Likely Football Allstars 2019...

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "First all ireland to attend and it was all i hoped it would be the occassion is fantastic.

for the poster above will ya stop with the sour grapes kerry got all the decisions in the first half and you tell me a kerry player wouldnt do the same thing to stop that goal as the dubs did."
I agree and a good team does what a good team does to win -but it was a black card. How does the game cope with the 'two in a row'! I mean taking 10 steps and scoring a goal-do not think one would get away with that in a club match. I do not blame Dublin and in most cases very difficult to see without a camera. Interesting Refs often punish for extra steps when a player is surrounded by 3/4 opponents.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 17/09/2019 12:05:26    2236558

Replying To winatallcost:  "Well is it not logical that this is the case since Meath people see Keoghan play more than others. Meath have not been televised as much as other counties but any real football people in the country understand Keoghan is one of the top defenders in the country regardless of an all star award. Remember Kilkenny was taken off early in 2nd half against Meath. Keoghan stood out even on very much an off day for the team."
See the meath folks on here aren't getting much support for keogan. I'd happily have him in the all star team and if you were picking a team to represent ireland in gaelic football I'm pretty sure he'd be in it. Kerry would have loved to have him on Saturday last and I'd love to have him in the donegal team. The reason he probably won't get one is just the way they are chosen.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 17/09/2019 13:34:27    2236597

Replying To Wally:  "Listen. No Meath player is going to get an all star.

You are a poor team who are horrible to watch. You got destroyed in your provincial final and got no points in the super 8's.

Please give over with this ridiculous argument."
The aptly named wally from Tyrone, fair enough keogan won't get one, but do ya realise the irony of saying meath are horrible to watch or saying anyone is for that matter...... yee brought horrible into the game with your introduction of puke football, youve never shaken it off and as are poisonous to watch now as you have been since yee moved up from also rans around 2003.....a blight on our game as a whole is how id best describe tyrone.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 17/09/2019 18:01:44    2236740

Replying To Kepak10:  "And Balls.ie (podcast)......just saying."
And sky sports.......https://www.skysports.com/gaa/gaelic-football/news/30553/11791137/team-of-the-all-ireland-championship-standout-performers-in-2019

Kepak10 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 17/09/2019 19:38:27    2236789

Replying To Kepak10:  "And sky sports.......https://www.skysports.com/gaa/gaelic-football/news/30553/11791137/team-of-the-all-ireland-championship-standout-performers-in-2019"
Jesus ye Meath boys are desperate, claiming Sam is coming home, and hoping for an Allstar..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 17/09/2019 21:17:30    2236847

Replying To southmeathgael:  "The aptly named wally from Tyrone, fair enough keogan won't get one, but do ya realise the irony of saying meath are horrible to watch or saying anyone is for that matter...... yee brought horrible into the game with your introduction of puke football, youve never shaken it off and as are poisonous to watch now as you have been since yee moved up from also rans around 2003.....a blight on our game as a whole is how id best describe tyrone."
Mmm well that's just not true is it.

We have been involved in some of the best games ever played over the past two decades and we have produced some of the most skillful and exciting players also.

I have been as critical as anyone regarding our current approach but hopefully that can be rectified by a change of management in the next couple or years.

Meath on the other hand seem to still think it is 1996. You have achieved diddly squat over the past god knows how long yet you guys still come here bleating about winning all stars and challenging the dubs yet you play a horrible and predictable brand of football that nobody wants to watch.

Meath are no longer relevant, nobody cares about you, nobody wants to talk about you, you will be back in division 3 in no time.

Please do us all a favour and give over.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 17/09/2019 22:28:07    2236891

Replying To Belclare:  "Jesus ye Meath boys are desperate, claiming Sam is coming home, and hoping for an Allstar.."
I thought you Galway people would have enough to worry about given the state Kevin Walsh has left ye in. Even Rochford has no interest in joining Galway. Managerless in both codes at the moment. Maybe you need to start giving advice to your own county board before petty criticism on forums.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 506 - 17/09/2019 23:10:49    2236908

Its doubtful Keoghan will get All star. All stars are usually confined to semi final and final teams. But I have seen four teams of the year so far and everyone has had keoghan involved in them. Joe.ie Team of the year and Balls.ie team of the year pikced at keoghan at corner back and centre back respectively in their teams of the year. The Sunday Times which was picked by Denis Walsh and Mick Foley had keoghan in the team of the year at corner back and Kieran Donaghy picked his team of the year/ allstars on off the ball and keoghan was also corner back. So I think that 4 different media outlets eg ballsie, joe.ie, the sunday times and Off the ball who had keoghan has an All star. It seems they are putting keoghan at corner back based on the new format where a player is not picked in his postion eg I think Mattie Donnelly was picked in another position.

Again its doubtful because he didnt play in final or semi finals and All stars are very much focusssed on them. Just as I said though I have seen allot of teams in the media and keoghan is getting picked. He might have outside chance because he is a back and there is serious lack of great defenders in the game. Blanket defences and sweepers have made defenders lazy. The art of defending is dying. Most defenders are interested in attacking not defending. Thats one of reasons Dublin have being so sucessful this decade eg they have great natural defenders eg Sullivan, McMahon, Mcarthy, O Carroll, Fitzimons, Brennan and Small. Thats why Mayo were able to go toe to toe with Dublin, Mayo had great defenders also eg Keegan, Boyle, Vaughan, Higgins, Barrett. But there is clear lack of quality defenders compared to 20 o515 years ago. Every team had a man marker. There is feck all man markers in the game now. Their is a serious lack of quality full backs.

Look at 20 years in the 90s Aand into 00 u had Robbie O Malley, Martin O Connell, Darren Fay, Mark Reilly, Glen Ryan , Anthony Rainbow, Davy Dalton, Kieth Barr, Paul Curran, Eamon Herry, Paddy Christie, Anthony Lynch, Graham Canty, Seamus Moyihan, Tomas O se , Marc O Se , Aidan O Mahony, Mike Mcarthy, Tom Sullivan, James Nallen, Kenneth Mortimer, Pat Holmes, Sean Og de Paor, Tomas Mannion, Kieran Fitgzerald, Tony Scullion, Sean Marty lockard, DJ Kane, Henry Downey, Ryan McMemanian, Conor McAllanan , Philip Jordan, Conor Gormley , Kieran McGeeney and many more. The blanket defence has ruined the skill of defending.

look at kerry a county with great defenders eg Sean Murphy in the 50s, John O Keefe in 70s, Paudi in 80s, Moyhian in 90s and two O Se in 00s. Kerry lack great defenders now . Where are great Ulster defenders like Kieran McGeeney or Tony Scullion or Philip Jordan.

Meath have a great tradtion of defending , but have been shakey at the back all this decade. Meath have not produced many great defenders since 1990s. Keoghan has been shininig light. In my view he is as good a defender as Darren Fay, Robbie O Malley, Martin O Connell or Mick Lyons , Meaths 4 greatest defenders of the last 50 years. Keoghan is like those Italian soccer defenders eg Maldini or Barsei. Koeghan is natural top class defender.

Thats why he might get one. If he was a forward he woudlnt have a hope of getting one. But because he is a defender and great one at that, and there is serious lack of great defenders in the country outside Dublin and Mayo in this decade. Like take Sean Marty Lockart, a brillant Derry defender from 90s. A natural top class defender who knew how to keep his man scoreless. Defenders like him are rare now. Take Darren Fay , Darren Fay went 6 years in the championship where no forward scored more then two points of him from play. The first one was Joyce in 01 final. Joyce scored two points of Fay from play. This was first time this had happenned to Fay since his debut in1996. He believed he was having dreadfulgame coz Joyce scored two points play, so he took himself of Joyce ,unknown to management, and Mark Reily took Joyce for rest of game and Joyce ran riot. Imagine a defender thinking he had a terrible game just becuase the best forward in Ireland (which Padraig Joyce was in 2001), coz his opposing player scored two points from play. U just dont get defenders like Seamus Moyihan, Marc O se or Glen Ryan or Anthony Lynch anymore.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 18/09/2019 06:55:34    2236947

Replying To Wally:  "Mmm well that's just not true is it.

We have been involved in some of the best games ever played over the past two decades and we have produced some of the most skillful and exciting players also.

I have been as critical as anyone regarding our current approach but hopefully that can be rectified by a change of management in the next couple or years.

Meath on the other hand seem to still think it is 1996. You have achieved diddly squat over the past god knows how long yet you guys still come here bleating about winning all stars and challenging the dubs yet you play a horrible and predictable brand of football that nobody wants to watch.

Meath are no longer relevant, nobody cares about you, nobody wants to talk about you, you will be back in division 3 in no time.

Please do us all a favour and give over."
I agree, we arent the super powet we once were, possibly the new cavan.....but You seem to talk about us quiet a bit, and its clear its Tyrone that can't get over 1996 not us, when yee were physically embarrassed by a bunch of kids basically...... in the greater picture of the gaa tho, we wouldnt be harking back to only one year, we have a history that goes back well beyond the modern era , Tyrone are nothing other then fleeting...... pre 2003 nothing.....post 2008 ..... nothing......I suppose a successful 6 seasons out of 100 isn't too bad......and the thing that would get at me if I was a genuine Tyrone fan like yourself wally.......a team that came from nowhere to win 3 sams in 6 seasons should be looked at fondly by all, ........but no, ....everyone knows the legacy Tyrone have left on the gaa......a blot in the copybook,........but you did introduce 3 things in fairness, buzz words like blankets,..... puke......and cynicism. And most of us know meath wont win an all ireland for a while, but you are a fool if you think tyrone will, we are in a place we have never been before, nearly 30 years without an all ireland, but Tyrone are back where they belong, with the also rans.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 18/09/2019 07:26:49    2236950

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Its doubtful Keoghan will get All star. All stars are usually confined to semi final and final teams. But I have seen four teams of the year so far and everyone has had keoghan involved in them. Joe.ie Team of the year and Balls.ie team of the year pikced at keoghan at corner back and centre back respectively in their teams of the year. The Sunday Times which was picked by Denis Walsh and Mick Foley had keoghan in the team of the year at corner back and Kieran Donaghy picked his team of the year/ allstars on off the ball and keoghan was also corner back. So I think that 4 different media outlets eg ballsie, joe.ie, the sunday times and Off the ball who had keoghan has an All star. It seems they are putting keoghan at corner back based on the new format where a player is not picked in his postion eg I think Mattie Donnelly was picked in another position.

Again its doubtful because he didnt play in final or semi finals and All stars are very much focusssed on them. Just as I said though I have seen allot of teams in the media and keoghan is getting picked. He might have outside chance because he is a back and there is serious lack of great defenders in the game. Blanket defences and sweepers have made defenders lazy. The art of defending is dying. Most defenders are interested in attacking not defending. Thats one of reasons Dublin have being so sucessful this decade eg they have great natural defenders eg Sullivan, McMahon, Mcarthy, O Carroll, Fitzimons, Brennan and Small. Thats why Mayo were able to go toe to toe with Dublin, Mayo had great defenders also eg Keegan, Boyle, Vaughan, Higgins, Barrett. But there is clear lack of quality defenders compared to 20 o515 years ago. Every team had a man marker. There is feck all man markers in the game now. Their is a serious lack of quality full backs.

Look at 20 years in the 90s Aand into 00 u had Robbie O Malley, Martin O Connell, Darren Fay, Mark Reilly, Glen Ryan , Anthony Rainbow, Davy Dalton, Kieth Barr, Paul Curran, Eamon Herry, Paddy Christie, Anthony Lynch, Graham Canty, Seamus Moyihan, Tomas O se , Marc O Se , Aidan O Mahony, Mike Mcarthy, Tom Sullivan, James Nallen, Kenneth Mortimer, Pat Holmes, Sean Og de Paor, Tomas Mannion, Kieran Fitgzerald, Tony Scullion, Sean Marty lockard, DJ Kane, Henry Downey, Ryan McMemanian, Conor McAllanan , Philip Jordan, Conor Gormley , Kieran McGeeney and many more. The blanket defence has ruined the skill of defending.

look at kerry a county with great defenders eg Sean Murphy in the 50s, John O Keefe in 70s, Paudi in 80s, Moyhian in 90s and two O Se in 00s. Kerry lack great defenders now . Where are great Ulster defenders like Kieran McGeeney or Tony Scullion or Philip Jordan.

Meath have a great tradtion of defending , but have been shakey at the back all this decade. Meath have not produced many great defenders since 1990s. Keoghan has been shininig light. In my view he is as good a defender as Darren Fay, Robbie O Malley, Martin O Connell or Mick Lyons , Meaths 4 greatest defenders of the last 50 years. Keoghan is like those Italian soccer defenders eg Maldini or Barsei. Koeghan is natural top class defender.

Thats why he might get one. If he was a forward he woudlnt have a hope of getting one. But because he is a defender and great one at that, and there is serious lack of great defenders in the country outside Dublin and Mayo in this decade. Like take Sean Marty Lockart, a brillant Derry defender from 90s. A natural top class defender who knew how to keep his man scoreless. Defenders like him are rare now. Take Darren Fay , Darren Fay went 6 years in the championship where no forward scored more then two points of him from play. The first one was Joyce in 01 final. Joyce scored two points of Fay from play. This was first time this had happenned to Fay since his debut in1996. He believed he was having dreadfulgame coz Joyce scored two points play, so he took himself of Joyce ,unknown to management, and Mark Reily took Joyce for rest of game and Joyce ran riot. Imagine a defender thinking he had a terrible game just becuase the best forward in Ireland (which Padraig Joyce was in 2001), coz his opposing player scored two points from play. U just dont get defenders like Seamus Moyihan, Marc O se or Glen Ryan or Anthony Lynch anymore."
too much time and effort wasted talking about Keoghan there, he isn't THAT good

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 18/09/2019 10:38:41    2236992

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Its doubtful Keoghan will get All star. All stars are usually confined to semi final and final teams. But I have seen four teams of the year so far and everyone has had keoghan involved in them. Joe.ie Team of the year and Balls.ie team of the year pikced at keoghan at corner back and centre back respectively in their teams of the year. The Sunday Times which was picked by Denis Walsh and Mick Foley had keoghan in the team of the year at corner back and Kieran Donaghy picked his team of the year/ allstars on off the ball and keoghan was also corner back. So I think that 4 different media outlets eg ballsie, joe.ie, the sunday times and Off the ball who had keoghan has an All star. It seems they are putting keoghan at corner back based on the new format where a player is not picked in his postion eg I think Mattie Donnelly was picked in another position.

Thats why he might get one. If he was a forward he woudlnt have a hope of getting one. But because he is a defender and great one at that, and there is serious lack of great defenders in the country outside Dublin and Mayo in this decade. Like take Sean Marty Lockart, a brillant Derry defender from 90s. A natural top class defender who knew how to keep his man scoreless. Defenders like him are rare now. Take Darren Fay , Darren Fay went 6 years in the championship where no forward scored more then two points of him from play. The first one was Joyce in 01 final. Joyce scored two points of Fay from play. This was first time this had happenned to Fay since his debut in1996. He believed he was having dreadfulgame coz Joyce scored two points play, so he took himself of Joyce ,unknown to management, and Mark Reily took Joyce for rest of game and Joyce ran riot. Imagine a defender thinking he had a terrible game just becuase the best forward in Ireland (which Padraig Joyce was in 2001), coz his opposing player scored two points from play. U just dont get defenders like Seamus Moyihan, Marc O se or Glen Ryan or Anthony Lynch anymore."
You certainly don't, nor forwards like Canavan, Gooch or Maurice Fitz. Let's hope Clifford fulfills his enormous potential because he could be as good as those guys.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 18/09/2019 11:28:15    2237022

Replying To winatallcost:  "I thought you Galway people would have enough to worry about given the state Kevin Walsh has left ye in. Even Rochford has no interest in joining Galway. Managerless in both codes at the moment. Maybe you need to start giving advice to your own county board before petty criticism on forums."
Galway are hardly in a state for christ sake. Reached an All Ireland semi last year. Comfortable in D1 of the league. Have beaten Mayo numerous times in a row, Two Connaght titles in last 4 years. Knocked out this year by losing to two D1 sides. If Galway are in a state what the hell are Meath in???? oh yeah you beat Laois and Clare........

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1143 - 18/09/2019 11:42:25    2237029

1.Stephen Cluxton
2.Michael Fitzsimons
3.Ronan McNamee
4.Tom O Sullivan
5.Brian Howard
6.Paddy Durcan
7.Jack McCaffrey
8.Brian Fenton
9.David Moran
10.Michael Murphy
11.Con O Callaghan
12.Stephen O Brien
13.David Clifford
14.Paul McShane
15.Paul Mannion

I put Clifford in but that could also have been Sean O Shea...One will probably get an All Star the other YPOY...Howard has to be on the team
Cluxton to get Player of the Year...

Joebrown (Clare) - Posts: 5 - 18/09/2019 11:59:26    2237042

Cluxton

Fitzsimons
McNamee
O'Sullivan

McCaffrey
Keoghan
Durkan

Fenton
Moran

O'Brien
O'Shea
O'Callaghan

Clifford
McShane
Mannion

6 Dublin
5 Kerry
2 Tyrone
1 Mayo
1 Meath

Up front I think Murphy, O'Brien and Howard were battling for 1 position.......I'm just about given it to O'Brien.

In defence it came down to Keoghan, McHugh and Boyle....I've seen McHugh and Boyle have poor games this year but Keoghan has been peerless in every game he's played.

Plus I'm biased :).

Kepak10 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 18/09/2019 12:57:54    2237080

Replying To Joebrown:  "1.Stephen Cluxton
2.Michael Fitzsimons
3.Ronan McNamee
4.Tom O Sullivan
5.Brian Howard
6.Paddy Durcan
7.Jack McCaffrey
8.Brian Fenton
9.David Moran
10.Michael Murphy
11.Con O Callaghan
12.Stephen O Brien
13.David Clifford
14.Paul McShane
15.Paul Mannion

I put Clifford in but that could also have been Sean O Shea...One will probably get an All Star the other YPOY...Howard has to be on the team
Cluxton to get Player of the Year..."
Cathal McShane over Paul McShane anyday

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 18/09/2019 13:13:30    2237095

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I agree, we arent the super powet we once were, possibly the new cavan.....but You seem to talk about us quiet a bit, and its clear its Tyrone that can't get over 1996 not us, when yee were physically embarrassed by a bunch of kids basically...... in the greater picture of the gaa tho, we wouldnt be harking back to only one year, we have a history that goes back well beyond the modern era , Tyrone are nothing other then fleeting...... pre 2003 nothing.....post 2008 ..... nothing......I suppose a successful 6 seasons out of 100 isn't too bad......and the thing that would get at me if I was a genuine Tyrone fan like yourself wally.......a team that came from nowhere to win 3 sams in 6 seasons should be looked at fondly by all, ........but no, ....everyone knows the legacy Tyrone have left on the gaa......a blot in the copybook,........but you did introduce 3 things in fairness, buzz words like blankets,..... puke......and cynicism. And most of us know meath wont win an all ireland for a while, but you are a fool if you think tyrone will, we are in a place we have never been before, nearly 30 years without an all ireland, but Tyrone are back where they belong, with the also rans."
Also rans?

Well I suppose to a certain extent we are also rans in the sense that we have not won an all ireland over the past few years. But we have played in 3 semi finals in a row and featured in 1 all Ireland final. We have also won our provincial championship on a number of occasions and we play division 1 football constantly.

I bet you would do some dark and dirty things to have that sort of success.

It seems to be really killing you that you cant actually debate the fact that you are nowhere near the level of Tyrone.

But lets dispel this myth that Meath somehow hold some sort of higher level position like Kerry or Dublin. You do not.

You had a few years of success which was generations ago. You wont last in division 1. You wont win your provincial title for the next 10-15 years and it is totally laughable to even discuss Meath featuring in All Ireland finals.

Please leave us successful counties alone.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 18/09/2019 13:13:45    2237096

What I always find funny is that people says Dublin's defense is the weak link, yet we seem to get more All-Stars there

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 18/09/2019 13:38:58    2237111

Replying To Wally:  "Also rans?

Well I suppose to a certain extent we are also rans in the sense that we have not won an all ireland over the past few years. But we have played in 3 semi finals in a row and featured in 1 all Ireland final. We have also won our provincial championship on a number of occasions and we play division 1 football constantly.

It seems to be really killing you that you cant actually debate the fact that you are nowhere near the level of Tyrone.

But lets dispel this myth that Meath somehow hold some sort of higher level position like Kerry or Dublin. You do not.

You had a few years of success which was generations ago. You wont last in division 1. You wont win your provincial title for the next 10-15 years and it is totally laughable to even discuss Meath featuring in All Ireland finals.

Please leave us successful counties alone."
I never said meath are going to win anything, I never even said meath are any good at the minute, nor did i compare meath to any division 1 team currently, including tyrone, I never even said we'd survive in division 1, and I stated quiet clearly all our success is in the past..... your rambling arguments to points I never even made......and yes the fact of the matter is meath wont win a leinster for 15 years but that's cause Dublin are in Leinster , same way id be very surprised if tyrone won those recent Ulsters if they had to play dublin in croker in your province along the way....to say we had a few years success generations ago is slightly disingenuous too, we have won all irelands in 5 of the last 7 decades, tyrone remind me a bit of kildare in the way that they are a self proclaimed football super power....... only difference is kildare have 4 all irelands whereas you only have 3...... the same as offaly louth and mayo, Hah Jesus thats actually both hilarious and pathetic when ya think about it. Keep calling yourself successful if it makes ya feel better tho.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 18/09/2019 20:30:29    2237325

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I never said meath are going to win anything, I never even said meath are any good at the minute, nor did i compare meath to any division 1 team currently, including tyrone, I never even said we'd survive in division 1, and I stated quiet clearly all our success is in the past..... your rambling arguments to points I never even made......and yes the fact of the matter is meath wont win a leinster for 15 years but that's cause Dublin are in Leinster , same way id be very surprised if tyrone won those recent Ulsters if they had to play dublin in croker in your province along the way....to say we had a few years success generations ago is slightly disingenuous too, we have won all irelands in 5 of the last 7 decades, tyrone remind me a bit of kildare in the way that they are a self proclaimed football super power....... only difference is kildare have 4 all irelands whereas you only have 3...... the same as offaly louth and mayo, Hah Jesus thats actually both hilarious and pathetic when ya think about it. Keep calling yourself successful if it makes ya feel better tho."
Yawn...

I won.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 18/09/2019 22:33:07    2237372

Replying To Wally:  "Also rans?

Please leave us successful counties alone."
Some of ur comments are factually incorrect. U said Meath had a few years of sucess. I wouldnt call 80 years a few years of sucess, which Meath had. I would say 4 or 5 years would be a few years of sucess something like 2003 to 2008 like Tyrone had in 00s thats a few years of sucess. When Tyrone came very late to the top of the football table , which meant Jack O Connor labelled Tyrone the noveau riche of gaelic football .

Meath had more then a few years of sucess. From.1930 to 2010 the most consistent counties in each of those 8 decades , winners and contenders in every decade from 1930 to 2010 were kerry Dublin Cork Galway and yes Meath. Meath won national titles and provicial titles in 1930s , in 1940s , in 1950s , in 1960s , in 1970s , in 1980s , in 1990s and won provicial title and reached 2 national finals in 00s eg 01 All Ireland and league div 1 final 00. Meath won All Irelands in the 1940s , 1950s , 1960s , 1980s and 1990s. Tyrone won All Irelands in 00s.

Meath played in their first All Ireland senior final in 1895, Tyrone played in their first All Ireland senior final 91 years later in 1986.
Meath played kerry in All Ireland senior final in 1939 , 50 years before Tyrone played kerry in.their first All Ireland senior final in 1986.
Meath defeated kerry in an All Ireland senior final in 1954 , 51 years before Tyrone did.
And Meath stopped a great kerry team.from winning a three in a row in All Ireland senioe final 54 years before Tyrone did in 2008.
Meath won their first national league div 1 title in 1933. Tyrone won their first national league div 1 70 years later in 2003.
Tyrone have won 2 national league division 1 titles in 2002 and 2003..Meath have won 7 national league titles in 6 different decades.
Meath won their first All Ireland senior title in 1949. Tyrone won their first All Ireland senior title , in 2003 , 54 years after Meath won their first .

Yes Meath are not at Dublin or kerrys level. That is true. Very true. But we are the next best long with Cork and Galway. We are 4th most sucessful county out of 34 ( New York and London ). Seen Cork have underachieved in many people eyes only Kerry Dublin and Galway have been more sucessful then Meath. Since foundation of Irish state in 1920s only Kerry and Dublin were more sucessful then Meath. And in terms of sucess and titles we did go toe toe with Dublin for 80 years.

In 1940s Meath won 1 All Ireland Dublin won 1 All Ireland
In 1950s Meath won 1 All Ireland Dublin won 1 All Ireland
In 1960s Meath won 1 All Ireland Dublin won 1 All Ireland
In 1970s Meath won 0 All Irelands Dublin won 3 All Irelands
In 1980s Meath won 2 All Irelands Dublin won 1 All Ireland
In 1990s Meath won 2 All Irelands Dublin won 1 All Ireland
In 00s Meath and Dublin won 0 All Irelands

As I said in terms of All Ireland senior title we went toe to toe with Dublin for 80 years and in provience of leinster we had unprecedented sucess no other county has had v Dublin with periods of dominance over Dublin in 1930s , 1940s , 1950s , 1960s , 1980s and 1990s.

U keep ignoring the elephant in the room Southmeathgael brought it up. But ur diatribes and bile towards Meath all goes back to 1 game in 1996. When Meath with better players , better manager, the more sucessful team ( that Meath played in 3 All finals winning two , that Tyrone team played in 1 All-Ireland final winning 0 ) defeated raging hot favourites, Tyrone by 9 points. 7 under 21 like a 20 year old Darren Fay defeated Tyrone thar and that Meath team would win the All Ireland becoming with kerry team of 1975 the two youngest team ever to win Sam with a bunch of under 21 players.

Tyrone have held a 23 year long grudge since because of this 1 single match. When our Tyrone going to let go of 96 and move on. U get the feeling they will still be moaning about it in 23 years time and forevermore. Every Tyrone supporter brings it up when I meet them and their bile towards Meath is a sight to behold. Over 1 game. Its time to move on.

Regards Meath wouldnt be sucessful in the next 20 or 30 years , how do u know. Can u predict everything that's going to happen in the future. Of course u want and u need and its very important for u that Meath is not sucessful. Theres a difference in wanting and needing something and in actually knowing what happens. Dont underestimate Meath. We have been in this position dealing with invincible Dublin at least 7 times in history and each time we have toppled an invincible Dublin.

This has happened many times in Meath football. We go up we go down. Its not unusual for us to be in this position. We could become new Cavan. Cavan had 70 years sucess and peaked in 40s and 50s , we had 80 years of sucess ans peaked in 80s and 90s. But there is also chance we wouldnt , u dont know u hope with all ur might that we will and it so so important to u and u badly want Meath not to suceed. But we also could be sucessful. No one really knows.

We have a few advantages over Cavan after 1950s. 1 It took Cavan 60 years after 1950s before they had underage sucess. Meath are having underage sucess recently and if u look at work being done on the ground in Meath , Meath in the next decade or two are in good position to have more.

And Finally this is the big one. Cavans population declined after 1950s. When Meath last won Sam Meath was rural population smaller then Mayo circa 100000. In last ten years Meath population has exploded up to extraordinary 200000. If we can tap into that population explosion in the county we could actually have unprecedented sucess. How do we know this. Dublin tapped into Dublin suburbs in the southside in last 15 years with Ballyboden and Cuala becoming gaa strongholds. Meath are following Dublin blueprint on the ground to the letter. And who knows u just know and ur worst nightmare could happen a strong Meath , stronger then we have ever seen emerges. Maybe it wouldnt maybe it will. We know u hope want and need Meath to stay down. But dont underestimate the passion and the love Meath people have for gaelic football. Dont underestimate the tradition of Meath football. And dont underestimate how difficult it is for Meath people to watch Dublins sucess and how this driven Meath players in the past . There is serious work being done in Meath , there is strong club structure in Meath. There is a strong football tradition in Meath. And their is 100000 new people in the county in last 10 years. If we tap into that well ur worst nightmare could happen. Never right of Meath. We aint going anywhere and we will keep on fighting the good fight. We are in a good position..As I said 100000 increase in population and growing. Its also a young population. And remember the golden age of Meath football had benefit of migration from west of Ireland. Could another massive unprecedented migration to the county hearald in. third golden age in Meath football. Dublins sucess has being built on migration of country to Dublin. So many of the Dubs who have won multiple All Irelands have country parents.

I will make this prediction. Whoever of Meath or kildare taps into unprecedented population explosion in both their counties who ever taps into this doubling of population whoever takes advantage it will be a massive positive and boost for the inter county teams in that county. It could be a game changer. Lets say kildare take advantage of the population growth dont be surprised to see kildare have sucess like they have never had before. 100000 extra people in county , a young new population , if that can be tapped into , its has huge potential for both counties.

What will interesting can Tyrone stay at top. Tyrone have had All Ireland contender teams in 80s 90s and this decade and All Ireland winners in 00s..So that 4 decades since mid 80s Tyrone have been at the top of football table. Can Tyrone continue this into 2020s 2030s and 2040s. Tyrone are trying to do what no other county has ever done. Tyrone had a golden age of 3 All Irelands in a decade. Anytime a county had such a period they declined after and have never won Sam since.

Wexford won 4 All Irelands betweeen 1914 to 1918 they have never been at that level since
Kildare won 2 All Irelands in 1920s they have never won since. Mayo won 2 in 50s they havent won since. Cavan won 2 in forties they havent won since Offaly won 3 in 10 years they havent won since. Can Tyrone be the first county to have a golden age outside kerry and Dublin and win again..Thats the real.question u should be worried about.

When Mickey Harte leaves , this could be ab issue. Anytime a manager leaves after being two decades in charge with sucess that county and team decline massivly afterwards . look at Meath after Sean Boylan left , look at Man Utd after Ferguson left , look at Man Utd after Matt Busby left. Look at Celtic after Jock Stein left. look at Forest after Clough left. When a manager leaves after decades sucess nearly all teams in all sports decline. It will be interesting to see how Tyrone do after Harte goes. Tyrone have allot more to be worrying about then Meath football. The future for Tyrone football is up fot grabs also. Nothing is guaranteed in the future for any county or any team. No one knows what the future holds.

Anyway here is the elephant in the room . Just for old memory sake lets relive that great day

1996 All Ireland semi final
Meath 2 - 15 Tyrone 0 - 12

Meath scored 1 - 6 points in last 15 mins to Tyrone no reply as the brillant Meath forwards of Trevor Giles, Graham Geraghty, Tommy Dowd, Evan kelly , Brendan Reilly and Ollie Murphy was just to strong. Geraghty scored 1 - 2 giving best individual performance of the year in the championship. 7 under 21 including a full back line of 20 year old Mark Reilly and 20 year old Darren Fay came of age. Martin O Connell who in 3 years time ( even though Wallys in Tyrone tried to blacken his name) was voted the greatest left half back ever in gaelic football on team of Milleniun. Martin was voted Footballer of the Year in 1996 something very rare , a defender footballer of the year eg Seamus Moyihan Tomas O Se Marc O Se Jack McCafffrey and Martin O Connell. McDermont and McGuiness put on an exhibition of high catching and Meath were scoring 40 metre long range points. Brendan Reilly scored 5 points from play including three 40 metre long range kicks. The Meath forward line was one of best of last 25 years were excellent that day. And Mick O Connell the kerry great said it was football performance of the 90s.

Tyrone had a good team but couldnt beat any top teams especially outside Ulster. Meath defeated Dublin a record 4 times in 5 years , strong Mayo , Tyrone, Cork teams and greatest Armagh team ever in All Ireland finals and semi finals and that Meath team 6 years later beat great kerry team of 00s by 15 points in an All Ireland semi finak

Of course there was two incidents. And Tyrone running around with tiolet rolls on their heads like complete wallys We say Martin was looking at the ball , one of cleanest players ever to play for Meath thr only modern player on team of Milleniun Tyronw of couse would never agree. McDermot had a late challenge which u see yearly even in every game in Ulster. But Tyrone instead of accepting they were beaten by better team moaned on lifeline with Joe Dufffy next day which was unprecedented and hated Meath since. It all goes back to 1 game in the year of 1996.

And the gas thing is Tyrone became the new Meath after. The things Tyrone were saying about Meath were now being said nationwide about Tyrone in 00sm Tyrone were accused of bringing thr game into disrepute with puke football, diving and sledging. The irony of all ironys. Tyrone dont see this as their bile and hatred and life long grudge to Meath because of 1 single match 23 years ago , is to strong.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 18/09/2019 23:37:41    2237395