The Laois Rising.

Congratulations and well done Laois.

Ej (Wexford) - Posts: 355 - 08/07/2019 10:08:08    2207628

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Doubt it. Brennan a cert if Cody calls it a day this year. A bad year for Leix next year however could open the door to Henry especially if he repeats his success this year with Shamrocks.

Much as I like him I think time is against DJ, very much a 90's hurling man. Success with IT Carlow wasn't spectacular with a lot of talent on hand. Personally I'd say DJ is more likely to be next Carlow manager if Bonner steps down as expected. Unless that is Carlow can tempt Henry to broaden his cv (assuming he doesn't pip Brennan to Kilkenny job)."
DJ said in a recent interview on off the ball he would never manage another county other than his own. That's why he's been managing Kilkenny's footballers from under 14 to minor and also the under 20 hurlers. Personally I think Henry will replace Cody. It wasn't long ago that Brennan lost to Westmeath with a Kilkenny underage team.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 08/07/2019 11:12:01    2207682

Congratulations to Laois. Absolutely gutted with the defeat but no complaints on the day. Better team won with hunger galore and no shortage of skill to get them over the line. Feels very much like one step forward two steps back as after the Galway game a lot of people almost overlooked Laois and were chatting about how close we might get to Tipp in the quarters. If Keaney decides to call it a day it is a sad note for such a great servant to Dublin to bow out on.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 08/07/2019 11:33:17    2207695

I am extremely disappointed with Dublin's exit yesterday. Laois deserved to win however. Notwithstanding Dublin's wide count, Laois brought a huge intensity to the game that the Dubs just couldn't better on the day. All over the pitch, on and off the ball they never stopped working. The passage of play leading to the goal being the best example. That score was the difference in the end.

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 08/07/2019 11:41:18    2207702

Replying To ballydalane:  "No, not at odds at all. The reason Leinster hurling has been so entertaining and unpredictable this year is because we've had 4 teams in and around the same standard, all capable of beating one another on any given day (plus now Laois beating Dublin).

But I watched the Munster final back and to my eyes, the speed and technique was on a different level to what we've seen in Leinster, even from Tipp who took a bad beating on the day.

I hope I'm proven wrong over the next number of weeks."
Watch both games without the commentary and see if that changes your mind. The scores in the Leinster Final were top class by both teams. Plus the intensity, from my perspective was unbelievable. I'd be confident that the Leinster Final was of a very high standard.
Standard in Munster is undoubtedly good and its hard to argue with a 12 point beating but Callanan had a goal chance with 12 mins left in the final to leave 3 points in it. When that didnt go in heads dropped and the wheels fell off. That can happen in my opinion. Add in the fact Limerick were playing at home and it takes a further bit of gloss off the victory. Deserved winners no doubt but i don't think 12 points is a true reflection of superiority. Limerick are flying but i certainly don't buy into all "this team is the next kilkenny in the making". They've been beaten twice this year already, kilkenny were beaten twice in 6 years!!

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 08/07/2019 11:52:39    2207718

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I'm from Meath and follow other counties in the Liwm McCarthy. But if I was from a top county like Dublin I'd have been in portlaoise cheering them on. Why didn't you go wayno? Can't believe you continue to pay into football turkey shoots but ignore the Dublin hurlers who are almost always involved in tight exciting matches."
I didn't go cause I don't have a gra/passion for hurling for starters but our footballers are playing 3 games in the next 4 weeks and money doesn't grow on trees. And secondly I was brought up on football.

Im not fussy if people don't think im a GAA man or live by the ethos of the GAA. I openly admit that im not a true gael if being a true gael means I have to religiously support both sports.

I support Dublin's footballers all my life, Through all the bad times and now, luckily from my point of view, the good times. I attend a hell of a lot of Dublin club football games and ive gone to numerous intercounty games as a neutral, but when it comes to Hurling, it just doesn't captivate me even as a neutral.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/07/2019 11:53:52    2207722

Replying To waynoI:  "I didn't go cause I don't have a gra/passion for hurling for starters but our footballers are playing 3 games in the next 4 weeks and money doesn't grow on trees. And secondly I was brought up on football.

Im not fussy if people don't think im a GAA man or live by the ethos of the GAA. I openly admit that im not a true gael if being a true gael means I have to religiously support both sports.

I support Dublin's footballers all my life, Through all the bad times and now, luckily from my point of view, the good times. I attend a hell of a lot of Dublin club football games and ive gone to numerous intercounty games as a neutral, but when it comes to Hurling, it just doesn't captivate me even as a neutral."
If you don't like hurling Wayno then it's probably best not to start threads talking about it. Just attention seeking.

Well done Laois. Hope they play as well again against Tipp.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 08/07/2019 12:39:21    2207752

Well done to Laois on a fully deserved win yesterday! Huge achievement considering the short turnaround and the fact that Dublin beat Galway . Massive team.perdormanxe with all players manning the wheel all through. Dubln may have been off colour but Laois really got atuck in from the start. Great to see the celebrations at the end of the match ! Great boost for the underdogs out there in the hurling world !

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 08/07/2019 13:00:02    2207767

Replying To hurlinspuds:  "If you don't like hurling Wayno then it's probably best not to start threads talking about it. Just attention seeking.

Well done Laois. Hope they play as well again against Tipp."
You dont need to like a sport to respect a wonderful achievement in fairness. All the attention was on laois. Just because (Dublin) is beside my username shouldn't have a few people getting themselves in a twist. Its few others who have hijacked the thread.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/07/2019 13:14:56    2207790

Replying To waynoI:  "You dont need to like a sport to respect a wonderful achievement in fairness. All the attention was on laois. Just because (Dublin) is beside my username shouldn't have a few people getting themselves in a twist. Its few others who have hijacked the thread."
A wonderful achievement is it ?
Well that puts the tine hat on it now. Sure it was great for Laois but you'd hardly be saying that if it was the footballers would you. No time for the hurlers obviously. Shame on you.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/07/2019 14:59:13    2207900

Replying To waynoI:  "I didn't go cause I don't have a gra/passion for hurling for starters but our footballers are playing 3 games in the next 4 weeks and money doesn't grow on trees. And secondly I was brought up on football.

I support Dublin's footballers all my life, Through all the bad times and now, luckily from my point of view, the good times. I attend a hell of a lot of Dublin club football games and ive gone to numerous intercounty games as a neutral, but when it comes to Hurling, it just doesn't captivate me even as a neutral."
It's Lar Foley's fault. If he hadn't clocked Seán McLoughlin and got sent off in the 1961 final against Tipperary. Since then Dublin has become a football county. (The Tipp forward had it coming.,,was provoking Lar all day)

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 08/07/2019 15:37:51    2207925

Fair play to Laois, delighted for them. The more counties at a high level the better. They have a good minor team coming as well.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 08/07/2019 16:03:39    2207949

Replying To Rockies:  "It's Lar Foley's fault. If he hadn't clocked Seán McLoughlin and got sent off in the 1961 final against Tipperary. Since then Dublin has become a football county. (The Tipp forward had it coming.,,was provoking Lar all day)"
Wasn't the first time a fella got under a lads skin to get a rise and get him the line.
Referees should be more active in protecting top players from this kind of stuff. It's become all too regular.
Dirt is all it is and a blight on the games.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/07/2019 16:06:12    2207952

Replying To waynoI:  "You dont need to like a sport to respect a wonderful achievement in fairness. All the attention was on laois. Just because (Dublin) is beside my username shouldn't have a few people getting themselves in a twist. Its few others who have hijacked the thread."
I disagree. If you have no interest in a sport then don't post on it. You won't find me going on about golf or rugby.If you know nothing about hurling then you don't understand the scale of the relationship, you just want to start a thread.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 08/07/2019 16:33:33    2207974

Replying To Rockies:  "It's Lar Foley's fault. If he hadn't clocked Seán McLoughlin and got sent off in the 1961 final against Tipperary. Since then Dublin has become a football county. (The Tipp forward had it coming.,,was provoking Lar all day)"
Prior to 1961, Dublin won 6 All-Ireland's in hurling and 15 AI in football. Oddly enough, they were runners up 15 times in the hurling AI final and 6 times in the football. So, before 1961 Dublin appeared in 21 hurling and 21 football AI finals.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 08/07/2019 19:06:47    2208066

American tourist (Yank) falls into conversation with a local (Auld Fella) in a bar not far from Croke Park
Yank: Glancing towards Croke Park. "That's a mighty fine stadium. I hear you guys play that game called hurling there"
Auld Fella: "Best game in the world boy"
Yank: "Yeah, it looks awesome but I don't quite get how you eventually end up with two teams in the All Ireland final. Could you explain it to me?"
Auld Fella "You know there are four provinces in Ireland?"
Yank: "Yeah Munster, Leinster, Connacht and Ulster"
Auld Fella: "Well first you play in your respective province. The top teams then qualify for the next stage"
Yank: "Right, so a round-robin system in all four provinces?"
Auld Fella: "Yes on the round-robin no on all four provinces. We really only bother with two, Leinster and Munster"
Yank: "I see. So what happens then?"
Auld Fella: "Ok, the top three teams in each of the provinces remain in the overall All-Ireland competition"
Yank: "I can follow that. So, you have 6 teams still standing after the provincials?"
Auld Fella: "No. You have other counties who can then join in"
Yank: "Right! I guess those are the guys from Connacht and Ulster?"
Auld Fella: "No. Sometimes it might be one team from Ulster but never any Connacht counties"
Yank: "Really? What happens Galway. I hear they play and they're from Connacht"
Auld Fella: "They compete in Leinster"
Yank: "Hmmm. Figures, right?. Anyway, I hear Kilkenny and Wexford played a final already. How did those guys qualify for that final?"
Auld Fella: "By beating Carlow by a bigger score than Galway and Dublin did"
Yank: "Okaaay. Umm..How have Kilkenny been doing? I got family from Mullinavat"
Auld Fella: "The Cats have lost two games already this year but they're still in the championship"
Yank: "Cool and how many games have Dublin lost?"
Auld Fella: "Two as well"
Yank : "Phew. So they're still in it too?"
Auld Fella: "No. They're out"
Yank : "Really ? And this format has been the same for over a 100 years?"
Auld Fella: "Not at all. We in Ireland move with the times and yet manage to keep with tradition. All it takes is a bit of imagination"
Yank : "You guys got that alright"
Auld Fella "Now. The Munster Championship. There's tradition for ya. Let me explain.."
Yank : "You know what, it's been great but my vacation only lasts two weeks and I still got some sight-seeing to do. Nice meeting you sir"
Auld Fella: "Best game in the world boy. Remember that. Slán"

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 08/07/2019 19:46:02    2208088

Sean McLoughlin started the 1961 final on the bench and didn't appear until well into the second half as a replacement for the injured Tony Wall, so he could scarcely have been" provoking Lar all day". Mackey McKenna started on Foley until he was replaced (also well into the second half) by Tom Ryan, and it was Ryan who was "clocked" by Foley, who was duly sent off. Ryan had to leave the field with blood streaming from his head and when he returned with his head bandaged the referee (Gerry Fitzgerald, Limerick) sent him off too for no apparent reason other than to even things up. I believe this game was the first All-Ireland to be shown live on RTE.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 08/07/2019 19:57:34    2208098

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Watch both games without the commentary and see if that changes your mind. The scores in the Leinster Final were top class by both teams. Plus the intensity, from my perspective was unbelievable. I'd be confident that the Leinster Final was of a very high standard.
Standard in Munster is undoubtedly good and its hard to argue with a 12 point beating but Callanan had a goal chance with 12 mins left in the final to leave 3 points in it. When that didnt go in heads dropped and the wheels fell off. That can happen in my opinion. Add in the fact Limerick were playing at home and it takes a further bit of gloss off the victory. Deserved winners no doubt but i don't think 12 points is a true reflection of superiority. Limerick are flying but i certainly don't buy into all "this team is the next kilkenny in the making". They've been beaten twice this year already, kilkenny were beaten twice in 6 years!!"
I hope you're right Larry. The beauty about sport is that all debate is decided on the field of play. Next Sunday between Cork and Kilkenny will be a good indicator.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 08/07/2019 20:07:57    2208107

Replying To midlands:  "Sean McLoughlin started the 1961 final on the bench and didn't appear until well into the second half as a replacement for the injured Tony Wall, so he could scarcely have been" provoking Lar all day". Mackey McKenna started on Foley until he was replaced (also well into the second half) by Tom Ryan, and it was Ryan who was "clocked" by Foley, who was duly sent off. Ryan had to leave the field with blood streaming from his head and when he returned with his head bandaged the referee (Gerry Fitzgerald, Limerick) sent him off too for no apparent reason other than to even things up. I believe this game was the first All-Ireland to be shown live on RTE."
No, 1962 saw the first live GAA games on TV with the coverage of Railway Cup Hurling and Football Finals on March 17th.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 08/07/2019 20:40:12    2208131

Replying To Maroonatic:  "American tourist (Yank) falls into conversation with a local (Auld Fella) in a bar not far from Croke Park
Yank: Glancing towards Croke Park. "That's a mighty fine stadium. I hear you guys play that game called hurling there"
Auld Fella: "Best game in the world boy"
Yank: "Yeah, it looks awesome but I don't quite get how you eventually end up with two teams in the All Ireland final. Could you explain it to me?"
Auld Fella "You know there are four provinces in Ireland?"
Yank: "Yeah Munster, Leinster, Connacht and Ulster"
Auld Fella: "Well first you play in your respective province. The top teams then qualify for the next stage"
Yank: "Right, so a round-robin system in all four provinces?"
Auld Fella: "Yes on the round-robin no on all four provinces. We really only bother with two, Leinster and Munster"
Yank: "I see. So what happens then?"
Auld Fella: "Ok, the top three teams in each of the provinces remain in the overall All-Ireland competition"
Yank: "I can follow that. So, you have 6 teams still standing after the provincials?"
Auld Fella: "No. You have other counties who can then join in"
Yank: "Right! I guess those are the guys from Connacht and Ulster?"
Auld Fella: "No. Sometimes it might be one team from Ulster but never any Connacht counties"
Yank: "Really? What happens Galway. I hear they play and they're from Connacht"
Auld Fella: "They compete in Leinster"
Yank: "Hmmm. Figures, right?. Anyway, I hear Kilkenny and Wexford played a final already. How did those guys qualify for that final?"
Auld Fella: "By beating Carlow by a bigger score than Galway and Dublin did"
Yank: "Okaaay. Umm..How have Kilkenny been doing? I got family from Mullinavat"
Auld Fella: "The Cats have lost two games already this year but they're still in the championship"
Yank: "Cool and how many games have Dublin lost?"
Auld Fella: "Two as well"
Yank : "Phew. So they're still in it too?"
Auld Fella: "No. They're out"
Yank : "Really ? And this format has been the same for over a 100 years?"
Auld Fella: "Not at all. We in Ireland move with the times and yet manage to keep with tradition. All it takes is a bit of imagination"
Yank : "You guys got that alright"
Auld Fella "Now. The Munster Championship. There's tradition for ya. Let me explain.."
Yank : "You know what, it's been great but my vacation only lasts two weeks and I still got some sight-seeing to do. Nice meeting you sir"
Auld Fella: "Best game in the world boy. Remember that. Slán""
Brilliant.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 08/07/2019 21:12:40    2208163