Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final

Replying To slayer:  "Unsustainable I'd say. I can see the county scene divorcing itself from the club scene in the near future, i.e. County Managers picking a panel of 35 players who no longer play club hurling. With the demands on county players and the large gaps in the season for club players it might be proposed as a solution.

tiobraid:

It's common in most counties I believe to stop training for at least a few weeks if not longer in the summer. The system is a farce."
Sure its pretty much gone that way anyway, clubs don't see their county players for months on end.
GAA has no interest in helping club players, there's no revenue in it for them.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 30/08/2019 11:22:13    2230641

Man there is a hell of a lot to take in here :-)

You asked for an alternative, I already gave one above that the All-Ireland should be played in mid-July. F the traditionalists I am sick of them, easy to look back with rose tinted glasses to a time when the GAA and hurling was all people had. Young people now days aren't bothered with the love of the parish tripe spouted by "traditionalists". All traditionalists do is stifle progress in almost every walk of life. And I am playing for a senior hurling club. I am starting work next month for the 1st time and WONT be bothered with the product the GAA offers. That is all I am saying.
So no, I don't agree that the AI should be put back to September to suit the schools going back.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 30/08/2019 13:19:31    2230676

Replying To StoreysTash:  "You must not be as clued in as you seem to think. We stopped training in May for the month of May. Almost every senior club in Wexford did the same. We started in mid-June and it was mid-August before we got a game again.
You asked for an alternative, I already gave one above that the All-Ireland should be played in mid-July. F the traditionalists I am sick of them, easy to look back with rose tinted glasses to a time when the GAA and hurling was all people had.
Young people now days aren't bothered with the love of the parish tripe spouted by "traditionalists". All traditionalists do is stifle progress in almost every walk of life.
And I am playing for a senior hurling club. I am starting work next month for the 1st time and WONT be bothered with the product the GAA offers. That is all I am saying.
So no, I don't agree that the AI should be put back to September to suit the schools going back. The GAA have no problem playing 4 club matches in 16 days, imagine they asked Liam Sheedy or Davy Fitz to do it, what would the reaction be? Player welfare blah blah but don't worry about player welfare for the club player, they don't count?"
That's a very entitled post. Your 22 and haven't worked full time yet and you come out with that moan. And thinking of retiring from hurling in a year!

Wouldn't like to have to listen to you in your mid 30s with 3 or 4 young children, a wife/partner..and maybe a contrary one at that.

We were all 22 once and thought we knew it all. Work and the real world will knock some corners off you and you'll realise you can't tell all that went before you to go F themselves. There's a reason people look for experience in all walks of life.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 30/08/2019 14:00:59    2230690

Replying To StoreysTash:  "You must not be as clued in as you seem to think. We stopped training in May for the month of May. Almost every senior club in Wexford did the same. We started in mid-June and it was mid-August before we got a game again.
You asked for an alternative, I already gave one above that the All-Ireland should be played in mid-July. F the traditionalists I am sick of them, easy to look back with rose tinted glasses to a time when the GAA and hurling was all people had.
Young people now days aren't bothered with the love of the parish tripe spouted by "traditionalists". All traditionalists do is stifle progress in almost every walk of life.
And I am playing for a senior hurling club. I am starting work next month for the 1st time and WONT be bothered with the product the GAA offers. That is all I am saying.
So no, I don't agree that the AI should be put back to September to suit the schools going back. The GAA have no problem playing 4 club matches in 16 days, imagine they asked Liam Sheedy or Davy Fitz to do it, what would the reaction be? Player welfare blah blah but don't worry about player welfare for the club player, they don't count?"
That's a very entitled post. You're 22 and haven't worked full time yet and you come out with that moan. And thinking of retiring from hurling in a year!

Wouldn't like to have to listen to you in your mid 30s with 3 or 4 young children, a wife/partner..and maybe a contrary one at that.

We were all 22 once and thought we knew it all. Work and the real world will knock some corners off you and you'll realise you can't tell all that went before you to go F themselves. There's a reason people look for experience in all walks of life.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 30/08/2019 14:15:10    2230697

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "That's a very entitled post. You're 22 and haven't worked full time yet and you come out with that moan. And thinking of retiring from hurling in a year!

We were all 22 once and thought we knew it all. Work and the real world will knock some corners off you and you'll realise you can't tell all that went before you to go F themselves. There's a reason people look for experience in all walks of life."
Right, what has that got to do with how GAA club championship is run?
I am not saying I am entitled to anything, but I am peed off with how the GAA championships are ran.
I don't think it is that much to ask for, a GAA calendar for the club player, is it?
And by the way, I have worked, all throughout college, paid for my own education, and had summer jobs that allow me to go training.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 30/08/2019 14:43:12    2230712

@storeystash -

Wow. I asked for an alternative, but I got a rant.

Would be interested to know if you've actually thought your "alternative" through? Or if you'd be able to expand on how it would actually work? Just throwing out half a sentence while you get other stuff off your chest doesn't actually tell us much.

But anyway…might seem an ideal and perfect solution if all counties except the All-Ireland finalists are finished in the inter-county championships by the end of June, so that club championships could run unimpeded throughout July/August/September.

But now think about it. Finishing the inter-county championship a month earlier presumably means starting it about a month earlier too. So it would begin in early April instead of early May. This in turn means that in Wexford, we'd no longer be able to play club championship games in April.

There might be the option to play them in March, but what would be the point? The long lay-off between Rounds 2 and 3 is exactly what you're giving out about, and we'd have all July/August/September to play them in anyway.

But then there'd be a situation where most clubs would be out of the championship by the end of September, and wouldn't have another one until the following July - eight months later.

Considering you're already so unhappy at going four months without a championship match, do you really want to go eight months without one?

Easy to see things in black and white when you're 22. I knew it all when I was that age too. But as you get older, you learn to look at the bigger picture, and realise there are consequences to everything.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2247 - 30/08/2019 14:46:37    2230714

Replying To slayer:  "Unsustainable I'd say. I can see the county scene divorcing itself from the club scene in the near future, i.e. County Managers picking a panel of 35 players who no longer play club hurling. With the demands on county players and the large gaps in the season for club players it might be proposed as a solution.

tiobraid:

It's common in most counties I believe to stop training for at least a few weeks if not longer in the summer. The system is a farce."
This is actually the only real solution. Unlike yourself though, I can't ever see it happening - and definitely not soon anyway.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2247 - 30/08/2019 14:53:54    2230716

Mathematical error in my other post - to go from mid-September to the following July without a championship match would be nine and a half months, not eight.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2247 - 30/08/2019 14:59:11    2230718

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Right, what has that got to do with how GAA club championship is run?
I am not saying I am entitled to anything, but I am peed off with how the GAA championships are ran.
I don't think it is that much to ask for, a GAA calendar for the club player, is it?
And by the way, I have worked, all throughout college, paid for my own education, and had summer jobs that allow me to go training."
And one more from me. Am conscious of how this thread is on the national forum and how we just keep talking about Wexford, but here goes again…

There already is an annual calendar for club players in Wexford. You just don't like it. It's basically league matches in March, championship April, league in May/June/July, then championship again in August/September/October.

The County Board produces a masters fixtures plan early each year. It's a big colour-coded spreadsheet. I have this year's one myself and your club secretary would have it too, if you want to see it. Obviously not everything is set absolutely in stone on it, since you can't predict in February each year just when exactly Wexford will be out of the inter-county scene, but it's generally accurate to within a week or two anyway.

Unless you're referring to the idea that's sometimes put about, that Croke Park should issue a master plan for club fixtures? Well, think about that one too. How would that work?

32 counties with different needs, structures, and different levels of emphasis on football/hurling. Some with as few as three clubs in a senior championship, and some with as many as 16 or more. Some playing straight knock-outs, and some playing a round-robin. Some whose county sides will probably be out of both championships by early June, and some who are quite likely to have at least one team involved until late July or August.

How do you come up with a "one size fits all" plan for that?

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2247 - 30/08/2019 15:23:17    2230730

Discussing Wexford here doesn't matter. Its the same in every county as I know from the lads in college.
3 options here.
1. Have dedicated club weeks every month. 1-2 is all players want. Play the All-Ireland in October. Start league sooner, scrap Walsh Cup etc. If they want to they could.
2. Don't bother with April. Its well done in some counties but not all. Wexford at least played 3 rounds this year to be fair. Play AI final in July, July/August/Sept/October for clubs. Start club league in May, they might get some focus if 2 months only to championship.
3. Just forget about inter county players playing club. A disaster in my view if players are made make that choice.

Those of you saying about "oh what would silly 22 year old you know", clearly don't know the opportunities young people have now days. I know that people are quitting GAA in their droves, playing soccer, etc rather than GAA. The game has been stolen from the 95% by the 5% elite and their well paid coaches and entourage.

The GAA treats the CPA like they are spoilt children when all they want is to be listened to.

(On the way to EP so last post. And yes I am going home for a match before you ask. And no I won't be drinking in case somebody tells the
manager. Plenty of lads going and not going home for matches.)

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 30/08/2019 15:37:47    2230738

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Discussing Wexford here doesn't matter. Its the same in every county as I know from the lads in college.
3 options here.
1. Have dedicated club weeks every month. 1-2 is all players want. Play the All-Ireland in October. Start league sooner, scrap Walsh Cup etc. If they want to they could.
2. Don't bother with April. Its well done in some counties but not all. Wexford at least played 3 rounds this year to be fair. Play AI final in July, July/August/Sept/October for clubs. Start club league in May, they might get some focus if 2 months only to championship.
3. Just forget about inter county players playing club. A disaster in my view if players are made make that choice.

Those of you saying about "oh what would silly 22 year old you know", clearly don't know the opportunities young people have now days. I know that people are quitting GAA in their droves, playing soccer, etc rather than GAA. The game has been stolen from the 95% by the 5% elite and their well paid coaches and entourage.

The GAA treats the CPA like they are spoilt children when all they want is to be listened to.

(On the way to EP so last post. And yes I am going home for a match before you ask. And no I won't be drinking in case somebody tells the
manager. Plenty of lads going and not going home for matches.)"
Drink away mate, you have to live.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 30/08/2019 16:45:09    2230757

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Right, what has that got to do with how GAA club championship is run?
And by the way, I have worked, all throughout college, paid for my own education, and had summer jobs that allow me to go training."
You talk a lot of waffle. Young people today and opportunities. I was 22 in 1998 and the economy was doing way better than now. I had my MA and could pursue many fields, could travel etc. IT was taking off.

Your post was highly critical of 'traditionalists' whatever that's supposed to mean, just tar everyone with the one brush. And this notion that you and your peers have more opportunity, smarts than previous generations. Rubbish. The economy when you were 1 year old was growing 11%pa.

As regards playing club in September/October Wexford is one place with few complaints. Meteorologically good soil moisture deficits. Drier weather. West of the Shannon or the boglands of the midlands and things get far harder. This is the first year since the late 2000s Wexford have hurled in August.

The problem isn't having an all Ireland in September. Only 2 counties involved. It's poor admin by county boards.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 30/08/2019 17:19:08    2230766

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "You talk a lot of waffle. Young people today and opportunities. I was 22 in 1998 and the economy was doing way better than now. I had my MA and could pursue many fields, could travel etc. IT was taking off.

Your post was highly critical of 'traditionalists' whatever that's supposed to mean, just tar everyone with the one brush. And this notion that you and your peers have more opportunity, smarts than previous generations. Rubbish. The economy when you were 1 year old was growing 11%pa.

As regards playing club in September/October Wexford is one place with few complaints. Meteorologically good soil moisture deficits. Drier weather. West of the Shannon or the boglands of the midlands and things get far harder. This is the first year since the late 2000s Wexford have hurled in August.

The problem isn't having an all Ireland in September. Only 2 counties involved. It's poor admin by county boards."
i think you dont understand young people.you did not address 1 issue he raised.
he already said if you read it that he thinks the traditionalists wanting the final in sept was stupid because it pushes an already isolated club player further to the sideline.
the easy thing to do is portray young people as snowflakes etc but most of them are sick of what playing hurling and football has become,if i was him i would be drinking away at electric picnic and telling the gaa to take a hike,i bet if clubs asked the gaa to play matches last night so they could go to the concert they'd probably fix matches for Saturday in spite.
in my view,he makes very valid points and people like henry shefflin have made the exact same points.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 30/08/2019 22:30:54    2230853

Replying To perfect10:  "i think you dont understand young people.you did not address 1 issue he raised.
he already said if you read it that he thinks the traditionalists wanting the final in sept was stupid because it pushes an already isolated club player further to the sideline.
the easy thing to do is portray young people as snowflakes etc but most of them are sick of what playing hurling and football has become,if i was him i would be drinking away at electric picnic and telling the gaa to take a hike,i bet if clubs asked the gaa to play matches last night so they could go to the concert they'd probably fix matches for Saturday in spite.
in my view,he makes very valid points and people like henry shefflin have made the exact same points."
I did address it. Wexford were knocked out in mid July last year and most years over the last ten since this man was 12. So you have half July, August, September to run a championship. This year they were out 28 July.

If you were to revert to the old format Wexford would be out mid August this year and still mid July the previous 9 years. How is he being so badly effected? It must be the Wexford county board. When even with a semi in mid August you have generally 2 mts of good weather to run your club championship. Only 2 teams would be effected by playing in September. Kilkenny never had a problem running rounds of club championship post Leinster final and between the semi and final.

August, September and up to mid October are statistically drier than April, May, June most years. Do people seriously expect June and July to be for club use? Maybe a time will come that clubs will play championship in mid summer without their county men or arrangements can be made to release players from county panels.

However at the end of the day I'm sure the vast majority of Wexicans would rather be winning a Leinster final v Kilkenny in June/July rather than going to watch Rathnure play Oulart, with due respect to both. That's the reality. County will always be where it's at as it attracts a following who don't attend club games.

The young man can rage all he likes but money talks and the other walks. Mid summer big inter county games is where it's at for the GAA.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 31/08/2019 01:31:17    2230878

However at the end of the day I'm sure the vast majority of Wexicans would rather be winning a Leinster final v Kilkenny in June/July rather than going to watch Rathnure play Oulart, with due respect to both. That's the reality. County will always be where it's at as it attracts a following who don't attend club games.

The young man can rage all he likes but money talks and the other walks. Mid summer big inter county games is where it's at for the GAA.
BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 540 - 31/08/2019 01:31:17 2230878

i think you will find majority of people in every county their club means more than county.it does to me anyway

we aint going to agree,he merely pointed out the frustration of the club player right across the country,and to think all is rosy in the garden because the gaa got a big crowd for the leinster final is head in the sand stuff.

young lads are different now to 20 years ago,they have access to college,travelling (not just emigration thankfully),and umpteen sports from gaa to rugby to golf to whatever.only one of those sports cant plan a fixture schedule and expect players to drop by all for them.that attitude is just unsustainable and the gaa has become so separated from its roots it is in orbit.

there's a spate of walkovers given constantly in every county,would this not be an alarm bell for you?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 31/08/2019 10:53:55    2230939

Replying To perfect10:  "However at the end of the day I'm sure the vast majority of Wexicans would rather be winning a Leinster final v Kilkenny in June/July rather than going to watch Rathnure play Oulart, with due respect to both. That's the reality. County will always be where it's at as it attracts a following who don't attend club games.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 540 - 31/08/2019 01:31:17 2230878

i think you will find majority of people in every county their club means more than county.it does to me anyway

we aint going to agree,he merely pointed out the frustration of the club player right across the country,and to think all is rosy in the garden because the gaa got a big crowd for the leinster final is head in the sand stuff.

young lads are different now to 20 years ago,they have access to college,travelling (not just emigration thankfully),and umpteen sports from gaa to rugby to golf to whatever.only one of those sports cant plan a fixture schedule and expect players to drop by all for them.that attitude is just unsustainable and the gaa has become so separated from its roots it is in orbit.

there's a spate of walkovers given constantly in every county,would this not be an alarm bell for you?"
A little bit about club v county. I am/was a good club man. However many prefer county over club because of the parochial nature of club. It's always lauded as this great thing, uniting the community. For everyone who has fond memories of the club their are almost as many who don't. Many times fellas have told me they couldn't get a game because their father didn't play, they weren't in the clique. They were as good as other fellas but the connected one got the game time, the praise and the help up. They could make Fitzgibbon or Siggerson teams but not their club. Thus they enjoyed college gaa over club. A young fella in his late teens gets concussed from a belt over some aul grudge going back to his grandfather's time. Another fella is needed on the farm at hay or silage time but goes to the Junior club game where every lad gets a run out bar him and he comes home to an eating from the father,who could have done with the help. Luckily I played senior club football, but some of my friends were as good and were left aside. So they have no baggage in following county.

young lads are different now to 20 years ago,they have access to college,travelling (not just emigration thankfully),and umpteen sports from gaa to rugby to golf to whatever
Secondly 20 years ago the same percentages had access to college, travelling (no emmigration then) rugby was played in all provincial towns like in the towns cupcompetition. John Hayes played with Bruff, Ireland 2000-2011. Brian Rigney played with Portlaoise Ireland mid 1990s. Tullow produced Bernard Jackman, Ireland 2000s. Where it has expanded is mostly gaeltacht areas. Soccer clubs took off post Italia 1990. Basketball was played in the same clubs, golf too. So the average 40-50 year old had every oppertunity.

The time, as I keep saying, for good weather championship would be there under the old September system. In football super 8s finish at the end of July so that's just 4 counties who would play til mid August, 2 till the 3rd week of September. Hurling only 2 left after mid August also. The problem is not the all ireland system it's at county board level. What has been going on in Wexford since 28th July when ye departed the hurling?? Ye departed the football in mid June?? Like half the counties in the country.

It's clubs who vote county board members, well why do they vote for ones who can't have a ready timetable available when their county team exists championship.

You talk about times changing. The change isn't education, travel, other sports...that's been there since the early 1990s. I'm a club man but the change, if any, is that county games are going to pull in a lot more interest from people who have no involvement in a club. Also as I said earlier, nationally, people are going to tune in to Wexford v KK on tv over and above anything the parochial club can offer. The GAA will not offer upJune and July to the club. Money.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 31/08/2019 12:14:14    2230954

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "A little bit about club v county. I am/was a good club man. However many prefer county over club because of the parochial nature of club. It's always lauded as this great thing, uniting the community. For everyone who has fond memories of the club their are almost as many who don't. Many times fellas have told me they couldn't get a game because their father didn't play, they weren't in the clique. They were as good as other fellas but the connected one got the game time, the praise and the help up. They could make Fitzgibbon or Siggerson teams but not their club. Thus they enjoyed college gaa over club. A young fella in his late teens gets concussed from a belt over some aul grudge going back to his grandfather's time. Another fella is needed on the farm at hay or silage time but goes to the Junior club game where every lad gets a run out bar him and he comes home to an eating from the father,who could have done with the help. Luckily I played senior club football, but some of my friends were as good and were left aside. So they have no baggage in following county.

young lads are different now to 20 years ago,they have access to college,travelling (not just emigration thankfully),and umpteen sports from gaa to rugby to golf to whatever
Secondly 20 years ago the same percentages had access to college, travelling (no emmigration then) rugby was played in all provincial towns like in the towns cupcompetition. John Hayes played with Bruff, Ireland 2000-2011. Brian Rigney played with Portlaoise Ireland mid 1990s. Tullow produced Bernard Jackman, Ireland 2000s. Where it has expanded is mostly gaeltacht areas. Soccer clubs took off post Italia 1990. Basketball was played in the same clubs, golf too. So the average 40-50 year old had every oppertunity.

The time, as I keep saying, for good weather championship would be there under the old September system. In football super 8s finish at the end of July so that's just 4 counties who would play til mid August, 2 till the 3rd week of September. Hurling only 2 left after mid August also. The problem is not the all ireland system it's at county board level. What has been going on in Wexford since 28th July when ye departed the hurling?? Ye departed the football in mid June?? Like half the counties in the country.

It's clubs who vote county board members, well why do they vote for ones who can't have a ready timetable available when their county team exists championship.

You talk about times changing. The change isn't education, travel, other sports...that's been there since the early 1990s. I'm a club man but the change, if any, is that county games are going to pull in a lot more interest from people who have no involvement in a club. Also as I said earlier, nationally, people are going to tune in to Wexford v KK on tv over and above anything the parochial club can offer. The GAA will not offer upJune and July to the club. Money."
I know where you are coming from. Just to point out that in Wexford there have been 2 rounds of club championship hurling and 2 rounds of championship football since July 28th (3 of football if you include this weekend). And there were 2 rounds each of club championship football and hurling played in April too. I dont think the fixtures committee in Wexford couldve done any more. This means that the entire championship, football and hurling, will have been completed between end of March and early October. I dont see how it couldve been organised any better. If lads dont take the club league games that are run off between May and July seriously, as evidenced by the number of walkovers, that is surely not the fault of the Board or Fixtures Committee but rather the clubs/players?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 31/08/2019 16:27:16    2231012

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To BliainanÁir:  "A little bit about club v county. I am/was a good club man. However many prefer county over club because of the parochial nature of club. It's always lauded as this great thing, uniting the community. For everyone who has fond memories of the club their are almost as many who don't. Many times fellas have told me they couldn't get a game because their father didn't play, they weren't in the clique. They were as good as other fellas but the connected one got the game time, the praise and the help up. They could make Fitzgibbon or Siggerson teams but not their club. Thus they enjoyed college gaa over club. A young fella in his late teens gets concussed from a belt over some aul grudge going back to his grandfather's time. Another fella is needed on the farm at hay or silage time but goes to the Junior club game where every lad gets a run out bar him and he comes home to an eating from the father,who could have done with the help. Luckily I played senior club football, but some of my friends were as good and were left aside. So they have no baggage in following county.

You talk about times changing. The change isn't education, travel, other sports...that's been there since the early 1990s. I'm a club man but the change, if any, is that county games are going to pull in a lot more interest from people who have no involvement in a club. Also as I said earlier, nationally, people are going to tune in to Wexford v KK on tv over and above anything the parochial club can offer. The GAA will not offer upJune and July to the club. Money."
I know where you are coming from. Just to point out that in Wexford there have been 2 rounds of club championship hurling and 2 rounds of championship football since July 28th (3 of football if you include this weekend). And there were 2 rounds each of club championship football and hurling played in April too. I dont think the fixtures committee in Wexford couldve done any more. This means that the entire championship, football and hurling, will have been completed between end of March and early October. I dont see how it couldve been organised any better. If lads dont take the club league games that are run off between May and July seriously, as evidenced by the number of walkovers, that is surely not the fault of the Board or Fixtures Committee but rather the clubs/players?"
Fair enough Viking what more can your CB do.

Club players won't play in June or July unless the 35 odd county players separate from club during these months.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 31/08/2019 17:49:34    2231029

Replying To Canuck:  "If you played on Clem or Sylvia Linnane you knew you were in a game. It would be helpful also if you had eyes in the back of your head to watch out for them when behind you."
Sylie and his Galway team mates attended mass together, as was usual in those days, before the '87 All Ireland Final. At the end of mass the Priest, as usual, turned to the congregation and intoned to the well known incantation 'The Lord be with You' to which the vast majority of the worshippers replied 'and also with you'. It is said however that Sylvie, in a neat little bit of ecumenical improvisation, varied the standard reply to 'and with Harry Ryan'- the man he was marking that afternoon

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/09/2019 12:34:11    2231150

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Sylie and his Galway team mates attended mass together, as was usual in those days, before the '87 All Ireland Final. At the end of mass the Priest, as usual, turned to the congregation and intoned to the well known incantation 'The Lord be with You' to which the vast majority of the worshippers replied 'and also with you'. It is said however that Sylvie, in a neat little bit of ecumenical improvisation, varied the standard reply to 'and with Harry Ryan'- the man he was marking that afternoon"
The dark red hair didn't do him any favours! If he had played for any of the big three he'd have got better fair play. A certain Tipp forward, feigning injury, got him sent off in Croke Park - not nice - that's one thing Sylvie wouldn't have done! A brave heart!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1795 - 02/09/2019 11:57:50    2231797