Dublin V Cork Super 8S

Cork's apparent improvement over the past while appears to be nothing more than a glitch, a flour sieve wouldn't be as porous as their defence, score makers and score takers didn't turn up this evening, I'm for calling a spade a spade and saying it as it is, like Roscommon and Tyrone they have a lot of catching up to.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 13/07/2019 21:55:30    2210412

I don't know about teleportation realdub but there was definitely some time traveling at play.
That looked like Dublin style 2013 at play today.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/07/2019 21:58:17    2210416

Replying To royaldunne:  "Good win, cork have improved immensely since we played them in league. But it the end dubs coasted.
Although I do think the end score line does cork a disservice. Well done to Dublin"
Absolutely it does, 4 points in it with 5 minutes to go and the keeper kicks it short and the rest is history. Really enjoyable game and Cork showed how you can really hurt the Dublin defense. Well done Cork great game. 13 points flatters us.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/07/2019 22:00:54    2210418

Replying To westkerry:  "Very enjoyable game, Scoreline flattered Dublin, Cork really showed no fear and others could do likewise. Why try contain them and loose by a few points, go out like cork and give them a rattle.
Few observations would be Dublin looked a bit flat and turned it on when they needed too but are they as good as previous years? Im not sure.
Con O'Callaghan is not a starter for me and id imagine he wont start next week.
Its funny there was 30k there tonight and it was soulless, there will be the same tomorrow and it will be eletric."
Correction i meant Cormack Costello.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 13/07/2019 22:01:38    2210421

Replying To festinog:  "Was that Dublin's home game or neutral venue one?

Only winding ye up lads.

Sad that what turned into an absolute hammering has been accepted as a great game and a strong showing from Cork. Dublin's dominance has been completely normalized and taken for granted."
I think you make a good point. As a Cork fan, from a long way out I wanted us to just stay within a few points rather than think we could win. I think we all knew that before a ball was thrown in. What is really damning for football though is that I looked at that performance and thought if we replicated it with a bit of sharpening up we might beat Tyrone, which is ludicrous after a 13 point loss and that we are hoping Tyrone may be a team to challenge Dublin.
I made the point on another thread. Many people complained that Cork are not good enough for the super 8's with Meath and Roscommon. My point was that if there wasn't an outstanding Dublin team in the mix, nobody would complain at all because there wouldn't be a huge gap between the rest. I do accept though that Tyrone, Donegal and Kerry are above the rest but it would not be a massive gap.
The one big hope is that this Donegal team might give Dublin a game but I have my fears on that.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 13/07/2019 22:04:16    2210424

Replying To realdub:  "Fair play to Cork, played very well but weren't able to match us over the 70. Great to see the hunger in our side after all these years.
Yes we're fitter and have a better panel but the execution of some of our scores was top class."
Why are ye fitter Realdub? Serious question. Until people start addressing the reasons for that, the AI will continue to be a competition for second place.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 13/07/2019 22:04:20    2210425

Replying To jimbodub:  "Out in June."
Wow that was such a great retort. Don't go too mad on the vino.
Remember you have responsibilities....

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 13/07/2019 22:04:25    2210426

Replying To westkerry:  "Correction i meant Cormack Costello."
lol

Thank feck you can please ignore my post and I agree. He shouldn't be in front of Rock but Gavin knows what he's doing. Rock has looked brilliant in his two cameos and that competition had probably been very good for him.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/07/2019 22:05:20    2210427

Jack McCaffrey is an incredible talent,

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 13/07/2019 22:05:57    2210430

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Cork did as much as they could and stayed with them until Dublin's superior conditioning and experience inevitably told. The scoreline looks bad but they played well in a game they were never going to win no matter what they did. I hope they get at least one win to round off their year.

Dublin looking strong. Brolly's Dublin love in on RTE is embarrassing, Whelan is in stitches beside him."
It's gas when we were going for 5 he compared Offaly beating us to the destruction of the Death Star .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/07/2019 22:07:20    2210432

Replying To jimbodub:  "Out in June."
Stay classy man.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 13/07/2019 22:07:54    2210434

Hurley what a player but for his goal chance he should of squared it for Kerrigan I think it would been a tap in with the fist that was a huge moment also why did they take Kerrigan off he was killing us ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/07/2019 22:08:47    2210436

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Absolutely it does, 4 points in it with 5 minutes to go and the keeper kicks it short and the rest is history. Really enjoyable game and Cork showed how you can really hurt the Dublin defense. Well done Cork great game. 13 points flatters us."
Maybe our boys aren't as bad as people have been saying.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/07/2019 22:13:16    2210438

Honestly who care about the football championship anymore, even majority of dubs dont go anymore i. Until all Ireland final, the gaa hierachy have destroyed football by funding the dublin monster, a professional team with home advantage playing amateurs! No wonder only 35000 turned up sure why couldn't they have played this in parc i
Cuimh? It holds 45000, o hold on dont ask the poor dubs to travel

dec (None) - Posts: 269 - 13/07/2019 22:22:16    2210442

Hard luck Cork. Didn't deserve that score. I think it papers over some the chinks in Dublin's armour though. Cork exposed them in a few areas such as the kickout and their full back line. No doubt Tyrone, who have the conditioning to match them, will have taken note.
Hopefully Cork can take heart and rattle Tyrone next weekend. Great to see them back and playing front foot football.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 13/07/2019 22:22:40    2210443

Replying To festinog:  "Stay classy man."
FFS

Did you not read his post?

Just fire with fire chief! Only having a laugh

Tbh couldn't care less what you think.. I'm only responding in kind

Gas you've no problem with what he said

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/07/2019 23:02:49    2210453

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Maybe our boys aren't as bad as people have been saying."
No their not far from it , imagine the damage Clifford Geaney O brien Jod etc would do that Dublin defense.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/07/2019 23:04:13    2210454

Replying To greysoil:  "Wow that was such a great retort. Don't go too mad on the vino.
Remember you have responsibilities...."
Yeah man as if you're so classy lol

I'm only responding in kind chief

What else do you want?

You're having a laugh and Im having a laugh

I only responded to your own antagonist efforts with a version of your own levrl directed back at you.

No need to get so personal. Yes I have responsibilities. That's why I drink responsibly :)

You'd swear what I said must have hurt you or something? "You ok sweetie" ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/07/2019 23:13:07    2210458

Replying To dec:  "Honestly who care about the football championship anymore, even majority of dubs dont go anymore i. Until all Ireland final, the gaa hierachy have destroyed football by funding the dublin monster, a professional team with home advantage playing amateurs! No wonder only 35000 turned up sure why couldn't they have played this in parc i
Cuimh? It holds 45000, o hold on dont ask the poor dubs to travel"
Rubbish. They are amateurs. They have jobs.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 13/07/2019 23:21:27    2210463

Replying To lilylanger:  "They have to lose sometime lads. Saturday night is as good a time as any. I'm lumping on Cork."
Hope you had 2nd thoughts before Lumping on the Division 3 team!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 13/07/2019 23:21:51    2210464