Sean Cavanagh Kerry Fans Dogs/Animals

Replying To greysoil:  "Think Brolly sums Cavanagh up perfectly https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=R6OXLC2uHlQ
Been to many Kerry games over the years & I certainly don't recognize the supporters described by him."
I like Sean I think he's a good guy, but he's completely wrong I've been to too many games to count and I've never had one problem with any county's support not once. Kerry donegal Tyrone Mayo Kildare Meath etc all the same sound people who love their team and love Gaelic games. For me beside the odd idiot who lets his county down we're all the exact same from my experiences.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/07/2019 22:26:49    2209730

I haven't read the article, but it's in a red top so what do ye expect? Media needs to be controversial, you only have to look at the punditry on RTÉ for pretty much every sport. The national humiliation of so many (amateur) teams and players for sport by the Sunday Game.

Páidí Ó Sé said similar himself also after all. It's not the most controversial comments ever made. I'm sure it's just a retrospective on that particular day and something 'interesting' had to be included to get the angry comments on facebook. In terms of negative attention, many people might think that Kerry get off quite lightly in that regard, helped by their significant presence in the football media.

Most Tyrone people (rightly or wrongly) feel that we don't get our fair dues and are unfairly targeted by the media. Given Kerry's dozens of successes, I think it irks that Tyrone's achievements / credentials during one period were contested by Kerry people so much. You only have to look at Pat Spillane down through the years. Pat said when Tyrone weren't winning All-Irelands that we should send a busload of women down to Kerry and it would sort them out. And there's the great myth of puke football. Tyrone played a complacent Kerry team and brought an intensity probably never seen before. They pressured Kerry all over the field. The most famous image is Darragh Ó Sé catching the ball on the 45 in front of his OWN goal and being completely surrounded. The first thing Spillane declared after Cork beat Tyrone in 2009 was to declare that KERRY were the team of the decade.

Jack O'Connor has also made remarks about Tyrone which weren't kind or the most sporting either.

And Cavanagh is right in that Kerry fans did seem to celebrate 2012 in a bit too overzealous manner given it was two teams probably well past their peak and again given Kerry's massive successes through the years.

Obviously Mr. Spillane represents Kerry as much as Mr. Cavanagh represents Tyrone. I note that many of the former Kerry players such as Darragh, Donaghy and Tomás have shown respect for the Tyrone team. They were great battles

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 11/07/2019 22:27:03    2209731

Replying To seanie08:  "Cavanagh was a wonderful footballer arguably the best there has been in last 20 years but he is a terrible pundit who just comes out with controversial comments to stay relevant. To be fair to him he is not the only one but media seems to want these lads to throw few verbal grenades to boost website traffic clickbait etc. Lads who were decent pundits have fallen by the wayside as they don't engage in this rubbish."
Sorry Seanie and I don't want to sound biased one bit but Colm Cooper has undoubtedly been the best footballer over the last 20 years. I even remember Colm O' Rourke pulling Joe Brolly on it when he said it was Michael Murphy.

AnFear16 (Kerry) - Posts: 33 - 11/07/2019 22:35:20    2209735

Replying To realdub:  "I'm always amazed at the way some people allow themselves to be wound up on anonymous public forums. I just don't get it. It makes you wonder..."
Agree, although admittedly I have done in the past, ive moved on from it. Not worth getting stressed over.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/07/2019 22:39:35    2209740

Replying To realdub:  "Surely he'd be going after Dublin so :D"
Ye are only the usurpers realdub ;-)

Jays I just started watching Chernobyl on sky last night, scary stuff and I had forgotten a lot of what went on as I was only a young lad at the time .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/07/2019 22:40:16    2209741

Replying To lilylanger:  "They haven't been the big dog for quite some time irrespective of titles won. Nobody fears Kerry like they used to thankfully."
This coming from a lilly langer

jesus wept
it would be like cobh ramblers supporter proferring a critique on Barcelona

blueshirt1 (Kerry) - Posts: 19 - 11/07/2019 22:42:40    2209742

Replying To waynoI:  "Oh

I assume the big dog has gone for a walk when he arrives or something so and is going for the middle dog instead ?????"
He didn't even mention Dublin, as he knows who the real big dogs are, he even called us dogs.

I don't mind being compared to a dog or an animal as you could be compared to a lot worse.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/07/2019 22:59:03    2209747

Replying To HokeyPokey:  "I haven't read the article, but it's in a red top so what do ye expect? Media needs to be controversial, you only have to look at the punditry on RTÉ for pretty much every sport. The national humiliation of so many (amateur) teams and players for sport by the Sunday Game.

Páidí Ó Sé said similar himself also after all. It's not the most controversial comments ever made. I'm sure it's just a retrospective on that particular day and something 'interesting' had to be included to get the angry comments on facebook. In terms of negative attention, many people might think that Kerry get off quite lightly in that regard, helped by their significant presence in the football media.

Most Tyrone people (rightly or wrongly) feel that we don't get our fair dues and are unfairly targeted by the media. Given Kerry's dozens of successes, I think it irks that Tyrone's achievements / credentials during one period were contested by Kerry people so much. You only have to look at Pat Spillane down through the years. Pat said when Tyrone weren't winning All-Irelands that we should send a busload of women down to Kerry and it would sort them out. And there's the great myth of puke football. Tyrone played a complacent Kerry team and brought an intensity probably never seen before. They pressured Kerry all over the field. The most famous image is Darragh Ó Sé catching the ball on the 45 in front of his OWN goal and being completely surrounded. The first thing Spillane declared after Cork beat Tyrone in 2009 was to declare that KERRY were the team of the decade.

Jack O'Connor has also made remarks about Tyrone which weren't kind or the most sporting either.

And Cavanagh is right in that Kerry fans did seem to celebrate 2012 in a bit too overzealous manner given it was two teams probably well past their peak and again given Kerry's massive successes through the years.

Obviously Mr. Spillane represents Kerry as much as Mr. Cavanagh represents Tyrone. I note that many of the former Kerry players such as Darragh, Donaghy and Tomás have shown respect for the Tyrone team. They were great battles"
I still remember Paul Galvin almost crying at the interview after the match. They beat a Tyrone team whos main players were from 03 team.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 11/07/2019 23:40:14    2209759

Cavanagh is right on this one kerry people are dogs id sooner mayo win sam

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 11/07/2019 23:46:16    2209760

"snowflakes keep falling on my head" or was it rain? Anyway, since when has our games become so PC and offensive to everyone. God be with the days, what a croc of shit.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 11/07/2019 23:56:51    2209764

Anyone else think that all this your fans are the worst / most violent / overzealous / smug arrogant fans thing is getting a bit silly.

Ive seen bad fans from many counties Limerick included and usually young lads who get put in their place by older wiser folk from their own crowd.

To be honest I was one myself at times in my younger days. Never violent but I shouted plenty of offensive stuff I shouldnt have in my youth

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 12/07/2019 00:40:48    2209768

Replying To HokeyPokey:  "I haven't read the article, but it's in a red top so what do ye expect? Media needs to be controversial, you only have to look at the punditry on RTÉ for pretty much every sport. The national humiliation of so many (amateur) teams and players for sport by the Sunday Game.

Obviously Mr. Spillane represents Kerry as much as Mr. Cavanagh represents Tyrone. I note that many of the former Kerry players such as Darragh, Donaghy and Tomás have shown respect for the Tyrone team. They were great battles"
Think you are reading too much into it. Kerry fans wrote a signed letter to mickey Harte and all.

Kerrymanlegend (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 12/07/2019 01:19:09    2209772

Replying To blueshirt1:  "This coming from a lilly langer

jesus wept
it would be like cobh ramblers supporter proferring a critique on Barcelona"
Doesn't change my point though.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 12/07/2019 08:35:05    2209787

Mr Cavanagh doesn't represent Tyrone in the slightest in my opinion. Same with Mr Spillane. They are private contractors working on behalf of themselves and there own self interests.

It says a lot that Sean is still talking about a game that happened in 2012, anything to bring up his career and the big games he played in. You never see Brian McGuigan, Enda McGinley or Phillip Jordan doing this. He never adds any insight or cleverness when he is speaking, even Spillane comes up with the odd good suggestion or interesting point. Whereas Cavanagh just spits out pure obvious drivel.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 12/07/2019 08:36:41    2209788

https://www.lyrics.com/lyric/1183373/Wolfe+Tones/Come+Out+Ye+Black+and+Tans
For Sean, so he can learn the words

Redhandsam (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 12/07/2019 08:58:27    2209795

Jeepers, but this thread went a little crazy.

All the more Alanis Morissette when you consider the thread topic. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/07/2019 10:27:43    2209836

Replying To blueshirt1:  "This coming from a lilly langer

jesus wept
it would be like cobh ramblers supporter proferring a critique on Barcelona"
Your logic implies that because the supporter is loyal to a smaller, less successful team then that individual's views on the game are invalid. Are you also implying that everyone who follows Barcelona is therefore an expert? It's pretty obvious what you're driving at. Is this the kind of condescending attitude that Mr Cavanagh was alluding to? A strange ideology, but you're a definitely a blue shirt.

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 12/07/2019 11:23:44    2209877

Replying To offyertrolley:  "
Replying To lilylanger:  "We were the last team to win an all ireland outside of Dublin

Well whoop di do! Fair play."
Haha, well whoop di do indeed!"
If I were you I would be more concerned about the your own counties short comings than preoccupying yourself with mine.
Oh and by the way disdainful comments like yours equate to condescension, ergo pot/kettle and all that.
You're like the lad who is a jack Russell thinking he is a Dobermann, all noise, if you pardon the analogy, ironic given the title of the thread

blueshirt1 (Kerry) - Posts: 19 - 12/07/2019 12:47:43    2209922

Sean Cavanagh is becoming a nice wee Joe brolly.
Tyrone were playing away - Fitzgerald stadium was packed. of course it should be intimidating.

Anytime Kerry play away to Tyrone, especially in the latter hald of the 00;'s Tyrone crowds were never the most welcoming to kerry teams and supporters within the crowd either. But you know what , nothing wrong with that either.

I have also been at plenty of games in Pairc Ui Chaoimh when Kerry-Cork were approx equal and the abuse thrown out to us and the kerry team was insane. It's part and parcel of playing away

I wont mention the time a Dublin fan abusing me in Croke Park because Gooch scored a goal in the 2011 final!!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 12/07/2019 13:23:37    2209941

Replying To blueshirt1:  "
Replying To offyertrolley:  "[quote=lilylanger:  "We were the last team to win an all ireland outside of Dublin

Well whoop di do! Fair play."
Haha, well whoop di do indeed!"
If I were you I would be more concerned about the your own counties short comings than preoccupying yourself with mine.
Oh and by the way disdainful comments like yours equate to condescension, ergo pot/kettle and all that.
You're like the lad who is a jack Russell thinking he is a Dobermann, all noise, if you pardon the analogy, ironic given the title of the thread"]Haha, Call me a dog if you wish. Different words, same blue shirt ideology. The criticism of your attitude still stands though It is a deluded bigoted condescension.
Disdainful? Whoop di do! I found the other poster's comment humorous. And I know precisely where my own county stands in the pecking order. I'm not under any illusions about that. Even if it was only promotion from division four for us this year it was a wonderful experience. You're sitting at the top table permanently, yet all you do is whinge and whine. It's quite comical. But your attitude stinks.

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 12/07/2019 13:33:52    2209944