Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final

Replying To witnof:  "Jaysus KK always seem to find it hard to take their beating....or is it just becuase its Tipp?"
Just looking at the picture why was Hogan wearing #31?

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 21/08/2019 13:18:24    2228194

Congrats to Tipp. The most consistant team this year. A masterclass in playing with and against 14 men in the semi and AI final. When they beat Kilkenny it's never by small margins is it? They are worthy winners. A particular class act was the entire team visiting the children's hospitals the very next day. I think Kilkenny improved with each match after the Leinster Final. There is a future there and I think they did very well to get to the final. When dust settles they can be proud of what they achieved and should build on it. As regards the tough job refs do, whatever extra and practical help needed should be given, be it VAR or whatever along with proper training for umpires.
Roll on next year and the beginning of the Banner domination of the 20's.

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 117 - 21/08/2019 13:24:38    2228200

Replying To gatha:  "Just looking at the picture why was Hogan wearing #31?"
He got blood on his jersey in an earlier accidental clash.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1143 - 21/08/2019 13:29:04    2228208

Replying To witnof:  "Jaysus KK always seem to find it hard to take their beating....or is it just becuase its Tipp?"
My point was all these points have already been made over and over and he comes in a spews out stuff we've heard pages back with little relevance to discussion that preceded his post

So I'll address them again
The bottom line is it was a sending off of fence and Hogan got sent off - yes, most on here agree

All the whataboutery and other bullsh1t about fellas being astounded by the red card is of no significance other than to create a bit of a smokescreen for the collapse - this is nonsense, there was a post describing the shock in the stadium since no one expected the sending off (incidentally on TV they did not either) This has no bearing on whether or not the red was warranted, but to suggest it is a smokescreen is Jim Corr level stuff

Kilkenny had their chances in the first 20 minutes to be 6/7 points up and didn't take them - they went 5 points up, were the better team for 17 minutes of the 33 that elapsed at the time of the sending off. Tipp had a enjoyed a purple patch from 17 minutes to the sending off. It was far from game over already at 33 mins before sending off

Disappointing the way Cody came out with his stuff about Owens taking to long as I would prefer if a referee used all the time and advice available in order to make the right call and that's what he done - I suspect this is more about how exactly did Owens come to that decision rather than the length it took, of course you want a free to take the time required to make a correct decision but it was clear in the stadium that neither he or his linesman saw or reacted to it. So, the question about how they decided on the sanction has implications for every county

Similar daft attempts by Tyrell and Shefflin to say it was this and it was that. It was a red. End of and the referee got it spot on - Yes the rules were applied in this case, whereas they hadn't been all season or the previous seasons. Tyrrell and Shefflin could have handled the situation much better by admitting with the rules applied in this instance Hogan can have no complaints, but highlighted the inconsistency in the application of the rules

Probably deflected some of the attention from the pointless tactics of constantly knocking in high balls and hoping for a miracle - yes, as has been discussed for pages now, Kilkenny's tactics in the second half were completely ineffective

All been dealt with before, around and around we go

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 21/08/2019 13:29:58    2228210

Replying To sourmilk93:  "He got blood on his jersey in an earlier accidental clash."
Accidentally got a hurl across the face! Nothing accidental about it. He swung the hurl at head height in the direction of a players head from behind the player. There was no control in where that hurl was ending up. The blood on his jersey was because his nose was opened from the pull, the force of which wasn't stopped by the face guard. He may not have meant to split him but he was fully aware of what he was try to do. The ball wasn't within reaching distance.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 21/08/2019 14:18:33    2228231

Replying To Faithfull:  "Accidentally got a hurl across the face! Nothing accidental about it. He swung the hurl at head height in the direction of a players head from behind the player. There was no control in where that hurl was ending up. The blood on his jersey was because his nose was opened from the pull, the force of which wasn't stopped by the face guard. He may not have meant to split him but he was fully aware of what he was try to do. The ball wasn't within reaching distance."
The sliothar was within reaching distance.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 21/08/2019 14:54:46    2228243

Having read the above, I think ye lads just need to agree to differ.
I would say, I hate seeing diving and feigning injury creeping in and getting the opponent sent off.
Every county has a few players who go down easy, try to win frees, etc and it has crept into the game in the last 5 years in particular.
There is no easy answer and it is a dangerous path for hurling to go down.
I will however say I hate the "book the 2 of them" bs that referees go on with. I had a match at the weekend and had listened to an absolute tool for 15 minutes, he had hit me twice off the ball and neither of the 2 brain boxes on the posts saw anything. He hit me on the ball eventually and I absolutely leathered him on the ball. I got booked as it was not a great challenge, but it was not dirty. My point here is, the GAA mentality of "book the 2 of them" is complete nonsense. There is always an aggressor.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 21/08/2019 15:21:43    2228254

Replying To Buachaillbui:  "Congrats to Tipp. The most consistant team this year. A masterclass in playing with and against 14 men in the semi and AI final. When they beat Kilkenny it's never by small margins is it? They are worthy winners. A particular class act was the entire team visiting the children's hospitals the very next day. I think Kilkenny improved with each match after the Leinster Final. There is a future there and I think they did very well to get to the final. When dust settles they can be proud of what they achieved and should build on it. As regards the tough job refs do, whatever extra and practical help needed should be given, be it VAR or whatever along with proper training for umpires.
Roll on next year and the beginning of the Banner domination of the 20's."
Nothing new about all Ireland winning teams both in football and hurling visiting the children's hospital the day after. That has been the norm for many years now. Long may it continue.

Blockandhook (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 21/08/2019 15:48:38    2228271

Ah lad, please tell us this is on youtube? Sounds like great stuff to be honest :-)

StoreysTash wrote:

I had a match at the weekend and had listened to an absolute tool for 15 minutes, he had hit me twice off the ball and neither of the 2 brain boxes on the posts saw anything. He hit me on the ball eventually and I absolutely leathered him on the ball. I got booked as it was not a great challenge, but it was not dirty.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 21/08/2019 15:48:54    2228272

Replying To slayer:  "Ah lad, please tell us this is on youtube? Sounds like great stuff to be honest :-)

StoreysTash wrote:

I had a match at the weekend and had listened to an absolute tool for 15 minutes, he had hit me twice off the ball and neither of the 2 brain boxes on the posts saw anything. He hit me on the ball eventually and I absolutely leathered him on the ball. I got booked as it was not a great challenge, but it was not dirty."
Junior B, surely? Sounds like some craic all right!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 21/08/2019 16:34:19    2228294

Replying To Blockandhook:  "Nothing new about all Ireland winning teams both in football and hurling visiting the children's hospital the day after. That has been the norm for many years now. Long may it continue."
It is new that the entire team went which hasnt happened. Previously it had always been a few. That was my point.

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 117 - 21/08/2019 17:37:30    2228311

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "My point was all these points have already been made over and over and he comes in a spews out stuff we've heard pages back with little relevance to discussion that preceded his post

So I'll address them again
The bottom line is it was a sending off of fence and Hogan got sent off - yes, most on here agree

All the whataboutery and other bullsh1t about fellas being astounded by the red card is of no significance other than to create a bit of a smokescreen for the collapse - this is nonsense, there was a post describing the shock in the stadium since no one expected the sending off (incidentally on TV they did not either) This has no bearing on whether or not the red was warranted, but to suggest it is a smokescreen is Jim Corr level stuff

Kilkenny had their chances in the first 20 minutes to be 6/7 points up and didn't take them - they went 5 points up, were the better team for 17 minutes of the 33 that elapsed at the time of the sending off. Tipp had a enjoyed a purple patch from 17 minutes to the sending off. It was far from game over already at 33 mins before sending off

Disappointing the way Cody came out with his stuff about Owens taking to long as I would prefer if a referee used all the time and advice available in order to make the right call and that's what he done - I suspect this is more about how exactly did Owens come to that decision rather than the length it took, of course you want a free to take the time required to make a correct decision but it was clear in the stadium that neither he or his linesman saw or reacted to it. So, the question about how they decided on the sanction has implications for every county

Similar daft attempts by Tyrell and Shefflin to say it was this and it was that. It was a red. End of and the referee got it spot on - Yes the rules were applied in this case, whereas they hadn't been all season or the previous seasons. Tyrrell and Shefflin could have handled the situation much better by admitting with the rules applied in this instance Hogan can have no complaints, but highlighted the inconsistency in the application of the rules

Probably deflected some of the attention from the pointless tactics of constantly knocking in high balls and hoping for a miracle - yes, as has been discussed for pages now, Kilkenny's tactics in the second half were completely ineffective

All been dealt with before, around and around we go"
I'll summarize so ,Kilkenny had their chances to be more ahead and missed more than you would expect.
Cody said Owens took a long time to make up his mind and you would want to be sure before sending a player off,so ,no, it wasn't about how he came to the decision.
Rules being applied will never be consistently applied as we regularly see from league to championship and referee to referee,that's par for the course. There's no case to be made for Hogan but a lot of attempts being made to make the whole episode a bit greyer.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/08/2019 18:08:15    2228321

The story continues. Now Richie ways in, talking from both sides of his mouth. "He does not blame the referee". Then goes on to accuse him of making a wrong call. What is that?. Like one poster said Richie you went for Barrett with the intent of driving him up into the stand, probably with a fair shoulder. You got your angles or timing wrong. Stuck out your elbow and hit him in the head. That is a red card. Take responsibility for your action. This was all of your making and not the referee, not Barrett or any one else. Misfortunate for you but the facts are the facts.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 21/08/2019 18:43:31    2228329

Replying To sourmilk93:  "He got blood on his jersey in an earlier accidental clash."
So if it is an accident you don't get a card. Thanks for clearing that up.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 21/08/2019 19:24:15    2228339

Replying To gatha:  "So if it is an accident you don't get a card. Thanks for clearing that up."
How did you come to that conclusion from what i replied. Barrett should have been yellow carded for been reckless. Hogan was rightly sent off for raising his elbow intentional to ensure he made contact when he was going to miss the big shoulder he had lined up to do

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1143 - 21/08/2019 19:30:21    2228340

The bottom line here is as always is everyone sees it the way that best suits their county. Some will be a little more reasonable than others but ultimately they will always have a bias towards their own roots and that's only human.
Sometimes it probably is a bit surprising because we see so much of the nothing speak from pundits and commentators who are versed in talking without saying a whole lot.
When you see them try to make some defense for one of their own it just goes to show they are the same as the rest of us behind it all,except ,they have the medals most of us don't.
Anyway , we'll done to Tipp on a well deserved win. The aim now will be to do a back to back which will be very difficult and would mark them apart from a lot of teams.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/08/2019 21:53:58    2228373

Replying To fainleog:  "The sliothar was within reaching distance."
Swinging the hurl behind someone's head, where was the hurl going to end up regardless of whether he connected on the ball our not. The momentum was always going to put the player in front of him in harms way. If he connected on the ball the hurl wasn't just going to come to a stop. It's a new one to me where the word reckless and yellow card can be used in the same sentence. Surely if it's reckless and causes injury it's a red regardless of accidental of not.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 21/08/2019 22:00:21    2228374

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "And around and around we go"
Hefty
Declan Hannon was unwell V Cork in the RR game last year and Kiely Co took him off after 7 minutes, to the consternation of most of us. In the recent semi final it was obvious he was not right from early on but he was left on, fatally in my own opinion, throughout the first half, even more to our consternation,let me odd. Which brings me to last Sunday. Why was a young player, who played such a huge part in knocking out Limerick and thus bound to be targeted anyway, played when he was clearly not right. Cody and his selectors seldom but they did here

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 21/08/2019 22:13:57    2228378

Glad to see weve all moved on from Sundays controversy

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 21/08/2019 23:06:28    2228394

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Having read the above, I think ye lads just need to agree to differ.
I would say, I hate seeing diving and feigning injury creeping in and getting the opponent sent off.
Every county has a few players who go down easy, try to win frees, etc and it has crept into the game in the last 5 years in particular.
There is no easy answer and it is a dangerous path for hurling to go down.
I will however say I hate the "book the 2 of them" bs that referees go on with. I had a match at the weekend and had listened to an absolute tool for 15 minutes, he had hit me twice off the ball and neither of the 2 brain boxes on the posts saw anything. He hit me on the ball eventually and I absolutely leathered him on the ball. I got booked as it was not a great challenge, but it was not dirty. My point here is, the GAA mentality of "book the 2 of them" is complete nonsense. There is always an aggressor."
I agree it is getting more pronounced.They deal easy with feigning in hockey. If the player tries to over sell the foul to the referee. The ref changes the punishment from the fouler to the embellisher. He goes in the box. There is a stigma attached to having this called again you. The opposition will bury you the next chance they get and your team mates don't like it either. There was no reason to accuse Barrett of embellishment and he needed medical assessment for concussion.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 21/08/2019 23:28:18    2228400