the board. They all make bad decision in every game. Would Kerry be happy with maurice deegan?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 14/08/2019 13:50:38    2225575

No clash of interest as far as I can see. In 2016 he made one mistake in the game. I would forgive him for that.

But in fairness, look at refs across the board. They all make bad decision in every game. Would Kerry be happy with maurice deegan?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 14/08/2019 13:50:41    2225576

Replying To Thelonesomegoose:  "It's a poor decision, if it was a Cork man living in Kerry appointed there wouldn't be a hope of him getting the game. Kerry should lodge an objection."
How can you say it is a poor decision. Quite a lot of people work in Dublin from the country and does that say the should not play for their respective counties? He is the best Ref inside the county and I see no one who I could put ahead of him in the country. Interestingly I do not think that he has ever Ref'ed a senior county final. The best of luck to him and let the best team win. I do hope that the black card is rescinded for the Kerry player as at least one of those blacks was never a black by the rule.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/08/2019 13:50:45    2225577

Replying To TheHermit:  "I'm just going to say the below one last time and then leave it there because there's no point talking anymore now that the decision has been made. Kerry will just have to grin and bare it and move one.

However as a general principle:

How would Dublin react if the man in the middle was some fella from Cork or Limerick who lived in Tralee, was essentially a member of Strand Road having thought in the school connected and right next to that GAA club, had been previously photographed after an All-Ireland win with players of the team and the Cup and finally had been allegedly invited into Kerry training sessions that very summer to take charge of practice matches.

I mean if people can't see a conflict of interest there (unintentional as it might be on the part of the official) than you'd have to wonder! How can someone so heavily involved at club level in a competing county and working and living there be expected to be seen as impartial. For the next 3 weeks he will be in Dublin during the buildup and will face the consequences of his actions every day for months after in the capital. And you are telling me that, even at a subconscious level, that can't and won't have an impact?

In the run in to the 2015/16 Premiership title race a ref appointed to one of Leicester's games was stood down because he had, in a private capacity, attended one of their games as a spectator earlier on that season. That was the only link he had with the club and yet the Premier League felt the need to stand him down, he had absolutely no issues with it and neither had Leicester or any of the media. And yet in the GAA we have the above.
How far we have regressed in 90 years. In the early 1930s Cavan objected to playing Kerry because a Munster ref was appointed and the official was duly changed. That was a common enough back then and it was understood that ref's often needed to be changed depending on teams drawn to ensure impartiality.

Like I said, I'll say no more now on it as there's no point.
It's just another pothole placed in front of Kerry on the road to trying to stop an inevitable 5 in a Row."
1.Essentially a member? He's not a member. He's a member of his club in Slane. He's heavily involved in that club in Slane, on the club committee if I am not mistaken. So your comparison is way off.

2. I am telling you that on a subconscious level it wouldn't impact. I can tell you that as a Monaghan man who has worked in teaching in Dublin. I have been involved with Cuman na mBunscol teams in Dublin, and that had indirect links to a local club in Dublin as the children I taught came mostly from that club. I can safely say that it would have left me with no inclination to be pro Dublin or anything else. In fact as a Monaghan man I would enjoy the banter with the children I taught if the mighty Dubs were beaten. Especially by Monaghan.

3. We don't live in the 1930's anymore.

4. Premier league does not have the same ethos of community that the GAA has. Volunteerism from David Gough with the children he taught should be commended. I have seen first hand the work he does as Chair of Cuman na mBunscol. This Volunteerism should not be compared to a premier league referee attending a game as a supporter.

5. If you want to make a soccer comparison, Dublin referees regularly referee Dublin clubs against not Dublin clubs in League if Ireland. THEY ARE JUDGED ON THEIR PERFORMANCES NOT ON WHERE THEY LIVE.

6. David Gough has proved himself as a very good referee. His time has come and I wish his all the best.

I really feel that kerry supporters and former managers/players commenting on this have really let themselves down. Blackening a referees reputation and impartiality is lousy by bringing their profession into play.

Seriously lads. Get a life. I wouldnt have said this last week, but i will now after all this. UP THE DUBS!

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 14/08/2019 13:56:16    2225583

Replying To Donegalman:  "No clash of interest as far as I can see. In 2016 he made one mistake in the game. I would forgive him for that.

But in fairness, look at refs across the board. They all make bad decision in every game. Would Kerry be happy with maurice deegan?"
A good few more than 1 mistake.
Most notably a phantom 45 that his umpires didn't give yet he gave on the protestations of one Kev Mac. That rankles a lot.
Decision made will have no outcome this time around as it's men v boys literally.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 14/08/2019 14:03:33    2225588

David Gough:

Lives in Dublin,

Works in Dublin,

Games Promotion Officer for a Dublin University,

Coached underaged club teams in Dublin,

Participates and votes (as Cumann May mBunscol Chair since 2016) on Dublin County Board,

Impartial?

fast_forward (Louth) - Posts: 45 - 14/08/2019 14:05:00    2225590

Replying To fast_forward:  "David Gough:

Lives in Dublin,

Works in Dublin,

Participates and votes (as Cumann May mBunscol Chair since 2016) on Dublin County Board,

Impartial?"
Cuman na mBunscol is not part of Diblin county board.

St Pats DCU is a teacher training college that caters for student teachers from all over the country. Thats the same as saying as the coach of the Garda College team in Templemore is pro Offaly.

Dublin is the nation's capital. Country people work and live there. Doesnt make them Dubs.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 14/08/2019 14:13:09    2225595

Replying To browncows:  "How can you say it is a poor decision. Quite a lot of people work in Dublin from the country and does that say the should not play for their respective counties? He is the best Ref inside the county and I see no one who I could put ahead of him in the country. Interestingly I do not think that he has ever Ref'ed a senior county final. The best of luck to him and let the best team win. I do hope that the black card is rescinded for the Kerry player as at least one of those blacks was never a black by the rule."
You ask me why it is a poor decision and you mention he hasn't ever reffed a county final?!

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 14/08/2019 14:27:54    2225607

Replying To fast_forward:  "David Gough:

Lives in Dublin,

Works in Dublin,

Impartial?"
Listen to the off the ball gaa podcast

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/08/2019 14:29:58    2225610

Replying To supermon:  "Cuman na mBunscol is not part of Diblin county board.

St Pats DCU is a teacher training college that caters for student teachers from all over the country. Thats the same as saying as the coach of the Garda College team in Templemore is pro Offaly.

Dublin is the nation's capital. Country people work and live there. Doesnt make them Dubs."
Would agree with this 100%. Gough is not a pro anything.

A worrying trend of refs is their mandate to make a game good viewing rather than enforce the rules impartially. Recent games have shown this. It's not pro or anti counties, it is pro viewing ratings

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 14/08/2019 14:34:29    2225613

Replying To supermon:  "Cuman na mBunscol is not part of Diblin county board.

Dublin is the nation's capital. Country people work and live there. Doesnt make them Dubs."
Well said and totally right (apart from Templemore is in Tipp)

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/08/2019 14:35:49    2225615