Well Done Anthony Cunningham

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Imo, he made them fitter, hungrier, and changed the panel & team selection quite radically. More physical, no, but if you're fitter & hungrier, you can appear to be more physical some times too. John McIntyre left the Galway job in 2011, and memorably declared on exit, that Galway were 'farther than ever away from winning an all-ireland'. Yet Cunningham had Galway drawing a final against the mighty cats of 2012, albeit with a sizeable dollop of assistance from the man in the middle on the day imo. Still, huge progress. After that side derailed at the 2013 Leinster final, AC radically changed the team again in 2014 and 2015, and brought half a team of young lads to the final of 2015, where they came up short to a by now declining Kilkenny side & this time James Owens! After this, the Galway players demanded a managerial change, got the change, and duly delivered the clean sweep in 2017.

I think you're overrating this Roscommon team. I thought they beat a bad side, on the day. I hope you're right, and that this 'proper championship football' will deliver Ros some decent super 8 results. I'll believe it, when I see it though."
Cheers for the hurling breakdown Pope. I think other opponents will also underrate them but it's not so much that I rate them very highly, I do think they're very good. It's more though that I like the way they can play aggressively, hitting hard and against us they played hard right until the whistle. I know we could have played better and ye could have played better against but Anthony Cunningham is surely happy with the Mayo lost, Galway lost stories instead of Roscommon did great. They bullied us for large parts of the match and I think we neither expected it nor were able for it on the night, bought a lot of our hype in the leadup. You're right to say you'll believe it when you see it, Super 8s another level. A long way to go but I think that the Dublin score deficit could decide the second team there, subconsciously some teams there will still underrate them and if they keep improving they can make the semi final. Hyde Park in the first round will make or break that and will be some atmosphere.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7326 - 19/06/2019 21:26:22    2197762

Replying To Sindar:  "All teams have injuries. Roscommon have reinvented themselves several times over the past few years. I've lost count of how many have gone for one reason or another and you're blaming this defeat on a few injuries! Galway are soft and serious underachievers and each year are overrated. They completely caved in last Sunday. They're still living off the Joyce, Donnellan, Fallon era. Not even close to the top table. I'm not dumb enough to say Roscommon are either because as much and all as I enjoy a Connaught title and especially in a year when we take Mayo and Galway in their backyards, there is a different level ahead of us.. We punch above our weight just like Monaghan have been doing and that's about as much as a supporter can reasonably expect apart from the odd title thrown in every now and then."
In what way are they living off the Joyce, Donnellan, Fallon era? How does that manifest itself in their day to day lifestyles? It makes absolutely zero sense to me, but if you could expand on the notion, perhaps I'd be in a position to agree or disagree with you.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 19/06/2019 22:00:59    2197776

You've got to give him great credit, he's a wonderful record in both codes and seems like a great dignified fella and a proud Galway man.

I would echo Pope's thoughts on Roscommon, they beat a chronic Galway side who gave the worst half of football I think I've ever seen from a Galway team considering the players we have.

Roscommon will need to improve to make a semi final but then again we don't know who's in their group. They could end up with Dublin, Cork & Cavan and on that case they'll be expected to make the final 4 but if they ended up with Dublin, Mayo & Tyrone they'll need to improve to go further. I don't know how far Roscommon can go over the next few years, their a relatively young side apart from Cregg and have a couple of a really good players to come back in. If they can sort out their midfield issues and find a few more players they could be a very good super 8 team who are capable of getting out of the group over the next few years as long as they keep Cox.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 20/06/2019 11:41:05    2197889

@Pope_Benedict
To be fair Anthony Cunningham deserves a lot of credit for stopping the rot in Galway hurling, In the previous 5 years before he became Galway manager they reached zero AI finals. He turned a bunch of talented but flaky Galway men and molded them into a very physical hard nosed outfit. The Galway panel that won the 2017 All Ireland was basically built under the good work by Cunningham. And i might add what i seen with Galway hurlers this year is the return to their flaky self.

On last Sunday and where in your view Galway played "bad" I'd more to the fact they were made look bad by a team that out fought them and out thought them tactically by Cunnigham and his management. Can't really be going on about the unavailability of players when Roscommon were also missing some key players and lost 3 important players to injury during the game (Cregg,Smith and Devaney)

Regardless what happens in the super 8s i don't think Roscommon winning this Connacht title beating Galway in Pearse Stadium and Mayo in MacHale Park will be forgotten about for some time and that achievement should not be belittled.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 20/06/2019 15:10:36    2198008

Replying To Yondu:  "@Pope_Benedict
To be fair Anthony Cunningham deserves a lot of credit for stopping the rot in Galway hurling, In the previous 5 years before he became Galway manager they reached zero AI finals. He turned a bunch of talented but flaky Galway men and molded them into a very physical hard nosed outfit. The Galway panel that won the 2017 All Ireland was basically built under the good work by Cunningham. And i might add what i seen with Galway hurlers this year is the return to their flaky self.

On last Sunday and where in your view Galway played "bad" I'd more to the fact they were made look bad by a team that out fought them and out thought them tactically by Cunnigham and his management. Can't really be going on about the unavailability of players when Roscommon were also missing some key players and lost 3 important players to injury during the game (Cregg,Smith and Devaney)

Regardless what happens in the super 8s i don't think Roscommon winning this Connacht title beating Galway in Pearse Stadium and Mayo in MacHale Park will be forgotten about for some time and that achievement should not be belittled."
Are you telling me to be fair to AC? I was perfectly fair about AC & Galway hurling. What did I say that wasn't fair? He fell out with his squad, after 4 years, that's all that went wrong. And even that ultimately went right, because the all-ireland was delivered, along with the League & the Leinster, less than 24 months after AC's exit. If Roscommon were told today that their next manager would bring them an all-ireland success within two years, I'll bet they'd axe AC straight away. Great to know in advance obviously!

Interesting that you think the Galway hurler's were 'flaky', and the Galway footballers weren't, but 'were made look bad'. I'll bet you didn't see the Dublin v Galway match last Saturday night? Flaky wouldn't be a word that I'd have dragged out to describe the performance of either side on the night. But again, I'll bet you didn't see it, but still feel qualified to offer a derogatory view on the Galway hurling team's constitution in 2019.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 20/06/2019 17:54:59    2198062

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Are you telling me to be fair to AC? I was perfectly fair about AC & Galway hurling. What did I say that wasn't fair? He fell out with his squad, after 4 years, that's all that went wrong. And even that ultimately went right, because the all-ireland was delivered, along with the League & the Leinster, less than 24 months after AC's exit. If Roscommon were told today that their next manager would bring them an all-ireland success within two years, I'll bet they'd axe AC straight away. Great to know in advance obviously!

Interesting that you think the Galway hurler's were 'flaky', and the Galway footballers weren't, but 'were made look bad'. I'll bet you didn't see the Dublin v Galway match last Saturday night? Flaky wouldn't be a word that I'd have dragged out to describe the performance of either side on the night. But again, I'll bet you didn't see it, but still feel qualified to offer a derogatory view on the Galway hurling team's constitution in 2019."
It seems like you don't want to acknowledge the ground work put in by Cunningham before that 2017 senior AI was won which included a U21 AIl Ireland and first ever leinster title. If Mayo for example had won the All Ireland under Rochford plenty of people including probably Rochford himself would have tipped their hat to the team that Horan built how he first made them into the contender to challenge for All Irelands.

I watched the full Dublin v Galway game with the expectation of seeing Galway winning. An AI contender as Galway was should have taken care of Dublin side who won't be in the shake up for AI honours this year , instead a unexpected and early championship exit was had with that defeat and it wasn't just the Dublin game either as one can't ignore the failure to beat Wexford at home and to me that's a return to Galway's past flakiness.

Galway footballers are different they aren't All Ireland contenders, reached a first AI semi final since 2001 last summer and at best that's as far as Galway will get again this summer. They can and will as seen last Sunday lose to another top 8 team especially if out thought and outfought by them.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 21/06/2019 02:21:59    2198188

Replying To Yondu:  "It seems like you don't want to acknowledge the ground work put in by Cunningham before that 2017 senior AI was won which included a U21 AIl Ireland and first ever leinster title. If Mayo for example had won the All Ireland under Rochford plenty of people including probably Rochford himself would have tipped their hat to the team that Horan built how he first made them into the contender to challenge for All Irelands.

I watched the full Dublin v Galway game with the expectation of seeing Galway winning. An AI contender as Galway was should have taken care of Dublin side who won't be in the shake up for AI honours this year , instead a unexpected and early championship exit was had with that defeat and it wasn't just the Dublin game either as one can't ignore the failure to beat Wexford at home and to me that's a return to Galway's past flakiness.

Galway footballers are different they aren't All Ireland contenders, reached a first AI semi final since 2001 last summer and at best that's as far as Galway will get again this summer. They can and will as seen last Sunday lose to another top 8 team especially if out thought and outfought by them."
All of my posts acknowledged the ground work put in by AC before the 2017 title was won. Why does does it 'seem' that the opposite is the case? I've no idea.

The current Galway manager acknowledged this immediately after the '17 final, and I'd expect on every other occasion that the subject is broached with him since.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 21/06/2019 15:03:02    2198315

Replying To katser:  "I know he wouldn't have won anything there lol"
Well Mick O'Dwyer did.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 21/06/2019 18:09:13    2198376