Kerry V Dublin

Replying To JohnnyFox19:  "No body talking about Jack Barrys closed fist punch to a Dublin players ribs in the first half. By the GAAs rulebook, this was a straight red card offence. Didn't even get a yellow. Replay clearly shows he walloped the Dublin player in possession with a closed fist. For me, this was the only clear red card offence in the whole game."
That's not a red card. It's a closed fist tackle. That's all it has ever been called...ever by every ref. Given them and received them for years, watched them given out all across many times.
It's not my name for it - a closed fist tackle - it's in the rule book. If you don't know that, then you don't know. Simple as that. Don't bring it up again... you're wrong

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 01/09/2019 19:27:27    2231442

Replying To jj19:  "Will the replay be in kerry???? Only fair as dubs at home today!!"
We should have won the game on the away goal rule :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/09/2019 19:27:47    2231443

Replying To galwayford:  "David Gough should be given another chance to ref the replay. M.Deegan is a Kerry ref."
I could have sworn deegan is a Laois man! But if that all you got kid go with it ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/09/2019 19:29:50    2231445

Replying To JohnnyFox19:  "No body talking about Jack Barrys closed fist punch to a Dublin players ribs in the first half. By the GAAs rulebook, this was a straight red card offence. Didn't even get a yellow. Replay clearly shows he walloped the Dublin player in possession with a closed fist. For me, this was the only clear red card offence in the whole game."
Are you really from galway? At least say if you're dublin connected?

Dmck19 (Kerry) - Posts: 24 - 01/09/2019 19:30:04    2231446

On the match itself, was worried it would be very one sided. However I was thrilled to be wrong. Great game of football, hard hits, reffed well, some great scores (the two goals were fantastic) all in all a very enjoyable game. I'll look forward to the next game. That been said dubs remind me of Meath under boylan (they don't lose replays).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/09/2019 19:31:04    2231449

Replying To Belclare:  "They put it up to Dublin all day, Dublin very lucky to get the draw. If Dublin didn't have an absolute rarity in Jack Mc Caffrey the best scoring wing back ever seen on All Ireland final day they would be finished. Fenton lorded it in the semi against poorer players but David Moran is a colosses.. Some replay in store.."
If dublin that good sure ye should come down to killarney for replay to show home advantage doesn't count

Dmck19 (Kerry) - Posts: 24 - 01/09/2019 19:34:17    2231452

Replying To wicklu:  "That's not a red card. It's a closed fist tackle. That's all it has ever been called...ever by every ref. Given them and received them for years, watched them given out all across many times.
It's not my name for it - a closed fist tackle - it's in the rule book. If you don't know that, then you don't know. Simple as that. Don't bring it up again... you're wrong"
Closed fist take my backside. He punched him straight in the ribs....clear as day in the replay. If every player was allowed to do that there wouldn't be a player left on the pitch by the end of the game with broken/bruised ribs. It wasn't a tackle, it was a clear punch. Red card end of.

JohnnyFox19 (Galway) - Posts: 8 - 01/09/2019 19:38:38    2231457

Replying To cluichethar:  "This has been my pet peeve for years. Players allowed to use "softners" . It's never called, anything but an open hand on the ball is a free. If fans don't like it then get the rules changed."
That's cause it's not a foul by the rules

Dmck19 (Kerry) - Posts: 24 - 01/09/2019 19:39:41    2231459

Replying To royaldunne:  "Someone needs to go to specsavers. All the ball must be inside. 4/5 of ball was 1/5 not therefore it is deemed wide."
Dear god The ball cant be split into fifths. It would have hit the post if that was the case.

I'm actually not doubting Hawkeye just how it looked on the hawkeye replay.

Sorry I cant get over the fact you said 4/5ths of the ball was inside the post and 1/5th was outside as if this could happen in real life

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 01/09/2019 19:42:10    2231460

Delighted to be still in it. I really thought Kerry had it won when Spillane kicked them into the lead but instead Kerry seemed to seize up with the finish line in sight.

A lot went wrong today for Dublin and a lot went right for Kerry yet we're still in it.

Gotta take heart from that in anyways.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 01/09/2019 19:46:27    2231468

Have Kerry ever lost an All Ireland final replay.?

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 01/09/2019 19:47:47    2231470

Replying To cluichethar:  "What does coming from Mayo have to do with with what went on today. The game was extremely enjoyable but that doesn't take away from the fact Kerry got most of the calls. Your media blitz on David Gough worked wonders. Dublin have done the same thing in the past & got results. It worked for Kerry today. I'm neither bitter or biased & I got exactly what I wanted not what I expected, a close exciting game that both teams could have won in the last 2 minutes. On Kerry's last attack they should have had a free out on the sideline right in front of the linesman. What ever the result it was good for me Kerry win Dublin fails in their bid for 5, Dublin win Kerry failed to stop them. Pretty simple got entertained for about an hour & a half. Good luck in the replay."
Mayo have a lot of bitterness after all the hammerings and then the 2014 SF
Thankfully their bandwagon has driven them back to the house of pain
They had their chances. They blew it

ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone (Kerry) - Posts: 26 - 01/09/2019 19:49:06    2231471

The one thing we learned today, if Mayo had forwards of the calibre of Kerry's, they would have beaten Dublin at least once.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 01/09/2019 19:52:52    2231473

Young Clifford tortured Cooper from the get go, cooper could not handle him whatsoever, he started shaky with a few misses which he will score the next day ive mo doubt. Dubs best defender on him but with great use of his body and making sneaky and non stop runs all day it turned out tonne not much of a match up, shows the intelligence of this young fella again.. What a player he is going to Be

Sean OShea aswell, absolutely incredible and top top notch composure. These 2 young lads are going to be giants in Gaelic football, fair play to them today

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 01/09/2019 19:54:23    2231475

Very exciting game. Was afraid coming up to half time that Dublin were just starting to pull away. The sending off eventually started to tell I'm the last 20, particularly when Tommy Walsh was introduced.

Fenton, McCarthy and O'Callaghan all had poor games by their standards. McCaffrey and Cluxton were exceptional.

Jack Barry, strike on O'Callaghan aside, was excellent. Moran was also very good. He'll be gutted with giving away that ball at the end. O'Shea was brilliant too.

I still think Kerry left it behind them. They needed to keep attacking. I think it was a mixture of tiredness, naivety, and nerves that caused them to go into their shell.

Dublin though deserve great credit for pulling it out of the fire. They demonstrated serious resilience and bottle.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 01/09/2019 19:59:55    2231479

Kerry have benefited from referees in the last 2 matches. Can't see them benefiting from that again.

The likes of Brian Fenton and Paul Mannion had poor performances by their own standards and can't see that happening again.

So I'd see Dublin winning the next match by quite a bit.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 01/09/2019 20:02:59    2231481

They got the yips. They were there for the taking. We didn't do it.

That said, I'm grateful to Vince Hogan in the Indo for telling us that the Kerry recollection of past victories (55 & 75) is skewed. We do be carrying on far too much about tradition in the Kingdom so it tis. We'll be sure to turn over and have our bellies tickled by the blue machine so we will, to be sure to be sure n all.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 01/09/2019 20:14:06    2231487

Replying To JohnnyFox19:  "Take David Moran out of that team and Kerry don't have a midfield.....and there is no standout midfielder coming up through the ranks either. A Kerry period of dominance is a myth in my opinion. Dodgy at the back, an ageing midfielder and a handful of classy forwards doesn't translate to a team that is about to dominate gaelic football for an extended period. Couldn't get the job done with a man extra for half the game. I think the Dubs will know they got out of jail today and I fancy them to win the replay pulling up. This match could haunt this bunch of Kerry footballers for a long time to come."
Welcome to the forum Johnny, you're posting like an old pro, word of advice from a veteran, try and pace your self it a marathon not a sprint.
for a Galway man you're taking this very seriously.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/09/2019 20:20:42    2231489

Replying To galwayford:  "Yes, it is really difficult for teams from Connacht to win All Irelands. They often have to beat 16 men seemingly. Mayo and Galway are far too nice and mannerly if you ask me. Look at the way Kerry attacked David Gough before the match. Have you ever heard Mayo do same?"
A few prominent former players of mayos usually manage to help motivate our opposition when they are talking instead of helping the cause.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 01/09/2019 20:21:06    2231490

Replying To baire:  "The one thing we learned today, if Mayo had forwards of the calibre of Kerry's, they would have beaten Dublin at least once."
Even with the forwards we have we had the beating of them.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 01/09/2019 20:22:52    2231491