Duvet Or Not To Duvet, That Is The Question?

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Nope real dub we're going for 1 in a row and toe to toe with a mighty foe that's all :-)"
'Way outta that ya cute Kerry hoor :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 14/08/2019 19:10:52    2225769

Hoping for a big Kerry Win....it would be great for them seeing as they were robbed of 5 in a row in 1982 to rob Dublin. The smugness of Dublin is just sickening at this stage, they need to be taken down a peg or two.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 14/08/2019 19:15:43    2225773

Replying To preddan:  "Hoping for a big Kerry Win....it would be great for them seeing as they were robbed of 5 in a row in 1982 to rob Dublin. The smugness of Dublin is just sickening at this stage, they need to be taken down a peg or two."
Not for me. I hope Dublin do it.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 14/08/2019 19:52:57    2225784

Replying To steve097:  "I look forward to seeing the Dublin forwards rampaging through this Swiss cheese defense much as Kerry did to us in 78. 5-11 to 0-9. I was there in 78 and I'll be there on the first. Accounts are going to be settled.
Kerrys are taking comfort in the brilliantly executed ambush by Donegal in 2014 at odds of 10-1. Forget it. Gavin learned that lesson well and it can never happen again while he's in charge. An ambush has to be a surprise. 9/2 is short odds IMO.
If Kerry do not use the double duvet to begin with they are finished early on. Dublin will goal and the first one will signal the end for Kerry. I see Kerry desperately holding on until half time. After that, look at Dublin's stats.
Kerry have some excellent players, no doubt about that but we have a lot more.
You can't outlast us. you can't outshoot us. You can't outrun us. You can't outplay us............................. Who you gonna call?"
Eh Ghost busters?

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 16/08/2019 03:42:22    2226235

I think we'll go man on man in this game, can't see us playing a blanket as it's not our style and it doesn't suit us.

I do think Dublin will go all out blanket, I'd say the fear will set in over the coming days with so much on the line for the dubs.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/08/2019 14:35:45    2227901

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I think we'll go man on man in this game, can't see us playing a blanket as it's not our style and it doesn't suit us.

I do think Dublin will go all out blanket, I'd say the fear will set in over the coming days with so much on the line for the dubs."
No fear setting in this is not the 2011 final , we have enjoyed every championship since and the only fear for us is it might rain ,if we win we win lose we lose , we party anyway

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/08/2019 14:44:03    2227903

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I think we'll go man on man in this game, can't see us playing a blanket as it's not our style and it doesn't suit us.

I do think Dublin will go all out blanket, I'd say the fear will set in over the coming days with so much on the line for the dubs."
Id say you are talking about your lot , the fear will set in over the coming days with how to stop the 5 in a row -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/08/2019 15:21:41    2227915

You can't outlast us. you can't outshoot us. You can't outrun us. You can't outplay us............................. Who you gonna call?"

Joe Duffy?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/08/2019 15:35:25    2227919

Imagine what will happen this group of Kerry players when Dublin beat them and win the 5 in a row they will forever be remembered as the team that failed to halt the dubs gallop this could set the aristocrats back years...

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 20/08/2019 15:49:35    2227928

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Imagine what will happen this group of Kerry players when Dublin beat them and win the 5 in a row they will forever be remembered as the team that failed to halt the dubs gallop this could set the aristocrats back years..."
Imagine if the opposite happens. You won't be able to show your anonymous face on here for an eternity. No complacency. I'm reminded of 14 when everyone was putting their house on the Dubs but I wasn't confident as Donegal had a great team, a manager lacking confidence in their footballing ability though but a combination of the system and their talent defeated us. A valuable lesson. It ain't over until Dublin Dave blows the final whistle :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/08/2019 17:33:25    2227960

Replying To Joxer:  "Imagine if the opposite happens. You won't be able to show your anonymous face on here for an eternity. No complacency. I'm reminded of 14 when everyone was putting their house on the Dubs but I wasn't confident as Donegal had a great team, a manager lacking confidence in their footballing ability though but a combination of the system and their talent defeated us. A valuable lesson. It ain't over until Dublin Dave blows the final whistle :)"
If we lose I will come on and Congratulate Kerry I just don't think I will have to it's not complacency it just huge confidence in this group of players and Jim.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 20/08/2019 17:57:54    2227972

Fear? Who do you reckon fears who more :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 20/08/2019 19:25:52    2228004

Replying To realdub:  "Fear? Who do you reckon fears who more :D"
History isn't easily made realdub so I'd say Dublin will be feeling that pressure and fear,

That fear could most likely cause jim to rethink his gung-ho tactics and fall deep,

no pressure on our lads, nobody is expecting us to do anything considering it our first year under a new management it's also a pretty new squad , it would take a miracle for us to win, but sometimes miracles happen.

I won't write us off yet.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/08/2019 21:21:12    2228029

Replying To Joxer:  "Imagine if the opposite happens. You won't be able to show your anonymous face on here for an eternity. No complacency. I'm reminded of 14 when everyone was putting their house on the Dubs but I wasn't confident as Donegal had a great team, a manager lacking confidence in their footballing ability though but a combination of the system and their talent defeated us. A valuable lesson. It ain't over until Dublin Dave blows the final whistle :)"
NO complacency whatsoever. I too am haunted by the memory of 2014. But you know, I think we learned valuable lessons from that defeat. Lessons that proved to be the basis of a new and more formidable game plan.
This could be an ambush waiting to happen. But I just think this team does not do complacency. This is a chance that few have ever had to sail into immortality. Kerry will push us to the limit. They want this just as badly as we do. Anybody that tells you they won't feel pressure is talking out of the high end of their backside. They will feel it.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/08/2019 22:34:04    2228038

Kerry will do much better than expected and could win.
Semi final will have brought them on to in terms of tactics and confidence. I'd say Kerry were more uptight v Tyrone than v Dublin where they have little to lose and you can bet they've had their ears bent about the necessity to stop the Dubs doing 5. Whether or not its a good game or not is irrelevant; there is so much at stake for both teams that it will be engrossing from start to finish. I don't see much of a spread between the chasing pack; so if Kerry win or do well, there's great hope for the rest of us. And conversely ...

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 20/08/2019 23:20:19    2228044

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "History isn't easily made realdub so I'd say Dublin will be feeling that pressure and fear,

That fear could most likely cause jim to rethink his gung-ho tactics and fall deep,

no pressure on our lads, nobody is expecting us to do anything considering it our first year under a new management it's also a pretty new squad , it would take a miracle for us to win, but sometimes miracles happen.

I won't write us off yet."
When do miracles happen ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/08/2019 23:20:56    2228045

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "History isn't easily made realdub so I'd say Dublin will be feeling that pressure and fear,

I won't write us off yet."
Ye never heard me writing ye off. The pressure is there for all. For experience to perform and for young players to make a name for themselves. I think Kerry H/T Dublin F/T is a good bet, seems to be the way our games are going these days.

But if anyone has the talent to expose an off form Dublin, it's Kerry!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 20/08/2019 23:40:12    2228051

Replying To preddan:  "Hoping for a big Kerry Win....it would be great for them seeing as they were robbed of 5 in a row in 1982 to rob Dublin. The smugness of Dublin is just sickening at this stage, they need to be taken down a peg or two."
You begrudge Offally their All Ireland your some neighbour do you work and do your shopping in Kerry to. You wont hear to many from Munster counties hoping for Dublin to win.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 21/08/2019 01:37:11    2228061

Not so much a duvet or blanket required, more of a towel. Something that half covers you but can be whipped off ASAP

Mayos first half performance showed a weakness in the Dublin game plan.

If Kerry line up in a similar way they can stay at it longer for two reasons: fresher legs and a better kick out strategy

Full forward
Wingforward Wingforward
Centre field. Centerfield. Centerfield
Wingback. 2x centerback. Wingback
Cornerback. Cornerback. Cornerback
Keeper

This lineup clogs up the middle 3rd, gives away the short kick out and allows a long kick inside.
It also keeps Dublin's Wing backs occupied and Outnumbers them for breaking ball.

The problem with this for Mayo was that they got hemmed in in the 2nd half because Dublin pushed up all over the field and their kick out fell apart.

Kerry have a better kickout and if they can win their own ball while Dublin push up, they will have Clifford one on one with Fitzimons inside. That only need to happen twice and Clifford will take advantage. Then Kerry are in business.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 21/08/2019 07:15:52    2228069

For the 1st half they might. The 2nd definitely not

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 21/08/2019 10:32:29    2228102