Early Galway Exit A Financial Loss To GAA

Replying To heartbroken:  "With Galway gone early from the hurling championship will this cost the GAA. KK don't travel until All Ireland final so they will bring a small attendance maybe the yellow belllies will travel in numbers but not to the same level as galway had. Dublin have a small support base ."
Limerick and Wexford played in an All Ireland Under 21 Final in 2001. There was 34,000 people at the game and a terrific atmosphere plus a rip roaring game. The following year Limerick faced Galway. There less that 20,000 and Martin Brehony, the Gaa Journalist berated his fellow Galwagians for their poor turnout. As Limerick were going for a three in a row that day they had an even bigger following that on the previous year. Brehony claimed that Limerick fans outnumbered Galway ones by as much as 20 to 1. There has never been a game where Wexford were outnumbered, much less by 20 to1

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 16/06/2019 18:48:25    2195954

Replying To Belclare:  "They dont have any because it's all ploughed into Dublin Gaa"
Out in June.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/06/2019 19:25:57    2195976

Replying To heartbroken:  "Of course I am hurting. But I know that we are out because we did not put up a score against Carlow, we were poor against wexford, showed how good we could be against KK. Then came up against Dublin in a tight pitch with a poor referee.
Fair play to Dublin they fought for their lives and had a will to win."
The amount of tripe I've read from Galway supporters since our win is incredible. The pitch is too tight. The ref robbed us. We only had a week to prepare, Dublin had 2 weeks... Bla bla bla. Seriously lads you are embarrassing yourselves. Just take the loss on the chin. Better team won. Get over it, see yis next year :)

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 16/06/2019 19:34:03    2195980

I'd say when Galway entered the leinster championship they never envisaged the rivarly that was about to unfurl with Dublin. Dublin were no doubt meant to be one of the whipping boys! But we turned out anything but.

7 times we've played since Galways introduction to the leinster championship:
Dublin 3 wins
Galway 3 wins
1 Draw

Not to mention Dublin won the games that arguably mattered most.. The Leinster Final drubbing we dished out to them in 2013. And yesterday's do or die clash in the neller.

So Galway fans - I know it stings, stings reeaaall bad. But suck it up. We can renew our rivarly next year ;)

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 16/06/2019 19:47:14    2195995

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "The amount of tripe I've read from Galway supporters since our win is incredible. The pitch is too tight. The ref robbed us. We only had a week to prepare, Dublin had 2 weeks... Bla bla bla. Seriously lads you are embarrassing yourselves. Just take the loss on the chin. Better team won. Get over it, see yis next year :)"
Exactly,Galway beaten fair and square, for someone to come with a thread like this,even though Wexford bring double the support of Galway is sad,far too bitter

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 168 - 16/06/2019 19:48:44    2195996

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "The Gaa have enough money. At least you still have the football to look forward to today. Try to cheer up-)"
Yeah well that didn't work out too well either!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 16/06/2019 19:54:17    2196000

Replying To Tox73:  "Exactly,Galway beaten fair and square, for someone to come with a thread like this,even though Wexford bring double the support of Galway is sad,far too bitter"
Galway were masters of their own downfall. I was in innovate park for last years championship and galway had as much support as wexford so we travel. I was in salthill when wexford came this year well outnumbered by galway supporters.

We lost we lost no back door so were out. My post only said Galways early exit will be a financial loss for the GAA. I am not a sore loser, I am from galway we have one all Ireland senior hurling won in the last 30 years so I know heartache. Our footballers play puke football but I still go and support. So please don't call me a sore loser, I have as a galway supporter come up against the opposition 16 men on numerous occasions and will always be happy when we put up a performance even if we are beaten by the better team. Galway just did not perform this year and that's that.

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 16/06/2019 20:58:32    2196048

Replying To Tox73:  "Exactly,Galway beaten fair and square, for someone to come with a thread like this,even though Wexford bring double the support of Galway is sad,far too bitter"
Galway were masters of their own downfall. I was in innovate park for last years championship and galway had as much support as wexford so we travel. I was in salthill when wexford came this year well outnumbered by galway supporters.

We lost we lost no back door so were out. My post only said Galways early exit will be a financial loss for the GAA. I am not a sore loser, I am from galway we have one all Ireland senior hurling won in the last 30 years so I know heartache. Our footballers play puke football but I still go and support. So please don't call me a sore loser, I have as a galway supporter come up against the opposition 16 men on numerous occasions and will always be happy when we put up a performance even if we are beaten by the better team. Galway just did not perform this year and that's that.

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 16/06/2019 20:59:22    2196049

Kilkenny and Wexford will draw a huge crowd for the Leinster Final and at this moment in time it's the best pairing to draw a crowd I think, sadly Dublin, despite their continuing efforts and success, don't draw the crowd their footballers do which is most unfortunate, it seems following the small ball game isn't fashionable to some of those who adorn Hill 16 in the summer months even though games like last night show how much this Dublin hurling team deserves rich support, the true and knowledgeable Dublin supporter will always be seen watching the hurlers which gives an idea of what the core Dublin support actually is. I'm looking forward to the Leinster Final immensely and think it will be a cracker and I give Dublin every chance of progressing further, that win last night will give them a serious boost and they are a very talented team. Galway have no one but themselves to blame following the defeat last night and more so the result v Wexford, even their win over Carlow highlighted deficiencies in their game this year, the loss of Canning was far reaching and seems to have affected the team overall, I always thought if Galway won an All Ireland they would follow up with another 1 or 2 however I am not so sure now, others have stepped up and Galway have stepped back a bit, still a most potent and brilliant team to watch in their day but the loss of their talisman this year was catastrophic to them

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/06/2019 22:33:11    2196108

I can't see the Lenister final getting near the 60k that attended the Galway Wexford final 2 years ago. I think that game really burst the Wexford bubble. The "Davy bounce" was in full flow back then. Promotion, first championship win over the cats in years, anything seemed possible. The comprehensive Galway defeat and subsequent tame enough exit to Waterford resulted in the supporters losing confidence in the team or Davy or both. None of their home games in the round robin this year or last have sold out, even the visits of Galway of Kilkenny. Assuming the Cats brought 5k on saturday that would mean only 10k Wexford fans attended.

40/45k would be a good Leinster final crowd, a Wexford win would see them bring a huge crowd to the All Ireland Semi final. I think they need something big to reel in the casual supporter again, a Leinster final win over the Cats would tick that box nicely for them.

tomhealycork (Cork) - Posts: 80 - 17/06/2019 09:48:29    2196256

Replying To tomhealycork:  "I can't see the Lenister final getting near the 60k that attended the Galway Wexford final 2 years ago. I think that game really burst the Wexford bubble. The "Davy bounce" was in full flow back then. Promotion, first championship win over the cats in years, anything seemed possible. The comprehensive Galway defeat and subsequent tame enough exit to Waterford resulted in the supporters losing confidence in the team or Davy or both. None of their home games in the round robin this year or last have sold out, even the visits of Galway of Kilkenny. Assuming the Cats brought 5k on saturday that would mean only 10k Wexford fans attended.

40/45k would be a good Leinster final crowd, a Wexford win would see them bring a huge crowd to the All Ireland Semi final. I think they need something big to reel in the casual supporter again, a Leinster final win over the Cats would tick that box nicely for them."
Think 45k prob a good estimate. Maybe a few more. Prob be a bigger attendance than for a Galway v Kilkenny final all the same. Agree with the second half of your post though Tom. If we win in 2 weeks Croke Park will be sold out for the semi final.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11715 - 17/06/2019 12:24:49    2196400

Never Fret, the Big City guns of Cork and Limerick will be in Croke Park this summer and that will fill the coffers right up.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 17/06/2019 12:44:31    2196429

Replying To heartbroken:  "With Galway gone early from the hurling championship will this cost the GAA. KK don't travel until All Ireland final so they will bring a small attendance maybe the yellow belllies will travel in numbers but not to the same level as galway had. Dublin have a small support base ."
Hardly likely. There was only a couple of thousand at your first game.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/06/2019 14:23:11    2196520

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "The amount of tripe I've read from Galway supporters since our win is incredible. The pitch is too tight. The ref robbed us. We only had a week to prepare, Dublin had 2 weeks... Bla bla bla. Seriously lads you are embarrassing yourselves. Just take the loss on the chin. Better team won. Get over it, see yis next year :)"
You poor man, you shouldn't have to put with that. When you say Galway posters and an amount of tripe, how big an amount?, from 1000s of Galway posters ?, 100s ?, a dozen?, one or two? or maybe its not actually any & you're just enjoying being dramatic. I couldn't see any references to what you claim anywhere in this thread. Maybe I'm not looking hard enough!
Ye've a good man in charge by the way. Stick with him and he'll have Dublin winning things before too long

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 17/06/2019 14:35:08    2196535

I reckon the attendance could break the 60k record. Wexford have a real chance to win Leinster this year and it'll be last man out on the N11 lock the door on Sunday week.
Coupled with the minors and the Joe McDonagh cup I think the attendance will be huge.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 17/06/2019 16:40:52    2196637

Long gone are the days that the GAA rely on gates at games. Their expertise at raising money and their level of corporate support surpasses 20-30k extra Galway supporters at the end of the hurling season. Yes it is a bonus to them, but that is all it is, a bonus.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/06/2019 16:55:31    2196645

Replying To Maroonatic:  "You poor man, you shouldn't have to put with that. When you say Galway posters and an amount of tripe, how big an amount?, from 1000s of Galway posters ?, 100s ?, a dozen?, one or two? or maybe its not actually any & you're just enjoying being dramatic. I couldn't see any references to what you claim anywhere in this thread. Maybe I'm not looking hard enough!
Ye've a good man in charge by the way. Stick with him and he'll have Dublin winning things before too long"
Go on to the galway forum and you'll see what im talking about. Also all over social media. This isn't being dramatic, this is facts. I was simply stating that I've read some amount of bitter tripe from Galway people, which I have unfortunately

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 17/06/2019 23:48:22    2196875

Couldn't disagree more, Galway fans tend not to travel in big numbers unless its the All Ireland final or semi final.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 18/06/2019 09:22:10    2196936

The Galway races will be delighted, there is nothing Galway people love more than being able to go to the races without the cost of an All-Ireland semi final to worry about....

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 18/06/2019 14:05:10    2197102

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I reckon the attendance could break the 60k record. Wexford have a real chance to win Leinster this year and it'll be last man out on the N11 lock the door on Sunday week.
Coupled with the minors and the Joe McDonagh cup I think the attendance will be huge."
Agreed think there will be a massive crowd, Wexford will bring a huge crowd......

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 18/06/2019 14:09:48    2197104