Mayo V Galway

Replying To centerfield:  "you come from a county that have won 2 all ireland's in their history and didn't win their province till the 70s so your in no position to be speaking about Mayos record

Also quoting Brolly says something"
No position ?

We get this a lot. The late to the top table nonsense.

We couldn't care less what we won in the 30s 50s or 70s.

I'll take the two I witnessed in person and the 1 or 2 more we might win.

Sure Wexford won 4 on the trot. I'd prefer our own run of late.

Couldn't care less about tradition..we are creating our own one now.

My club won titles in the 30s and 40s for fun..no much use now

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 05/07/2019 19:03:36    2206002

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 05/07/2019 19:20:40    2206006

Galway v mayo minors on gaago now for free if anyone is interested. 8 points a piece at the break

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 05/07/2019 20:16:10    2206015

On gaa.ie rather

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 05/07/2019 20:19:23    2206016

What time is the Donegal v Mayo game throwing in tomorrow?

Is it on RTE or Sky?

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 05/07/2019 20:35:22    2206021

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link"
Will Galway bate Mayo?
It's years since they had a Willie Joe.
Ye haven't a hope of winnin' Mayo!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 05/07/2019 20:36:10    2206022

Replying To Breezy:  "What time is the Donegal v Mayo game throwing in tomorrow?

Is it on RTE or Sky?"
Breezy, could you please recommend a few pubs around O'Connell St. with a good pint of Guinness? Cheers.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 05/07/2019 20:50:54    2206026

Does Myles Breens still do a decent pint?

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 05/07/2019 21:01:10    2206029

Replying To m_the_d:  "Does Myles Breens still do a decent pint?"
Might check that out. In Tom Collins' now. Lovely pint. In Jerry Flannery's a while ago, also lovely pint. Real pubs, no shiny stuff or carpets on the floor.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 05/07/2019 21:17:04    2206031

Replying To IamDonegal:  "No position ?

We get this a lot. The late to the top table nonsense.

We couldn't care less what we won in the 30s 50s or 70s.

I'll take the two I witnessed in person and the 1 or 2 more we might win.

Sure Wexford won 4 on the trot. I'd prefer our own run of late.

Couldn't care less about tradition..we are creating our own one now.

My club won titles in the 30s and 40s for fun..no much use now"
Bottom line 2 all irelands and one other appearance in the final is distinctly average so in no position to comment about any other teams record

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 05/07/2019 21:47:56    2206037

Replying To greatpoint:  "What does Donegal being late to the table have to do with Mayo losing nine All-Ireland finals?"
what does late to the table mean.
Is that a polite way of saying it took 84 years to win a provincial title

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 05/07/2019 21:53:30    2206038

Replying To centerfield:  "Bottom line 2 all irelands and one other appearance in the final is distinctly average so in no position to comment about any other teams record"
In context, I'll be 51 in October, born in 1968. We last won in 1951, 68 years ago. To me that's a sign but then again I'm naively delusional. Fair play to Donegal who not only won those recent All Ireland's but knew damn well how to celebrate those great wins. Let's think about just tomorrow's game, life's way too short

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 05/07/2019 22:19:51    2206048

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Might check that out. In Tom Collins' now. Lovely pint. In Jerry Flannery's a while ago, also lovely pint. Real pubs, no shiny stuff or carpets on the floor."
You have already seen the best in Toms. Anything on the side steets of O Connell street will have a good pint and people with one exception and thats Thomas street the pedestrian one.
Also stay away from the market area til you really have to and when you do its the front bar of flannerys (different one) or front bar of Nancys.

Havnt been in town on Friday in a long time so not sure of the crowd round there.

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 05/07/2019 23:00:39    2206061

Replying To GreenandRed:  "In context, I'll be 51 in October, born in 1968. We last won in 1951, 68 years ago. To me that's a sign but then again I'm naively delusional. Fair play to Donegal who not only won those recent All Ireland's but knew damn well how to celebrate those great wins. Let's think about just tomorrow's game, life's way too short"
It's not posts on Hoganstand you should be writing, but the Irish version of "The Da Vinci Code" with numerological beliefs of that magnitude. For the sheer sake of poeticism I almost hope ye do go and win the damn thing this year!

Almost.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 06/07/2019 00:31:51    2206089

The Galway team to play Mayo on Saturday in Limerick is as follows:

1-Ruairi Lavelle

2-Eoghan Kerin

3-Sean Andy Ó Ceallaigh

4-Liam Silke

5-Gary O'Donnell

6- Cillian McDaid

7- John Daly

8-Tomas Flynn

9-Michael Daly

10-Peter Cooke

11 Shane Walsh

12-Johnny Heaney

13-Aintaine Ó Laoi

14-Martin Farragher

15-Ian Burke

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 06/07/2019 08:30:09    2206127

Will be watching this tonight to see "hopefully " what the opposition looks like.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/07/2019 11:14:37    2206183

Could be a change or two from named teams
On both sides from what I hear. First blood Toni's in the minor game last night so hoping to strike again tonight ;)

Safe traveling to both sets of fans today down to Limerick...should be great Craic ;) Up Mayo

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/07/2019 11:40:17    2206195

Very very hard to call this one.

Mayo can break their recent in and out form and get over the line here despite their injuries etc.

Galway on paper should win this one, even with a 2 week break since their provincial defeat. I think they wont, as things are not rosy in their camp. The corofin lads want to play a certain way, and they are within their rights to want this, but their manager is sticking to an old failed system that wont even win them connaught any more.

So i go for a slim victory for Mayo, possibly after extra time.

The ref could have a huge bearing on this game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/07/2019 11:40:37    2206196

Galway win it will be considered job done and have a day out in croke park
If Mayo win its one eye on the Dubs.

We need a competitive Super 8s to deliver some blows to Dublin and wear them down on route to the final.
Whoever reaches the final might stand a chance against them.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 06/07/2019 13:06:33    2206225

Keegan isn't obviously isn't as bad as everyone thought hes on bench for mayo tonight.
Can see some changes from the Galway team named KW always makes changes from team he names in advance

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 06/07/2019 13:21:27    2206232