Mayo V Kerry

What will Kerrys likley line up be?? Will Brain O Beaglaioch and Mark Griffin get a shout in first 15. Will Enright start in the corner and move young O Sullivan out to half back?

Heard some Kerry supporters questioning Geaney form, nevertheless he is capable of the one moment of brilliance. Time for Jack Barry and co. to step up in the engine room.

David Moran or Tommy Walsh at FF would be interesting from the off for 20 minutes. Mayo would probably drop O' Shea back deep to cover this leaving him less influential further out the field.

Mayo finding some rhythm. Younger and newer players stepping up recently which must be pleasing for them. Utilising the kick pass more often. Very noticeable though that they tend to fall off the face of a cliff in last 20minutes of game, legs going or just drained from effort in first 35 minutes?

For me Kerry should go defensive for first 20 minutes, stiffling Mayos quick start and stop them engaging the quick kick pass which breathes confidence and life into the team.

Should be a cracker. Possibly the best game we will see this year.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 10/07/2019 12:41:24    2209004

Replying To Joxer:  "As we say in the capital, everywhere you go always take the weather with you."
Sure Dublin control the weather too...heard the Dublin county board bought a weather machine from the CIA...very unfair ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 10/07/2019 13:02:50    2209019

Replying To yew_tree:  "Sure Dublin control the weather too...heard the Dublin county board bought a weather machine from the CIA...very unfair ;)"
Operated by some chap called Honest Joe McQuillan, Yew Tree :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/07/2019 13:23:55    2209036

Replying To Pullhard1985:  "The more i look at it i just cant see past a Mayo victory this weekend,
Kerry just dont have the physicality to live with them, we have seen this now on the last 3/4 meetings between the 2.
Kerry forwards will still cause damage, they are too good not to but i think they will be starved.

The big difference between 2014 and now is a lot of Kerrys gritty warriors from that date (AOM, Donnchadh Walsh, Donaghy) have moved on and that leadership gap has yet to be filled.
The other big worry is that Cork could have easily scored 5 goals past them in Munster final, Aidan O'Rourke was lambasted for sayind during the league that kerry still couldnt defend. He was right.

I think the game hinges massively on how David Moran performs at midfield, if he can perform to his dominant 2012-2015 level then that may give them a foothold in the game but can just see Mayo bullying them off the pitch otherwise"
Finally someone talking about the actual game! I can't disagree with anything you have said above however Mayo don't seem to have 70 minutes in them at the minute. They should have been out of sight in both Armagh and Galway matches. Instead it was like they ran out of steam for about 15 minutes letting Galway get back to 3 (i think) I don't know if that it physical or mental fatigue or just lack of killer instinct. The players looked out on their feet at times in the second half v Galway. If that happens for a 15 minute spell the Kerry Forwards will go to town.

For that reason I don't think Mayo will win this game but I don't rule out Mayo still qualifying for S-final. We can beat Meath the following week leaving a do or die match v Donegal in Castlebar.

Which is why i think there is more pressure on Kerry this weekend. Losing first game at home would be more difficult to come back from.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 10/07/2019 13:25:57    2209038

Replying To yew_tree:  "Sure Dublin control the weather too...heard the Dublin county board bought a weather machine from the CIA...very unfair ;)"
Very good -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/07/2019 13:27:01    2209040

Replying To DLlegends:  "What will Kerrys likley line up be?? Will Brain O Beaglaioch and Mark Griffin get a shout in first 15. Will Enright start in the corner and move young O Sullivan out to half back?

Heard some Kerry supporters questioning Geaney form, nevertheless he is capable of the one moment of brilliance. Time for Jack Barry and co. to step up in the engine room.

David Moran or Tommy Walsh at FF would be interesting from the off for 20 minutes. Mayo would probably drop O' Shea back deep to cover this leaving him less influential further out the field.

Mayo finding some rhythm. Younger and newer players stepping up recently which must be pleasing for them. Utilising the kick pass more often. Very noticeable though that they tend to fall off the face of a cliff in last 20minutes of game, legs going or just drained from effort in first 35 minutes?

For me Kerry should go defensive for first 20 minutes, stiffling Mayos quick start and stop them engaging the quick kick pass which breathes confidence and life into the team.

Should be a cracker. Possibly the best game we will see this year."
No chance of O'Beaglaoich starting. I strongly doubt that Griffin or Enright will start either. The defence will be the same as the one that took to the field against Cork with Gavin Crowley possibly coming in for Gavin White. I would stick with Geaney, we have to hope he comes into form because when he is in form he is one of the best players in the country. I think O'Donoghue offers more from the bench than Geaney. No point playing a big man in full forward either it would only take away ball from Clifford. Moran will be needed in the middle of the field and I'm not sure is Tommy Walsh good enough to be a viable option even from the bench.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 10/07/2019 14:46:09    2209072

Replying To centerfield:  "Kerry got enough to last a lifetime down in Limerick in 14

i actually thought the matches between Mayo and Dublin were referred fairly in general just beaten by a better side"
Stop speaking sense Man, the 3 or 4 Kerry whiners here will have a conniption altogether. Didn't you hear? Always on the wrong side of the refs call.....when they lose, conveniently enough.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 10/07/2019 14:55:14    2209078

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya ye have 4 in a row bought and paid for by the GAA.

Congrats on buying the 5.

Thank god we did the 5 under our own steam."
Careful now, I sense another appeal coming from Concern on behalf of poor David Clifford and the other poor underprivileged lads of Kerry GAA ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 10/07/2019 15:06:25    2209084

Replying To Kerry15:  "No chance of O'Beaglaoich starting. I strongly doubt that Griffin or Enright will start either. The defence will be the same as the one that took to the field against Cork with Gavin Crowley possibly coming in for Gavin White. I would stick with Geaney, we have to hope he comes into form because when he is in form he is one of the best players in the country. I think O'Donoghue offers more from the bench than Geaney. No point playing a big man in full forward either it would only take away ball from Clifford. Moran will be needed in the middle of the field and I'm not sure is Tommy Walsh good enough to be a viable option even from the bench."
I think that they have to try something different with their defence, if they defend like they did in last 2 games Mayo will be home and hosed by half time, maybe get enright in just to have somebody robust and experienced, might have to sacrifice gavin white too as brilliant as he is on the front foot, need to go with someone more pragmatic. Also like the idea of bringing gavin crowley in for jack barry as he has a bit more bite about him.

Tempted to bring in JOD but would give Geaney the nod this time, JOD first man in for sure. Has destroyed mayo in the past.
A setup like this seems to be the way to go for sunday

Ryan

Foley
Enright
Tom o'sullivan

Sherwood

Paul Murphy
Morley
Gavin Crowley

Moran
Diarmuid o'connor

Stephen o'brien
Sean o shea
Moynihan

Geaney
Clifford

Whats the story with johnny buckley? Is he still around these days, seems the perfect game for him

Pullhard1985 (USA) - Posts: 68 - 10/07/2019 16:52:41    2209137

Shane Ryan
Shane Enright, Jason Foley, Tom O Sullivan
Paul Murphy,Tadhg Morley, Gavin White
David Moran, Diarmuid O Connor
Micheal Burns, Sean O Shea, Stephen O Brien
David Clifford, Paul Geaney, James O Donoghue

I have advised Peter to go with the above; we will see whether he agrees with me.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 10/07/2019 17:21:24    2209155

Replying To Pullhard1985:  "I think that they have to try something different with their defence, if they defend like they did in last 2 games Mayo will be home and hosed by half time, maybe get enright in just to have somebody robust and experienced, might have to sacrifice gavin white too as brilliant as he is on the front foot, need to go with someone more pragmatic. Also like the idea of bringing gavin crowley in for jack barry as he has a bit more bite about him.

Tempted to bring in JOD but would give Geaney the nod this time, JOD first man in for sure. Has destroyed mayo in the past.
A setup like this seems to be the way to go for sunday

Ryan

Foley
Enright
Tom o'sullivan

Sherwood

Paul Murphy
Morley
Gavin Crowley

Moran
Diarmuid o'connor

Stephen o'brien
Sean o shea
Moynihan

Geaney
Clifford

Whats the story with johnny buckley? Is he still around these days, seems the perfect game for him"
Buckley opted out of the panel a few years I think because of work commitments but i could be wrong. Yes gave a few good performances, but not sure he has the pace around the middle. I guess the time is right to give as many as these young lads gametime in these type of matches as it will stand to them in the years to come.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 10/07/2019 18:06:43    2209178

has any team ever beaten Kerry three times in the one year in important games, don't think so and don't think it will happen now.

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 10/07/2019 19:00:03    2209200

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Careful now, I sense another appeal coming from Concern on behalf of poor David Clifford and the other poor underprivileged lads of Kerry GAA ;)"
Maybe jimbo can adopt David ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/07/2019 19:43:51    2209214

I've not adopted anyone.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/07/2019 20:04:41    2209226

Replying To jimbodub:  "I've not adopted anyone."
That's grand, you might adopt David so.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/07/2019 20:09:58    2209228

The battle of which keeper will do something daft

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/07/2019 20:11:34    2209231

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's grand, you might adopt David so."
Nah. Best to leave a bit of decent DNA in Kerry.

Seems like a nice fella though. Not sure his parents would go for it lol

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/07/2019 20:21:47    2209236

Replying To jimbodub:  "Nah. Best to leave a bit of decent DNA in Kerry.

Seems like a nice fella though. Not sure his parents would go for it lol"
Ya we've given yer Dublin team enough good DNA .

No more charity from us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/07/2019 23:04:09    2209291

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya we've given yer Dublin team enough good DNA .

No more charity from us."
Ha!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/07/2019 23:47:05    2209308

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya ye have 4 in a row bought and paid for by the GAA.

Congrats on buying the 5.

Thank god we did the 5 under our own steam."
A certain Offaly man put paid to that in 1982... otherwise Kerry would have won 8 in a row. Dubs aiming for 5 in a row..,if Donegal hadn't stopped them in 2014. ...,would be heading for 7 in a row. Who will stop them? A team winning first 5 in a row in history? Dubs need to be ambushed!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 11/07/2019 02:06:12    2209316