Mayo V Galway

Just on the game , we were missing four midfielders, our captain and main forward, he has been out all year, and clearly was nowhere near fit, Bradshaw out as well.
No team could survive this and yet we gifted them a goal, missed a pen, and pushed them to the end. so honestly I think a break is what we need, much was said of Mayos injuries yet in the end they were only two, and nothing compared to our year.
Kevin may stay, if not it probably wont happen until Sept or later, hopefully Stephen Rochford will be part of a team but with who is the biggest question..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 07/07/2019 19:13:13    2207268

Replying To Belclare:  "Just on the game , we were missing four midfielders, our captain and main forward, he has been out all year, and clearly was nowhere near fit, Bradshaw out as well.
No team could survive this and yet we gifted them a goal, missed a pen, and pushed them to the end. so honestly I think a break is what we need, much was said of Mayos injuries yet in the end they were only two, and nothing compared to our year.
Kevin may stay, if not it probably wont happen until Sept or later, hopefully Stephen Rochford will be part of a team but with who is the biggest question.."
This from the man who previously posted injuries are no excuse.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 07/07/2019 19:23:51    2207284

Galway gifted Mayo a soft goal in the 6th minute, and were 1-2 to 0-0 down, before they realised what was happening. Those early scores probably decided the game.
Missing a penalty, and a couple of other chances in the second period, made it an uphill battle for Galway.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 07/07/2019 19:24:06    2207285

Replying To Belclare:  "Just on the game , we were missing four midfielders, our captain and main forward, he has been out all year, and clearly was nowhere near fit, Bradshaw out as well.
Kevin may stay, if not it probably wont happen until Sept or later, hopefully Stephen Rochford will be part of a team but with who is the biggest question.."
both teams were missing players.
The fact is Galway didn't take their chances (hit the upright with a free, missed a penalty etc), and they lost their discipline while chasing the game.
The exact same reasons why Mayo lost the last 6 meetings between the teams.
There isn't much between the teams. At the end of the day Mayo wanted it more.
This Galway team gave up v Roscommon, Dublin in last years semi, gave up v tipp in 2016. They didn't give up yesterday but they haven't the cahones to win when it counts.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 07/07/2019 19:28:30    2207290

Replying To riverboys:  "Lets get 1 thing straight Mayo no more than Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim always supported Galway in All Ireland championship if we are out of the competition as well as supporting the Galway hurlers but in 2016 All Ireland football final between Dublin and Mayo a family member was at a wedding in Galway, both the bride and groom were from Galway and the guests were from Galway, Mayo, Roscommon and Clare, everybody was backing Mayo their neighbours except the Galway people they were backing Dublin, that's some shower to have as neighbours, the one thing we have in the GAA is loyalty, we support our parish (club) then our neighbouring clubs, the county then our neighbouring counties, that's how it has always been and always will, fair play to the countless number of Galway people who wish their neighbours good luck but there are plenty of gobsites who should know better, we have those eejets in Mayo as well, they are in every county and deserve a decent kick up the arse. One thing in sport is to shake hands after a game and wish each other well for the rest of the year both players and supporters, unless that happens you will end up with violence in the stands and nobody wants that kind of nonsense happening, we have already seen in some club matches where trouble has happened on and off the pitch and in the stands. Wish each other well and get on with the rest of our lives. Hard luck to Galway, Laois and Cavan, best of luck to Kerry, Donegal, Meath, Clare, Dublin, Roscommon, Tyrone, Cork and Mayo, may the best team win the All Ireland title"
Yep agree with all that. I've always supported my Connaught neighbours out of the Connaught Championship. Local rivalry is an essential part of the GAA but ill-will has no place. I'd have to say that Connaught is probably better than other provinces in this regard. Ulster probably being the worst.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 07/07/2019 19:38:06    2207298

And that folks is grade A deflection...right out of the politicians handbook.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/07/2019 19:51:42    2207318

Replying To thelongridge:  "Galway gifted Mayo a soft goal in the 6th minute, and were 1-2 to 0-0 down, before they realised what was happening. Those early scores probably decided the game.
Missing a penalty, and a couple of other chances in the second period, made it an uphill battle for Galway."
I do love the narrative that whenever Mayo win a game (and we win far more than we loose) it's because of a mistake by the opposition....but is that not generally how sport goes?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/07/2019 19:53:10    2207319

Replying To TheFlaker:  "This from the man who previously posted injuries are no excuse."
Show me where I said it..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 07/07/2019 20:29:46    2207354

Replying To yew_tree:  "And that folks is grade A deflection...right out of the politicians handbook."
All true...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 07/07/2019 20:31:15    2207358

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "both teams were missing players.
The fact is Galway didn't take their chances (hit the upright with a free, missed a penalty etc), and they lost their discipline while chasing the game.
The exact same reasons why Mayo lost the last 6 meetings between the teams.
There isn't much between the teams. At the end of the day Mayo wanted it more.
This Galway team gave up v Roscommon, Dublin in last years semi, gave up v tipp in 2016. They didn't give up yesterday but they haven't the cahones to win when it counts."
No question the better team on the day won but you cannot compare the depth we were missing with your few. We had no recognisable midfielder starting and only 2 of the 4 on the bench and then probably out of a little desperation brought Damo in a lot earlier when he was clearly not match fit. Nobody would have bargained on either side being up 6 points at the small whistle hence the urgency i sense in getting him on. Injuries this year for us were of a scale rarely experienced in my memory.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 07/07/2019 21:14:33    2207396

Replying To Sindar:  "Yep agree with all that. I've always supported my Connaught neighbours out of the Connaught Championship. Local rivalry is an essential part of the GAA but ill-will has no place. I'd have to say that Connaught is probably better than other provinces in this regard. Ulster probably being the worst."
Mayo supporters have never supported Galway. I was in a pub in Ballindine for an All Ireland final Galway v Kerry and when Kerry scored the decisive goal the Mayo crowd nearly lifted the roof off the pub with the roar. I will be hoping Kerry do the business at the weekend. And this is not a likeable Mayo team with O Connor,Keegan A O Shea and a few more.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 07/07/2019 21:36:34    2207429

Replying To crafty:  "Mayo supporters have never supported Galway. I was in a pub in Ballindine for an All Ireland final Galway v Kerry and when Kerry scored the decisive goal the Mayo crowd nearly lifted the roof off the pub with the roar. I will be hoping Kerry do the business at the weekend. And this is not a likeable Mayo team with O Connor,Keegan A O Shea and a few more."
True for you, the impression I got down there was that they hate Galway especially or even Roscommon when they are having a bit of success, arrogant £$&*% is how they come across to me, both on and off the field, I've been at games against Mayo and I can tell you a lot of these Mayo fans are not nice people when the games on anyway, doubt a lot of them are much different away from the football pitch either.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 07/07/2019 22:05:31    2207462

Replying To crafty:  "Mayo supporters have never supported Galway. I was in a pub in Ballindine for an All Ireland final Galway v Kerry and when Kerry scored the decisive goal the Mayo crowd nearly lifted the roof off the pub with the roar. I will be hoping Kerry do the business at the weekend. And this is not a likeable Mayo team with O Connor,Keegan A O Shea and a few more."
Sounds like you are very hurt from the result yesterday. Take deep breathes it will all be ok in a few days.

Galway2019 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 07/07/2019 22:57:35    2207502

Replying To riverboys:  "Lets get 1 thing straight Mayo no more than Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim always supported Galway in All Ireland championship if we are out of the competition as well as supporting the Galway hurlers but in 2016 All Ireland football final between Dublin and Mayo a family member was at a wedding in Galway, both the bride and groom were from Galway and the guests were from Galway, Mayo, Roscommon and Clare, everybody was backing Mayo their neighbours except the Galway people they were backing Dublin, that's some shower to have as neighbours, the one thing we have in the GAA is loyalty, we support our parish (club) then our neighbouring clubs, the county then our neighbouring counties, that's how it has always been and always will, fair play to the countless number of Galway people who wish their neighbours good luck but there are plenty of gobsites who should know better, we have those eejets in Mayo as well, they are in every county and deserve a decent kick up the arse. One thing in sport is to shake hands after a game and wish each other well for the rest of the year both players and supporters, unless that happens you will end up with violence in the stands and nobody wants that kind of nonsense happening, we have already seen in some club matches where trouble has happened on and off the pitch and in the stands. Wish each other well and get on with the rest of our lives. Hard luck to Galway, Laois and Cavan, best of luck to Kerry, Donegal, Meath, Clare, Dublin, Roscommon, Tyrone, Cork and Mayo, may the best team win the All Ireland title"
Absolute tripe, Riverboys. I'm a Galway man but know Mayo very, very well, all my life, every corner of it. Anyway, Galway football supporters worth their salt will always give mayo a cheer if ye advance but that is almost never the case with mayo people. I know of a handful of mayo gaa people that would support our footballers if we go further. A lot more will wish us well in the hurling, but there's serious I'll will towards Galway in football and that became sadly apparent to many Galway kids alongside us in the North Stand in Limerick as the abuse being roared out by a very sizable cohort of mayo supporters towards Galway was so bad that it made a lot of families move away to other seats. Mayo guys literally roaring in our faces that 'this is not *expletive* hurling, this is Gaelic Football ye *multiple expletives*, with no decent supporter from Mayo asking them to back off or be decent. Then there's the sorry Mayo trend of at least thirty plus years of booing Galway players repeatedly and cheering wides. And thousands of mayo 'fans' do this. It's ugly and leaves neutrals and other supporters with a bitter taste. I'm not being a sore loser here, I'm hand on heart telling Mayo supporters that they can't act like complete partisans in a negative way, by all means cheer your own but quit the nasty stuff - it leaves other counties with no gra for ye. That said, I do wish Mayo every success and I will support ye but for God's sakes there's at least 15-20% of your supporters that really need to act decently and sportingly, they're dragging the rest down and making Mayo fans less and less likeable. This derby used to be a laugh and good craic, what we endured in the North Stand yesterday and in other recent outings against ye was toxic

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 07/07/2019 23:05:43    2207505

What All Ireland final was that your talking about?

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 08/07/2019 00:34:27    2207534

Mayo missing Parsons/Ruane/DoConnor/SOS that's 4 midfielders. Counting Sos as he's obviously nowhere near fit.Also Keegan obviously not 100% when he didnt start

You said earlier in the week that Mayo shouldn't be making excuses of injuries

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 08/07/2019 01:04:58    2207538

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "'No one likes us and we don't care' you sound like the English soccer fans now Gleebo, you might ask yourself why no likes you?
truth is the super 8's will be better with Mayo there, it's like the world cup finals in soccer, you want england there for the entertainment and hype but you don't want them to ever win it. imagine the bs we'd hear if they ever did?
it's bad enough as it is,they are still talking about 1966, 1951 in Mayo's case."
Ya nearly as impressive as Donegal not being able to win a provincial title until 1972

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 08/07/2019 01:27:09    2207540

Replying To centerfield:  "Mayo missing Parsons/Ruane/DoConnor/SOS that's 4 midfielders. Counting Sos as he's obviously nowhere near fit.Also Keegan obviously not 100% when he didnt start

You said earlier in the week that Mayo shouldn't be making excuses of injuries"
O Connor is a forward, , Seamus played, Keegan played,
Duggan, O Currain, Conroy, Bradshaw, , were all out completely, Comer shouldn't have played.
Look ye won, fair play, ye needed a win against us as 2015 is a fair time, go on now and win Sam. Ye are the league champions so should def best Kerry by 10 points.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 08/07/2019 08:45:20    2207568

Replying To togoutlads:  "Absolute tripe, Riverboys. I'm a Galway man but know Mayo very, very well, all my life, every corner of it. Anyway, Galway football supporters worth their salt will always give mayo a cheer if ye advance but that is almost never the case with mayo people. I know of a handful of mayo gaa people that would support our footballers if we go further. A lot more will wish us well in the hurling, but there's serious I'll will towards Galway in football and that became sadly apparent to many Galway kids alongside us in the North Stand in Limerick as the abuse being roared out by a very sizable cohort of mayo supporters towards Galway was so bad that it made a lot of families move away to other seats. Mayo guys literally roaring in our faces that 'this is not *expletive* hurling, this is Gaelic Football ye *multiple expletives*, with no decent supporter from Mayo asking them to back off or be decent. Then there's the sorry Mayo trend of at least thirty plus years of booing Galway players repeatedly and cheering wides. And thousands of mayo 'fans' do this. It's ugly and leaves neutrals and other supporters with a bitter taste. I'm not being a sore loser here, I'm hand on heart telling Mayo supporters that they can't act like complete partisans in a negative way, by all means cheer your own but quit the nasty stuff - it leaves other counties with no gra for ye. That said, I do wish Mayo every success and I will support ye but for God's sakes there's at least 15-20% of your supporters that really need to act decently and sportingly, they're dragging the rest down and making Mayo fans less and less likeable. This derby used to be a laugh and good craic, what we endured in the North Stand yesterday and in other recent outings against ye was toxic"
I have been attending Mayo games for the last 30 years and the matches I always looked forward to where the Mayo v Galway games. Great rivalry, great games and great sportsmanship. Also, there used to be great fun in the stands with the banter between supporters.
However, over the last number of years this have changed. Now both teams, and I mean both teams, seem to have a distinct hatred for each other which is unfortunately mirroring itself in the stands between supporters.
I am not going to defend any mayo supporters who act like idiots and there is some who I am embarrassed to sit beside during matches with their mouthing and shouting. But we are all not like that. I had a bad experience in Castlebar last year with some Galway supporters, after Galway beat Mayo, but I will not label all Galway supporters the same.
I have always supported other Connacht teams once they progressed out of the province and will continue to do so.

Giveitago (Mayo) - Posts: 86 - 08/07/2019 08:50:17    2207569

Replying To Mfs:  "What All Ireland final was that your talking about?"
2000 possibly one of two..

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 393 - 08/07/2019 09:09:54    2207586