Is David Clifford The Best Footballer In The Country Right Now?

The best footballer in the country right now Seanie OShea

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 03/11/2019 12:01:36    2247363

Replying To Donegalman:  "I would agree. Love to have him on our team, no questions about his ability, just the thread claims he is best in the country.

Any player would be audited ad infinitum if that claim were made about him."
That's true Donegalman, David has massive potential and is an excellent player already, still looking forward to seeing how he develops in the coming years.

Michael Murphy was an excellent player at 18 when he came on the senior intercounty scene and there are a lot of comparisons between himself and David and even between Murphy and Seanie Shea.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/11/2019 12:58:32    2247375

For me Michael Murphy is the best footballer in the country right now with David Clifford a close second.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 03/11/2019 13:10:07    2247378

I'd love to know what the issue the Dubs on here have with Clifford? As if the same comments they've been making were made about "King Con" they'd be anti Dublin

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 03/11/2019 16:05:15    2247414

Replying To Donegalman:  "The best footballer in the country 'right now'.

Minutes, days, months, this season, championship, last game, last inter county game?

What is the timeframe?"
I realise this has caused so much confusion. What i meant was that of all players in the game right now, clifford is the best footballer for me. He has so much to his game and genuinely very little he cant do for a top forward.

For me the only 2 players of the last 5 or so years in the same category, in regards to being such complete players are 1. Michael Murphy and 2. Diarmud Connolly

Connolly hasnt been about much recently and Murphy nearing the end of his career so i think Clifford is more effective at this point.

Thats my take on 'best right now' but each to their own

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 03/11/2019 17:36:16    2247438

Replying To boman11:  "I realise this has caused so much confusion. What i meant was that of all players in the game right now, clifford is the best footballer for me. He has so much to his game and genuinely very little he cant do for a top forward.

For me the only 2 players of the last 5 or so years in the same category, in regards to being such complete players are 1. Michael Murphy and 2. Diarmud Connolly

Connolly hasnt been about much recently and Murphy nearing the end of his career so i think Clifford is more effective at this point.

Thats my take on 'best right now' but each to their own"
Really looking forward to seen what David and Sean can do in 2020 also Rian O'Neill Jarlath og Burns from Armagh and Oisín Gallen from Donegal . Great young talent.

Themall1916 (Kerry) - Posts: 98 - 03/11/2019 17:48:25    2247445

Will be great to see what David and Con and a host or others can do in 2020, Stevie has won the accolade as best player of 2019 and that is as near to right now we can get, hard to argue I think tho I'm sure some will.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 03/11/2019 20:18:01    2247500

Replying To boman11:  "I realise this has caused so much confusion. What i meant was that of all players in the game right now, clifford is the best footballer for me. He has so much to his game and genuinely very little he cant do for a top forward.

Thats my take on 'best right now' but each to their own"
Yeah but what timeframe is 'right now' for Clifford and all the other players too? It wouldn't be as confusing if you were more specific with terms of reference.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 03/11/2019 20:31:59    2247509

Replying To Donegalman:  "Yeah but what timeframe is 'right now' for Clifford and all the other players too? It wouldn't be as confusing if you were more specific with terms of reference."
The timeframe is for aslong as the player in question has been playing at the top level, its hard to say as some top players have been around for longer but in the time clifford has been at the top now i think he has shown a lot more to his game thsn anyone else at the moment.

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 03/11/2019 21:35:03    2247526

If it is the past 5 years, I would have many ahead of Clifford.

But if we were to have forwards alone, he would be up there with McManus of Monaghan but not ahead of him.
Kilkenny, Brogan, Connolly, Con Ocallaghan and possibly Paul Geaney would be ahead. Ryan McHugh and Murphy would be ahead too. Then you have the likes of Andi Moran. Clifford is better than him in the past 2 years but over the past 5 years it would have to be Moran. What about Peter Harte?

Over the past 2 years alone, Clifford would be in my top 6 forwards.
This year in my top 3. This in championship alone.

If you extended the playing sample pool out to all positions, how could you ignore Cluxton?
How could you ignore Fenton, McCaffrey, Lee Keegan?

So over the past 5 years, he would be a top 15 player for me.

He hasn't played enough yet.
But guaranteed, he will be possibly the biggest football name next year if he stays injury free.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 03/11/2019 22:36:30    2247536

Con is the best player in the country right now. My own opinion obviously. Love watching him play. He is fearless.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/11/2019 22:39:05    2247537

Con is the best player in the country right now. My own opinion obviously. Love watching him play. He is fearless.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/11/2019 23:37:52    2247554

Replying To Donegalman:  "If it is the past 5 years, I would have many ahead of Clifford.

But if we were to have forwards alone, he would be up there with McManus of Monaghan but not ahead of him.
Kilkenny, Brogan, Connolly, Con Ocallaghan and possibly Paul Geaney would be ahead. Ryan McHugh and Murphy would be ahead too. Then you have the likes of Andi Moran. Clifford is better than him in the past 2 years but over the past 5 years it would have to be Moran. What about Peter Harte?

Over the past 2 years alone, Clifford would be in my top 6 forwards.
This year in my top 3. This in championship alone.

If you extended the playing sample pool out to all positions, how could you ignore Cluxton?
How could you ignore Fenton, McCaffrey, Lee Keegan?

So over the past 5 years, he would be a top 15 player for me.

He hasn't played enough yet.
But guaranteed, he will be possibly the biggest football name next year if he stays injury free."
Mcmanus fair enough i should have mentioned him too but as for the rest i would have to disagree.

Bernard Brogan yes mosy definitely but his best years were aroumd the 2011-2014/15

None of the rest you have mentioned are as good or skilled as Clifford, for me

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 04/11/2019 16:18:34    2247697

Michael Murphy / Diarmuid Connolly

The rest.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1070 - 04/11/2019 16:36:22    2247701

What to Kerry followers think?

Geaney compared to Clifford? He had a brilliant game v us in Croke park. Had a great final too.
OShea compared to Clifford?

David Moran likewise- in terms of consistency. Stephen Obrien would be up there too for me if he could avoid the black cards he picks up.

Impossible for me to compare a player to others when they didn't play with or against each other ever, nor play during the same season.

I would pick Mark McHugh ahead of him only because he never has a bad game, ever, even during our dreadful Gallagher years. Murphy likewise. They are consistently good as well as consistently available unlike others who seem to get injured more regularly.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/11/2019 16:50:04    2247705

Replying To Donegalman:  "What to Kerry followers think?

Geaney compared to Clifford? He had a brilliant game v us in Croke park. Had a great final too.

David Moran likewise- in terms of consistency. Stephen Obrien would be up there too for me if he could avoid the black cards he picks up.

Impossible for me to compare a player to others when they didn't play with or against each other ever, nor play during the same season.

I would pick Mark McHugh ahead of him only because he never has a bad game, ever, even during our dreadful Gallagher years. Murphy likewise. They are consistently good as well as consistently available unlike others who seem to get injured more regularly."
You'd pick Mark McHugh ahead of Clifford?!! That's one of the worst statements I've ever heard. In my opinion Clifford is our best player followed by O'Shea followed by Geaney.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 04/11/2019 22:01:13    2247784

Replying To Kerry15:  "You'd pick Mark McHugh ahead of Clifford?!! That's one of the worst statements I've ever heard. In my opinion Clifford is our best player followed by O'Shea followed by Geaney."
Sorry, not Mark, his brother Ryan I meant. Big difference.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/11/2019 23:02:07    2247803

Replying To Donegalman:  "What to Kerry followers think?

I would pick Mark McHugh ahead of him only because he never has a bad game, ever, even during our dreadful Gallagher years. Murphy likewise. They are consistently good as well as consistently available unlike others who seem to get injured more regularly."
Is mark mchugh still playing for ye Donegalman?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/11/2019 07:46:34    2247816

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Is mark mchugh still playing for ye Donegalman?"
Only for his club. Not in Clifford's catagory, ever.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/11/2019 09:32:44    2247827

Replying To Donegalman:  "Only for his club. Not in Clifford's catagory, ever."
Sound, I liked mark as a player but that year he took away from the game in 2014 seemed to hamper him big time.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/11/2019 10:18:09    2247841