Tyrone Team For Eurovision

Replying To CornAghais91:  "Ye the Eurovision could be a possibility...there'd definitely be no points from Royaume-Uni but..."
"no points" are never awarded at eurovision. that is a common misconception. even the writers of Father Ted got that wrong. countries just award points ranging from 12 to 1 so only 12 countries get points ( or possibly only 10 or 9 as I think there is no 11 points or possibly no 9 points awarded). So no country is ever awarded "no points". You just end up with nothing by default.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/07/2019 23:22:52    2208774

Peter Harte's version of Why Me, would bring a tear.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/07/2019 23:24:20    2208775

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "He should be apologising to his players for apologising in the first place...

What the hell has he got to apologise for??

I mean this is the orange order we are talking about here, a group of sectarians/anti-irish cathloic that sing stuff like "up to our neck in fenian blood" while marching through Catholic areas trying to antagonise people..."
Completely agree. Fair play to you for posting this.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 09/07/2019 23:25:24    2208776

Replying To s goldrick:  ""no points" are never awarded at eurovision. that is a common misconception. even the writers of Father Ted got that wrong. countries just award points ranging from 12 to 1 so only 12 countries get points ( or possibly only 10 or 9 as I think there is no 11 points or possibly no 9 points awarded). So no country is ever awarded "no points". You just end up with nothing by default."
Bet you're fun at parties.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 09/07/2019 23:27:19    2208778

Replying To TheUsername:  "Peter Harte's version of Why Me, would bring a tear."
What's another year?

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 09/07/2019 23:57:22    2208797

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "He should be apologising to his players for apologising in the first place...

I mean this is the orange order we are talking about here, a group of sectarians/anti-irish cathloic that sing stuff like "up to our neck in fenian blood" while marching through Catholic areas trying to antagonise people..."
It's a lot better lately. Was in Ballymena recently. Had good enough Craic with them. Although they kept singing "The famine's over..,go on home". I have my own songs .,, Ballycastle...cushendall are nice towns.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 10/07/2019 00:21:30    2208808

Replying To s goldrick:  ""no points" are never awarded at eurovision. that is a common misconception. even the writers of Father Ted got that wrong. countries just award points ranging from 12 to 1 so only 12 countries get points ( or possibly only 10 or 9 as I think there is no 11 points or possibly no 9 points awarded). So no country is ever awarded "no points". You just end up with nothing by default."
Meath came pretty close to awarding themselves "nil point" a few weeks back

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 10/07/2019 01:45:57    2208814

It's pathetic that as a society we feel the need to apologise for anything and everything. They should sing whatever song they like and if others have a problem with it, then that's their problem.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 10/07/2019 06:59:52    2208826

Storm in a teacup. Brad's ham have just switched from sponsoring Kildare to Tyrone and were filming a quick ad with the lads.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 10/07/2019 07:49:32    2208828

Unbreak my Harte

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 10/07/2019 08:21:23    2208837

Replying To royaldunne:  "Similar to the ni football "fans" with their rendition of a old 80s song that was rightly condemned, this is the same.
I feel sorry for micky harte. (There's a sentence I didn't think I'd say this championship). I am sure he would much prefer to be talking football and not apologizing for his players. Whoever put it on web, is certainly not of high iq. I'm sure Mickey will go through them about this. A unwanted and unneeded distraction coming into super 8s."
If you think anyone of any importance or significance really cares, then you are sorely mistaken. Slow news day was all.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 10/07/2019 09:31:37    2208859

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Unbreak my Harte"
Great song...,Joe Cocker version

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 10/07/2019 10:22:39    2208889

Replying To CornAghais91:  "What's another year?"
Mickey Harte's tactics Vs Donegal: All Kinds of Everything.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/07/2019 10:39:04    2208903

Replying To Rockies:  "Great song...,Joe Cocker version"

Nice one Rockies. They don't make voices like Joe's anymore.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 10/07/2019 10:41:02    2208906

Agreed, nothing to apologise for here.
Ulster gaels have to put up with a lot of BS in early July up north, they are only human and their reaction is ultimately harmless, certainly much less provocative than the marches themselves

Pullhard1985 (USA) - Posts: 68 - 10/07/2019 10:51:52    2208916

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Unbreak my Harte"
Its been a tough week for poor Mickey Harte all round.
Westminster just voted to extend gay marraige to NI

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 10/07/2019 10:58:56    2208925

Replying To HighKings:  "Can't believe someone red thumbed that!"
Definitely was royaldunne

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 10/07/2019 11:33:51    2208953

'Total Eclipse of the Harte' if he gets a suspension

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 10/07/2019 12:26:39    2208993

Replying To Pullhard1985:  "Agreed, nothing to apologise for here.
Ulster gaels have to put up with a lot of BS in early July up north, they are only human and their reaction is ultimately harmless, certainly much less provocative than the marches themselves"
Singing a song with IRA in the lyrics is grand sure. A bit of craic, no offense like.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/07/2019 12:42:33    2209006

Replying To Donegalman:  "Singing a song with IRA in the lyrics is grand sure. A bit of craic, no offense like."
Singing a song privately in a bus is no big deal, or indeed in any other place-it was not the most clever thing to post it though. If you go to parts of the North very little has changed with people still having to move out of their homes thru bigotry. The call burning big bonfires (with an Irish flag in the middle) right beside houses as their heritage. Is it any wonder that folk move away during the marching season. Marching was used to show their power and demonstrate who was in charge. What religion anyone has is irrelevant to most of us, however you should always respect your neighbours near and far.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/07/2019 12:58:36    2209015