Limerick V Kilkenny

Wides must count as scores in Limerick, I've never heard so much talk about them after a match.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 17:44:26    2217717

Replying To welpastit:  "Already said Limerick didn't deserve it since we didn't raise our game to required level. Doesn't change fact that Kilkenny fans disputed EVERY single free. They botched and moaned all day but NOTHING about Hannon been taken out or Nash nearly getting a broken jaw from a well placed elbow. Least sporting fans I have encountered."
Jaysus, were ye like this in '74 too?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 17:45:17    2217719

Replying To mooncat:  "I have been going to Croke park for over 50 years now,and Thurles and Nowlan Park and every other park but the behaviour of the LK fans yesterday was the worse I have ever come across,I am not saying our fans are perfect but yesterday the LK fans booed Tj when he was taking his first 2 frees,they booed him when he was getting his man of the match award,there was fans in front of me were on their feet every time KK got a free,now not all LK fans are like that,there were some lovely fans around us,but for you to come on here and say Kk are least sporting fans I say look to your fans whose sportsmanship towards TJ left an awful lot to be desired"
There is nothing worse than booing a free taker. Also with watching the game for 50 years the decent fans used to control this by telling these idiots to cut it out. Most of them do not have a clue about the game or what it takes to get to the level of these players.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 28/07/2019 18:01:24    2217734

Replying To ballydalane:  "Kilkenny would be aggrieved by it, but no chance the likes of you would be on here crying about it, that's for damn sure"
The likes of me? Oh heaven forbid anybody in a football county may actually have an educated opinion on the game. Thankfully though we have people here from the self proclaimed home of hurling to show us the light.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 28/07/2019 18:12:26    2217742

Replying To carlovia:  "I think that's harsh.

The game is too fast to be reffed 100% correct.

One mans defenders foul is another's overcarrying by the forward.

I think the ref had a good game overall, just unfortunate that he missed the 65 at the end.

Also it was a brilliant game and both counties supporters should be proud not arguing over every 50-50 decision."
perhaps you need to bring that spirit of magnimity to posters on the carlow fball forum when the whine about refs and how it cost us etc!! lots of contentous calls again today. its gone too serious to have such inconsistent and often poor reffing often deciding things. i dont agree that the 65 was the only talking point from yesterday. lots there to look at.

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2625 - 28/07/2019 18:28:05    2217756

Look this discussion is getting old i think everything covered and more.......a very average kk team deservedly out worked a rusty superior hurling team in limerick ....tipp has two hands on cup again sheedy is a great man manager with an excellent team with lots of options off bench ........but as I've said earlier this new system cheapens the the mc carthy cup it's not championship when you can lose 3 games and still lift cup ...great for the coffers though !!!!!

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 28/07/2019 18:39:31    2217765

Fair play to kilkenny they were brilliant, Cody is amazing. But credit our lads too they fought tooth and nail for everything couldnt have given any more. There will be no recriminations on these boys after the joy and bliss they have given us the past 18 months.

As for the officials there are some decisions that are hard to spot and some blatant, i do a bit of refereeing myself at underage. Theres times you make a decision on the sport and you wouldnt be convinced its right.

However the 65 at the end was blatant , also i dont think kilkenny guy was 13metres away therefore a limerick free, it was a horrible decision. Cost us a shot at getting the draw. But so did our wides, and an excellent kilkenny performance.

AS for the other decisions,
The penalty , i dont think it was , The hurley was held. But thats often hard to spot, how many times have we all played matches when your own hurley is held and even you dont see it. The foul on Gillane was easier to spot than hurley being held.

Did he over step the 20m line, yes, but so did four kilkenny lads, before Gillane, Hard to spot. Look at the footage when penalty being struck both linesmen were bang on the 20, excellently positioned. as pen being struck 2 kilkenny lads behind linesmen were in the box (well theyd hardly do it in front of him!)

How many steps did Fennelly take for the goal - more than four, kilkenny keeper stepped over the line taking puckout (tell nearly always do i know) - again hard to spot. Puckout was magnificent

Was it a sideline in the first place to limerick i think it was, having reviewed footage i still think it was , but not totally certain, Was Kilkenny defender 13metres away from sideline cut - i dont think so

And finally to the kilkenny fans around me fair dues ye celebrated at the end as if ye had reached your first ever all ireland, and why shouldnt ye. Good luck to ye an enjoy the final

The weekend matches for me show that

-umpires should be trained refs same as linesmen, the should be assistant refs wired up to main ref telling him whats going on and not restricted to foul play, like they do in rugby
- Theres an arguement for two refs
- Where a game is televised a tmo should be used, for scores and foul play only. IF we can stop a game for injuries and fella tying laces we can stop for tmo

Champions2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 4 - 28/07/2019 18:50:45    2217775

Replying To ballydalane:  "Jaysus, were ye like this in '74 too?"
Well there were supporters of your county behind me in the stand, who were still complaining about 1973 and a few of them still furious about it.. You could not make it up

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 28/07/2019 19:16:35    2217785

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "Look this discussion is getting old i think everything covered and more.......a very average kk team deservedly out worked a rusty superior hurling team in limerick ....tipp has two hands on cup again sheedy is a great man manager with an excellent team with lots of options off bench ........but as I've said earlier this new system cheapens the the mc carthy cup it's not championship when you can lose 3 games and still lift cup ...great for the coffers though !!!!!"
Cork were going to hammer us. Then of course Limerick were going to hammer us. And now Tipp are gonna hammer us. Love being underdog, this is great!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 19:33:49    2217793

Replying To Bon:  "The likes of me? Oh heaven forbid anybody in a football county may actually have an educated opinion on the game. Thankfully though we have people here from the self proclaimed home of hurling to show us the light."
Who said anything about "football" counties? You're the one who brought that up.

Fact is, you would not be on here whinging about a Kilkenny 65 not being given. You know it and I know it.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 19:36:02    2217795

Replying To ballydalane:  "Cork were going to hammer us. Then of course Limerick were going to hammer us. And now Tipp are gonna hammer us. Love being underdog, this is great!"
Yes and Galway were going to hammer ye in Nowlan park and Wexford were going to hammer ye in the Leinster Final.Oh wait a minute.!

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2161 - 28/07/2019 19:51:19    2217801

Replying To endgame:  "Yes and Galway were going to hammer ye in Nowlan park and Wexford were going to hammer ye in the Leinster Final.Oh wait a minute.!"
Ha, what's your definition of "hammering"? There were a lot of Cork 6-10s and Limerick 6-10s (and a few +10s for good measure) hovering around the prediction forum the last few weeks, and no doubt they'll be awash with Tipp 6-10 / 10+ now, but no matter. Cody and his team of plucky underdogs will try give Tipp a game of it.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 20:30:41    2217832

Replying To endgame:  "Yes and Galway were going to hammer ye in Nowlan park and Wexford were going to hammer ye in the Leinster Final.Oh wait a minute.!"
Fact remains this is weakest kk team in 2 decades just goes to show the slip in standards all around the country .......reiterate this is no longer a CHAMPIONSHIP but a revenue donkey for headquarters any cup tournament inb"any" sport where you can lose up to 3 times and still collect the cup!!!!!!Well what more can i say
And I've no problem in saying cork limerick are better teams than kk and perhaps wexford and Clare but that's life we left with tipp and kk in final and if both play to potential which cork or limerick didn't there will only be one winner tipp but if tipp not up for it kk will always take the scraps

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 28/07/2019 21:01:42    2217852

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "Fact remains this is weakest kk team in 2 decades just goes to show the slip in standards all around the country .......reiterate this is no longer a CHAMPIONSHIP but a revenue donkey for headquarters any cup tournament inb"any" sport where you can lose up to 3 times and still collect the cup!!!!!!Well what more can i say
And I've no problem in saying cork limerick are better teams than kk and perhaps wexford and Clare but that's life we left with tipp and kk in final and if both play to potential which cork or limerick didn't there will only be one winner tipp but if tipp not up for it kk will always take the scraps"
Rubbish of the highest order. If Cork were better than KK why didn't they beat them 2 weeks ago? And were well beaten.

Cork are lovely to look at but mark tightly and bar Patrick Horgan they have no one you can rely on. Can't win a high ball in the half forwards. Knocking at the door for 6 years and not good enough.

Limerick are a good team, just hard to do back to backs.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 28/07/2019 21:31:26    2217871

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "Fact remains this is weakest kk team in 2 decades just goes to show the slip in standards all around the country .......reiterate this is no longer a CHAMPIONSHIP but a revenue donkey for headquarters any cup tournament inb"any" sport where you can lose up to 3 times and still collect the cup!!!!!!Well what more can i say
And I've no problem in saying cork limerick are better teams than kk and perhaps wexford and Clare but that's life we left with tipp and kk in final and if both play to potential which cork or limerick didn't there will only be one winner tipp but if tipp not up for it kk will always take the scraps"
I'd agree that it's one of the weaker teams of the Cody era, perhaps the weakest his had in terms of raw talent, but I've never ever seen one of his teams give up in matches the way Cork have done umpteen times this decade in Croke Park.

I tipped Cork to beat us, I seriously overrated your lot, we were so much better than ye I couldn't believe it.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 21:55:24    2217884

Replying To Viking66:  "English maybe?"
care to elaborate?

mr305 (Galway) - Posts: 46 - 28/07/2019 22:04:28    2217887

Head is melting listening to Sunday game...... You'd swear Wexford won

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 28/07/2019 22:11:54    2217891

Absolute rubbish and no facts in your statement at all. The system of the championship is in place, you know in advance how it works. Kilkenny and Tipp have accessed the year and set their stalls to peak in July/August. How you can have a gripe about teams losing still being in the Championship. The 4 provincial finalists were all in the semi final. Not sure how often that has happened since the introduction of the qualifiers

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 28/07/2019 22:13:29    2217892

Soory you on your own with those points, yes maybe not strongest KK team but they have some new young players. No way are Clare, Cork near KK, and yet again 2019 has served up vintage hurling, a real joy to watch. Wouldn't surprise me if they win AI, that is not a reflection of poor standards but a shining example of hurlings renaissance.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 28/07/2019 22:51:58    2217917

Replying To ballydalane:  "Jaysus, were ye like this in '74 too?"
No but it appears that ye were. Winning is definitely a Kilkenny thing and fair play but winning with grace or style definitely is not. Neither it seems is losing with grace or style

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 28/07/2019 22:55:32    2217922