Mayo V Galway

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "2000 possibly one of two.."
Kerry didn't score a goal in that game Galway scored the only goal.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 08/07/2019 14:02:14    2207853

Replying To Shood:  "Have to agree. The ref definetly played a part. How many steps for mayos first goal?"
None on the first goal as the goalie dropped the ball. As for the second goal l assume that you didn't review the goal because if you did you'll see that he didn't over carry. It is the default response to every goal where a player runs over 10 yards that he over carried the ball.

JuniorBee (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 08/07/2019 14:03:23    2207856

Replying To cluichethar:  "Kerry didn't score a goal in that game Galway scored the only goal."
Still hasn't said what game it was. Sounds like a made up story to me.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 08/07/2019 14:12:23    2207864

Replying To cluichethar:  "Kerry didn't score a goal in that game Galway scored the only goal."
Still hasn't said what game it was. Sounds like a made up story to me.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 08/07/2019 14:14:15    2207867

Replying To Blackberry:  "LOL! A mayo man saying another team doesn't have the "Cahonas" to win when it counts. Do you know when it acually counts?? September, when the mayo "Cahonas" shrivel to the size of a pea! The only team to put it up to Dublin ye say, that on itself is a sign of Failure."
Galway haven't beaten Dublin in the championship since 1934, blew an All-Ireland final against them with a two man advantage (Dublin down to 12 men!) and were hammered in their last championship outing against them.

If we need advice on how to beat them, you're not the first crowd we'd be consulting.

In recent seasons, Galway have lost games they've been expected to win against the likes of the Rossies (X2), Tipperary, Monaghan, now Mayo too...

Seems like you'd be better off pondering why Galway are under-achieving in big games than focusing on Mayo.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/07/2019 15:35:04    2207924

Replying To Gleebo:  "Galway haven't beaten Dublin in the championship since 1934, blew an All-Ireland final against them with a two man advantage (Dublin down to 12 men!) and were hammered in their last championship outing against them.

If we need advice on how to beat them, you're not the first crowd we'd be consulting.

In recent seasons, Galway have lost games they've been expected to win against the likes of the Rossies (X2), Tipperary, Monaghan, now Mayo too...

Seems like you'd be better off pondering why Galway are under-achieving in big games than focusing on Mayo."
Comedy gold there. For anyone from Mayo to be giving out to Galway about not having the cojones to win the big games is priceless.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 08/07/2019 18:15:34    2208040

please close this thread

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 08/07/2019 18:48:51    2208055

Replying To rhudson:  "please close this thread"
Dont see any Mayo fans gloating ..reckon they are more relieved if anything,

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 08/07/2019 19:02:52    2208062

Replying To riverboys:  "Lets get 1 thing straight Mayo no more than Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim always supported Galway in All Ireland championship if we are out of the competition as well as supporting the Galway hurlers but in 2016 All Ireland football final between Dublin and Mayo a family member was at a wedding in Galway, both the bride and groom were from Galway and the guests were from Galway, Mayo, Roscommon and Clare, everybody was backing Mayo their neighbours except the Galway people they were backing Dublin, that's some shower to have as neighbours, the one thing we have in the GAA is loyalty, we support our parish (club) then our neighbouring clubs, the county then our neighbouring counties, that's how it has always been and always will, fair play to the countless number of Galway people who wish their neighbours good luck but there are plenty of gobsites who should know better, we have those eejets in Mayo as well, they are in every county and deserve a decent kick up the arse. One thing in sport is to shake hands after a game and wish each other well for the rest of the year both players and supporters, unless that happens you will end up with violence in the stands and nobody wants that kind of nonsense happening, we have already seen in some club matches where trouble has happened on and off the pitch and in the stands. Wish each other well and get on with the rest of our lives. Hard luck to Galway, Laois and Cavan, best of luck to Kerry, Donegal, Meath, Clare, Dublin, Roscommon, Tyrone, Cork and Mayo, may the best team win the All Ireland title"
In fairness from what I know of GAA fans in the border areas nobody wants the neighbouring county to do well. Once it doesn't get out of hand there is nothing wrong with this and can be great crack. It's often the same with neighbouring clubs if they have a history of being in the same grade in club competitions.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1346 - 08/07/2019 19:05:26    2208064

Replying To Gleebo:  "Galway haven't beaten Dublin in the championship since 1934, blew an All-Ireland final against them with a two man advantage (Dublin down to 12 men!) and were hammered in their last championship outing against them.

Seems like you'd be better off pondering why Galway are under-achieving in big games than focusing on Mayo."
They have won 9 all Ireland titles though, 6 since Mayo last won one and 4 in Hurling in that time also.

johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 582 - 08/07/2019 20:08:52    2208110

Away with you, you naughty man. The bookies and most of the pundits had Mayo as favorites going into the game, and that was before they even knew ye were telling porkies about some of the injury concerns.

Galway were outplayed on the field, and out-maneuvered on the side-line, it's as simple as that. And it was compounded by the terrible form of some of the senior players continuing, and by our manager second-guessing his own tactics that had us beat ye in seven previous encounters.

Hope ye do well in the Super 8s, and I hope someone, anyone, de-thrones Dublin!

'Gwan the West!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 08/07/2019 20:46:39    2208138

Don't make me laugh! Is there a special trophy awarded called the 'We beat Dublin Cup".
Mayo lads having a go at anyone for losing is soo funny.
If ye were 4 up with a minute left ye would find a way to lose!

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 09/07/2019 11:06:25    2208349

Replying To Condorman:  "Don't make me laugh! Is there a special trophy awarded called the 'We beat Dublin Cup".
If ye were 4 up with a minute left ye would find a way to lose!"
It's the " we put it up to the Dubs cup" doing the rounds to all clubs this weekend in Mayo.

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 396 - 09/07/2019 11:10:53    2208354

Replying To Condorman:  "Don't make me laugh! Is there a special trophy awarded called the 'We beat Dublin Cup".
If ye were 4 up with a minute left ye would find a way to lose!"
No credit for your players finding a way to win. Mayo let you win so is it. You will be like Kerry in the noughties never get the respect because of who you bet not and not get the respect for what ye achieved. That's your logic.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 10/07/2019 10:37:22    2208902

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "It's the " we put it up to the Dubs cup" doing the rounds to all clubs this weekend in Mayo."
That's one more cup than there will be in Galway this summer

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 10/07/2019 10:50:36    2208914

Replying To Spoddgy:  "That's one more cup than there will be in Galway this summer"
Not after today's game in Tuam. Up Galway!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 10/07/2019 23:47:30    2209309

Replying To Spoddgy:  "That's one more cup than there will be in Galway this summer"
Last Sat Galway under 16 beat Mayo, ladies beat Mayo and last night 20s comprehensive winners over Mayo, do that's 3 cups..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 11/07/2019 08:07:44    2209322

After the ladies replay the Galway players were gathered separately on the pitch before the presentation. One of the Galway players, not sure but think it was Áine McDonagh, went over to the Mayo players and commiserated with them. A classy gesture. Nice one.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 11/07/2019 08:16:12    2209326

Replying To GreenandRed:  "After the ladies replay the Galway players were gathered separately on the pitch before the presentation. One of the Galway players, not sure but think it was Áine McDonagh, went over to the Mayo players and commiserated with them. A classy gesture. Nice one."
Did not notice as was on the North Stand across from the Mackey Stand. Fair play indeed as am sure the Mayo ladies were deflated. To my fellow Galway posters guess we have to suck it up and re charge for next season with the undoubted talent we have. The clamour for the legend PJ & Co. to assume the senior position if it becomes available will intensify now after the u20 win last night and the full press direct football on display. If Mayo progress to the ultimate this year well fair play to them.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 11/07/2019 08:43:06    2209333

Replying To Belclare:  "Last Sat Galway under 16 beat Mayo, ladies beat Mayo and last night 20s comprehensive winners over Mayo, do that's 3 cups.."
Tremendous

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 11/07/2019 09:17:17    2209346