Tyrone Team For Eurovision

This illustrates again the dark side of social media where things take on a life of their own. Tyrone have nothing to apologise for. Mickey Harte needs to lighten up on politics and religion. This weekend the Meath boys should belt out the "Foggy Dew" before their game to get the gander up, every county should really. Black n Tans were the NAZI's imo.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 10/07/2019 13:12:09    2209027

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

Nice one Rockies. They don't make voices like Joe's anymore."
For just a second there I thought Joe Cocker covered come out You black & tans

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 10/07/2019 13:26:20    2209039

Replying To TakeyourPoint.:  "Definitely was royaldunne"
Sadly you are potentially correct.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 10/07/2019 14:38:45    2209067

Replying To TakeyourPoint.:  "Definitely was royaldunne"
Not at all. I don't do the red thumbs thing. It's childish, I actually thought it was a very witty response.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/07/2019 17:32:22    2209162

A big nonsense all round.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 10/07/2019 17:53:52    2209173

Mickey had no need to be apologising at all in my book. Foster mentioned it but knew to say feck all, a few rebel songs being sung on a bus is nothing compared to some of the shite they're putting on bonfires and whatnot. Head out around East Belfast or Portadown tomorrow night and video some of the goings on and see what apologies are made for their 'antics'.

bigboon (Tyrone) - Posts: 50 - 10/07/2019 18:10:10    2209180

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not at all. I don't do the red thumbs thing. It's childish, I actually thought it was a very witty response."
My apologies Royal, shouldn't have doubted you ;)

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 10/07/2019 18:12:55    2209183

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To CornAghais91:  "What's another year?"
Mickey Harte's tactics Vs Donegal: All Kinds of Everything. "
Niamh Kavanagh won in '93 with 'In your eyes'....

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 10/07/2019 21:13:03    2209252

Replying To PK57:  "It's pathetic that as a society we feel the need to apologise for anything and everything. They should sing whatever song they like and if others have a problem with it, then that's their problem."
Indeed. If others have a problem let them turn their ears off!!! Unbelievable that people are expected to apologise over something like that! !!

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 10/07/2019 21:16:23    2209254

If/when Brexit goes through...can Tyrone even qualify for Eurovision? Essentially yes...,since Israel etc are in it. Don't know why it's called Eurovision

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 10/07/2019 21:38:33    2209260

unbelievable comments on this thread from apologists for the behaviour of the tyrone players to making fun of the whole thing..its not funny...aghaloo gaa club is the local gaa club in aughnacloy...aghaloo had to struggle through many years operating in a divided village right through the troubles...their pitch was and is right on the border..one of its members was assasinated by british soldiers in the eighties...since those dark days the community of aughnacloy has made a huge leap forward...that parade happens with the co-operation and completely respects mass goers on a saturday night...some members of the protestant community are active in aghaloo gaa club...imagine what they had to put up with this week with members of their own community telling them " i told you so"...so lets not make fun of what happened and lets not make apologies for the stupid actions of that bunch of young tyrone men...i hope they are ashamed of their actions and i hope they are ashamed of the damage they have done to Aghaloo GAA Club

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 10/07/2019 23:00:52    2209289

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "unbelievable comments on this thread from apologists for the behaviour of the tyrone players to making fun of the whole thing..its not funny...aghaloo gaa club is the local gaa club in aughnacloy...aghaloo had to struggle through many years operating in a divided village right through the troubles...their pitch was and is right on the border..one of its members was assasinated by british soldiers in the eighties...since those dark days the community of aughnacloy has made a huge leap forward...that parade happens with the co-operation and completely respects mass goers on a saturday night...some members of the protestant community are active in aghaloo gaa club...imagine what they had to put up with this week with members of their own community telling them " i told you so"...so lets not make fun of what happened and lets not make apologies for the stupid actions of that bunch of young tyrone men...i hope they are ashamed of their actions and i hope they are ashamed of the damage they have done to Aghaloo GAA Club"
Nonsense in fairness. They can and should sing whatever they want in their own team bus, nobody should be browbeaten or put down for singing patriotic songs, those days are over. We are no longer 2nd class citizens expected to keep our heads down, keep your head held high and be proud of your country and it's history. The orange parade by its very nature is against the Catholic religion so to claim otherwise in just totally nonsensical.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 11/07/2019 09:00:31    2209342

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "unbelievable comments on this thread from apologists for the behaviour of the tyrone players to making fun of the whole thing..its not funny...aghaloo gaa club is the local gaa club in aughnacloy...aghaloo had to struggle through many years operating in a divided village right through the troubles...their pitch was and is right on the border..one of its members was assasinated by british soldiers in the eighties...since those dark days the community of aughnacloy has made a huge leap forward...that parade happens with the co-operation and completely respects mass goers on a saturday night...some members of the protestant community are active in aghaloo gaa club...imagine what they had to put up with this week with members of their own community telling them " i told you so"...so lets not make fun of what happened and lets not make apologies for the stupid actions of that bunch of young tyrone men...i hope they are ashamed of their actions and i hope they are ashamed of the damage they have done to Aghaloo GAA Club"
Just out of interest, what damage have they done to Aghaloo GAA Club?

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 11/07/2019 10:33:36    2209379

Replying To TakeyourPoint.:  "Just out of interest, what damage have they done to Aghaloo GAA Club?"
Did you not hear the other song they sang on the bus

Aghaloo loo loo push pineapple shake the tree
Aghaloo loo loo push pineapple grind coffee
To the left to the right jump up and down and to the knees
Come and dance every night sing with a hula melody

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 11/07/2019 11:22:43    2209406

Nice cafe in Main Street for breakfast..opposite Orange Hall. Nice little village on Monaghan border,.often stop there.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 11/07/2019 12:30:45    2209443

Totally blown out of proportion.....
The band played their songs....... Tyrone team sang theirs... End of story...... Nothing to see here.....

FM2019 (Donegal) - Posts: 2 - 11/07/2019 12:35:14    2209446

Replying To Tom1916:  "Nonsense in fairness. They can and should sing whatever they want in their own team bus, nobody should be browbeaten or put down for singing patriotic songs, those days are over. We are no longer 2nd class citizens expected to keep our heads down, keep your head held high and be proud of your country and it's history. The orange parade by its very nature is against the Catholic religion so to claim otherwise in just totally nonsensical."
The song is actually not a patriotic song. If was penned by Dominic Behan in response to an incident where a drink challenged an ex British soldier living in North inner city Dublin to come out if his house and fight him.
Your post completely misses the point. We are no longer second class citizens and there is every need for us to rise above the stupid behaviour of those players.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 11/07/2019 13:30:03    2209486

Replying To avonali:  "Still reckon the Brady's Ham parody is better."
Best post on this thread

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 11/07/2019 13:40:59    2209493

"It's probably embarrassing for him as well as the team, and our county. A clumsy, embarrassing mistake you'd like to think wouldn't be repeated along the line"

Looks like Sean Cavanagh is speaking for the county now, which is the last thing we need.

He's the embarrassment, not the lads singing on a bus.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 11/07/2019 13:41:39    2209494

Sean Cavanaugh keeping this going with his nonsense review......is there an approved list of songs he is wants the boys to sing or would he rather have them shut up with ear pieces watching xxxx on the i-phone? this is madness.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 11/07/2019 13:42:24    2209495