Dublin V Cork Super 8S

Replying To BeJasus:  "no sign of the Blue Army on the hill.
Chelsea are in town so id presume Richmond was a sellout."
Eh? Hours apart in starting times??

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 13/07/2019 21:11:33    2210384

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Cue patronising guff from Dublin fans now. While undoubtedly Dublin have some very good footballers the big difference is that from 30 mins onwards their fitness and conditioning starts to take over and they begin to pull away. Football wise for half an hour Cork were as good as Dublin and just as talented and capable. However you could see Dublin's superior physical state give them a clear advantage. Now if people are saying that's nothing to do with the finance, facilities, coaching etc they are deluded. It was the same in lady year's All Ireland final. Tyrone were excellent for a half hour but Dublin's physical superiority took over."
What has been said that's been patronising since your post? Or does your post count as "patronising"?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 13/07/2019 21:13:06    2210385

Replying To greysoil:  "What was the official attendance? Looked pretty small. Any idea why the Dub supporters didn't 'travel'???"
Do you know what? I couldn't give a monkeys arse whether our fans turn up or not. I'm pretty sure the performance and result are slightly more important.
But feel free to look for something negative to point out, if it makes you feel better.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 13/07/2019 21:15:59    2210389

Replying To Jackeen:  "Hoganstand is gas after a Dublin win altogether :)"
There's no doubt about Dublin being a great team. But Antrim Man above makes the best point for me. At the end of games Dublin pull away due to superior conditioning and fitness. It's like the Australian team when they took the compromise rules seriously. If people want to ignore the financial aid conferred Dublin let them. Bit it's skewing the whole game now. That coupled with home advantage is a lethal combo. And the spiel about them raising standards to others is like Oil Rich City telling Leeds to train harder

ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone (Kerry) - Posts: 26 - 13/07/2019 21:16:12    2210390

Replying To realdub:  "Oh jaysus, a new angle or did teams always have to travel to get to Croker? Maybe teleportation?"
I think there was some teleportation there from the Dubs when they went from two points up to thirteen in the blink of an eye!

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 13/07/2019 21:16:51    2210391

Replying To realdub:  "Fair play to Cork, played very well but weren't able to match us over the 70. Great to see the hunger in our side after all these years.
Yes we're fitter and have a better panel but the execution of some of our scores was top class."
Careful now, that post could be construed differently by some folk here.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 13/07/2019 21:17:38    2210392

Good win, cork have improved immensely since we played them in league. But it the end dubs coasted.
Although I do think the end score line does cork a disservice. Well done to Dublin

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/07/2019 21:18:04    2210393

Replying To offyertrolley:  "I think there was some teleportation there from the Dubs when they went from two points up to thirteen in the blink of an eye!"
Correct and right!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 13/07/2019 21:20:19    2210394

Replying To realdub:  "Do you know what? I couldn't give a monkeys arse whether our fans turn up or not. I'm pretty sure the performance and result are slightly more important.
But feel free to look for something negative to point out, if it makes you feel better."
Ouch - did that hurt sweetie?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 13/07/2019 21:20:23    2210395

Cork made hay in the first ten minutes and then fell away. Had a rocky 10 minutes in the second half and that was it. Game over. Goals destroyed them and were obviously the real difference. Think Cork could still cause a few problems though.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 13/07/2019 21:31:31    2210398

Jays but that Gough lad is a ghoul of of a ref though. Hadn't a clue.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 13/07/2019 21:32:29    2210399

St Pats v Chelsea. Dublin individually are no more skilful than Cork; but their last-quarter fitness beats any other team; they never attempt spectacular scores like other teams do and they are fantastically-well drilled - they pass the ball into space knowing that there'll invariably be someone there; and that expectation of mass support is there in the 80th minute as much as in the first minute. They look like what they are; an extremely well-rehearsed pro-in-all-but-name team playing talented amateurs. Kerry, Cork, Mayo, Tyrone; they're all at roughly the same level, a few rungs down from Dublin. The FIAR is all over bar the shouting.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 13/07/2019 21:33:26    2210400

Replying To katser:  "To the Kerry lads..that's how you beat a Division 3 team 5-18!!"
To be fair, we were well beaten in the end by an excellent team. However your comment is ridiculous. I think despite our 3rd division status we at least made a game of it to a point in the game. Looking at Galway so far, I would suspect they would play from the start to not be beaten by too much and probably lose by more. Hence they are not there. No reflection on the quality of Galway players. I think they have excellent players, however your championship ended at the league where too many teams at the moment put too much emphasis. Hence you are an armchair supporter whilst this 3rd division follower continues to support his team, win lose or draw at the business end.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 13/07/2019 21:34:14    2210401

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "There's no doubt about Dublin being a great team. But Antrim Man above makes the best point for me. At the end of games Dublin pull away due to superior conditioning and fitness. It's like the Australian team when they took the compromise rules seriously. If people want to ignore the financial aid conferred Dublin let them. Bit it's skewing the whole game now. That coupled with home advantage is a lethal combo. And the spiel about them raising standards to others is like Oil Rich City telling Leeds to train harder"
Least a Kerry lad here can admit we're a great team. Fair play.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 13/07/2019 21:40:08    2210403

Dublin FB line poor enough. Stood off too much but they won't come up against many better forwards of that standard. 1-17 is dodgy.
Philly got forward well, as of course did Jack who was superb one of the finest players Dublin has ever produced. It's in his blood. A modern day Paul Curran.
Apart from that the rest of the lads did so so. Byrne is not a starter for me. Mick Fitz isn't a full back. John Small had a decent game but nothing spectacular, he should have finished his goal chance but credit his positioning and getting forward.
Cluxton as good as he ever was. Some important stops and no one would have saved that penno. Excellent distribution.

MDMC tried his guts out and did his best but I think he's an impact player and we missed James in and around the middle but all credit to MDMC. No one can replace James.
Fenton was good and did plenty well but it was a right battle at times, sublime finished goal.

Up front Scully and Howard's work rate is unreal. Howard was continually fouled in 1st half and got through some amount of important, If not glamorous work. Mannion had a decent game but not his best, he fumbled a few. Kilkenny again a solid 7/10 performance and got through a lot of work. Costello for me is either half forward or impact sub. Rock starts. He's fit now and he's class. Perfect execution of 3 difficult kicks and a point from play.
Stand out forward was Con, setup 2 goals and scored 4 from play. That's 10pts.

I'm surprised there's no spot for Bernard. I'd have him in the panel all day long and listen it's only my opinion but he's more between his ears compared to Paddy Small and in a tight game I'd want to see BB coming in. Hi

Overall Cork looked match sharp and their early start was excellent, top notch scores although Dublin made it too easy. Dublin's lack of game time was telling enough, Cork did very well for large parts but Dublin's tactical setup combined with their movement means that teams have to work very hard to stop them, no one else plays like Dublin, and very few counties can match Dublin's panel and on comes the All stars when opposition legs get tired.

Great news for Dublin is Cooper, McCarthy, Murchan making an appearance. They'll be very much needed.

Plenty to work on.

My Chinese is on the way, bottle of white wine in the fridge, a very enjoyable game. Good day out

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/07/2019 21:41:17    2210404

Replying To greysoil:  "Ouch - did that hurt sweetie?"
Out in June.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/07/2019 21:42:08    2210405

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Cork did as much as they could and stayed with them until Dublin's superior conditioning and experience inevitably told. The scoreline looks bad but they played well in a game they were never going to win no matter what they did. I hope they get at least one win to round off their year.

Dublin looking strong. Brolly's Dublin love in on RTE is embarrassing, Whelan is in stitches beside him."
The difference in Brolly doing punditry on Dublin games and games where he's on involving either Mayo or Tyrone are noticeably different in attitude and they all play the same brand of football. Strange that

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 13/07/2019 21:42:12    2210406

Replying To greysoil:  "Ouch - did that hurt sweetie?"
Lots sweetcheeks, lots :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 13/07/2019 21:45:12    2210408

Replying To realdub:  "Correct and right!"
Actually, I didn't mean it literally.

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 13/07/2019 21:45:51    2210409

Very enjoyable game, Scoreline flattered Dublin, Cork really showed no fear and others could do likewise. Why try contain them and loose by a few points, go out like cork and give them a rattle.
Few observations would be Dublin looked a bit flat and turned it on when they needed too but are they as good as previous years? Im not sure.
Con O'Callaghan is not a starter for me and id imagine he wont start next week.
Its funny there was 30k there tonight and it was soulless, there will be the same tomorrow and it will be eletric.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 13/07/2019 21:55:00    2210411