Kerry V Dublin

Replying To legendzxix:  "Before Ireland played England in the Women's Six Nations, the Irish coach said the English have 2 arms and 2 legs as well when asked about the gap!"
The Gap of Dunloe??

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 12/08/2019 00:45:58    2224402

Dublin to win by 10+ and the entire kerry panel to realise they'll never beat Dublin during their careers in knockout championship.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 12/08/2019 01:16:34    2224407

Replying To galwayford:  "No, the game needs a Dublin win. Not a cynical Kerry performance. Kerry lucky against Cork in Munster final, lucky today against Tyrone, ie got the 50/50 calls from the ref, and hope they will run out of luck in the final. Baile Atha Cliatha abú"
I said nothing about the winning of the game. Dublin should win. On form, they clearly deserve to win. But... Kerry must up their game and give them a real test. It would be a travesty if they won 5-in-a-row without showing their true mettle.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 12/08/2019 07:45:13    2224425

Replying To Kerrymanlegend:  "Haha the bitterness is strong on this one. Galway lol. You just can't hack it and accept that we are the kings of football. Stop being jealous. P Keane outstanding job. Go on Galway lol."
You may be the kings of football, a game more like basketball on grass, but ye are way down the pecking order when it comes to our native game!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 12/08/2019 07:46:37    2224427

Replying To galwayford:  "No, the game needs a Dublin win. Not a cynical Kerry performance. Kerry lucky against Cork in Munster final, lucky today against Tyrone, ie got the 50/50 calls from the ref, and hope they will run out of luck in the final. Baile Atha Cliatha abú"
The truth is actually the opposite of everything u say. The game actually needs a kerry win.....and believe u me seeing Dublin in the flesh this year, they are as cynical as any other team, as you have to be and as all other great teams were.....and are you suggesting dublin don't get 50 50 calls?? They get away with murder sure....... Dublin will win this by whatever they want to win it by, if they are at it 100%, it could be a very embarressing all ireland final

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 12/08/2019 08:33:10    2224438

In 1978 Kerry beat Dublin by 17 points with the biggest margin since being 13 points in 2006 when Kerry beat Mayo.

It wouldnt surprise me to see something similar only in Dublins favour, could easily be 10 points plus if Dublin put in 70 mins like the 2nd half against Mayo.

It isnt a criticism of Kerry to say that, plain and simply the GAA has helped to develop a complete and utter juggernaut which is in reality only getting going and its simply out of control.

People scoffed at the idea of Dublin dominating Leinster back a decade ago, sure they only beat Wexford by 3 points (an unfortunate Wexford OG being the deciding factor if memory serves me correct) followed up in 2012 by another 3 points win. Again the idea that there was going to be complete dominance was fanciful but what we have seen since has been an utter annihilation with winning margins increasing.

The winning margins in All ireland finals has as of last year jumped to 6 points from the previous narrow margins, the same pattern emerging as in Leinster, i expect that to continue for God knows how many years.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 12/08/2019 09:49:14    2224468

Replying To Ulsterman:  "If Tyrone had 1 or 2 more scoring forwards they would have beaten Kerry handily enough. Dublin will win by as much as they want, at least 10/15 pts."
Do you honestly believe this?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/08/2019 09:49:55    2224471

Replying To Kerrymanlegend:  "Haha the bitterness is strong on this one. Galway lol. You just can't hack it and accept that we are the kings of football. Stop being jealous. P Keane outstanding job. Go on Galway lol."
Quick correction there bud. Kerry WERE the kings of football. Invoking past glories to make a claim about the present is a bit like a Little Englander claiming Britain is still Great.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 12/08/2019 10:00:44    2224484

Kerry will always be the aristocrats of football u think football u think kerry u think hurling u think kk ........and my few pound be on the kingdom for sam

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 12/08/2019 10:09:57    2224489

Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone , Mayo at full strength are all pretty close , very close in that they would all beat each other regularly in a mini league ie Kerry hammer mayo , Donegal beat Tyrone, mayo beat donegal etc.

Dublin are on another level at this moment.

I do believe Kerry and my own county will win an all Ireland in next 3 years but Dublin are still the best by a distance

They are unreal. Kerry will take a heavy beating unless something miraculous happens.

Look who knows, New Zealand nearly lost to an awful French team in WCF. Apparently pressure got to them.

I just dont think it will get to Dublin.

They can play terrible and win by 4 or 5.

Dubs between 9-12 and create history.

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 12/08/2019 10:28:02    2224502

If Kerry play likethey played in forst half yesterday the game will be over very quickly.

I can't see anything other than a comprehensive win for Dublin.

Kerry bet Dublin by 17 points in 1978 to record one of the largest eve winning margins in an AI final - can Dublin return the favour 41 years later? I think its possible

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 12/08/2019 10:40:31    2224512

Seamus Darby comes to mind.........I've watch this young kerry team close since league and I think they going to shock few people in final ........dublin have the aura about them atm that comes with success but they only 15 men against another 15 men and I think the big croke park pitch will be a HUGE asset to this lightning fast kerry forward line

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 12/08/2019 10:42:38    2224515

Seamus Darby comes to mind.........I've watch this young kerry team close since league and I think they going to shock few people in final ........dublin have the aura about them atm that comes with success but they only 15 men against another 15 men and I think the big croke park pitch will be a HUGE asset to this lightning fast kerry forward line

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 12/08/2019 10:42:40    2224516

Replying To baire:  "You may be the kings of football, a game more like basketball on grass, but ye are way down the pecking order when it comes to our native game!"
It's played here in few enough places. Where it is played, they are as mad for it as they are in any of the established strongholds. When our near neighbours, Limerick, grabbed hold of Liam last year, we returned a favour. Many of us went to watch the final in pubs and clubs for that reason. What else are near neighbours for?

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 12/08/2019 11:01:33    2224527

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "You're delusional. All and Every advantage is with Dublin. Home crowd, dedicated sections now it would appear, total and utter familiarity with the pitch and Croke Park itself, no need to travel, stay in non familiar locations etc. Won't get into the funding discussion as it's as some people can't understand certain things. And when Kerry played in Croke Park they had to earn their way to play there as opposed to it being the home ground."
Well said. Fair play. Enjoy the winter and we'll do battle again in the league next spring.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7824 - 12/08/2019 11:02:00    2224528

Replying To avonali:  "The Gap of Dunloe??"
Well done on making the final. It was a ferocious 12 minute blitz after half time.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7824 - 12/08/2019 11:04:57    2224530

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "You're delusional. All and Every advantage is with Dublin. Home crowd, dedicated sections now it would appear, total and utter familiarity with the pitch and Croke Park itself, no need to travel, stay in non familiar locations etc. Won't get into the funding discussion as it's as some people can't understand certain things. And when Kerry played in Croke Park they had to earn their way to play there as opposed to it being the home ground."
Sorri But I ain't going to argue with someone who advocated all sorts of silly antics in order to put Stephen Cluxton off. Something about squirting water at him or something?? Pathetic.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 12/08/2019 11:25:10    2224546

At the beginning of this year I would have wanted anyone to beat Dublin just to stop the drive for 5.

But this current Kerry team are very hard to like and yesterday just reinforced my view of that.

Cynical exploits, off the ball fouling, slowing the game down, dragging men down, complaining constantly to the referee.

Also I don't think they are that good and honestly I can see Dublin beating them by as much as they want.

lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 116 - 12/08/2019 11:41:19    2224556

Replying To lambofgod:  "At the beginning of this year I would have wanted anyone to beat Dublin just to stop the drive for 5.

But this current Kerry team are very hard to like and yesterday just reinforced my view of that.

Cynical exploits, off the ball fouling, slowing the game down, dragging men down, complaining constantly to the referee.

Also I don't think they are that good and honestly I can see Dublin beating them by as much as they want."
Well Kerry absolutely hammered Mayo

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 12/08/2019 12:08:10    2224568

In a seventy minute game anything can happen. Kerry have earned their right to be there and best of luck to them.

My early thoughts are the game could very easily be a shoot out and Kerry can test will test our back line and i think our focus needs to be cutting off their oxygen there, flood the middle, with Jamsey, Howard and Fenton. MDM misses out, harsh but finals are there for winning.

In addition we need to push up n Ryan kick out, he can be cracked. An area for improvement for us is being first to every dirty ball, we struggled first half with Mayo with this.

Think we have the advantage with power and physicality, so need to make that count.

The space Kerry cough up at the back is very very enticing, we need to be out early doors and take the air out of their hope, put a few lads on yellows and maybe get a black or red in there and over run and over whelm them into cynical fouling. I think if we do that their discipline might let them down.

I think we have to approach the game dispassionately and im sure we will, Kerry will come in holding a lot of emotion given the context of the game, we have to use that against them, this is a new arena for them and we need to make our experience count. They will be walling a knife edge of and despair with their own history on their shoulders.

Match ups will be interesting, id rate Tom O Sullivan as a decent man marker, who goes on will be fascinating, COn, Mannion, Kilkenny, Connolly, we will have to use our decoys well and create space depending on who he picks up. I wouldn't be surprised to see Barry start on Fenton and if he does well on him, Jamsey and Howard need to bolster the midfield.

id be happy enough to see Tommy Walsh start or being sprung, we know what to do there.

All hypothetical of course just my early thoughts from a Dublin point of view, im sure Kerry will have a different eye on it.

Hoping for a really good game and great day out.

Nice to see Kerry back in the biggest day in the footballing calendar, its been a while.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/08/2019 12:11:56    2224570