Is David Clifford The Best Footballer In The Country Right Now?

Replying To shoulderghost:  "As well as Cian Johnson, Offaly and 18 year-old Oisin Gallen from Donegal. They're right up there with Clifford!"
Cian Johnson? He hasn't played any adult inter county championship football so explain to me how he's up there with Clifford? Your last post disregarded David Cliffords underage feats because they're "not comparable with adult" while most of Johnson's achievements are underage.
At least try to maintain some consistency with your blind criticisms

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 284 - 27/10/2019 12:56:48    2246094

Cian Johnson, Oisin Gallen and Rian O'Neill are all great talents to be fair but at this moment and time they are all a fair bit away from David

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 27/10/2019 13:10:33    2246098

Replying To catch22:  "Sean O Shea would be a better player for me and he is in the same age group unless you want some lad with the same date of birth.
Not as much hype and he's on the same team but Clifford is marked out as some sort of messiah or something. The fact O Shea is on the same team and a better player sets that record straight. As I said ,a good footballer but spare us all the aul blarney about being the best like a good man."
You were the one mentioned age or age groups so at least get it right, quite frankly youre full of it and id love to rip the bag out of you in person for a while.. you seem to easy.

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 27/10/2019 13:22:28    2246101

Replying To boman11:  "You were the one mentioned age or age groups so at least get it right, quite frankly youre full of it and id love to rip the bag out of you in person for a while.. you seem to easy."
Good man yourself, I thought that's what I was dealing with so thanks for proving me right.
I'd. say the only bag you're ripping regularly is your own by the sound of it.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/10/2019 14:20:56    2246109

Replying To catch22:  "Good man yourself, I thought that's what I was dealing with so thanks for proving me right.
I'd. say the only bag you're ripping regularly is your own by the sound of it."
Did you go and gie the thumbs up for yiur comment off your other account again mate? Haha nice one, get a life you sad wee man

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 27/10/2019 16:29:34    2246130

Replying To boman11:  "Did you go and gie the thumbs up for yiur comment off your other account again mate? Haha nice one, get a life you sad wee man"
Should you not be more worried about Brexit than posts on here, there's a good lad.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3723 - 27/10/2019 19:08:56    2246162

Replying To Fionn:  "Should you not be more worried about Brexit than posts on here, there's a good lad."
Thought you weren't interested in this topic? Why are you still commenting?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 27/10/2019 20:29:57    2246171

King David scored 9 points for east Kerry today against the St Brendan's board putting his team into the county final.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/10/2019 20:38:14    2246172

Replying To Fionn:  "Should you not be more worried about Brexit than posts on here, there's a good lad."
Posts on thread i started, how dare I. Says the same poor fella that thought 'end of' would end the very same thread with a useless contribution.

There its getting late so stop rambling on muck and get to bed fionn, son

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 27/10/2019 20:57:07    2246176

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "King David scored 9 points for east Kerry today against the St Brendan's board putting his team into the county final."
But that's "just club football" so that doesn't count. Now if it was club hurling then thst would prove how good a footballer he is

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 27/10/2019 22:05:55    2246187

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "King David scored 9 points for east Kerry today against the St Brendan's board putting his team into the county final."
He has been top form in club championships, heavy scoring in every game, unreal

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 27/10/2019 22:08:56    2246189

Looking forward to the DVD before Xmas. King Puck Vs St Brendan's.

In all seriousness fair play to young David sounds like he had a good game against St Brendan's. He's a good little player without question.

Doesn't he play for Fossa? Are they a Junior club? Do they lump regions in together to make up Senior sides to give lads games, a mix of the best players from across an area of the county to make a hybrid super club. Must be weird playing your club football with a region as opposed to your club, but I'm sure there is logic behind it, it's an interesting concept.

Well done David.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/10/2019 22:44:09    2246196

Replying To oneoff:  "But that's "just club football" so that doesn't count. Now if it was club hurling then thst would prove how good a footballer he is"
The red thumbs on show tonight haha wonder how many different users that is

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 27/10/2019 22:57:11    2246200

Yeah the only "club football" thing

I remember well Diarmuid Connolly's All Ireland winning contributions being described as such

Funny how selective a person's outrage can be when it doesn't suit them

Congrats to David on an excellent performance

No doubting his talent

I remember Colm Basquel scoring 3-4 against an excellent Na Fianna side a couple weeks ago and 1-4 the other night to follow it up.

4-8 in two games

He doesn't get the same hype though...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 28/10/2019 09:59:09    2246240

Replying To dakid:  "Cian Johnson? He hasn't played any adult inter county championship football so explain to me how he's up there with Clifford? Your last post disregarded David Cliffords underage feats because they're "not comparable with adult" while most of Johnson's achievements are underage.
At least try to maintain some consistency with your blind criticisms"
Johnson has played senior with Offaly in the league. It was by choice that he opted to stick with the U-20's, even though the senior management wanted him for the championship. I actually admire him for that. He'll have enough time to play senior. When knowledgeable football men, close to the game on the ground, mention Johnson in the same breath as Matt Connor, then it's time to pay heed.

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 28/10/2019 10:35:23    2246244

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah the only "club football" thing

I remember well Diarmuid Connolly's All Ireland winning contributions being described as such

Funny how selective a person's outrage can be when it doesn't suit them

Congrats to David on an excellent performance

No doubting his talent

I remember Colm Basquel scoring 3-4 against an excellent Na Fianna side a couple weeks ago and 1-4 the other night to follow it up.

4-8 in two games

He doesn't get the same hype though..."
I'm a fan of Basquel myself, he's a super player.

Clifford has been doing business for club and county though for past 2 years. even before that, albeit its 'only minor.' You can only play against what is put infront of you and I don't even remember anybody so dominant in minor footballer before. Now the transition is coming through to senior and he has already been standing out.

But yes Colm Basquel is a great player, I would like to see him more involved with Dublin next year. Definitely has the potential to make a name for himself on the intercounty stage

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 28/10/2019 11:40:22    2246262

Replying To boman11:  "I'm a fan of Basquel myself, he's a super player.

Clifford has been doing business for club and county though for past 2 years. even before that, albeit its 'only minor.' You can only play against what is put infront of you and I don't even remember anybody so dominant in minor footballer before. Now the transition is coming through to senior and he has already been standing out.

But yes Colm Basquel is a great player, I would like to see him more involved with Dublin next year. Definitely has the potential to make a name for himself on the intercounty stage"
He has the potential alright and he's already proven as much already with seniors

For me he's up there as one of the best finishers currently available to Dublin and has another gear to him that we might see in the not so distant future

He has a cool head in front of goal. Scoring a goal late on to deny Na Fianna and another against Judes to win the game.

If he has another showing like that against Thomas Davis he'll be well up the list as player of championship

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 28/10/2019 13:46:25    2246286

Replying To TheUsername:  "Looking forward to the DVD before Xmas. King Puck Vs St Brendan's.

In all seriousness fair play to young David sounds like he had a good game against St Brendan's. He's a good little player without question.

Doesn't he play for Fossa? Are they a Junior club? Do they lump regions in together to make up Senior sides to give lads games, a mix of the best players from across an area of the county to make a hybrid super club. Must be weird playing your club football with a region as opposed to your club, but I'm sure there is logic behind it, it's an interesting concept.

Well done David."
I could explain our footballing championship to you but it would blow your tiny little mind.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/10/2019 18:39:23    2246331

Best not then, I'd hate to take any of that geniuses away from the cattle! :D

Sour milk all round. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/10/2019 19:08:08    2246339

I don't know if he's the best in the country but he's definitely going in the right direction!

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 28/10/2019 20:46:13    2246352